Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apex Appliance Inc

Founded 1921 • With Angi since June 2006

4.6

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3535 Plainfield Ave NE

Grand Rapids, MI 49525

Description

5 employees. Additional phone number - (616) 828-0700....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/02/2017


Dean W.

On time, good communcation prior. Polite and professional. Found the issue right away. Gave us advice to prevent a repeat on the issue.

Description of Work
Repair washer

Category appliance repair

4.0

12/03/2016


Doug S.

1. Washer hood. I sent them pictures and they could see the hood was broken. They could have told me a new assembly is needed to be ordered and we could have conducted the hood over the phone. 2, Cleaned the lint out went excellent 3. Refrigerator water dispenser. They could not figure it out and told me to call Whirlpool directly. For this repair, I googled search and found others with a similar issue. All Apex had to do was read the google search and helped me with conducting the repair. All told the repair person was at my home for 42 minutes and my charge was $177.00. I have not asked them, but I called other firms and found out Whirlpool has a technical support service that each firm pays a service fee. My guess is that Apex does not belong to it. I tried to email them a complaint as of this writing I have not heard back. The firm does not have an official email address, and they should have one. I sent my correspondence to a staff persons email she provided to me to show the pictures.

Description of Work
1. Repair a washer hood. 2. Clean lint from Dryer 3. Refrigeration water dispenser improperly cooling All Whirlpool and Kitchenaide products.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/11/2016


Joseph B.

Great, Punctual and responsive and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Dish washer repair-

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/25/2016


Vlad T.

Apex technician was rude and unprofessional. After figuring out that it wasn't something simple - he told me outright that they don't work on "sealed systems" (Which is basically the whole refrigeartor), and then went on how my wife should've described problem better (which she did in details, to the secretary who wasn't listening) and that it's all my wife fault that he can't fix refrigerator. They had the model number, and they assured us that they do work on our model. Just forgot to tell that they don't work on most of parts. They did not forgot to charge 137 bucks for the visit. Stay away. They can't fix anything but simpliest things.

Description of Work
Refrigerator repair. Refrigerator gradually stopped cooling

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/17/2016


Kimberly K.

My nearly 30 year old range needed a new switch according to a repairman that evaluated it last week. He further advised that the part was no longer available through the usual distributors. I searched online and found the part, an OEM switch still in an unopened plastic bag. The woman who answered the phone at this repair company was sympathetic but they could not install the switch because they only installed parts they sold so they knew the parts were correct. It's a liability concern for them which I do understand. I am giving this service provider high marks because this woman, unlike other companies, suggested other places to try and gave me a phone number for one. She also took my name and phone number in case she was able to locate a repair service that would install my part. This is excellent customer service: pleasant, professional, helpful, and going that extra mile to try to help a customer. Customer service is a rarity these days. If the person who answers the phone is so professional, courteous, and helpful, I'm confident that the repair people are as well. If I need appliance service again, I will certainly contact this company first!

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/19/2014


colette J.

Tom was our repair person and he was very professional and polite. He went beyond what we expected. He told me exactly why it was happening and knew exactly what to do to make it never happen again and told us if it did happened again to call Apex and they would order a particular part that he told us we would need and we could do it ourselves. I would call Apex again on any of our appliances if we need anything again. Very very good service.

Description of Work
repaired our refrigerator. There was ice buildup in the freezer and dripping water into the refrigerator. Had a service provider from another place out one a year for the last 3 years. Wanted a different opinion from another place.

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/15/2014


David R.

Replaced drive belt and idler pulley which had gotten hot and failed. Had the parts with him so he could take care of it right away. Now works great.

Description of Work
Repaired our clothes dryer after it smelled like smoke and quit working.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/15/2014


Robert F.

I have used Apex for 14 years and they are the only appliance repair company I will use. They are honest, friendly and fix any problems immediately. If they can't fix or you are better off buying new they will tell you. I highly recommend Apex to all my friends and anyone to use.

