Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Motor City Builders

4.6

(138) Verified Reviews

Founded 1939 • With Angi since June 2009

Licensed
Trade License Number
2102011955
Trade License Locale
Michigan
Trade License Authority
Michigan: Contractors
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

2501 S Saginaw St

Flint, MI 48503

Description

Roofing and Siding Installation and Replacement; no repairs. Kitchen/Bath, Remodeling full remodeling projects only; no repairs or small projects. In business since 1939, family owned and started by Bob Poirier then sold to his son David in 1981. Currently run by David and his son Matt. Motor City Builders services Genesee and surrounding counties in the mid-Michigan area. Specializing in everything from windows and siding to an entirely new build. Motor City Builders is a dependable company with a reputation for service, pricing and quality. The company prides itself on the fact that most business is the result of referrals from happy customers whose satisfaction is due to impeccable customer service and quality workmanship, all at a fair price. Be sure to contact the Motor City Builders sales team to schedule an appointment for a free estimate. We'll come to your home, discuss your vision and work together in an effort to make your dream a reality. We look forward to hearing from you!...

Verified Reviews

4.6

(138) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

104

4

18

3

2

2

5

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

home builder (6)garage building (6)decks & porches (5)basement remodeling (3)roofing (44)home remodeling (34)siding companies (27)window replacement (25)door installation (17)drywall (15)general contractors (14)electrician (13)
Showing 1-10 of 138 reviews
5.0

10/01/2020


Henderson A.

We were very pleased with the work of Motor City Builders. From the first call Matt was very informative and upfront. He was timely with giving an estimate and gave honest information about the timing of the project and possible hold ups of materials due to COVID. Fortunately, that did not prove to be an issue. The workers showed up on time each day and worked diligently throughout the day. Siding is a high priced project and Matt's price was well within our set budget. We recently had a roof done and upon them starting the siding they found some issues with the roof that weren't done quite right. We appreciate them being upfront and more importantly skilled to fix it and complete the siding with quality workmanship. Again, Matt was honest about what was needed and although there was additional cost to us it was a crisis averted. We have already happily given referrals to those who have asked.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding and gutter replacement

Category gutter repair,siding

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2020

4.0

04/03/2019


Greg N.

It went very well. They suggested some add-ons like windows as well as replacing some windows. He also worked with me on the style of the exterior of the addition.

Description of Work
Built an addition with a basement.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2018

5.0

03/21/2019


richard S.

Job was completed on time with professional workers and within budget with excellent quality.

Description of Work
An additional bedroom on our lower level

Category contractors,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,lighting,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2019

5.0

01/01/2019


Jack S.

Entire job took about 3 months, but result is fantastic. Dave, Matt, and the whole crew at Motor City Builders are great to deal with. I recommend you contact them about your next building or remodeling project.

Description of Work
Room addition

Category contractors,concrete repair,drywall,electrician,gutter repair,lighting,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,home builders

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review. We at MCB all enjoyed building your addition you and your mrs were great to work for. Enjoy your sunrooom addition.
5.0

12/18/2018


Kristen T.

Motor City helped us transform a lake front cottage into a family home. 900 Sqft of addition were added to the existing home. ~75% of the existing structure was demolished and rebuilt. The job required a lot of ingenuity and creativity. Dave and his crew helped us from the design phase through the building process making necessary adjustments through the life of the project. Communication was always open and honest and we are very happy with the quality of work.

Description of Work
Addition and Complete Home Remodel

Category contractors,concrete repair,gutter repair,hardwood floor,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,chimney repair,home builders,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. It was a great pleasure working with you. Enjoy your new home.
5.0

12/02/2018


Mary D.

Worker did excellent job in very cold weather with snow on roof. Hard worker. Have had compliments on how much better gutters looked.

Description of Work
Clean, seal and secure gutters, two storey home.

Category gutter repair,remodeling

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2018

5.0

03/20/2018


Chris M.

In short, it went fantastic. I had a large hip and valley roof and a detached garage that needed the roof replaced, and from the day Mike came to give the estimate I was impressed. First, the price was very reasonable compared to the other estimates I received. Mike was very detailed in what work he and his crew would be doing, what materials they would be using, and explained why on each detail. He discussed concerns with some trouble areas, and willingly answered all questions I had. They were on the job early, hit it hard each day, and finished ahead of schedule. Mike and his crew were all very friendly, professional, and did a fantastic job all the way around. I can not say enough about what a pleasant experience working with Motor City Builders was, and would easily hire them again if I had another large project to be done.

Description of Work
Roof tear off and replacement

Category remodeling,roofing

Cost $17,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2018

5.0

03/13/2018


Jeff R.

Great service. Quick response to give an estimate. Work was scheduled and completed very timely. Very happy with the all around service from this guy. I would highly recommend. Now I’m just waiting for a lot of rain again to make sure it’s not leaking. I will update if necessary

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2018

5.0

02/27/2018


Martha B.

Part of the repairs were taken care of with our homeowners insurance, then we wanted some updates to items not affected by the water. We are thrilled with how our kitchen looks. Matt and his workers were fantastic. They were dedicated to doing a top notch job. They always let us know what time they were coming and were always on time. They worked hard the entire time they were here. Each person was very friendly and helpful and willing to answer questions and give advice.

Description of Work
We had our kitchen drain replaced and the rest of the kitchen redone except for the cabinets. We had flooring, countertops, sink, faucets, and garbage disposal. Our floor had gotten water damaged when we were on vacation. They came and gave us a temporary drain right away which served us well until the rest of the work could be scheduled.

Category electrician,flooring contractor,plumbing,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2018

1.0

01/11/2018


Victor C.

Not to my liken would not recommend.Had to supply own siding.Had to inform about broken material .Never was shown break down off job.Went from 14x28 down to 16x20 at same price also walls 11ft down to 10ft didn't adjust for different.

Description of Work
Garage Made decion on his own.

Category remodeling,garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2018

Services Offered

New construction, Remodeling, Kitchens, Baths, Additions, Garages, Windows, Doors, Roofing, Siding, Concrete, and Much More.

Services Not Offered

Ask for Details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Motor City Builders

How is Motor City Builders overall rated?

Motor City Builders is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are Motor City Builders open?

Motor City Builders is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

What payment options does Motor City Builders provide

Motor City Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Does Motor City Builders offer free estimates?

Yes, Motor City Builders offers free project estimates.

Does Motor City Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Motor City Builders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Are warranties offered by Motor City Builders?

Yes, Motor City Builders offers warranties.

What services does Motor City Builders offer?

Motor City Builders offers the following services: New construction, Remodeling, Kitchens, Baths, Additions, Garages, Windows, Doors, Roofing, Siding, Concrete, and Much More.

Are there any services Motor City Builders does not offer?

Ask for Details