Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1999 • With Angi since March 2006

4.7

(145) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

36611 Gratiot Ave

Clinton Township, MI 48035

Description

Great Dane Heating and Air Conditioning is your award winning Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer serving the Metro Detroit area since 1999. Great Dane was conceived by Mr. Josh Bigelow, with the idea that your service or installation experience should be worry free and focus on customer needs. As

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

09/09/2021


Bruno T.

The service men were very knowledgeable and respectful. He was able to fix the problem the time they came. They're a good company.

Description of Work
Furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We hope to serve you again!!
1.0

02/16/2021


Jordan B.

Value Fraudulent employee charged me for work that was not completed but much more seriously Vandalized my property! He actually cut the wires on his 2nd 5 minute visit because I opted not to purchase a new AC unit or pay too much for an overpriced thermostat. I paid him for the initial service call but did not puchcase a thermostat. He said he changed a fuse and I could purchase a less expensive thermostat and install myself so when he left the AC still didn't work.. so I got the thermostat replaced and it still didn't work.. I called the company to let them know it did not fix my issue and was told he is in the area and would stop by to check it. He said I needed an entire new AC system! No work was completed but in his anger he cut the wires running down the side of my ac ducts and I was sent to collections for 90 dollars which hurt my credit for years. Another company came out, changed a fuse, repaired the cut wire, and explained my AC was in good working condition but unfortunately I was the victim of a salesperson who had a bad day... I called the owner but he did not believe me and sided with his employee who vandalized my property. I've never had another company intentionally vandalize my property for not purchasing additional services until these guys. I will never ever forget this. Truly unbelievable but true!

Description of Work
Ac service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

In May of 2015 you hired Great Dane to repair your air conditioner. Our technician diagnosed there was no signal to the air conditioner which he felt was a result of a defective thermostat. You were given the option to replace the thermostat which you declined because you wanted to replace it yourself. The claim that our service tech cut the wires to your air conditioner is erroneous. Great Dane has been in business for many years and would never jeopardize our reputation with such a childish prank. We do not believe this is the right venue to discuss why you were sent to collections for your unpaid service bill in 2015.
5.0

02/08/2021


James C.

I had to call Great Dane after my furnace went out and not that timing can every be good especially in the winter, in this case could not have been worse. My wife had surgery at UofM to remove a kidney and was due to be released home later that day. I received a call from Halley in the office first thing in the morning and explained my situation. She assured me she would get assigned first thing in the AM and sent Sr Tech Brian for the repairs. The blower needed to be replaced. Brian was able to secure a blower from a parts warehouse and had it installed and running in no time. In full disclosure I have been a customer of Great Dane for over 15 years. They have replaced my HVAC systems and hot water tanks in my last 2 homes along with all the maintenance on my HVAC. This last instance was a great example of why I don’t shop and have stuck with them. I currently live about 30 miles from the store, but they still come up here. Have recommended Great Dane to friends and family members, all have had the same excellent experience from the office, sales and the service techs.

Description of Work
Emergency furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate that you and your family have made Great Dane your preferred choice for all your heating and cooling needs over the last 15 years. We look forward to continuing that relationship well into the future! Thank you again for all of your business!!
1.0

01/20/2021


Angel V.

I had them out on a DTE insurance claim. They told me that I had to have a new furnace. That was in October. This past Monday I had another company out. This company told I need to replace the furnace in the next year. However I don't need to replace it immediately.

Description of Work
Furnace was not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

It is very concerning that you are continuing to run your furnace. We have reviewed the pictures of your heat exchanger that our technician took while at your home. The pictures are 100% conclusive that your heat exchanger is compromised. We stand behind our technicians actions to shut the furnace down for your family's health and safety. We understand it is always more attractive to put confidence in a diagnosis that does deliver bad news. However, you health and safety is our #1 priority!
4.0

08/24/2020


Elaine R.

