Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Foundation Specialist LLC

Founded 2000 • With Angi since May 2012

4.6

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1518 Steele Ave SW

Grand Rapids, MI 49507

Description

Foundation Specialist is a full service basement waterproofing and structure repair company serving all of the western half of Michigan. Foundation Specialist has experienced foundation inspectors. All foundation inspectors have installation experience in new construction concrete and retro fit foundation repair. Foundation Specialist, LLC will treat you and your home with respect as customer service is our number one goal and the key to our continued success. Give us a call and we'll send out a foundation inspector to come up with the best plan for your home. There is no one size fits all program - we can design a custom repair that will correct your issues. Foundation Specialist LLC, looks forward to hearing from you! Thank you for your consideration ....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/24/2021


Tracy H.

We paid them almost $13,000 to "waterproof" and our basement flooded in a storm. 6 inches of water throughout, more than we ever had before they did any work. They said their system is not designed to deal with surface water caused by hard rains and that we should have asked for them to install window well drains, although they are supposedly the "experts" and never mentioned anything about this or any other potential future problems. They didn't offer to help with the cleanup or do anything to fix the problem other than to charge us more money to do what should have been done initially. When confronted with the problem, they were rude, unhelpful, and did nothing but say it wasn't their fault. Use someone else.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

2.0

06/08/2020


Bob C.

Continue to get lots of water in basement coming up through the sump pit they installed. Owner offered to fix problem for more money.

Description of Work
New Sump and Dewaterring System

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Due to the unprecedented flooding FS recommenced to Mr. [Member Name Removed] that he needed additional pump. Sorry that your experiencing issues and please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you.
5.0

08/12/2018


Tom H.

I'm selling a home in Holland. The appraiser noticed a crack in the poured concrete foundation and asked for further investigation by a licensed foundation expert. Bryan Foster showed up promptly, provided a written report that confirmed no settlement, bowing or water intrusion, and charged a fair price. I didn't need or ask for an estimate, but Mr. Foster provided one free. I appreciate that the estimate was separate from the inspection report.

Description of Work
Foundation inspection required by mortgage lender

Category foundation repair

5.0

12/22/2017


Brad P.

Foundation Specialists arrived on time and got to work promptly. They had taped off the work area and prevented dust from getting throughout the house and took care of their work space. Very polite and professional.

Description of Work
Foundation repair

Category foundation repair

5.0

08/21/2017


Tracy A.

They worked hard and got the job finished ahead of schedule. It was so loud, there were several men here for four days, our yard beside the house was completely destroyed but that was totally necessary to complete the job. They consulted with us about changes and progress. The only thing we were not pleased about was they left empty pop bottles in the yard but, perhaps, they meant to clean them all up on the last day. We cleaned them up each day.

Description of Work
We had 11 piers put in do stabilize the half of our house which is built on slab. They dug below the foundation, added the piers which were anchored to bedrock, sealed any cracks in the foundation, and filled in the holes where they worked.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and we appreciate your business. We will inform the installation team to make sure they pick up everyday not just at the end of the project. Thanks again for your feed back and let us know if you ever need anything else. Thank you.
5.0

08/17/2017


Marcia K.

Great. From the project manager - Bryan Foster - to the crew chief - Shane - I don't think I could have been in better hands. Professional, knowledgeable, polite, hard working, on time, no surprises, and they left the place cleaner than it was before they came!! I highly recommend this company and the individuals I mentioned.

Description of Work
Foundation repair. Walls were moving and needed to be stabilized.

Category concrete repair, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

04/10/2017


Marcia K.

They were thorough, professional and very detailed. Report came back to me quickly. I also checked the reviews on their website and the BBB and all were A's.

Description of Work
Needed a structural inspection and quote.

Category concrete repair, structural engineer, foundation repair

5.0

02/20/2017


Kate S.

