Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling

Founded 1991 • With Angi since August 2010

Brown Home Improvement has been in business since 1991. Accredited member of the Better Business Bureau, with an A+ rating, Never had a complaint in the history of the company. We take pride in our work and do the most professional job as possible. Our customers are always pleased with our Expert Service, which is why we have done multiple projects over the years for several of our customers. Additional DBAs - Brown Roofing Company, Brown Home Improvement Roofing Co.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(26) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
Amanda B.
5.0
08/17/2017
unknown
Description of Work
Roof replacement.
Category
roofing
Cary R.
1.0
09/01/2015
I called and scheduled an estimate for a metal roof. rushed home from work early and 10 minutes past appointment time called Paul Brown who stated that he forgot he had an estimate to go to. Good indication of how this place does business - inconsiderate and irresponsible.
Description of Work
No show
Category
roofing
James B.
5.0
01/28/2015
unknown
Category
roofing
ronald H.
5.0
11/10/2014
There were some issues with leaking when they were installing, due to weather- but they ended up making it right for me
Description of Work
I hired them to replace the roof, due to hail damage.
Category
roofing
ANDREA H.
5.0
10/05/2014
They delivered all the shingles a couple days before they started. When they were working, they had a dumpster flush up to the house for all old removed roof materials. Nothing was hitting the ground like I have seen at other roofing jobs, where shingles were all thrown to the ground. Nothing like that happened. Everything went into the dumpster. They finished in two days, we do not have a complicated roof with extra seams and dormers,etc. but we had problems with the wood underneath. They repaired all wood problems, replacing with new wood. They tore off roofing from house and attached garage, fixed vents with better ones. Installed new drip edge on gables, ice and watershield installed, synthetic felt installed, new flashing and vents repaired, installed new ridge vent and new ridge cap. We are very pleased with everything.
Description of Work
Removed old roof shingles, repaired wood in at least two places, new vents (ours were bad and wrong kind) and all new shingled roof. They finished in two days, cleaned up completely. Friendly, do not ask to come in the house, plenty of crew to get the job done completely.
Category
contractors, roofing
Kelly Y.
4.0
10/02/2014
Overall good took a little longer we thought
Description of Work
Siding and Windows
Category
roofing, siding, replacement windows
Marilou S.
5.0
09/02/2014
They were courtesy. I would definitely call them back.
Description of Work
They called me back. They were kind enough to give me some recommendations since they were busy for the next few weeks.
Category
roofing
Dale H.
5.0
08/22/2014
It was very good. They were very timely and professional. Their quote was competitive but I ended up not using them but I would recommend them based on the interaction I had with them.
Description of Work
They came out and took a look at my roof and gave me a quote.
Category
roofing
Craig G.
1.0
06/14/2014
I paid well and always on time, to get a good job completed, and today the owner told me off on the phone, stalling to do any of my work, and bragging about how busy they are with all their "other jobs". He also complained today about how bad the weather was last winter, but they were originally supposed to be finished well before that happened. The contractor started my job 2 months late due to many excuses, such as illness, lots of other jobs, or they couldn't find the right people to do the work. They are not finished and the completion is now 5 months later than what they originally said, and they are showing no intention of finishing. They left a huge mess in my yard and never cleaned it up. The mess included cigarette butts, scrap wood with sharp nails poking up, and large areas of concrete that was spilled into the yard that killed large areas of grass. They did not follow manufacturers storage requirements, and just dumped new building materials in the snow and on the ground. This killed even more grass in large areas The workmanship is extremely bad, and always left incomplete, or not finished in the manner that they promised. Good luck.
Description of Work
Brown Home Improvement was contracted to add a new standing seam roof to my house, and replace a den room foundation and wall that was leaking. They also agreed to function as a general contractor to replace lighting in the den room, and oversee a the replacement of 2 back yard door slabs, and repair the concrete in the den room. Also Brown Home Improvement was going to do a chimney repair at the roof, and repair the home heating system vent at the roof top. On October 15, 2013 Brown Home Improvement agreed to have all the concrete completed before the frost arrives, and to work through the winter to complete an estimated 6 week project. I was initially enthused about the proposed work and contracted with them to begin to begin the work.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I have been working with this man for months, He has changed his mind on the project several times, One day I sent 15 men to his home to start the metal roofing project and he sent them away costing several hours of pay and fuel for 4 trucks, we had the worst winter in history to try to build an addition and install a metal roof. I did have some issues with finding sub contractors to do some of the work , since I don't do foundations, electrical or plumbing myself. This took longer than expected. He says I am 5 months behind schedule, the most recent drawings of his changes were dated 5-16-2014. After a discussion with him, We have agreed that he will be hiring another contractor to finish the work. I will be reimbursing him for the amount of work that hasn't been completed yet that I have a deposit on. We will have to come up with that figure and get this all behind us. I am the 5th contractor he has tried to deal with. I sincerely hope he can find another contractor, but I don't think there is a contractor out there that can make this guy happy. I have been in business for 23 years without a complaint, I have about 200 customers per year and they are completely satisfied with our work. They have all complimented on the great work we do and recommend us to others. Paul Brown, Brown Home Improvement
Nicole S.
5.0
04/30/2014
