Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc

Founded 1972 • With Angi since May 2009

Atlantic Coast is waterproofing Michigan basements one home at a time. Each job that we do receives the proper inspection, diagnosis and quality workmanship that the customer deserves. Our waterproofing solutions are permanent and are not designed to try and stop water but are engineered so we can carry the water away. The key to this fact is that you need to be able to move the water away faster then it is received. Contact us today through angie's List message center or, Additional Contact Number - 248-597-7000 Additional email - contactus@atlanticcoastwaterproofing.com. Owner operated. Check out our Basement Waterproofing videos on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/Atlantic-Coast-Waterproofing-Inc-248-597-7000-128372753843315

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Royal Oak Waterproofing Project.

basement waterproofing

202149067
Customized interior Waterproofing Project with raised footer on left wall.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.9

(86) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

76

4

3

3

3

2

4

1

0

Rating Details

Price
4.7
Professionalism
4.9
Punctuality
5.0
Quality
5.0
Responsiveness
4.9

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (80)well & water pump repair (31)drain pipe installation (19)foundation repair (17)plumbers (18)water damage restoration (8)concrete repair (8)excavating (7)
Showing 1-25 of 86 reviews
Steve H.
5.0
01/25/2021
The most important thing I can say about Atlantic Coast Waterproofing is meet with all other foundation experts first, then call Gary. Why? INSPECTION 1. He pointed out that my basement floor overlaid the footer at different heights based on where you are in basement. --No other specialist pointed this out, this detail is very important 2. He was able to point out previous homeowners put in "home made" system --No other specialist pointed this out, this detail is very important 3. He was able to answer my questions about exterior of house that might need attention to maximize keeping basement as dry as possible, while working in parallel with interior system 4. Professional, respectful, straight forward PROPOSAL 1. Informative 2. Best warranty in the industry. 3. Cost came in similar to other proposals that would not have been effective solution for my situation INSTALLATION - BASICS 01. Anytime Gary ran into a home specific challenge he was able to overcome and offer different solutions to correct 03. Any silly question I had was happily answered 04. Walked me through progress daily 05. Was able to adapt to inspector asking for a different proposed sump pump solution, this was no problem 06. Was able to re-assure me that removal of old shower was best interest when he found sub-par installation and mold! 07. The work was super clean in basement 08. Trench was a good 14 inches wide, dug to bottom of footer, with 4 inch pipe installed 09. Gary made sure to test each weep hole very carefully and re-drilled any hole with questionable drainage or mortar clogs 09. Final gravel, pipe and cement installation was executed flawlessly 10. Permit inspector raved about the good job Gary and his team had done and he passed inspection with flying colors INSTALLATION - ABOVE AND BEYOND 01. There was questionable broken shower drain pipe, he just fixed it, no problem 02. While preparing area around sump pump Gary went the extra mile to investigate what could be another bad "home made" plumbing solution. Turns out the previous owner did not connect sump pump outlet to main sewer line, leaving a visible gap, and essentially allowing sewer gases to escape! Gary then switched gears, put on his plumber hat, and had multiple solutions to correct problem. There was a nominal cost associated with it, but I was MORE THAN HAPPY to pay for properly fixing a very bad plumbing situation. 03. Gary's crew are also there to get it done right. When his crew arrived one member pointed out that cleanout to main sewer line was not up to code. This was not pressing concern, but once other plumbing problems were uncovered, they brought this up to code at cost of some new PVC pipe. Very nice. 04. Gary's final cleanup surprised me, in a good way. After seeing first hand the unavoidable mess this type of work can cause, Gary humbly said they do their best with final clean up. Well, when we did final inspection, the basement and exterior never looked better. Nice.
Description of Work
Fix leaky basement in 1942 built Royal Oak, MI house
Category
basement waterproofing
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Wow! Thank you sir for your business and for sharing your experience with us on Angie's List. We love serving our customers over the competition. Thank you for allowing us to post your installation pictures on our Facebook page. Good luck with the upcoming basement remodeling project and Congratulations on the Dry Basement!
Mark F.
5.0
01/24/2020
The owner of the company came an hour and a half to my he to give me a FREE INSPECTION! He wasn’t a high pressure salesman, and he spent an hour and a half explaining to me EVERYTHING that could be wrong. Although at this time a system is not needed, he didn’t try to scare me into a purchase. This is a company that has integrity! If I EVER need a waterproofing system, this is the company I would hire hands down!
Description of Work
Waterproofing systems
Category
basement waterproofing
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for sharing your experience with us on Angie's List. We pride ourselves on serving the customer with integrity. We are are here for you if you are unable to service the existing system. Good luck dealing with your builder under the builder's warranty.