Description of Work
Refrigerator repair

Category appliance repair

4.0

01/22/2014


Tina B.

Lady was friendly on the phone. Went to pick-up the part and the man (owner?) didn't really acknowledge me because he was reading about football online. The total for the part was more than the woman quoted me earlier, but I didn't notice until I got home. I didn't go back because it was only a couple of dollars difference. I'd probably go back there again because the location was convenient for me.

Description of Work
I needed a part for my washer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/05/2013


Jamie B.

Apex Appliance Inc. were wonderful. I called and they got back to me immediately and set up an appointment that day, which was very shocking. I was thinking I was going to have to wait. My washer has been broke for awhile. They came in and he was fantastic. He came in, he walked me through everything. He showed me what he was doing. When one thing wasn't what he thought possible, he went through other issues, to see if those things were possible. Actually, he found out I had more issues that I thought I had. So, he went through everything. He's very thorough and very personable. We talked as he worked. And he taught me some things and gave me some training and education along the way and got my washer going. Within an hour, he was done. He had my washer going. It was fantastic. The price is very, very fair. The things that I had, I had expected it to be much more than what it was.

Description of Work
They fixed my washer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/19/2013


tammy M.

I have too many projects going on right now and I have dealt with people not calling, materials taking several weeks to come in so when this happened I was really frustrated. I can't remember who came out but he was awesome! I felt he was very honest, experienced, punctual and they called to say he was on his way. It helped he loved my dog! I would call them again for sure.

Description of Work
Replaced the fan in the freezer

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/22/2013


John P.

Honest, prompt service. Would use again.

Description of Work
Front Load LG washer was making a lot of noise and eventually ground to a halt. Repairman quoted cost of replacing bearing on drum and recommended we get a new washer instead.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU JOHN FOR THE GREAT REVIEW. WE LIKE TO GUIDE OUR CUSTOMERS IN THE BEST DIRECTION. WE HOPE YOU FIND A NEW APPLIANCE THAT BEST FITS YOUR NEEDS. HAVE A GREAT DAY & THANK YOU AGAIN. KATHY

4.0

03/26/2013


Wade R.

On 3/24/13 our ice/water dispenser in our fridge stopped working. Called on 3/25/13 around 9.30am. Scheduled an appointment for 7.30-8.30 am on the 26th. Logan arrived almost right at 8.00 perfect. Made the repair in less than a 1/2 hour no parts needed perfect. Very satisfied with the work. Somewhat dissatisfied with cost. $3/ minute $77 service call $40 labor.

Description of Work
Repaired our ice/water dispenser in our refrigerator. The problem was a loose switch.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/22/2013


Kathleen G.

We just moved into a new house and I noticed there were spider webs between the glass of the oven door. I was carefully disassembling the door, but when I took off a part it started falling off so quickly I could not figure out how it should go back together. The Apex technician came out the next day and after careful examination (without specs) he was able to get the door back together, even though one part was cracked. That saved me the cost of the new part which would have been expensive and needed to be ordered, which would have been an additional delay. I appreciate his honesty and extra efforts to get the stove back in working order, all the while being mindful of the cost. I will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Repair to oven door.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/28/2012


Gretchen M.

I called for my dryer to be repaired on a Friday morning - fully expecting that I would have to wait for a Monday appointment time. But the receptionist put me on hold to check the schedule and then told me a technician could by at my home around 3pm that same day. The technician arrived on time, was professional and friendly. He informed me of the price of the repair ($150) put told me that the part had to be special ordered. He had already ordered the part by phone from my laundry room and promised to return Tuesday to complete the installation. He asked what time would be convenient and I told him that I would only be around for a short window of time Tuesday afternoon and he said he would hard to make back within the window of time. He did arrive right on time performed the repair in less than 20 minutes and was on his way. I was able to pay by credit card over the phone the next day. I would highly recommend Apex Appliance to customers in NE Kent County, MI.