Bryan provided the estimate and was prompt in responding to my phone call and setting up an appointment. He was on time and pleasant to work with. He was very interested in what was in our best interest long term as homeowners and what we were looking for out of our house, not what he was able to sell us (very low pressure sales). He explained the theory and science behind the potential solutions available to us and what the prices would be, and we settled on installing a back-up battery for our sump-pump and drain tile around the entire basement. Bryan explained what it would look like afterward (a portion of drywall had to be cut up everywhere there was drain tile installed), and I'm thankful for that - it managed my expectations of what to expect afterwards. A 50% downpayment was made. A couple days later the office called and scheduled the appointment. They set it for a couple weeks out on a Thursday/Friday (two day job). I got a call the week before saying they were ahead of schedule and could do it on Monday/Tuesday if I was available. I was not, so they kept it on the Thursday/Friday. I spoke with the lady in the office as well as Bryan as to what to expect day of and they were very helpful in explaining the process and when the team would arrive. Thursday morning I got a call about 8:45 from Shane, the foreman, saying they were preparing to leave the shop and would be at the house in 20-30 minutes. They arrived, and while foreman Shane and I walked around and reviewed the job, Andy and Dre started setting up the mats and plastic to protect my floors and other property that would be directly affected by any debris. We ran into an issue of how to divert around the water heater and furnace, and Shane called Bryan and was able to find a perfect solution quickly and didn't delay the project. Day 1 was excavation day, so I did not stay at the house. Shane called me at about 3:00pm letting me know they were done for the day and that they had cleaned up and would lock up the house (as we had agreed that morning). He reviewed the day's work and briefed me on what the next day would entail. There was a considerable amount of dust on my main floor, but I have a feeling it was about 1% of what could have actually been there had they not sealed off the basement when excavating. They did a great job of keeping the space tidy and moved all of my furniture back at the end of the day. While bringing concrete up to take outside, someone did slip and knick a piece of furniture. Shane was very up front about it and solved the issue right away with providing some wood stain (I was very impressed by the level of communication and the "above-and-beyond" mentality). Day two - putting down drain and pouring concrete. Shane called again when he was leaving the shop to notify me of when he'd arrive (crew was Shane, Andy, Dre, and George). He arrived on time, briefed us of what the plans were for the day, and got to work. I got home about noon and the crew got done about 3:30pm, so I was around the house while they finished work. They were very nice and friendly, I felt very comfortable having them around. They worked very hard to get the job done (especially hauling wet concrete down those stairs!) Shane did a great job communicating the progress when I got home at noon and throughout the day. When the job was finished and cleaned up, Shane walked me through the area, showing me the finished product and any maintenance or knowledge I would need to know as a homeowner (and making sure I felt comfortable with it). He then went over the lifetime warranty with me again, asked me if I had any questions, and I made final payment. I am extremely happy with the work that Bryan, Shane, and the team have done and would highly recommend them. They go above and beyond to make sure homeowners are safe and secure (and dry!) in their own homes.

Description of Work
Drain tile around entire perimeter of basement; battery sump-pump back-up installed to existing sump pit.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

1.0

02/11/2017


Sarah W.

This was the single worst experience with a contractor I have ever had, in over 30 years of contracting services for my home. After depositing for the expensive job (@ $13,000), the company rescheduled me four times, were late each of the four days of the job (they were only 45 minutes late one day, which was a victory), they forgot to use a ventilation system the first two days, they broke two of my basement windows, and they left me with over 72 hours of cleaning in their wake. Now to the really substantive problems... They found some unanticipated conditions in my basement (built in 1929), we consulted in person, and they developed a Plan B to address the problems. As part of this, I directed that they were NOT to revert to a specific part of Plan A without contacting me, and they agreed. They provided a new contract which I signed and left for them the next morning, as instructed. They did not retrieve the contract nor did they consult with me when they made a change to the Plan (they did the exact thing I directed them NOT to do without consulting). The account person had no idea what happened and it turns out that the decision was made by a technician who had not consulted with the engineer, the account manager or me. The work he did was irreversible. More importantly, no one at the company has ever taken responsibility for making a decision that was mine to make. After that (the second day of the job), the account manager stopped returning calls to me, as did the on-site technician. The company's vice-president got involved, to no good effect. I also discovered that tangential work is now required by an electrician (not disclosed during the bidding process). At the end of this job, the most favorable thing I can say is that it only took a week for them to repair my broken basement windows, and it only took two visits to be sure the system was, for the time being, operational. My experience with this company was terrible, on a massive scale. If you seek an expensive, unresponsive, and not fully honest company to leave your home in a mess, these are the folks you want. If you want a responsive and responsible company who conduct themselves professionally, these are not the folks you want.