Eva B.
5.0
07/01/2019
He was very knowledgeable about drain fields dry wells and the types of pumps required. He was flexible and easy to work with in my unusual situation and got the job done in a good time frame. He had valuable suggestions regarding additional electrical work that was needed. In all, I was very pleased and would hire again.
Description of Work
He replaced the sump in my outdoor dry well that redirects water year round from my property drain field.
Category
wells
Cost
$700
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you ma'am for your business and for writing this review. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Kelly B.
5.0
06/28/2019
Contacted this company on June 15th with a chronic leak in the basement. the owner (Gary) came out to give a free estimate, arrived promptly, did a thorough examination of the problem, identified the issues, and presented us with a very well organized explanation of our specific basement problem. In these moments of the appointment, we were impressed with his knowledge and comprehension of not just the issues, but gave us choices on the remedies. He presented samples of the materials he uses to perform the work, and explained exactly how things would be done. We also felt that he gave us a reasonable estimate and we chose the least expensive option to remedy the issues. Once we decided to move ahead with this company, Gary organized the work and scheduled us for prompt service. His team Phil, Cody, and Casey arrived at the appointed date to prep the work areas. This was a pleasant experience because they showed interest and care in how I wanted my belongings to be handled. They included me on how organization and trouble-shooting so that they could do a good quality job in the expected time window of three days. Indeed, this is what happened. Not only did this team of men handle this work, and all of their duties, with utmost care and kindness, they were also quite personable and enjoyable to have on this basement job. They were all very neat, respectful, clean, courteous, and mindful of our daily activities. In earnest, this was a fine quality experience from the start, and it left us with feeling like a valued family...not just a customer. The work? It is excellent! We were invited to inspect the process along the way and the team would explain what was being done as they worked. On day two there was a slight snafu with the original set up of the pipelines when the house was built, and it threatened to delay job completion by a day. That didn't happen though, because the team was able to address the pipe issue satisfactorily without additional deconstruction needed. The cement work was neatly done and back filled; mold that had begun to accumulate was eradicated, and the work areas were nicely cleaned up. Additionally, the extra day was not necessary. The work was completed in predicted time and is a fine quality level of work. I highly recommend Gary and his team. I found them to be honest, trustworthy, personable, friendly, helpful, resourceful, experienced, and knowledgeable. Full 5+ stars on this business.
Description of Work
Chronic basement leaks
Category
basement waterproofing
Cost
$7,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Wow!!!!! Thank you so much for your business and for sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on the dry basement.
Richard C.
5.0
10/20/2018
After years of having a flooded basement we contacted Atlantic Coast Waterproofing. Gary, the owner, came to our home and explained the process he would use to guarantee (life time and transferrable) a dry basement. His explanation was very detailed and he answered all of our questions. The job was started promptly when scheduled and completed in the projected time frame. Plastic was draped over the basement contents to protect from dust, so the mess was minimal. All of the work was handled by the crew, Gary, Cody, Casey, Phil, and the very talented cement finisher, Richard. They cleaned the work site every day so that they were starting fresh the next day. The entire crew of Atlantic Coast Waterproofing possess a very strong work ethic. They are courteous, dependable, and considerate of their client's property. The saying "you get what you pay for", is very true in this case. The job exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend Gary and his company for your waterproofing needs.
Description of Work
Basement water proofing
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Wow! Thank you sir for your kind words. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write this beautiful testimonial. Enjoy the peace of mind knowing you have a dry basement.
Katie M.
5.0
06/14/2018
Gary was great! Very informative and knowledgeable. Actually, recommended given our job that we persue a different approach than what they offered. Very honest. Would highly recommend
Description of Work
Water problem
Category
basement waterproofing
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for those kind words. We believe in advising our customers with integrity. We would of loved doing business with you guys but your water problems require more of a landscaping approach. Good luck with your project.
Lisa C.
5.0
06/11/2018
Gary and his men ran into a few challenges with our 100 year old house but overall handled them professionally - explaining each step, what was found and what was to be done. There was a hiccup that caused some grief, but Gary took responsibility. He also provided us with a superior product to the one quoted when the crew found that the standard materials might not be the best choice and for that we are very appreciative. The work looks great and the big rains lately have proven the quality of the work.
