Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Quicken Loans

Founded 1985 • With Angi since October 2007

3.4

(279) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1050 Woodward Ave

Detroit, MI 48226

Description

Quicken Loans is America's #1 online lender with over 3,000 team members. Quicken Loans offers low mortgage rates on a variety of loan products, including fixed-rate loans, jumbo loans, ARMs, FHA loans, VA loans and reverse mortgages. Additional email: help@quickenloans.com. Ask about Angie's List discount. Social Media sites: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/QuickenLoans?v=app_6261817190. Twitter: https://twitter.com/quickenloans...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

07/16/2020


David N.

We were ready to close - Quicken kept asking for more information and required me to do all of the footwork. Don't expect them to lift a finger to help. They won't budge on a requirement. If they want 8 pages instead of 7 - you had better send an extra page. I was told to upload a blank page. I was asked to provide employment verification - had to be on official letter head - COVID no one is in the office - Quicken would not budge. They had to have official letter head. An official email wouldn't work. Then they asked for a further verification from the same official email that they wouldn't accept in the first place or else a verbal response from an official phone number - COVID again. No one is in the office. Set closing date but they did not communicate with Title Company. Already past the contract date and they can't set it up for another week. Original house is sold so HOMELESS. GRRRRR

Description of Work
Closing on a loan - Sold other home - can't get new one because of their processes. Homeless.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

03/03/2020


David C.

As far as I can tell, Quicken Loans/Rocket Mortgage is definitely the way to go if you're looking to refinance. The one hiccup I had in the process came right off the bat when I went to their website to see what rate they would offer. I was looking to match the rate USBank had offered, and the automated system from Quicken offered a ridiculous rate 2 points higher. I obviously rejected it, but I got a call and text at 8:00 the next morning from a Quicken rep who told me that the system had experienced a glitch, and they would easily beat the USBank offer. From there on, it was smooth sailing - could not have been easier. Submitted all the forms online, the rep called me and explained every detail of the process, and in the end they sent a guy out to my house on a Thursday night to spend 20 minutes signing documents. I highly recommend Quicken Loans - as the entire process was easy and painless, and I'm now saving $800 a month on my mortgage payment.

Description of Work
Mortgage Refinance

Category mortgage broker

2.0

04/17/2018


Paul G.

Not well. Salesman called a few days later. Talked to a guy who transferred me to another guy. Made up some kind of program and said I could qualify but not yet. Said my credit score, for their purposes, was about 100 points lower than what it really is. I did not want a hard pull on my credit because I wasnt convinced they were right for me.But they did a hard credit check on me and rejected me because of their bogus credit score. Did not cost me money but did a hit to my credit. High pressure sales and do not abide by my request. Do not deal with Quicken.

Description of Work
Inquired about refinancing my home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

01/24/2018


Cindy R.

Working with Quicken Loans for my mortgage refinance was great - from my initial contact, through my closing (which was actually done in my kitchen) - they come to you. Everything was done on-line and the entire process took approximately three weeks for my mortgage to close. This was the easiest and fastest mortgage I have ever done. Quicken Loans is a great customer focused company - I can see why they have been awarded numerous customer satisfaction awards. I would definitely use them again. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
I refinanced my existing mortgage with Quicken Loans.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/19/2017


Rick F.

It was probably one of the easiest loans I have ever done. It was so easy, and they were so transparent. There was always someone available to talk to, and they answered all my questions. We were able to do everything over the computer, except the closing. I was in New York, and they sent someone to me while I was there with the closing papers. I had been looking for a loan for years. It took about $800 off my house payment going through Quicken Loans. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I got my house re-financed.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/11/2017


S S.

Excellent service from start to finish. QL really goes out of their way to work with each individual and consider their unique circumstances. The entire process was fast and easy with the ability to upload documents and provide financial information electronically.

Description of Work
Mortgage refinance

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/11/2017


S S.

We refinanced via Quicken and it was a TEN star experience from beginning to end! Everyone on QL team was professional & responsive, we were kept informed throughout the entire process. Thanks to QL my family was able to execute on an overall financial plan that we had envisioned. The team willingly took into account our individual circumstance and worked hard to resolve any issues with potential to prevent closing. Gave us a fantastic loan rate w/20 year shorter term than our old loan PLUS lower monthly payments! The experience was so great that we went back to QL for loan approval on a vacation property, which was approved within minutes, but we decided to hold off until retirement. Please know that I initially contacted QL back in 2015 and they couldnt do the refinance, but told me exactly what to do then come back in about 18 months, I followed their instructions and this is the result.

