Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

4k Handyman Electric

Founded 2011 • With Angi since February 2012

I am an electrical contractor. I have 30 years experience. I mostly do residential and commercial work.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(81) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 81 reviews
Darren C.
5.0
07/05/2021
It went perfectly. Ed is excellent, professional and his work is superb always. We have had him out several times for various projects including (but not limited to) rewiring numerous outlets, replacing our "service" box ) from 100a to 200a. Added service to a deck including a 50a, 240v hot tub. You will not be disappointed.
Description of Work
Various projects over a number of years
Category
electrician, pool cleaners
Sherry M.
5.0
07/15/2020
Ed did a fantastic job! I can't believe how smooth it went and how easily he made it seem. I was extremely happy with all of the work he did and was even surprised at his ability to not only repair the electrical work but to also clean up and repair anything needed while doing so. I would highly recommend him to anyone that needs electrical work done. If you are looking for someone to do a great job, very reasonably priced; Ed is your man. Thank you so much Ed!
Description of Work
I had quite the project. I needed five (5) ceiling fans installed (2 in rooms that never had a ceiling light before); update the electrical panel in the basement; hookup the dishwasher and put in numerous new updated plugs throughout the house and repair a couple of switches; and updated the electrical outlets and switches in the bathroom and kitchen.
Category
electrician
Paul S.
5.0
01/21/2019
Had an excellent experience w Ed. Called him and he spent 10 minutes on the phone trying to understand the house situation, and came to the home the next morning. Running new wire to front door was quite tricky, but he methodically worked through a process until he found a way to make it work. Really appreciate his problem-solving, patience, and skill. Final solution is perfect, he cleaned up the location nicely, and charged a very fair price. Would highly-recommend, and will preferentially use his service for our electrical needs.
Description of Work
new doorbell wiring/ installation of ring doorbell
Category
electrician, home security systems
Renee O.
5.0
10/23/2018
I was very happy with every part of Ed's service. He responded quickly to my initial request, gave me a very reasonable price, and coordinated city inspection and the electric company turning power on and off. He did everything as he said and went above and beyond what I expected to give me a good end product. I felt he looked out for what I would need without me asking, and did things the way he would have for his own home. He did the work promptly and well.
Description of Work
Update electrical in an old house. New fuse box and some new outlets. New service to house.
Category
electrician
Brian C.
5.0
07/31/2018
Ed is by far my "favorite" contractor to have to call. Granted, I'd rather not be calling anyone to get something fixed, but when I call Ed I know the work is going to get done, and done RIGHT! He is extremely helpful, does everything professionally how it is supposed to be done, and is very helpful with everything in the process. I really can't express how thankful I am for all Ed did to get our house fixed after a basement electrical fire. Being that it was a fire/insurance job, there was a bit more involved, and Ed did everything he could to help. Ed took out all of the bad wiring that was burned or damaged, took out old knob and tube, and rewired everything, including an A/C unit we decided to add in the process.
Description of Work
Rewiring After a Fire
Category
electrician
DAN H.
5.0
07/12/2018
I could not have asked for a better job or price. This is a pro that knows what he is doing and takes pride in his work. This is my go to in the future for all my electrical needs. Hiring this pro will not disappoint.
Description of Work
Several small electrical issues needed to be attended to by a professional.
Category
electrician
CHARLES Z.
5.0
09/19/2017
Great Thanks Ed. Enjoyed working with you today
Description of Work
Rewired heat trace cable on exterior of home
Category
electrician
Leah T.
5.0
02/13/2017
My hot tub was freezing up because it had no electricity getting to it. The pump was freezing and he came out on a very cold winter day on a holiday weekend and spent a lot of time solving my problem. I was so grateful because my hot tub could have been ruined and I live in a different state so I was in big trouble. All in all he was a hero and saved my hot tub.
Description of Work
Hot tub repair
Category
electrician, pool cleaners
Dana H.
5.0
01/11/2017
He came out at the crack of dawn on a Saturday to accommodate our work schedule and found and fixed the issues quickly. No upcharge for early Saturday work and what he did charge was extremely reasonable. We were actually shocked that he didn't charge more and we would absolutely recommend him for anyone in the area who needs electrical work. We couldn't be more pleased.
Description of Work
Burnt wires in wall and electrical box caulking.
Category
electrician
Jessica P.
3.0
01/10/2017
Ed was responsive and came the next day. He said the problem was a short in the wire and that he replaced the wire. He said I needed a smaller breaker for one of the lights and he said he replaced that. He wasn't sure what was the cause of the lights flickering but thought it might because the shorted wires from the porch light. When he left both lights were working. Later that day, they both stopped working consistently. In a nutshell, the problem wasn't fixed but I paid $70 for it.