Salesperson was very knowledgeable and provided information about the products and the company. Salesperson was on-time and provided a detailed written quote.

Description of Work
gas furnace and AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for having Great Dane out to your home for service with your air conditioner. We hope to serve you again!
1.0

07/24/2020


ALPER M.

Run away and don’t look back if you want to keep your hard earned money and save your perfectly good system from getting busted. Got a simple $10 AC capacitor change and got charged $310+ for a 15 minute visit. Technician left the service line caps open despite noticing issues with the valve and gasket. Even had to remind him to check the temperature difference. As a result refrigerant leaked completely and compressor failed. Sent a technician (“free of charge”) to tell me that it is dead and that I need a NEW SYSTEM from GREAT DANE. In short, they charged arm and a leg for a perfectly working unit’s need and then busted the unit creating another BIG JOB for themselves. Conveniently, I was hinted that “partial” cost of the service charge can be discounted from the new system. GREG (Service Manager) told me that it is too unfortunate that they are the ones who caused this “unlucky technical service”. He said he would call the sales guy coming to give an estimate to “update about our issue” – meaning he will ask the guy to up the quote price and then offer as a courtesy discount for “unluckiness”. GREG added that unless I buy a new system from them, there is NOTHING G. Dane would do despite accepting their role in the issue as being “unlucky”. Asked to see if this is how the owner (JOSH) would want him to treat the customers, he said "PRETTY MUCH YES". Save yourself time, money and headache and look for other companies.

Description of Work
AC Capacitor change - cost $310 for $5-10 part plus caused BUSTED compressor and wanted to SELL A NEW SYSTEM

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We regret you that you feel we are responsible for your air conditioner not working. You contacted us to repair your 23 year old air conditioner that was not working at all and we performed the service after normal business hours which is why the service call was charged at the after hours rates. Our service technician began the diagnostic part of his service call by opening the service valves at the condenser to check the refrigerant levels and installing a new capacitor to get the unit running. Unfortunately, he discovered that whomever serviced the unit last had apparently put the service cap on improperly which jammed the schrader valve. So when we put the cap back on properly it is now causing the system to leak. Due to the age of the unit we do not recommend repairing the unit due to age and the fact that it is an obsolete R22 (Freon) unit. We did offer to credit the cost of the service call towards a replacement air conditioner. Any contractor that would have attempted to service this unit would have been put into the same predicament as us. It is just unfortunate that we were the contractor put in that position.
5.0

04/24/2020


Phil G.

Great. They did the whole job in one day. Neat installation. they used carpeting to protect basement stairs from getting dirty. Courteous technicians.

Description of Work
New furnace, thermostat, water heater, bigger air cleaner and air purifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We a appreciate the opportunity to be your choice. We hope you are enjoying your new equipment. It is great to hear that your entire experience was great!! Thank you!!!
5.0

01/05/2020


Sandeep G.

Replace controller on gas water heater,m

Description of Work
Great service. After a 11pm request on Angie’s list, they called the next morning. They had a tech out in the field which was able to come within a few hours. Service to replace the controller was done efficiently. Weekend service is a bit more expensive, but the details were explainedg before I confirmed the service call. All the people I spoke with were helpful provided helpful explanations and were very courteous.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service we provided. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future! [Member Name Removed]. Ford Manager
5.0

12/18/2019


Flora C.

They were very efficient, We made an appointment, they came out on time. There was a part he had to get and he came back right after he got the part. I haven't had any problem since then. I felt great about then fact that I didn't have to worry about anything.

Description of Work
They came out to check on a noise that I thought were coming from my Furnace. They checked on my furnace , cleaned it and did preventive maintenance. They told me that the noise were coming from one of the vent and advised to get my vent cleaned.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review and for choosing Great Dane. We look forward to serving you again in the future! S. Ford Manager
5.0

06/30/2019


Ronald G.