Description of Work
Basement waterproofing
Category
concrete repair, excavators, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for those kind words and for sharing your experience with us on Angies List. In our industry it is impossible to see what could come up on each job unless we have x-ray vision. Your job required additional material and labor. A lot of companies would of charged you extra for the additional work. We believe in serving our customers with integrity and doing the job right the first time. Thank you ma'am for your business and enjoy your dry basement.
CAROL R.
5.0
06/09/2018
Our basement had water coming in between the walls and the floor after the winter thaw and subsequent heavy rains in the spring, despite having 2 sump pumps in one well and adding gutters and downspouts to the house last year. While waiting for a basement waterproofer we knew from our last home, we checked Angie's list and were impressed by the great reviews received about this company. We called, and the owner, Gary, came out that day to assess our situation, explain why were were getting the water, and recommend a plan to correct the problem. His knowledge of water management, his experience, his explanations, and the lifetime unconditional guarantee, convinced us that he was the right one to hire. The job was a very big job, and it took Gary and his crew 9 days working 8 hours a day to complete it, but they were all prompt, hardworking, professional, and knowledgeable, plus they all seemed to enjoy their job and take pride in their work. We often went downstairs to observe and ask questions, and Gary took the time to answer all our questions, as well as to explain in detail the various stages of the job as they were doing it. Because Gary was there on the job every day all day, the specifics of the internal drainage system was determined after all the trenching was done and they could see the best way for the water to flow. With a job like this, I would beware of a contractor that decides everything at the onset and is not there on the job, because flexibility seems to be important in getting the best outcome. In the end, although we would have preferred not to have needed to have this job done at all, we know that we made the right decision for a permanent solution, and we have complete confidence that this will solve our water problem. Thanks Gary and his crew!
Description of Work
Basement waterproofing with interior drain pipe installation, and installation of a second sump pump well and 2 sump pumps
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe
Cost
$26,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you guys for this outstanding testimonial. Thank you also for feeding the crew B.B.Q. ribs and homemade spaghetti. We enjoyed working with you and are happy your water problems are resolved. Enjoy your dry basement.
Christopher H.
5.0
04/06/2018
Gary called right away and came out right away to give me a free quote. He let me know of his and his families experience over the years since he’s been in his profession and walked me through the issues with my foundation. We set a date for him to come out and he came out ahead of time and finished the job before the completion date. There is no water in the basement any more! I recommend him to everyone!
Description of Work
Basement was leaking in water through the cracks in the walls.
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells
Cost
$15,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for sharing your experience with Angies List and for your refferals. Thank you for trusting in us, our products and our services. Congrats on your dry basement and hopefully the Basement remodeling project will go just as smoothly as the waterproofing did.
Kathy W.
5.0
03/15/2018
We had water leaking into the basement after a heavy rain and snow melt in February. We called 3 companies for estimates. We were most impressed with Gary Lustig, his background and experience and his Angie's list reviews. He was able to start the job sooner than the others and we are very glad we hired him. The job went really well. Gary explained everything, step by step, as he was completing the job. He was very thorough, paying attention to every detail and giving us lots of insight as to why we needed this work performed in the first place. His crew worked hard, were very polite, neat and professional. They also did a great job cleaning up after each work day.
Description of Work
Interior basement waterproofing
Category
basement waterproofing
Cost
$17,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for those kind words and your awesome testimonial. You guys are great customers and we appreciate your business. Enjoy the dry basement.
Rob W.
5.0
02/25/2018
We don’t hesitate to recommend Atlantic Coast Waterproofing. We had a very specialized drainage issue in our tight crawl space that involved intense labor. Gary and his team worked both relentlessly and efficiently while also taking the time to clearly explain each step of the process. We never felt intimidated to ask a question and felt comfortable with his extensive waterproofing knowledge. Due to the special nature of our project, Gary also had to work closely with other contractors and did so with the utmost expertise and professionalism. If you want your job done properly and with integrity, hire Atlantic Coast.
Description of Work
Waterproofing our crawl space
Category
basement waterproofing, drain pipe
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

