Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

McDonald Plumbing

Founded 1955 • With Angi since June 2006

4.8

(67) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7791 Eastern Ave SE

Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Description

Additional contact names - Eddie F McDonald, Scott McDonald.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/13/2021


Garrick G.

TLDR: Their work failed, causing water damage to my home. Repair crew they sent blamed me for the damage without inspecting it. In September of 2020 we had McDonald Plumbing repair two pipes under the kitchen sink and install a new faucet. On Monday, January 12th 2021 I discovered water was leaking from under the kitchen sink and into my basement home office. When I checked under the kitchen sink, water was spewing from the hoses McDonald Pluming had used to connect the faucet to the water lines. Both hot and cold, every connector from the shutoff valve to the faucet was leaking. I also realized they used a total of four hoses to connect the faucet to the water; two on the hot, two on the cold. After shutting off the water and cleaning up, I inspected the basement area below the kitchen sink. The entire area was waterlogged, warped and spotted with mold including the sub-floor, cross beam and trim around a basement window. It was obvious that this job had been slowly leaking for a very long time. We called McDonald Plumbing and explained the situation. We were told the earliest they could send anybody was Friday. Not wanting to wait that long I began the process of replacing all four of their hoses myself. Half way through this project I was contacted and told somebody would be at my house on Tuesday. At this point I had lost faith in McDonald Plumbing's work and I just wanted somebody to assess the damage their work caused and present me a solution to make things right. Tuesday morning two men from McDonald Plumbing come to my house. I show them photos and video of their original install spewing water. I show them how the two tubes I replaced are no longer leaking, but the two remaining from the original install are still leaking. I explain that I no longer have confidence in their work and all I want to know is “How is the company going to make this right.” The man from McDonald Plumbing claims all they can do is replace the tubes (something I was already doing myself). Without inspecting the damage himself, he proceeds to blame me for the leak and the damage it caused. Holding in my fury, I politely ask him to leave my house. I then call McDonald Plumbing again explaining that I have lost faith in their work and service and that I don't want any representative from they're company in my house again. All I want is a refund for the original work they did and I'll handle any repairs and insurance claims myself. Again, I can no longer trust their work. The service rep I spoke with tells me the only course of action I have is to let an employee from McDonalds pluming back into my house to inspect the damage. Again I explain this isn't happening, as I can't trust any decision making or work they perform. That's where we left it. All I asked for was a $200 refund for the bad work they did. At this point the amount of time they've spent and bad will they generated fighting me has probably cost them more than the measly $200 I'm asking for.

Description of Work
Pipe Repair, Kitchen Faucet Install

Category plumbing

5.0

05/07/2020


Jack B.

They came last November and hooked us up, and said they would be back in the spring to spread topsoil and clean up the area. They just came back and did a great job of leveling things out and adding lots of good topsoil. Now I just have to spread grass seed and I will be back as good as new. Grace, in the office, is excellent at responding very quickly to any questions I had last fall and again this spring.

Description of Work
We needed to hook up to the sewer line instead of our septic tank.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/07/2018


Addie K.

It went well. Glenn took time and explained the questions and concerns I had. Great cleanup was done after the job.

Description of Work
Installed new water heater.(replacement).

Category plumbing, water heater repair

3.0

02/11/2018


Christopher C.

Called for emergency service on a Sunday. Scott explained the additional cost to come out, but did not explain that the service price would be increased as well. Felt like they were price gouging because of the situation. Update: Received a follow-up call from Dan the next day to clarify the miscommunication. His explanation seemed genuine and appears this may have just been a one-off issue.

Description of Work
Plumbing, Plumbing - Drain Cleaning.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

09/18/2017


Lisa R.

Great! Can't say enough good things about them! Will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Main line coming in replaced from poly vinyl to copper. It was 60 feet, trenchless, done in 1 day, and they kept in contact with me throughout the process. $2650.00.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/14/2017


e B.

They were courteous and worked fast. They answered any questions that I had

Description of Work
Blue pipe was taken out. It had a reputation for breaking so they replaced it

Category plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

08/31/2017


Janice H.

Kurt arrived early and made the required repairs quickly. He let me know exactly what was wrong, what he would do to fix the problems, and what the cost would be to fix/repair. I am pleased with the service and would hire McDonald Plumbing again.

Description of Work
Float valve replacement, tub faucet leak repair, 2 showerhead replacements, and bidet install.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/03/2017


Larry M.

It went fine. They scheduled me in quickly, even over the Christmas/New Year's holiday week. The serviceman was prompt, professional an conscientious as he addressed our issues. I would use their service again.

Description of Work
Repair faucet and tub

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/10/2017


Larissa W.

Came out and gave quote same day. 2 days later came back and did the job. No trenching needed.

Description of Work
Water Main Break

Category plumbing

5.0

09/19/2016


marty M.

