Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Beckwith Floors

Founded 1994 • With Angi since May 2009

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

31878 Northwestern Hwy

Farmington Hills, MI 48334

Description

Beckwith Floors has been providing the Metro Detroit Area with unsurpassed quality and service in Carpeting and Flooring since 1994. We offer a wide variety of Carpeting, Hardwood Floors, Water-Proof Floor Covering, Vinyl Planks & Laminate Flooring. We are able to offer our customers wholesale prices from brand-name mills including Armstrong, Bruce, Shaw, Mohawk, Dream Weavers, Dixie Group, Masland, Bella Cera, Hallmark, Provenza, & Coretec. Call our friendly staff today and find out why Beckwith Floors is the best choice in flooring and installation service! Regardless of your flooring needs we've got you covered! Our installers have over 15 years experience. Weekend appointments available upon request....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/10/2019


steven P.

Great they completed the job and we receive many compliments regarding the carpet

Description of Work
Carpet Installation

Category carpet installation

3.0

10/25/2017


Bryan F.

Workers were late and did adequate work. They covered 2 of 6 floor vents and didn’t cut them back open. I have another hatch to the crawl space that needed to be cut out and they forgot that as well. Luckily on that one I happened to catch them missing it and asked it be done right. They were friendly and the quoting process was pretty easy. I asked for very “cushy” carpet and with the carpet and pad I was a little disappointed in overall quality.

Description of Work
Carpet in 6 rooms.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/23/2017


Jennifer M.

Beckwith Floors was soooo wonderful! Richard came to my house and talked through my issues with me. He gave me options that would work for ME, not what would get him the most money. It was like working with family--better, because his team was very professional and he was able to get me on a very fast installation timeline, plus work with other special issues I had. I highly recommend Beckwith Floors for your flooring installation!

Description of Work
I had a very messed up floor where I needed flooring installed, so I eventually had Beckwith install carpeting.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/21/2017


Shawfang J.

Took three days (one more day than planned) probably due to the hot weather. Overall, the new carpet looks and feel pretty good! The workmanship is good. I don't see any visible imperfection.

Description of Work
Lay new carpet throughout entire house with ~2300 square feet.

Category carpet installation

4.0

05/15/2017


Wai W.

The carpet installer actually broke my vertical blinds. It was an old blind, I was planning to replace it, but I guess I had no choice but to replace it right away. They were in a hurry, and they didn't even tell me. The hardwood floor installer was very good.

Description of Work
They replaced the carpet and installed hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/10/2017


Frank A.

It went without any problems. Beckwith did an outstanding job and we'd hire them again. The owner has been in business 38 years, so he must be doing something right.

Description of Work
Beckwith Floors was sub-contracted by our general contractor to install Lauzon Red Oak Natural Select engineered flooring throughout the entire first floor (900 sq. ft.) - the family room was on a raised slab, so engineered flooring needed to be used.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/25/2016


Weixin Y.

The owners were very professional and gave us a very good price. We first got a quota from Costco contractor and Bechwith's price was a lot more reasonable. The installer did a great job and finished within the estimated time frame. We will definitely use Bechwith again in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced carpet with hardwood floor.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

09/09/2014


Ann M.

The installer ran a little late, but in the end, he finished, and moved all of the furniture back into the family room. I would highly recommend beckwith flooring for anything that one needs to do in a home.

Description of Work
He supplied the material, the base and shoe molding for a hardwood floor. He subbed out the work to a wonderful company who did a fantastic job. A review for them will also be made. Richard Beckwith definitely knows his business and he came out after the installation was done to take a look.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/14/2014


Phil Y.