That is great to hear Mr. [Member Name Removed], We certainly appreciate your business and your kind words. Thanks again! It was our pleasure to service your basement.
Geoff L.
5.0
02/19/2018
Atlantic Coast may not be the cheapest company but their work is outstanding. They were friendly, communicated what would be happening in my basement, and even took me downstairs to show me the work that they had done. I would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Basement waterproofing
Category
concrete repair, plumbing, basement waterproofing
Cost
$15,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for sharing your experience with Angies List and for your business.
William D.
5.0
02/15/2018
[*** Link removed ***] Since that post, the building inspector has passed they work. As I write they are finishing pouring the gravel and will be pouring the concrete, finishing the job in 3 working days. Just in time for the first thaw! You can see the water coming in to the new drain trench.

Images

Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 36833224
Description of Work
Repair a water leak in a poured concrete basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Cost
$6,500
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and your business. Enjoy the dry basement. Gary Lustig owner, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing.
Monique R.
5.0
07/19/2017
Every one of the rod holes were drilled out and sealed. The cement was removed about 15 inches from the wall and a trench about 15 inches deep was dug. A large black plastic type pipe was laid on top of a bed of stones, then stones on top of that. A plastic type of dimpled sheet was placed on top and was turned at 90 degrees to go up the wall a couple of inches. Then the entire trench was covered in cement as thick as the rest of the existing floor. Also installed were 5 inch I beams floor to ceiling along the wall that was cracked. Panels were installed over the cracked walls. A wonderful feature is that there are large about 4 inch clean outs installed on each wall which will allow the entire system to be flushed with water into the black buried pipe flowing into the new sump pump that was installed. See photos. The basement is dry and fresh and looks great. We would choose Atlantic Coast Waterproofing again. The owner Gary was there for the entire job, start to finish. It has rained heavily since the job was completed. Absolutely no water has gotten into the basement. What is very important is that the job comes with a lifetime guarantee that covers fixing everything that results in water on the floor. Water from the walls, cracks, rod holes or even through the floor that results in water on the floor will be fixed free. It is also 100% transferable to new owners.

Images

Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 35794634
Description of Work
The basement had been leaking for over ten years with the previous owners. The basement was leaking from all the walls through rod holes, large cracks, the interface between the floor and walls, even through a crack in the floor. There was always standing water.
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for your business and for sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your dry basement.
Dawn S.
5.0
07/12/2017
They did a good job. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
Repair foundation and water proofing.
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Cost
$6,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! It was our pleasure!
Robert C.
5.0
04/15/2017
I called Gary because of his high reviews. He got back with me quickly, and was able to come check our basement out right away. Some companies wouldn't even give me an estimate for almost 2 weeks! Gary was prompt, polite, friendly. He explained our issues in great detail. We had no idea what we were doing, and Gary taught us so much! He was able to come do the job right away. The team of guys were fantastic. Gary was here every day, leading the pack. The job took exactly as long as what he said. It cost exactly what we were quoted. The work site was super clean and tidy. We thought we had moved our belongings out of the way and they weren't quite. But the crew moved our stuff out of the way, covered it up so it wouldn't get all dusty. The city plumbing inspector and the building inspector commented on how clean the jobsite was, and how this was by far the BEST waterproofing job they had ever seen. I had such a great experience with Gary, I wish I had another basement for him to fix. We will definitely recommend Atlantic Coast to anybody looking. Very pleased we made this investment. UPDATE 4-19-17 The city plumbing inspector had to come back and inspect an unrelated issue to Garys work. This was about 5 days after Gary finished the hob. The inspector mentioned SEVERAL times during this unrelated inspection how great again the work Gary did was. I told him I would gladly recommend Atlantic Coast to anybody!
Description of Work
Inspection, fixed multiple tie rod holes, foundation crack along wall and installed an interior drain system.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair
Cost
$11,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for sharing your experience with ANGIE'S LIST ! We enjoyed working for you and your family. Thank you for trusting in us, our products and our services. Sincerely, Gary Lustig
Sandra M.
5.0
01/20/2017
Gary is extremely professional and competent. Also, he and his helper were very comfortable to have in our home for the 4 1/2 weeks needed for the work. We were impressed with Gary from the first time we met him. After examining our basement/crawl space problems, he explained in detail, with drawings, what needed to be done and both how and why he would do it that way. He kept us informed daily during the process. When, during his work, he discovered an additional problem, he not only advised us, but worked with us and the other trades that had to be called in for the most satisfactory scheduling for total work completion. And, lastly, his work carries a unique unconditional lifetime guarantee against seepage in the area serviced. We would not hesitate to recommend Gary and Atlantic Coast Waterproofing.
Description of Work
Prep basement; removal of insulation; polymeric wall ventilation system; aqua-flow floor system; P.H. balance solution and disinfectant; Kilz primer to crawl space ceiling; 2 submersible pumps.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, mold removal
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