Description of Work
My dryer was making a loud tumbling noise when I turned it on and it didn't seem to be heating up enough to dry a full load of clothes. It turned out to be a broken plastic fan part that had become clogged with lint over the years. The technician ordered that part and returned a few days later to install it. I asked him to leave the front of the dryer off so that I could clean out all the lint before he came back for the repair and after he left I went in to the laundry room to find that he had left the cover off placed up against the opposite wall and in addition, removed the broken fan part so that I had access to the cavity that was full of lint and needed to be cleaned.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/27/2012


Maurie W.

Placed a request for a service call on my Whirlpool fridge/feezer which was not cooling as it should. APEX was able to get me on their schedule for the early afternoon which was great given that the items in the freezer were already thawing. Ron showed up about 2:30 (scheduled to arrive between 2 and 4) and after a quick look pretty much knew what the problem was. I discovered he had over 47 years of experience working for APEX and it showed. Ron was friendly and informative and got the job done relatively quickly considering he had to spend some time putting things I had taken apart back together again ( I am usually able to troubleshoot problems but this one, well, not so much). He then had to dissasemble the right pieces, replace an electronic component and manually defrost the coils. In my estimation he has probably done this a thousand times because he sure made it look pretty straight forward. Given that I was already mentally prepared to have to purchase a new unit for around $2,000, I felt the service fee was a real bargain. I highly recommend APEX. I have previously purchased parts from them and they have always been very helpful.

Description of Work
Had to replace a switch which controlled the defrosting mechanism on my older Whirlpool refrigerator/freezer. The malfunctioning component caused the coils to frost up and inhibit air circulation resulting in much lower tempature output. It also caused the compressor to continuously run until the defrost cycle automatically kicked in.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/15/2012


KEVIN C.

called Apex, the lady who answered the phone was very nice, they were able send someone out the same day, she gave me a 2 hour window and she said they would call before coming out, they called before and was here within the stated time frame. the dryer was fixed very quickly, Dave who did the repair was very nice.

Description of Work
gas dryer, gas burner would not come, which turned out to be a burned out fuse.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/07/2012


Jodie S.

Now I know why there were 20 favorable reviews and an A rating for Apex. Kathy was friendly and scheduled my appointment the next day. The service tech arrived on time, in a company vehicle and was appropriately dressed and courteous. (I get worried when an out-sourced, third party company sends someone with no identification, in a rusted out pick up, wearing torn clothes.) He took the time to explain how the range worked in terms I could understand and showed me the problem. It was fixed and he was out in 20 minutes. What a great experience. Comcast could learn a lot from you!!

Description of Work
My oven wouldn't heat about 120 degrees. The tech found a wiring problem, showed me and fixed it.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/16/2012


Dale K.

Analyzed the problem and fixed it in a very efficient and proper manner.

Description of Work
Fixed malfunctioning icemaker on refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/21/2012


Cynthia S.

My 12-year-old Kenmore dryer stopped heating. The technician showed up and diagnosed the problem quickly and had the parts on his truck, gave me an estimate, made the repair, and even vacuumed out inside the dryer mechanisms where I couldn't see and checked the lint exhaust out of the house to make sure it was clean and open. He was thorough, professional, nice, and answered all my questions. By the way, he came up the day after I called for service. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Replaced the "thermister" and fuse in my dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/24/2011


Susan D.

The entire experiene with this company was great. The woman who took my call and scheduled the appointment was friendly and professional. Ron, the service tech was prompt, friendly, and professional. He completely explained the problem with the washer in terms I could understand. He gave me a written estimate on repairing the washer. And he gave me much needed advice on purchasing a new washer (for example, the difference between belt driven and direct drive). The cost of the estimate, at $67.00 was very reasonable. I will definately use Apex Appliance again and will recommend them.

Description of Work
Ron, the service tech, inspected my washer thorourghly and was honest enough to say it would cost more to repair the washer than to replace it.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/15/2010


BRIAN G.