Richard Beckwith met me at my home and gave me a price quotation to provide hardwood floors in my great room and dining room. Richard showed up at the time and day he promised. I already had hardwood floors in my kitchen and entryway that I wanted to match with my new hardwood floors in the great room and dining room. Richard told me that because the hardwood in the kitchen and entryway was six years old it may be hard to get an exact match. Richard did not oversell his companies ability to match the floors. After getting a few quotes we found Richards pricing to be very competitive and because of the good previous ratings he received in Angie's list we decided to hire Beckwith Floors to install our new hardwood floors. After Richard got the order he spent a lot of time and effort sourcing the kind of flooring and hardwood we had in our kitchen and entryway to get the best match possible. Richard's installation man, "Brandon" showed up on time on the day promised to install the new hardwood floors. Brandon was very polite and professional. The installation was complete in one day. The wood matched my kitchen and entryway perfectly. Richards research really paid off for me with a great match. My wife and I are really happy with our business experience with Beckwith Floors. They exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Provided hardwood flooring in great room and dining room.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

02/14/2014


Dianne H.

It was very positive. He came out and they were able to match the wood floors I have currently in my home. The installer was here on-time, did a great job and cleaned up well. I was very happy with the outcome.

Description of Work
I had hardwood floors put in two bedrooms.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/14/2013


Michelle L.

We tore it out the carpet ourselves but they came and replaced it. They have reasonable prices. I was very happy with their work. They were prompt, professional and very friendly. They even explained to me specific details on how to get pet odor out from the floors from previous owners.

Description of Work
They came and replaced my carpet in a family room, on an add-on and going down stairs.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/20/2013


Saumil & Anshu S.

They did a fabulous job. We were very pleased with the outcome. They guys who did the work were professional and nice to work with. The salesman was knowledgeable and knew the pros and cons of each carpet type.

Description of Work
They put in carpeting in four bedrooms and tore away the old carpet as well.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

02/04/2013


John W.

The communication was poor, they should have at least called to let us know they were running late. They were late 45 min and did not have the proper tools for the installation making a 2 hour install take 4 hours. The install was done properly and everything looks great, I would give the overall experience a B-!! -

Description of Work
Carpeting and pad installed in the basement.

Category carpet installation

4.0

01/10/2013


Martin P.

We were very happy with the cost of the job, and feel that we received good value for our money. There were a few minor installation / communication issues along the way which have been addressed. Overall we are satisfied with the job and would consider using them again.

Description of Work
New carpet installed throughout our home.

Category carpet installation

4.0

12/28/2012


scott N.

Great experience from beckwith floors. I would use them again but make sure up front they take extra care in clean up and removal.

Description of Work
Install and quality was good. Hardwood floor installers when removing existing tile made a huge mess. Poor clean up. Very dusty

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

4.0

12/28/2012


Joe B.

The carpet was ready when promised and our installer was able to pick it up from their warehouse without a problem

Description of Work
We bought carpet through them. We had someone else install it. In hind sight, I feel they would have done a fine install job based on the pleasant purchase experience

Category carpet installation

5.0

12/19/2012


Debbie G.

The owner came to my home with samples, rooms were measured and proceeded to educate and explain what direction I should take. Very professional and prompt. I was just not ready to go forward at that time.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

5.0

12/18/2012


Stephen W.

Their professionalism was very good, they arrived when they said they would and walked me through all the details. They also seemed like they had a superior product. However, I did inform them that this was for a rental property and they did not seem to have any product that was correct for me. The quote was 50% higher then my other quotes.

Description of Work
I had about 600 square feet of flooring that needed to be refinished. They came out and quoted the job.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. There are many different floor finishes ranging in price from $28.00 per gallon to $127.00 per gallon. The difference in cost is because there are more solids and hardening agents in the better (more expensive) finishes resulting in better wear. There are also different ways to sand floors. One way is to sand and screen it twice, then apply a lacquer sealer and add one coat of finish. This can be done in one day. The other way is to sand and screen three to four times depending on floor conditions. Then apply the better qualities of finish. This would take three days. The first way would, of course, result in a lower price. The second one is the way we choose to sand floors because it results in a better looking job and wears better. In fact, we did a few rental properties for a contractor and were told we did too good a job. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to bid on your work.
5.0

07/15/2012


michael R.