Description of Work
I had a front porch light that wasn't working, a living room light that wasn't working and some flickering lights in two other rooms.
Category
electrician
Greg B.
5.0
12/19/2016
Ed said he would be on site Monday morning at 8:30 a..m. He arrived at 8:00 am, which pleased my dad. Any future electrical work will be sent his way!
Description of Work
My father needed a bathroom light fixture fixed.
Category
electrician
Nicole H.
5.0
11/17/2016
Excellent! I couldn't be happier. Reasonable costs, prompt, great communication. When we add a few new circuits we will definitely give Ed a call. Thanks so much!
Description of Work
Repair of a circuit as well as hanging a light.
Category
electrician
Roberta T.
5.0
10/12/2016
It was great! He was on time, his pricing was more than fair. He was understanding when we just didn't have enough for all we needed done. He also explained what we would need for other ideas (i.e. installing a separate Jacuzzi electrical line and installing more outlets which he suggested would be too expensive and not very practical) I believe the man representing this company who came to my house was a highly trust-able and knowledgeable man and would definitely trust him working in my house! =)
Description of Work
One bathroom fan already installed to have the music line fixed, to install another blue tooth bath fan, and change a few switches.
Category
electrician
Anthony B.
5.0
10/10/2016
Great! Very professional and quality work. Would hire again in a minute.
Description of Work
Rewiring house, new electrical in basement
Category
electrician
Chris D.
5.0
10/04/2016
Excellent work! Ed rewired our kitchen during a remodel and was happy to let me work with him and teach me the basics of electrical work. Ed is a very skilled electrician and does great work, is very knowledgeable on all code requirements, accurate on cost estimating and flexible when scheduling. Rough in inspections passed without a single issue. Ed returned to install receptacles and again taught me proper installation methods, and was also helpful by giving advice on other details of our project to help us completed our remodel successfully.
Description of Work
Rewire a kitchen during a remodel including 2 lighting circuits, 4 appliance circuits, new sub panel and and re-routing existing circuits.
Category
electrician
Linda M.
5.0
09/21/2016
Wonderful. We called him and he scheduled for the next day. He was efficient and made good recommendations for us as to where electrical boxes should be kept.
Description of Work
remove old electrical wires in small room and add new wiring for back entry way
Category
electrician
Lori S.
5.0
07/17/2016
Great! Ed was on time and the quality of his work exceeded my expectations.
Description of Work
Repair a faulty outdoor outlet
Category
electrician
t S.
5.0
06/08/2016
I called Ed, first of all to see if he would be willing to trek all the way to Fremont for a multitude of projects? Though 50 miles away is probably out of his service area, he must have noted a bit of desperation in my voice and agreed. A date and time were agreed upon. Ed arrived promptly on time, exactly as planned, in 35 years of waiting on a contractors, that has rarely happened. Every project was crossed off our wish list, promptly, efficiently and most importantly, correctly! My husband and I are so pleased with the professional work ethic Ed showed, the respect to us, as customers and our home. I couldn't possibly describe how refreshing it is to have a contractor, not only meet but far surpass our expectations. Thank you Ed!
Description of Work
Ed performed many tasks needed around our summer home. From installing programmable light switches to installing a new bathroom light/fan fixture. Added an outlet to a bathroom, installed a GFI outlet, etc. Multiple projects, too many to list.
Category
electrician
Mark V.
5.0
06/03/2016
One part of the job wasn't easy, but he stuck with it and got it fixed. Very good work. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Installed exterior security lights and made general repairs.
Category
electrician
scott C.
5.0
02/13/2016
Ed was great. Got a lot done in a short amount of time. I'll definitely be calling him back when I get to the rest of the house.
Description of Work
Updated old knob/tubing electrical, added gfci sockets in the kitchen, and 3 brand new sockets.
Category
electrician
cathy H.
5.0
12/18/2015
Ed came to the house a little earlier than he said and he tried the button to open the garage door. I'm so glad that it didn't work for him, either. He walked over to that red string that had been dangling and pulled harder on it than I did. He pushed the button again and voila it opened and has ever since. He was only here for a few minutes and he left with no extra charges. I have been recommending him to everyone I know and since his prices were so reasonable I'm making a new list of things I need him to do. I'm very happy with his service.
Description of Work
this is a follow up to my previous review from November 10, 2015. A couple of days after Ed finished up I decided to put my car in the garage and found that although it now had electricity running to the garage door it wouldn't open. I tried a couple of things including pulling the red string hanging near the door but nothing worked. I finally texted Ed and asked for help. He said it probably needed the release engaged. Well I had no clue what he was talking about so he said he'd stop by Monday around 6pm.