We felt just as comfortable working for you guys as you were having us in your home. Thank you for your business. We believe in advising our customers with integrity so that the job at hand is done properly the first time. Gary Lustig owner Atlantic Coast Waterproofing,Inc.
tracey J.
5.0
11/16/2016
We called several companies out for estimates for a water problem in our basement and what appeared to possibly be a crack in the foundation. Atlantic Coast was the most affordable, had the best guarantee, and a good solution that we were comfortable with. Gary came out on several occasions to sit and discuss with us everything about the job and estimates and what could possibly come up. They showed up a little late the first day, but called first thing to say they had vehicle problems and were running behind, which was fine by us, they also stayed late that day to accommodate. They kept us informed along the way and showed us what was being done, and handled everything appropriately. They also finished the job on time with a few unforeseen obstacles. Ultimately we had the interior waterproofing system put in for the front of the house, where the issue was due to tree roots, underpinning of a foundation crack, and a new sump pump. We are very happy with the work performed. The professionalism, quality, and responsiveness were great and the cost was reasonable and competitive.
Description of Work
Waterproofing and foundation repair (underpinning).
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair
Cost
$5,500
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business. We are excited to get to the root of your problem. In our industry, it is hard to see what is behind a basement wall or under a basement floor but our job is to advise the homeowner with integrity. Thank you for trusting in us and our products and services. Congratulations on getting your basement back.
Jody G.
5.0
11/11/2016
I couldn't have asked for a higher level of service! Gary and his team were prompt and very hard working. At the end of each day, he explained the work that had been done and the plan for the next day and ensured that any questions I had were answered. This was a complex job. As they were digging for the interior drain system, a crack in the foundation was found. I wanted to completely understand the options and asked Gary if he would talk to a few engineer friends of mine. He did so and both engineers said how impressed they were with Gary's approach and knowledge and the situation was remedied. Several weeks after the job was completed, there was a very heavy rain. Gary called to see how the basement was! There was a little bit of dampness in one area. Gary promptly came out to assess and fix the problem. He went above and beyond my expectations. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Gary and Atlantic Coast Waterproofing.
Description of Work
After having several different contractors come to the house each providing a different solution(based on their area of expertise) and doing a real sell job, it was a relief when Gary came to the house. After a very thorough examination of the crawl space and exterior space, Gary presented a comprehensive combination of solutions. He is extremely knowledgeable and took the time to answer all of my questions. We scheduled a date and Gary and his team started the work we agreed to that included an interior drain system and exterior waterproofing.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells
Cost
$30,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you ma'am for your business and you're outstanding testimonial. We pride ourselves on doing the job right the first time. It is not very often that our customer will have Engineers coming to a residential job site. You could tell they had your best interest in mind. It is an honor to receive compliments from both you the customer, as well as your engineer friends , and we strongly say thank you for your business..
Craig B.
5.0
10/14/2016
I asked that Gary cover up everything with plastic, so we wouldn't get any dust on our stuff. After they left, you would not have known they were even there. They were neat, professional, courteous and did an outstanding job. I would recommend anyone using Gary and team. They do it right and get to the root of the problem.
Description of Work
We live in Howell, Michigan. Our basement sits below the water table. So, this means our sump pump is constantly working. However, we started getting leaks on a couple walls. So, Gary came to assess the problem. He knows basements! He presented his solution over other industry solutions. Those other solutions, although good for minor basement leaks, did not meet our needs or assess the real issue. Our foundation was sitting on water. So, Gary and team came out to get under the foundation and lead all that water away from our basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Cost
$8,000
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Congratulations on your dry basement. It has been a pleasure to serve you over the competition. The first waterproofing contractor you hired failed to give you a dry basement. As frustrating as that may be, not all waterproofers are created equal. Thank you for trusting in our company, our products, and our services.
Kathy J.
5.0
10/10/2016
Gary is a consummate professional. Everything happened exactly as he described it would. He and his crew moved my washer and dryer away from the laundry area, moved my laundry sink and replaced it. (A piece broke when he was doing that so he went to Home Depot to get the part and fix it.) Dug under my water heater so I wouldn't be without hot water. Tore out the floor in my cedar closet and preserved the subfloor so I could reinstall it. The work was done over 2 days when I was conveniently out of town and I trusted him completely to be in my house. They hung plastic to minimize the concrete dust and cleaned up very well. I recommend this company highly. The work was completed over a month ago and the weather has been dry so I had no basis to test the effectiveness until the huge deluge of weeklong rain we had 2 weeks ago: Happy to report that I had no water! Other neighbors did so I'm hopeful that I'm finally in the clear and no longer have to be in fear when it rains heavily.
Description of Work
I've continued to have water in my basement, even after the big flood from August 2014 and the supposed "fixes" provided by my previous contractor. I had a few companies come out to assess my situation and describe their solutions. Gary spent some time to look around and then sat down with me to describe his suggestions and their process to accomplish the solution. They were not the cheapest company I got quotes from, but it was clear that his process was much more thorough and the correct way to go about fixing the problem. I had done some research and learned that you can fix the overall problem from the outside or you can "manage" the problem from the inside. The latter process is usually less disruptive and less costly. For a total solution, he recommended trenching along the entire perimeter (all four walls) which means moving everything away from that space, tearing up the concrete (and anything else that's there) to dig down the mandated 8" to seal the area and connect to the drains. I didn't want to spend the money for all four walls but chose to do just the south wall since that's the only place where I was having water issues. As mentioned, this quote was nearly double what the other guys were quoting but the other guys weren't going to dig down 8" nor pull permits nor do the job right. Up until then, I'd already seen the effect of cutting corners and going the cheap route and so I agreed it was time to do the job the right way.
Category
basement waterproofing
Cost
$4,800
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and for telling it like it is. All waterproofers and so called waterproofer's are not created equal. Doing the job right takes more time and time is money. Enjoy your dry basement and peace of mind knowing that if there is ever a problem we are only a phone call away.
Michael M.
5.0
09/15/2016
It went fantastic. I use to do this kind of work when I was younger. I've done a lot of these jobs myself. I went through a lot of potential contractors. You name it, I had them in for an "inspection" or a quote. I knew what I wanted and I knew how I wanted it done. Atlantic was the only company that was going to do it right. I was completely blown away by how clean the job site was while they were doing it. I took a video of the job while they were doing it and towards the end. It's on the FB page and up in the company info above. If you copy and paste that facebook link you can see what it looked like while they were doing it and what it looked like when it was done. They did the job on time and most importantly, correctly. Everything just works. We went from constant water in our basement to completely dry. I love hearing that pump kick on. Now that we've got confidence we've remodeled the basement and 3 contractors have remarked about the quality of the work. (The inspector candidly told me out of earshot, that it was some of the best work she's seen as well).
Description of Work
We needed an entire interior basement drainage system.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