They came in with a full crew who knew what they were doing. They had all the right equipment and cleaned up afterwards. They finished on time and did a great job.

Description of Work
Replaced waste line under basement out to septic.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/12/2016


Chris L.

Service was quick and accurate. A little pricey for what it was, but issue was resolved quickly and no leaks since. I got in the middle of the night figuring this would be considered an emergency, but speaking with the on call plumber cleared up concerns and saved me a ton on an emergency service call. Overall would recommend them and will keep them on speed dial for any future plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Small leak from a PVC joint from Sump Pump discharge..

Category plumbing

5.0

08/30/2016


Stephen R.

Really well. Ian was professional, explained what could be happening, and clearly has seen this before. They were here a total of 25 minutes, which included writing up the invoice. He showed up on time, wore booties over his shoes, generally someone I would want working in my home. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Partially clogged drain. Problem ended up being paper in back flow preventer.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/24/2016


Celeste L.

Kurt arrived early and performed all the required repairs quickly and at a reasonable cost. He let us know exactly what was wrong, what he would do to fix the problems, and what the cost would be. When a small adjustment was needed, Kurt again arrived promptly to take care of it. We are more than pleased and would hire McDonald Plumbing again with no reservations. Thank you, Kurt!

Description of Work
general small plumbing repairs

Category plumbing

5.0

01/25/2016


Joel T.

The plumbers arrived on time and with everything that was needed. I talked with them regarding the layout of the bath before they began tearing up the floor for the drain. They completed the half bath rough-in in about 6 hours. Very professional and the work looks good! They explained everything to me before they left and clean up well. I would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Rough-in Bath in basement

Category plumbing

5.0

06/19/2015


Paula B.

My experience started off with another company quoting me a price of $1400, and they didn't know what was wrong, and the trouble shooting was non existent other than looking at the ceiling. But this isn't a review about them. I started off talking to Dan (the office manager) who really took the time to listen when I was telling him about my issues and that I thought I needed a 2nd opinion, and that I was going away the next week and needed this taken care of. He even went out of his way to rearrange some schedules to fit me in. My husband and I were able to do some more trouble shooting on our own and finally determined it was leaking when we flushed. Ryan from McDonald Plumbing showed up and also Kevin. After listening, they assessed the situation and realized that they should pull the toilet instead and check things out. Determined it was a bad seal and we authorized them to fix it and also asked them to look at our sink and it was dripping and the cold water didn't work. Ryan was upfront with with any additional charges we were going to pay for the fix and we authorized those too. They also made sure to cover our flooring and leave the place as clean as they left it. I will definitely use them anytime I need plumbing service!

Description of Work
Fixed leaking toilet, fixed leaking faucet, and split water off so I could get running cold water to my sink

Category plumbing

5.0

05/06/2015


Patrick K.

McDonald's did a good job on both the large and small job. Were professional, arrived when they said they would and completed the work. No worries.

Description of Work
Cleaned drain and also hooked up to sewer in past

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/29/2015


jim F.

They showed up when requested. Were courteous and enjoyed them in my home. They also bore a couple holes in my foundation walls for vents that would have taken me forever to take care of. I was shocked at how small the bill was for all they did. And the best part about it is the work was done right!!!! I would highly recommend them!!!

Description of Work
Repaired water line, drain.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/10/2015


Cecilia S.

After he replaced a leaking valve near our water pump, he went to all of the faucets in the home to check how they were working. He replaced a screen in the kitchen sink spigot without cost. He was very professional in his manner and I was comfortable having him in my home.

Description of Work
He replaced a valve near our water pump.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/24/2015


Timothy Z.

.It went fine. they identified the problem and didn't try to fix something they couldn't =.

Description of Work
Examined a refrigerator leak problem

Category plumbing

5.0

02/01/2015


Barb F.

After calling several plumbing companies I finally reached the right one, McDonald Plumbing. They did expert work when replacing the water line that comes into our house. There was minimal digging needed so hardly any disruption to the lawn. Ryan at McDonald was the best to work with, he explained the entire process and the time he estimated to complete the job was right on schedule. Ryan was great at answering our follow up questions after the job was complete. I highly recommend this company to others.

Description of Work
Replaced water line from road to house

Category plumbing

5.0

11/22/2014


Christopher U.

The plumber did a great job. Initially I had planned on going with a different plumber listed on Angie's List specifically because that business had received an A for price, and price matters to me (even when quality should probably matter more...). But my mother had used McDonald Plumbing 30 years ago and recommended them. I was not at all disappointed. Our home was built in the 1950s in a swampland, and a sump pump was never installed. So this house has had sewage issues for a long time. He cleaned quickly cleaned out the pipes and had our kitchen and shower drains working again. Also, he did it for $100 cheaper than a previous plumber (not listed on Angie's List) who came over six months previously. The man from McDonald also offered a reasonable price for installing a sump pump.