Awesome. An honest repairman, made a easy and no-cost suggestion to us, did a minor clean job which got the job done and saved us several hundred dollars when he could have easily lied, sold us a new expensive part and left. Highly recommended and will use again.

Description of Work
refridgerator not cooling. Repairman came out made a great recommendation, got the refridgerator working and saved us huge money.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/26/2009


Pamela C.

The two men who came were professional, prompt, friendly. They hoped they had the appropriate part in their truck, but after calling their office, found out the part would have to be ordered from their warehouse. Their office called me the next afternoon to let me know the part was in and the same two repair men were able to come later that afternoon to install the new fan motor. Pleased with all aspects of transaction. Hoping it would be less expensive, though. Men were one older more experienced and a younger man. Clean, professional, friendly.

Description of Work
First visit - diagnosed issue - broken motor for fan to circulate cold air in freezer and refrig. Second visit - next afternoon, after ordering correct part, installed new fan motor

Category appliance repair

3.0

03/06/2009


christy G.

Technician unclogged drain and removed ice buildup but scratched up the bottom of the freezer in the process. Now ice is gone and drain functional, but a mass of gray scratches are visible when opening the door. Not happy.

Description of Work
Repair clogged freezer drain.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/23/2008


Marie L.

I called the Apex office on a Monday afternoon. The receptionist told me someone could come out the next day and that they would call when they were on their way. She gave me a time frame of between 2 - 4 p.m. On Tuesday, I called the office back shortly after 3 p.m., just to confirm that I was on the schedule. She told me I was and assured me that he would be on his way shortly. About 10 minutes later she called back and told me he was almost to the house. When the repairman arrived, I explained the problem. He checked the machine for belt or motor damage. Found nothing there, then checked the gear box and found this to be the problem. The gears were not turning properly causing extra strain on the belt, which was causing the burnt smell. He said the gear box would have to be completely replaced in order for the machine to work. Since my washer is over 10 years old, he advised that it would not be cost effective to replace the gear box because between the cost of parts and labor, you could basically buy a new washer. He also tried putting a new belt on to see if it might work for a few more loads, since we were about to go out of town for 1 week, and had laundry to finish. He said he could try putting a new belt on to see if it might work for a few more loads, but after doing so told me that the gear box was not even turning at all. Since there was nothing more he could do, he charged me for the trip charge only, which was $69.00. I thought this was a little on the high side, but understandable with the price of gas and distance to our house, which was about 15 minutes. He did not charge me for the new belt. I found him to be very informative and friendly. He clearly explained the problem and reasons why he advised against the repair. He identified the problem quickly, seemed very knowledgeable and experienced. I also felt he took the time to evaluate, and did not rush through the service call. I would definitely use this repair service again.

Description of Work
The washing machine tub had stopped working in that water was still filling it, but the tub would not spin or empty completely. I also noticed a burning smell coming from the washer.

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Our Majesty's Handyman Services, LLC

    We are owner operated. We take pride in our quality craftsmanship. We believe in building long-term relationships with our clients and integrity is what we deliver to our clients along with exceptional work. For example we pay special attention in taking our time and value your personal property as our own. We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality craftsmanship. We are experts in our trade and will do our best to keep you as educated as we can on your particular project. Our company pays special attention to meeting your needs in whatever it is you request. We look forward to working with you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    ADT

    ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by ADT on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Parts & repair household appliances, including ranges, refrigerators, dishwashers, freezers, washers, dryers & garbage disposals.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Apex Appliance Inc

    How is Apex Appliance Inc overall rated?

    Apex Appliance Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Apex Appliance Inc open?

    Apex Appliance Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Apex Appliance Inc provide

    Apex Appliance Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Apex Appliance Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Apex Appliance Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Apex Appliance Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Apex Appliance Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Apex Appliance Inc?

    No, Apex Appliance Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Apex Appliance Inc offer?

    Apex Appliance Inc offers the following services: Parts & repair household appliances, including ranges, refrigerators, dishwashers, freezers, washers, dryers & garbage disposals.