I had contacted several companies to get a roof inspection and repair estimates. Brown's was the only company to accurately diagnose the roof leaks, and they also offered the longest warranty (5 years). The owner supplied the estimate within a few days and work was scheduled as early as possible. The crew arrived on time and did an excellent job. The repair for the roof solved a problem with dampness in our house that no one else seemed to be able to fix, including a previously contracted roofing company who only offered a 3 month warranty. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Repaired section of roof, installed new gutters, fixed leak near chimney.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Ken K.
5.0
09/10/2013
It went well. I haven't had any problems and it looks good. They cleaned up very well.
Description of Work
They tore off the old roof and replaced it.
Category
roofing
DIANE R.
5.0
07/23/2013
I hate change and messes. Knowing this, the company tried to work around my fears by coming into the door where I spread cardboard and floor coverings. They kept the bathroom door closed. Each night they did quite a good clean up of the mess from the day's work. Everything was in my garage before they began my job. A difficulty with my tub was not their fault. They had the company ship a new one. I did not need to bother with phone calls, etc. Everything continues to work and it has been about half a year later. I do have one question which I will ask when they come to repair my barn soon which will include residing and reroofing. By the way, I did not understand the question: Did the provider perform services. I did not want to answer the question,"Approximately how much did you spend?" Everyone knows it was a huge amount of money....it was a bathroom!
Description of Work
I chose this company based on the work they had done for my sister and her neighbors in Byron, Michigan. Brown's gutted my 1979 bathroom and completely redid it into "an old ladies' bathroom." I have grab bars, a tub with a door, my toilet is higher and everything is new and works!
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, home remodeling
Elaine C.
5.0
06/29/2013
I can't say enough good things about Brown Home Improvement! Paul Brown, owner, and his workers were outstanding in every way! They went over and above to make sure my house's "face lift" was worth the money, and it was! Their attention to detail was noticeable from the start. Paul wanted me to completely satisfied, and I am!
Description of Work
Power wash with TSP and bleach to get oxidation and loose paint off; siding and soffit 2 coats sprayed; wood trim around roof line was primed and painted 2 coats; sun room and ceiling also block wall on back steps were painted 2 coats, as well as the doors and garage door; installed new shutters to front of house; installed gutter covers to gutters; replaced front service door in garage; replaced front screen door.
Category
contractors, gutter repair, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters, doors
Elaine C.
5.0
06/29/2013
I was highly satisfied with Brown Home Improvement from start to finish! Paul Brown, owner, was professional and easy to work with at all times. First of all, he was thorough when he first came to look at my existing roof to determine exactly what needed to be done to replace it. The workers were polite and helpful during the project. The debris was cleared away and all that was left was a beautiful, new roof!!!
Description of Work
Tear off roofing layers, clean up and haul away debris; install new aluminum 1/5" drip edge to all roof edges; ice and water shield at eaves, in valleys, at walls; felt underlayment to remainder of shingled areas; install white TPO roofing to flat roofs; new flashing at walls, chimney, vent pipes; install ridge vent to ridges; install Timberline HD dimensional shingles; 7/16" OSB over roof boards
Category
roofing
Oliver H.
1.0
06/04/2013
Attempted to have an appraiser come out to inspect my roof because I am having leaks. I called to set up an appointment on a Monday and the appraiser set up an appointment for Thursday at 1-3pm. The appraiser called back Wednesday to confirm if we made an appointment because he did not write it down because he was in his car at the time and forgot whether one was made. I confirmed the date/timeframe he had given me and he indicated it might be closer to 3 asked if it was acceptable. I agreed. 4pm the next day and still no sign of the appraiser I called and spoke to him and he indicated he had a job in Mt. Morris all day and wasn't sure if he was going to make it back to appraise my roof that day. He offered to call when he got done and depending on when that was we would decide if that was acceptable. He also communicated that he would be in Owosso (city I live) all day Friday. He never called Thursday. He never called Friday. I called and left 1-2 messages. I did not receive another call until the following Tuesday at 3pm. The appraiser said if I called him back between 3-5pm that day he would come out. Needless to say with such a short window and short notice I was not able to get back to him and make that work. I called one more time on Wednesday because at this point I would have just been happy with a referral because rain was forecast for the end of the week. No call back. Never heard from them and never called them again. Finally gave up. 4 weeks later, I'm still in search for a reputable roofer to repair my leaks.
Description of Work
Nothing. No services were performed. No estimates given.
Category
roofing
Kathleen C.
5.0
12/27/2012
I purchased a home Michigan. While living in Florida I arranged to have work done by Brown Roofing. They accomodated me in every possible way. They were fast but thorough, easy to get a hold of and did excellent work. Would recommend them to anyone. Kathleen in Saginaw Mi
Description of Work
Very punctual, professional and great job done. Would definitely use them again.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair
Elaine B.
5.0
11/20/2012
In order to keep my insurance on the house, I needed a new roof quickly. This company came out within a few days with an estimate which I accepted. Within a week, they had finished the job. I was happy with the results.
Description of Work
Replaced roof.
Category
roofing
Amanda S.
4.0
04/14/2012