Description of Work
Back up in sewage prevented water from going down the kitchen and shower drains. He cleaned out the pipes and clearly explained what needed to be done to prevent the problem in the long term.

Category plumbing, basement waterproofing, drain cleaning

3.0

10/31/2014


janice S.

They did okay but they didn't really give us the Angie's List discount. They gave us a 5% senior discount but seemed to not recall having an Angie's List. They also left the basement pretty messy; we thought they would clean up more after they were done.

Description of Work
I had them out for some plumbing work.

Category drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Dear [Removed member's name], I'm sorry for any confusion that you have had about how your Angie's list membership works. After several talks with Anna (a member of Angie's executive team) I was informed that there is NO such thing as a "Angie's List Discount". Now, Angie's List will run special's with companies that want to partner with them in advertising a certain "service special", but there is no across the board discount provided with an Angie's List Membership. So, I'm sorry if that was never explained properly when you were signed up for your membership. If you would like to confirm this information with the great folks at Angie's List I can provide you with a direct line number for Anna on the "Executive Team" in Angie's office. All that being said, we still chose to give you a 5% discount on a previously quoted $10,000.00 job, NOT because we had to, but because we wanted you to have a positive experience with our company. I'm deeply sorry for your disapproval of our work and our agreed upon price. We hope would reconsider changing the grade that you have given us based on what you now know. We truly want all of our customers to feel they have been treated fair. Please feel free to call me directly with any further questions or comments. Thank you for your time, Dan Campbell Service Manager 616-698-6771 McDonald Plumbing
5.0

04/26/2014


Jerry C.

Best plumbing customer service I have ever had. For replacing broken blue poly, McDonalds is the expert. Using their "missile" technology they were able to keep the disruption to my front yard to a 2 foot by 5 foot patch.

Description of Work
Repair broken blue poly water main from street to home.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/07/2014


karen A.

The plumber was efficient, well groomed, right on time. Outstanding service. Our normal plumbing service of 25 years does not make after hours calls...so we were not regular customers and they still came. The charge was approximately $100 more than doing during working hours.

Description of Work
Our hot water heater died and they came promptly after hours and installed a new one.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/20/2014


Chris T.

Their installer was very professional and checked out some of our toilets that were giving us a problem and fixed those as well. They were on time, affordable and very good at what they do. We have used them twice. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
McDonald Plumbing came in and replaced a faucet and added a reverse osmosis system.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Foundation Systems of Michigan

    Foundation Systems of Michigan, founded in 2007, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Livonia, Grand Rapids, and Traverse City. FSM is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, gutters, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Acculevel Inc

    Acculevel is your foundation repair expert, serving Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, and Ohio and been in business since 1996. Most of our repairs come with a life of the structure warranty. Acculevel begins by evaluating your entire foundation system, checking your property for the signs and causes of foundation failure. From foundation & crawlspace repair to waterproofing & encapsulation systems, Acculevel can help you protect your home-- possibly the most valuable investment you'll ever make. A dry home is a healthy home. Acculevel is committed to providing the most technologically advanced repairs to help keep your home dry and on a safe foundation. A strong foundation protects your home's structure, lowers utility bills and maintains the value of your property. Check our pictures for the signs & symptoms of foundation & water damage, and then call Acculevel for your free visual inspection. 1-866-669-3349  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    KR Companies LLC

    Excavation contractor from land clearing, to site Prep, to water and sewer work. We have mini excavators, mid size excavator, full size excavator, small and large skid steers, dozer, hydroexcavator, stone slinger, sewer jetter, sewer cameras, hydroseeder, and trucks to move dirt. Licensed and insured with 12 years of experience.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial plumbing emergency, sewer,free video inspection, drain cleaning, lead water replacement, sump & backup, sewage and grinder pump, basement waterproofing, drains, frozen pipes, water heater installation and repair, leak detection & backflow preventers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about McDonald Plumbing

    How is McDonald Plumbing overall rated?

    McDonald Plumbing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are McDonald Plumbing open?

    McDonald Plumbing is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does McDonald Plumbing provide

    McDonald Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does McDonald Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Ask McDonald Plumbing for details on free project estimates.

    Does McDonald Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, McDonald Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does McDonald Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    No, McDonald Plumbing does not offer a senior discount.

    Does McDonald Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, McDonald Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by McDonald Plumbing?

    Yes, McDonald Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does McDonald Plumbing offer?

    McDonald Plumbing offers the following services: Residential and commercial plumbing emergency, sewer,free video inspection, drain cleaning, lead water replacement, sump & backup, sewage and grinder pump, basement waterproofing, drains, frozen pipes, water heater installation and repair, leak detection & backflow preventers.