Description of Work
Mortgage refinance

Category mortgage broker

1.0

05/19/2017


Deborah T.

I told them I?d already talked to them, and they couldn?t help me. I would have to wait 100 days to try again. I wanted to get a reverse mortgage. She kept pushing me, and I?m very frustrated that she didn?t understand. They kept passing me around to different people, and even called me back when I hung up. They're definitely lacking common sense, and I'm over their calls. I'm about to hire an attorney.

Description of Work
They called me to try and pressure me into getting my house refinanced.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

05/18/2017


Guillermo A.

Sam Caramagno was my initial contact and he kept in touch with me throughout the process, even while my loan application was being handled by a different team in the process. Always responsive by email, phone, text. A few minor hiccups regarding my finances were handled immediately and without adversely changing my numbers significantly from the initial quote. Closing was a breeze.

Description of Work
First time buying property. Received adequate counseling after having done my own research. Very good products for first time homeowners.

Category mortgage broker

1.0

04/05/2017


Penny J.

Lousy! They made some huge mistakes from the very beginning. They almost combined another piece of property that I owned in with the property that I was getting refinanced. The mistake had made it through the appraisal and was almost at the point of signing when I caught it. That would have been a huge mess. They also messed up on the property taxes amount. I'm still having trouble every year with the escrow. They have dropped the ball so many times I have lost count. They don't listen to instruction well or pay attention to detail. You need to double check everything. They have too many people who get involved with your case. You never know who you are talking to or in what state. They put these people in "teams" (lots of them) and give them a title. What it seems like to me is a lot of young people fresh out of school and probably not being paid a great deal. Every person is new to your case and you end up repeating yourself and babysitting them through what someone else was supposed to take care of. Can't wait till the interest rates go back down again so I can refinance with a smaller company with an office where they know you and give you personal attention,are competent and take pride in doing a good job!

Description of Work
I refinanced my home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

02/13/2017


Hawley M.

It was very fast, I got a good rate, and they did everything they said they were going to do. They took care of any issues quickly. I was very impressed.

Description of Work
I refinanced my mortgage through them.

Category mortgage broker

2.0

02/07/2017


Brad S.

I waited an hour to get someone. To their credit, they spent half the afternoon to help me with the software. Every since 2010, their software doesn't work as well. I've had nothing but problems, it doesn't work and it crashes alot. Things were too big on the screen. You had to tab 4 or 5 times to get to where you needed to go. She got mad at me and asked if I wanted them to send a new copy. I went to get my information and she disconnected. Their technical support person was inpatient.

Description of Work
tax software

Category computer repair

4.0

12/14/2016


richard C.

Its a stressful process, but I don't know how they can make it any easier.

Description of Work
Refinanced home.

Category mortgage broker

4.0

12/14/2016


richard C.

Its national, and they can give you a good rate.

Description of Work
Refinanced home.

Category mortgage broker

1.0

09/26/2016


Stephen D.

Worst experience I have ever had. Kept a journal of all of the misinformation and conflicting information I received about closing costs and when the payment was due. I did not feel my interest was Quicken Loans interest but rather to confuse the customer to charge higher fees. I wrote to J. Farmer of Quicken loans but did not receive a written response. Quicken has "teams" but they do not coordinate and give conflicting information. Quicken Loans is "engineered to CONFUSE!" I would be happy to provide my documentation which I started to record only after several phone calls of conflicting information. The representatives would NOT put anything in writing. They can deny having given the wrong information that way. BEWARE all the JD Powers hype about being #1 in. Us toner satisfaction. Who was paid?

Description of Work
Refinancing mortgage

Category mortgage broker

2.0

09/15/2016


Donald G.

I was attempting to refinance my home mortgage to take advantage of lower interest rates. I got part way through the process and stopped it just before signing all of the forms to move forward. I stopped the process for several reasons. They use very high pressure sales tactics and want to make everything happen very quickly. When I slowed the process down in order to review all of the forms very carefully, I found errors and I found terms that were inconsistent with the original loan estimate. For instance, the original loan estimate offered a $2300 closing cost discount from the lender, but the final loan estimate papers reduced this to $1900 and the Quicken sales representative didn't feel the need to point this out. The only reason I don't give them an F is because the terms of the loan were competitive with other offers that I had. I feel their high pressure tactics and "bait and switch" behavior is highly unethical.

Description of Work
Refinance home mortgage.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/26/2016


Laverne S.

It went very well. They were helpful and personal.

Description of Work
They refinanced my home.