Category
electrician
Michael O.
5.0
11/29/2015
Being new to the area, I don't have a lot of info on various services. I rely heavily on Angie's List. When purchasing our home (built in 1976), we knew some electrical updating was required. After reviewing Angie's List, I decided to reach out to 4k Handyman Electric. After leaving an initial voicemail and sending a follow-up text, I was soon communicating directly with Ed via text to schedule an appointment and provide more info on the work required (including pictures). On the day of the appointment, Ed arrived on time. He was friendly yet focused on tasks at hand. He spent about 4 hours completing the aforementioned work. If you're looking for quality work at reasonable rates, I suggest considering 4K Handyman Electric. Well worth the peace of mind! I will definitely hire Ed for future electrical work!
Description of Work
Added new outlets and a switch in downstairs room. Replaced faulty breaker Replaced ungrounded outlet Updated existing kitchen plugs with new GFCI outlets Removed unused garbage disposal switch Updated existing non-flush 220 V dryer plug with new flush 220 V dryer outlet
Category
electrician
Marie S.
5.0
11/16/2015
Ed was very prompt in responding. He was able to come out the following day. I still have not received a call back from another Angie's List provider (four days later). Truly appreciated Ed's expertise. He even caught a leak that was coming from my washer set up. A professional moving company had sent someone out to hook up our washer and dryer the day before and didn't catch the leak. I ended up having to call a plumber for that. I can't imagine the damage that would have been done if Ed hadn't caught the leak. Thanks so much!
Description of Work
Previous Owner had a Gas Dryer. Needed to convert for Electric Dryer
Category
electrician
cathy H.
5.0
11/12/2015
Ed arrived on time, asked what I needed done, and checked each one out. He got right to work and I found him he was a very diligent worker. He asked me about making a run to a hardware store and I said I would be glad to. He made me a list and told me to just show it to someone in the electrical department at the store and they'd get it for me. I was glad to hear that and went to the store. He worked at a steady pace and didn't waste time. When he was done I was surprised by the low amount he charged me. We had never discussed price, which was my doing, but it was fine because other reviews on Angie's List stated that he charged a fair price. He was great and I plan having him come back and doing more work in the future. I was really pleased with the work and price.
Description of Work
Ed installed four light fixtures, cleaned up a mess of an another electrician, i.e., got the power going to my garage door and table above my dining room light. He replaced a couple of switches and also sent me to a big box DIY self store for a replacement for an outside outlet incorrectly installed by previous electrician.
Category
electrician
Louis S.
3.0
10/09/2015
Ed was very friendly and very punctual. He seemed to know what he was doing with regards to the traditional electrical work. I have no reason to doubt his ability. However, he didn't clean up any thing that he worked on and after reinspecting I get the feel he just wanted to get done as quickly as possible on a Friday afternoon. The two boxes he installed in my floor were not secured and I was able to pull them right up and out of the floor. Additionally, I had to go to each of the three sites he worked on and sweep up, pick up pieces of hardwood he cut out and vacuum the carpet. When he mounted a ceiling outlet for the projector I had professionally installed he knocked it out of alignment.
Description of Work
Found a hidden GFI outlet that was preventing a room's lights to work. Installed three outlets. According to him, he does not know how to work with fireplace wiring, network cables or audio cables. I needed to call someone else to finish those jobs.
Category
electrician

Other local Pros in your area

HighPower Electric

Specializing in electrical services! We guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done correctly. We take pride in the quality work we provide, while always delivering excellent customer service! , call --or-- click to schedule an estimate today! You can always find us at Highpowerelectricmi.com  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

AAB Electric

With over 30 years of electrical experience, we are here to address all your electrical needs. You'll be shocked how good we are.  

Angi Certified

ADT

ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

1080 Lincoln St

Grand Rapids, MI 49534

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

4k Handyman Electric is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

4k Handyman Electric is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 1:00 PM

4k Handyman Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, 4k Handyman Electric offers free project estimates.

No, 4k Handyman Electric does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, 4k Handyman Electric does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, 4k Handyman Electric offers warranties.

4k Handyman Electric offers the following services: Electrical