When I called I spoke with the owner and he said they would be done with the project in 1 day and would start the next week. 3 weeks later they finally came out. It took them 2 days to do the job, but they did fix all issues. Crew worked clean and professional. Great final product. We asked them to do an estimate for a remodel on the inside of the breezeway and they looked at it and said they would call back with an estimate in less than 2 days. I never received a call and tried contacting them twice after that with still no response. Would not use them again because of timeliness and poor communication.
Description of Work
Breezeway roof was taken off, repeaked, and roofing was matched to original. This was due to a leak and bad peak.
Category
remodeling, roofing
Trish S.
3.0
03/13/2012
I was impressed with the quickness in which someone came out to look over the job and give me an estimate. They also said they could begin the next week and have it done it two days(weather permitting). After he gave me the estimate I told him about the coupon on Angie's List for 10% off. He said he had already figured in that deal. I felt he was not being honest and didn't show where the savings were. We needed it done a.s.a.p so my husband and I decided to go with the company. The following day he came back with the contract and an additional $300 in costs for soffits that I thought was already figured in. I also signed some type of warranty that I'm still not sure about and was not explained well enough to me. This is my first home repair and I know next time to ask more questions. Anyways the workers did a great job with the actual roof replacement. It was done quickly but the supervisor on the job was not reliable and it took 3 more weeks to get the soffits replaced as well as having a dumpster in our driveway for over a week after the roof was complete. My husband actually ended up doing the rest of the mud work on our ceiling because we were tired of waiting. We also were charged for a chimney replacement even though it was not done. After talking to the owner of the company we got our money back for that and the soffits were finally finished. No came back to go over the work and make sure it was to our satisfaction. I feel that they really dropped the ball on our project. Overall I was disappointed because I had picked this company due to the amazing reviews they had received.
Description of Work
Replaced roof, new ventilation in attic, removed and patched spot in living room ceiling where old stovepipe had been.
Category
remodeling, roofing
Elaine B.
5.0
01/04/2012
In November I was told by my insurance company I needed a new roof in a rental property or they would cancel my insurance. Brown Home Imp Co gave the best quote so I hired them. They were one of the best companies I have worked with.
Description of Work
New roof.
Category
roofing
Kathleen C.
5.0
12/10/2011
Came on time, worked fast, and experienced large crew. They did a beautiful job and was done fast.
Description of Work
New flat roof railing, fix chimney, and new gutters all around.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair
Kathleen C.
5.0
11/17/2011
He did an excellent, excellent job. I was very, very happy with him. They were very hard workers. The price was extremely reasonable for the work they did. They were efficient and timely. They came right on the days they were supposed to and they returned right when they were supposed to after it rained. The price they gave me was the price I paid. They did some extra work for free. They went above and beyond. They were a really excellent company. They were extremely punctual and professional. I would absolutely use them again.
Description of Work
I used Brown Home Improvement & Roofing to tear off the back flat roof on a home in Michigan and they rebuilt the joists inside and put on a new rubber roof. They put new railings and new gutters. They patched up the chimney because there was an issue with the chimney.
Category
contractors, gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair
Ronald L P.
5.0
11/12/2011
They were here when they said they would be. Very good workers and they left the job site very clean.
Description of Work
Removed part of roof and fixed leak. Put new roofing and replaced eve trough and soffit.
Category
roofing
Virginia Z.
4.0
09/08/2011
Job was done in a professional and timely manner. I was very satisfied with the job they did.
Description of Work
Addition to bathroom including adding another door. Job included building a wall and drywall.
Category
remodeling, roofing, home remodeling
Virginia Z.
5.0
01/25/2011
They did a great job. Everything was cleaned up. I didn't end up running over any nails or anything. They got the job done quickly. Their price was quite a bit less than the competition.
Description of Work
They put on part of a roof.
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

11394 N Linden Rd Ste K

Clio, MI 48420

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing, siding, windows, doors, decks, insulation, soffit, fascia, gutters, storm damage repair, water damage repair, fire damage repair

Services not offered

Landscaping.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Financing Available

FAQ

Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

Yes, Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

No, Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling offers warranties.

Brown Home Improvement Roofing & Remodeling offers the following services: Roofing, siding, windows, doors, decks, insulation, soffit, fascia, gutters, storm damage repair, water damage repair, fire damage repair

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Tyler's Pressure Washing

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Tyler's Pressure Washing

I will keep your house and driveway in tip top shape. There's no cutting corners with me, absolute transparency. I am the owner and operator and pride myself on the quality work I provide, while delivering great customer service. I hope to do business with you. I will not disappoint! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Foundation Systems of Michigan

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Foundation Systems of Michigan

Foundation Systems of Michigan, founded in 2007, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Livonia, Grand Rapids, and Traverse City. FSM is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, gutters, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

Perfect Painter LLC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Perfect Painter LLC

I am a owner-operate business. Over 12 years of experience in the industry. We paint anything and work on all kinds of projects such as residential, commercial, and government based jobs. We take great pride in what we do.