Description of Work
I purchased a basement waterproofing system, including installation.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]: I read your review about the work we did back in July 2016 at your home. As you know, since your home is nearly 100 years old it makes doing the type of work we do more complicated than homes with traditional basements that have footings. Since your foundation had no footer we did everything we could to find you a solution to the problems you were experiencing. I know we had success in achieving the work scope and was quite surprised to read your comments today. We completed the job over seven months ago and have not received any type of negative input from you after we finished the job until now when I received an email from Angie's showing the review. We work really hard with every customer to provide quality work and effective lasting solutions. Due to the age of your home and the construction methods that builders used many years ago it made the work we were contracted to do quite unique. That said, I know that upon completion of the job we were able to install systems that will keep your basement dry and ensure that your walls are secure and stabilized. We stand by our work so if you have any issue with the end result just contact me for assistance. Finally, I'll discuss this project with my team in order to see what other things we might do to improve upon our customer service and communication methods. Sincerely, Bryan Foster
5.0

01/10/2017


Shannon S.

Excellent. They were very direct and explained what needed to be done. Other companies wanted to go from inside the house which would require removing drywall. Foundation Specialists fixed the wall with no additional costs. They guarantee their work and offered to come back if there are any additional issues. They were also willing to work around my schedule.

Description of Work
Crack in exterior wall.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

01/09/2017


Shannon S.

Great! They were by far the best not only in price, but in quality.

Description of Work
Crack in foundation

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

12/26/2016


Patrice A.

They found the foundation to be sound with no repairs needed. Foundation Specialists were in a position to take advantage of our lack of knowledge but had the integrity not to. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
The foundation of a home we were purchasing came up as questionable during the home inspection. I hired Foundation Specialists to inspect the foundation and to give us an estimate of the possible repairs.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

12/09/2016


David C.

Sales and support staff super friendly, helpful, fun to talk to. Work team was fantastic, professional, did good work and kept me in the loop at all times. Foreman consulted me on several decisions that needed to be made on the fly.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing -- walls, drain tile/matting, sump pump, plumbing, drainage.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

5.0

10/31/2016


Cindi H.

What a great group of hard working men and impressive group working as a team. They were on time, got right to work and didn't stop until the job was done! they were very respectful of our home and did a great job cleaning up not only the basement but back filling the trench and raking the dirt smooth. We priced another company to fix our basement wall. They were over $1,000 higher and the project was going to be much more involved. It seemed the representative from this company just told us about the most expensive way to solve our problem, no other options. Foundation Specialist did a lot more research and came up with more than one option and explained the benefits. Saved us a lot of money and did a great job.

Description of Work
Foundation Specialist braced our basement wall and realigned it with the house.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

05/05/2016


t S.

After the water removal guys finished in came the project lead - Dave.? The office team re-worked projects and got us in early due to the continued leaking.? Added a temp cistern/and blast tube to outside in a matter of hours.? Returned on the planned date and finished the new drain system in 2.5 days.? Also installed the new, monster of dryness dehumidifier. Recommended the contractor to cut out water damaged drywall and repaint. Excellent work and cistern is running all the time as the water table defrosts.? A mess gone well Tom

Description of Work
We have a lake house in MI. With the freeze and massive rain this year the old basement water tiling packed with mud.? The team came in and added new style of tiling/tubing under the cement floor.? Added a cistern and professional, heavy duty dehumidifier in the storage room - overkill but I picked the unit.? I hate moist lower levels. Excellent team and treated to assure no black mold. Thanks gang!!!! Tom

Category wells, foundation repair

5.0

05/05/2016


t S.

After the water removal guys finished in came the project lead - Dave. The office team re-worked projects and got us in early due to the continued leaking. Added a temp cistern/and blast tube to outside in a matter of hours. Returned on the planned date and finished the new drain system in 2.5 days. Also installed the new, monster of dryness dehumidifier. Recommended the contractor to cut out water damaged drywall and repaint. Excellent work and cistern is running all the time as the water table defrosts. A mess gone well Tom

Description of Work
We have a lake house in MI. With the freeze and massive rain this year the old basement water tiling packed with mud. The team came in and added new style of tiling/tubing under the cement floor. Added a cistern and professional, heavy duty dehumidifier in the storage room - overkill but I picked the unit. I hate moist lower levels. Excellent team and treated to assure no black mold. Thanks gang!!!! Tom

Category wells, foundation repair

5.0

11/02/2015


Paul H.