Category mortgage broker, accountant

1.0

07/10/2016


Jerry R.

We had a previous loan with Quicken that was originally referred through Schwab. This time we called them to do a refinance of a home and it went horrible. It was like I was buying a car through a shady used car dealer. Like "Let me check with my manager to see if I could do any better, You have to sign this today etc. When I insisted on an estimate in writing or I was going somewhere else the rep sent me an email with 3 numbers, Loan Value, Costs, and Monthly payment. I responded with a request to please send me a complete Loan Estimate with all costs detailed. He replied that it was a waste of time to create this unless I would commit to complete the loan TODAY. Just like a shady Car Dealer. I was shopping for rates and comparing real costs. The rep several times said let me check with my manager and then came back with a modified verbal offer. I called to complain and then was assigned to another rep. He was just as bad or possibly even worse. High pressure to sign TODAY. He kept asking if I was wiling to sign TODAY. He kept telling me that Wells Fargo and Mortgage Brokers quotes were not firm and they would change terms once I signed. He told me that if I didn't use their Title Company it would cause huge delays. He didn't want to hear that I was comparing rates and costs. He was very reluctant to send me a written loan estimate but only quoted verbally. I’m a Mortgage provider’s dream. Everything we have is paid off except for this mortgage. We have 830 credit scores, debt to income ratio in the low teens, lots of cash in bank, IRAs, Stocks etc. Wells Fargo and a local mortgage broker who we dealt with sent us a written Loan Estimate with no delay. After 4 days of talking to Quicken where their terms quoted verbally seems very good I insisted they send me a Loan Estimate in writing. Low and behold when I finally got the Estimate the I saw that the rep had lied to me on costs and discounts. Bottom line there was $3,000 in additional costs compared to every other estimate I had received.

Description of Work
Provide Quotes for refinance Loan

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I'm sorry to hear about this experience and my team would like us to take a closer look at your situation. If you can email me at Emma@QuickenLoans.com, I'd be glad to help out. Thanks.
2.0

06/21/2016


Anthony S.

It went horrible. I'll never use them again

Description of Work
We had applied with QL for a first time home and finally had found one we wanted to purchase.. The home itself had a deed rider on it so we were made aware of a few restrictions which were fine with us, I informed QL each step of the way and let them know MANY Times that the home is on a deed rider and what the affordable housing authority had for restrictions. NOT ONCE did QL ever indicate they cannot loan to this type of property , it wasn't until the final 11 days before we were scheduled to close that I receive a call from a completely different agent from QL informing me they cannot give us the loan due to the deed restrictions. When I explained to them that no where at any time in the past 3 months was I informed of that he responded by say that he agrees with me that I made it clear what type of home it is and that they simply overlooked it on their end but still would not allow us to get the loan ... They basically said yes it was their error but tough luck for us and closed our loan account ! Thankfully I managed to find another lender the next day that would be able to assist me and now things are back on track ! Never go with quicken loans again. They do not own their mistakes and can cost you a house ! Literally !!

Category mortgage broker

1.0

11/19/2015


Colin K.

I put my information into lending tree and quicken loans contacted me. I clearly stated I am only interested in home equity loans and HELOCs. Their guy never once said they don't offer either of those products. I found that later after searching on my own. He wasted about twenty minutes of my time telling me why they are better than other lenders. I eventually told him I had to go and that he should just email their offer to me. He sends me a refinance deal saying "I know this isn't what we talked about but.. blah blah blah." This is a really bad way to do business. I advise everyone to take their business elsewhere.

Description of Work
Their loan officer misled me and borderline lied

Category mortgage broker, banks

Service Provider Response

Hey, there! My team would like team would like to look into your experience with us. Could you send us an email at Emma@quickenloans.com? Thank you!
5.0

10/14/2015


Ko Lynn M.

So excellent it's beyond words almost. Quick, efficient, painless, and spot on as promised. Not a hitch in their process.

Description of Work
Refinance home

Category mortgage broker, banks

1.0

09/14/2015


Linda B.

Since January we have lost 3-4 thousand dollars with them trying to by a home. Our credit rating has been destroyed by having so many inquiries dealing with this company. We've made it to the second stage several times and have had to restart the process. We are military veterans and have never been treated so horribly. Pam Burton at the Century 21 has tried to force me twice to sign documents while my husband was not home to allow the sellers to live in a home with us for free when we buy there house, so they wouldn't have to take off from work for the process. The buyer and the seller were all in the same office trying to get both her and the sellers profit.

Description of Work
Home purchase.