thank you sir for your business and you're strong testimonials. We enjoy catering to a customer who is an educated consumer congratulations on the finished basement.
Raul V.
5.0
08/15/2016
From my experience with contractors have been horrible up to this point but Atlantic service was right on. The drywell was done exactly the way he described and my wife and I have been very happy. We don't have a pond in our backyard anymore as our builders put in(FYI: they refused to fix the problem). I am very happy with the service Atlantic provided.
Description of Work
Dry-Well
Category
wells, drain pipe
Cost
$4,900
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for your business and your kind words. Angie's List exist for this exact experience.Not all contractors are Elite but we appreciate you putting us on that level.We are happy to say that we have taken care of the problems that the Builder has neglected to address.May you have peace of mind not having to deal with this problem.
Anthony F.
5.0
05/12/2016
Overall, Gary and his team were really excellent. Gary provided us with a quote in November 2015 with the expectation to complete the project in spring 2016. When the snow started to melt, we setup a date for the work to begin. Gary did not deviate from the project timing and his communication leading up to and during the project was A+. Total project time was 5 days. This was a big job that required excavating a large amount of clay, all by hand with no mechanical equipment because of the way our home is situated next to our neighbor's driveway. Prior to starting the excavation, the crew did an excellent job placing boards on my lawn and a small portion of the neighbor's driveway (pavers) which resulted in no damage to both grass and driveway. I truly appreciated how conscientious Gary and his crew were during the entire week to ensure that the excavation did not have any lasting impact to the surrounding area. Every day, Gary kept me posted on his progress and on the 2 occasions I did meet with him, he provided me a rundown of the process, next steps and answered all of my numerous questions. Gary also had a permit pulled for the work and it was inspected by West Bloomfield Township during and after project completion (passed). Gary and his team also did a few extras including; removing large slabs of concrete left by the original builder which could have adversely impacted the new drainage system, fixing my garden hose and sealing a sub surface downspout leak. This in addition to doing an amazing cleanup job, highlighted by carefully sweeping and washing down my neighbor's driveway of any residual dirt. In the end, we had no mishaps or unexpected issues and work was completed on time and at the agreed upon cost. Having done some research on the most effective way to waterproof a basement, I believe that Atlantic Coast's methods appear to be in line with best industry practices. Atlantic provides a lifetime guarantee on their work, and I am confident that should we ever have any issue (based on the work, we do not expect any), we are confident that Gary will stand by his work and word and correct the issue. I hope that I never have to use Atlantic Coast's services again, but if I do have any type of waterproofing issue, I will be sure to contact Atlantic Coast first!