He did a very professional job, cleaned up well after his work, and fulfill his work as promised. It is nice to have a trustworthy and professional contractor hired.

Description of Work
He fixed a few cracks in my basement poured wall foundation which were leaking.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

09/17/2015


Lisa C.

Water in basement and mold. -Evidence of past leaking. -3 different independent people recommend Foundation Specialist.

Description of Work
Drain tails and drain system installed in basement to new sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

5.0

09/03/2015


Tricia V.

I had a crack in the foundation and the wall was bowing in. Furthermore, the rear foundation wall was also leaking water. I called Foundation Specialists and set up an appointment for an inspector to come out. He was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a proposal to fix our foundation issues. A few weeks later, the crew came out to install the wall anchors and drain system, it only took a few days! The workers were very friendly and did a fantastic job cleaning up when the project was complete.

Description of Work
Installed waterproof drain system and foundation wall anchors.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

4.0

07/30/2015


Susan C.

Arrived promptly. Kept us informed of what they were doing. Left area clean. Were considerate of occupants in home when they did work which involved concrete removal and replacement. Lots of noise and several days on the project. Seemed knowledgeable. We had a couple of communication issues, but the team was swift to respond and remedy.

Description of Work
remediated for water issues with house foundation

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/28/2015


Lillian C.

They did an excellent job, were on time & did a great cleanup, minor repairs, cement truck did back onto neighbors lawn & left a deep impression we fixed.

Description of Work
3 cement add ons - patio & 2 driveways.

Category concrete repair

5.0

06/21/2015


James S.

Very well - came for an estimate. Finished the job in one day. Very pleased.

Description of Work
Wafer tile around basement. Gravel - plastic sheet 3.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/21/2015


Connie W.

Every member of team was awesome to work with. Treated us with respect & educated me to the options I had to fix the problems I had. Work was done on time. Better than I could imagine.

Description of Work
Repaired barn foundation with shot crete. Replace some boards with concrete block. $14000. Fixed wall basement by installing tile to sump pump & covered wall with Polylines $7000.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair

5.0

06/18/2015


Brent S.

Went great, professional, on time, easy to work with.

Description of Work
Added structural support beam in basement.

Category structural engineer

5.0

12/24/2014


Joan W.

The buyer of the cottage will be using Bryan's services.

Description of Work
We were selling a summer cottage which needed foundation work. Bryan was extremely responsive in getting us a proposal for a process that would resolve the foundation issues we had. The pricing of the proposal was less than half of getting a complete new foundation which, it turns out, we didn't need. Bryan was extremely prompt in returning phone calls and responding to our need for proposal.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elite Masonry & Concrete

    At Elite Masonry and Concrete we specialize in Everything masonry from drive ways to brick. We provide quality work done in a timely manner , we provide a clean job sight , and happy customers. I have been in this trade for over 5 years now doing masonry on a larger scale building hospitals , high schools , and college buildings. Unlike those companies elite masonry is a face to face interaction with respectful workers who will help you find what you are looking for in your next project .  

    Stonewood Companies

    StoneWood companies is a concrete business that delivers high quality and excellent customer service from every concrete professional in our team. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    3K Garcia Concrete LLC

    At 3K GARCIA CONCRETE LLC our customers needs are the utmost importance. Our team with 10+ years experience is committed to meeting those needs. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service. No job is to big or too small, please contact us for a free estimate!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement waterproofing, structural foundation repair, bowed wall repair, sea walls, crawl space repair, crawl space encapsulation, radon mitigation, mold remediation, concrete flat work and walls.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Foundation Specialist LLC

    How is Foundation Specialist LLC overall rated?

    Foundation Specialist LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Foundation Specialist LLC open?

    Foundation Specialist LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Foundation Specialist LLC provide

    Foundation Specialist LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Foundation Specialist LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Foundation Specialist LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Foundation Specialist LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Foundation Specialist LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Foundation Specialist LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Foundation Specialist LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Foundation Specialist LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Foundation Specialist LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Foundation Specialist LLC?

    Yes, Foundation Specialist LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Foundation Specialist LLC offer?

    Foundation Specialist LLC offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, structural foundation repair, bowed wall repair, sea walls, crawl space repair, crawl space encapsulation, radon mitigation, mold remediation, concrete flat work and walls.

    Are there any services Foundation Specialist LLC does not offer?

    Ask for details