Overall it was an excellent experience. Richard Beckwith came to the house for the estimate, and seemed to have excellent knowledge of his products. He had ample samples for us to look at. I have to say Richard was the only one to show up and introduce himself immediately with a handshake ( super important to me). The other two contractors I had give me an estimate did not, I had to introduce myself to them. I educated myself before the estimates so that I had somewhat of an idea of what I wanted. Richard also was able to offer up his opinions and steer me in the right direction when it came to carpet selection and padding selection. This was a new house to us, and we had planned on having the carpet installed right before we were ready to move, which is what we had discussed with Richard. However we were ready for carpet a week early, I had called Richard to see if there was anyway we could move up the instalation, he worked some things out, and made it happen. The installers were here right when they said they would be, and even with a power outage and 90 degree plus temperatures they got the job done!!! No A/C in the house no fans running, but they powered through and pulled it off. I am a pretty picky person when it comes to quality, and they did a great job, i can only see one seam, all of the others you couldn't find them if you tried. My only concern was some scraps of carpet and padding where left around the house, overall they cleaned up the bulk of the mess and did a great job so the few scraps that I had to pick up where not a big deal. Richard returned every single phone call within an hour of us leaving a message or he answered his phone immediately, which to me is extremely important. It was an absolute joy to work with richard, as well as the installers.

Description of Work
We had our entire house carpeted, approximately 1200 sq. Bedrooms, hallway, and walkout basement

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/04/2012


Gerald F.

We originally had someone else to give the estimate and installation and they never showed up so called Rick and did an excellent job in a pinch. Couldn't be happier with the installation and recommendations. Real professionals

Description of Work
Gave us the estimate on 5/20 and had it installed in 5 days. We needed the installation in a hurry and they obliged. We couldn't be happier with the results. Knowledgeable & friendly installer. Will definitely use them again. We highly recommend.

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/17/2011


Regina S.

I got quotes for the job from 3 companies, Beckwith being one of them. Richard came to my house with samples the day after I called him. He explained in detail what would be done, and had some ideas for problem areas. His price was reasonable. He was comparable to the other independent flooring company I checked with, but less expensive than the big local store. There were some issues along the way during installation, but Richard came out to the house several times to get the supplies we needed to get the job done. All of his installers were very prompt, professional and diligent workers. Steve and Eric, for the hardwood installation, were amazing. I would highly recommend Beckwith floors and plan to call them again for my upstairs carpet when the time comes.

Description of Work
Tore out old carpet and laminate. Installed hardwood in Living Room/Dining Room and Family Room and luxury vinyl tile in Kitchen, hall and foyer.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/04/2011


Joe B.

He gave us an estimate for carpet and installation. Afterward I got a reference from a friend for an installer he'd had success with so Beckwith sold us just the carpet without a question.

Description of Work
I purchased carpet from Beckwith floors.

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/31/2011


Christa L.

First of all - we are extremely happy with both the carpeting that Richard offered in his store, and the installation that was done in our "open floor plan with nooks and crannies" condo. I highly recommend Beckwith Floors to anybody. I found Beckwith Floors on Angie's List and contacted them via email. The company that we initially worked with could not deliver the carpet that we had selected. Richard Beckwith responded with his availability for a consultation in the store. My husband and I went there the next day, gave Richard some input of what we wanted, and he came up with the perfect Berber carpet in 10 minutes. He came to our house the next day, measured, calculated and gave us a fantastic price considering that the carpet was nylon, a better material than the olefin that the other company offered (I am now glad that it is no longer manufactured). We ordered the carpet, paid the deposit and asked for a later delivery date based upon our schedule. Installation was done in two days, as furniture needed to be moved back and forth so that the carpet could be installed. We were happy about that. Richard appreciated our needs in the small space that we have. The installment crew of three people, subcontracted, did a fantastic job. All in all - we are very happy with the way our place looks - thank you Richard,

Description of Work
Beckwith Floors advised, sold, and installed Berber carpeting in our 1000 sf condominium - all rooms except kitchen and bath. Please see details in the section below.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/19/2010


allan S.