Images

Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 31760481Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 31760481Review for Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc - 8101 Sheraton Park Dr, Fenton, MI - 31760481
Description of Work
We had a small leak in our basement during heavy rains with additional cracking along the south wall of our home creating the potential for additional water seepage. After getting several quotes from contractors with different approaches (some questionable), we chose Atlantic Coast. They were not the cheapest, but offered the best long-term solution to our problem for the price. Atlantic Coast excavated 35ft. along the south side of my home and waterproofed the entire sub surface wall (4 feet deep to footers.) by using parging tar and fastening plastic to the wall. They also installed a new drainage system (along footer), back filled with stone and dirt and added 3 window wells including stone with drains connected directly to the new drain system.
Category
excavators, basement waterproofing
Cost
$6,475
Hire Again?
Yes
Lois C.
5.0
03/15/2016
After the inspection I was given an explanation of the status and what was needed in the way of ongoing maintenance, waterproofing and possible future needs. He found a problem related to leakage from a construction project a few years ago. He advised me of the damage and suggestions on what might be needed to repair it. When finished I was given a quotation for waterproofing of the area. He was not pushy nor did he talk down to me as a female.
Description of Work
An inspection was made inside the house for any cracks in the walls that would indicate foundation shifting. All the outside foundation was examined for any apparent damage. He crawled under the house and examined the foundation, ground, pipes in the area and the understructure of the house.
Category
plumbing, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing
Cost
$49
Hire Again?
Yes

Phone

Address

8101 Sheraton Park Dr

Fenton, MI 48430

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Website

http://www.atlanticcoastwaterproofing.com

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

MasterCard
Visa
Check
Licensed
Trade License Number
2104183950
Trade License Locale
Michigan
Trade License Authority
Michigan: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
05/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

FAQ

Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check

Yes, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers a 05% senior discount.

Yes, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers warranties.

Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc offers the following services: Foundation, Basement Waterproofing & Structural Repair. Crawlspace, Sump Pump, Basement Mold, Leaky, Wet, Battery Back Up Sump Pump Systems, Interior & Exterior Drainage