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Info Removed]! My team would like to look into your experience with us. Could you send us an email at Emma@quickenloans.com with more details and your loan information? Thank you!
1.0

09/09/2015


Marilyn M.

It went terrible. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They did nothing but call us multiple times. They charged us $400 to get our home appraised. Then for the next year, they had us believe we were going to get a loan and then a year later, they said they weren't going to do the loan. They kept our money for the appraisal.

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

Hi there. My team would like to look into your experience us with. Could you send my team an email at Emma@quickenloans.com with more details and your loan information? Thank you!
1.0

08/24/2015


Kristen K.

The beginning of the process was excellent. I talked to three people that where polite, courteous, and professional. I certainly understand that it is hard to get any kind of loan when your taxes show so many deductions it looks like you make nothing. I do believe that when it comes to any loan the loan people should do all they can before they run out of options which these particular loan officer did not do. He talked so fast I could barely understand him. He was disrespectful to me and to the fact that my husband served this country in the Army for twenty years. He never tried to find other options for us. He used one other option and never went to work so find any other. I just cannot believe still that we where treated like second class citizens. When it comes to loans even if you are not in the military a professional organization should do all they can until nothing is left to help the customer. This person never even tried. I would have been kinder if this person actually looked at several options instead of just one. He is a disgrace to the military man/ woman and those others that serve this country. I also think to most customers in general. It does not matter what you do the customer always comes first! I want to add that a representative did call me from Quicken and she was very nice and tried to help me resolve my issues. She was very nice and even said I could call her even though the loan never went through with them. I appreciated their response but I still feel the whole "team" effort was not enough. It is like the first person overwhelms you with confidence that you are going to get a loan and then you are let down by the "bureaucrats". We are with a loan company now that is working hard and actually got us the loan. That is the kind of dedication I look for when shopping for a loan for a veteran like my husband.

Description of Work
They where trying to get us a VA loan.

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

Hi (Removed member name), . I'm very sorry that you had a poor experience with us. My team and I would really like to look into your situation. Can you please email us at Emma@QuickenLoans.com with more information so we may look into this for you? Thank you.
5.0

07/21/2015


Zink A.

I had some issues with my mortgage and things didn't go as smoothly as I hoped but the company did reach out to me after the fact and made things right. I appreciate the lengths that they went to make sure I was a satisfied customer.

Description of Work
New home loan

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

Hi ( members name removed) . My team would like to look into your situation. Could you please send us an email at Emma@quickenloans.com with more details regarding your experience with us? Thank you!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jag Tax Management

    JAG Tax Solutions has 35 years in the tax industry. We settle your tax debt for the least possible amount and gets you back on track with the IRS and State so levies and garnishments don't interfere with your life. We're #1 at getting the best resolutions, whether it be back taxes, payroll, non-filed, you name it, we handle it. So stop stressing and call now.  

    Dave Caldwell - Guaranteed Rate

    LOCAL CHICAGO LENDER helping homeowner's PURCHASE AND REFINANCE for over 20 years. Senior Vice President of Mortgage Lending - Jumbo, Conventional, FHA, & VA Loans. I've been honored to be ranked in the top 1% of mortgage originators nationally by Mortgage Executive Magazine since 2011. My team and I are available to answer any questions and keep you informed starting with the loan application through closing. You can also visit my web page to apply online anytime. NMLS ID 224318 / Guaranteed Rate NMLS ID 2611 / NMLS Comsumer Access URL http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/  

    RJ's Computer Repairs and Services

    System reset Internal repairs Can instill pc part System setup I can get the job done and make your money worth it. Make you going home with a smile and relief. Ive been in this line of work for 4 years. Im a small business looking to grow bigger  

    Mortgage Companies
    Banking/Credit Unions
    Accountants/Tax Consultants
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Refinance, purchase & reverse mortgages. Offers a variety of loan products: fixed-rate loans, jumbo loans, ARMs, FHA loans, and VA loans.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Quicken Loans

    How is Quicken Loans overall rated?

    Quicken Loans is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Quicken Loans open?

    Quicken Loans is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Quicken Loans provide

    Quicken Loans accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Quicken Loans offer free estimates?

    No, Quicken Loans does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Quicken Loans offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Quicken Loans does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Quicken Loans offer a senior discount?

    No, Quicken Loans does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Quicken Loans?

    No, Quicken Loans does not offer warranties.

    What services does Quicken Loans offer?

    Quicken Loans offers the following services: Refinance, purchase & reverse mortgages. Offers a variety of loan products: fixed-rate loans, jumbo loans, ARMs, FHA loans, and VA loans.