Richard is a joy to work with. I selected the carpet for 2 of the areas from the showroom, but didn't see what I had in mind for the area rug. Richard talked with me and found 4 choices for me which he ordered larger samples for me to see. He understood perfectly what I was looking for, found it and I was able to get what I wanted in my budget. His installers were very professional and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Purchased and installed new carpet in daughters bedroom and stairs and hallway and had an area rug made for another bedroom.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

05/03/2009


allan S.

I was recommended to Richard of R. Beckwith Floors by a friend who had him install his wood floors and carpet in their new home. I liked what I saw and knew that I would be needing new floors in my house. Initially I went to another company to see what they had to offer. I was instantly turned off by the Used Car salesman that I encountered. I immediately contacted Richard (the owner) at his showroom located in an unassuming office complex on Northwestern Hwy. I was quite surprised to learn that his family had been in the carpet business (Beckwith-Evans) in Detroit for over 60 years. In spite of the rather small size of the showroom the selection was extensive. Richard has an easy going, no pressure style and my husband and I were impressed with his product knowledge and honesty. I had my mind set on a berber carpet and Richard informed me in a gentle way that this was not current and suggested a Frieze style. I am delighted in his recommendation. The installer (Dan) was courteous,prompt and careful around my belongings. I highly recommend R. Beckwith Floors for anyone wanting a quality job at a more than fair price.

Description of Work
New wood laminate and carpet installed in our renovated house.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr. Bid Services & Material Outlet

    Every remodeling is a stressful undertaking, that comes with a mountain of stress. Let us at Mr Bid relieve that stress with our expertise, timely remodels, and continuous workers. With over 25 years in the construction industry, Mr. Bid is your contractor for any project large or small. The our teams have worked on residential and commercial properties, REO assets, foreclosed homes, and high-end homes. We have operated as both a general contractor as well as a subcontractor. Our Staff is highly qualified to help you through your construction to the home of your dreams - from design to completion. Each of our craftsmen are skilled in many trades saving you time and money on your project.  

    Offers by Mr. Bid Services & Material Outlet on Angi
    Luis Flooring Service

    I am a profesional carpet and flooring installer, my father started doing floors in early 2000s. i started learning in middl school, when i turned 19 i began doing it professionally by myself. im 25 now. i know how to install carpet tile, lvt/lvp, vinyl plank, click plank, glue down planks or tiles. anything flooring except ceramic and epoxy floors. i have van and tools, owner-operated.  

    The Carpet Guys LLC

    The Carpet Guys are the flooring and carpet experts of southeast Michigan, servicing all of metro Detroit including Oakland, Wayne, and Macomb counties respectively.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by The Carpet Guys LLC on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Material & installation floor covering, carpet, hardwood, laminates, vinyl tile, cork and bamboo flooring.

    Services Not Offered

    Ceramic Tile - Flooring repairs - Hardwood floor sanding and refinishing - Installing flooring not purchased from our store

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Beckwith Floors

    How is Beckwith Floors overall rated?

    Beckwith Floors is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Beckwith Floors open?

    Beckwith Floors is open:

    Monday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Beckwith Floors provide

    Beckwith Floors accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Beckwith Floors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Beckwith Floors offers free project estimates.

    Does Beckwith Floors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Beckwith Floors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Beckwith Floors?

    Yes, Beckwith Floors offers warranties.

    What services does Beckwith Floors offer?

    Beckwith Floors offers the following services: Material & installation floor covering, carpet, hardwood, laminates, vinyl tile, cork and bamboo flooring.

    Are there any services Beckwith Floors does not offer?

    Ceramic Tile - Flooring repairs - Hardwood floor sanding and refinishing - Installing flooring not purchased from our store