The tech that arrived was nothing short of perfect. He explained my situation concerning my AC unit and then he simply gave me options. The best part is that he never tried to sell me more and he didn't sneak in any unnecessary work. I will use Great Dane again. If you are looking for a heating cooling company, I would highly recommend Great Dane due to: Trust, Knowledge, & Ability to complete your job. P.S. This was the first time using the Angies List App. So far so good!

Description of Work
First off, the date in May of 2019 and the overall price is my best guess, I do not have the paperwork in front of me right now. The tech who came to my house was the best-he was smart, thoughtful, and he did a solid job! Outstanding work. I will hire this company when I replace my AC/furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your service experience. We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience and we look forward to serving you again in the future! S. Ford Manager
5.0

02/06/2019


Gerald L.

Technician did all the furnace check and made needed adjustments. Explained what was done and why. Great Job and Great Company. Thank you

Description of Work
Yearly maintenance furnace check up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Great Dane for your recent furnace check up. We appreciate you taking the time to review our services and we look forward to serving you again! S. Ford Manager
5.0

12/19/2018


Mary D.

Professional. Knowledgeable. Quality work. Always on time. We highly recommend. My sons use Great Dane exclusively and so do I.

Description of Work
Heating and cooling problems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Great Dane. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family! S. Ford Manager
1.0

11/27/2018


Angelo P.

1 star If I could give zero stars I would....lrts start from the beginning I called at 510 PM for a furnace issue was explained by dispatch Kristen ( very rude) that the cost of a service call would be $134.95 ...I reluctantly agreed....my service tech arrives and diagnosis my problem in 2 minutes says the switch was off...I ask him for a discount because of what happened he calls dispatch Kristen and says your all set....I am thinking cool they waived all charges....I get $20 bill for a tip and he says no they only reduced it to $89.95. .. I say wait I need to talk to the manager ...I call and explain situation to Kristen ...she says too bad can't do anything .. i offer to pay $50 for a 2 minute diagnosis she again says nothing she can do....I say to speak to her boss and she says the owner is here Josh I'll let you talk to him... again I explain my situation .. I live 1/2 mile away your tech spent 2 minutes diagnosing the problem I offer to pay $50 he says you can't dictate my prices ... .very rude .....do not do business with these people they are not nice people and have a very bad attitude......I paid $89.95 for a switch that was in the off position ....I will never call them again for anything Josh Bigelow thanks for listening you taught your entire crew a great lesson tonite ! Repeat business is the best business and customer happiness is always the number one!

Description of Work
Inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/24/2018


Gary S.

Installers were punctual, clean, friendly and efficient. This is the second opportunity we used Great Dane service, the first was in an emergency situation when our hot water tank blew. For the second time, Great Dane delivered exceptional services. Wesley and Justin we respectful to our home and kind to our dog. They worked non stop on a cold day to make sure our furnace was installed quickly. They left our home clean as when they arrived. Wesley and Justine laid runners down for every step they took in our home. Steve was very helpful with our need and stetting up a system to what we desired. We now have a 98% efficient system, with clean air as a result of they UV and air filtration system we chose. The system is so effective we have a 45% humid home and no sweat on our windows no cool spots from room to room. We are already seeing the savings on the Carrier Infinity system controls. Far better than the wifi systems we seen at the box stores! I know with the equipment and service that Great Dane provided, that we will be trouble free for times to come. Gary and Deb - New Baltimore

Description of Work
Furnace, AC, Humidifier, Air Cleaner, UV anti-bacteria lamp

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that our entire team made your experience great! We hope your new system provides you years of savings and comfort. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again!! Appreciatively, S. Ford Manager
4.0

07/31/2018


Darrell A.

My A/C went out on a Sunday which I understand is premium time. The cost was $120 for a house call which I understood. After inspection the technician found I needed a thermostat. I was shocked the entire bill was near $500. I understand Sundays are premium days, but I think I was raped. Having said that, out of four companies I called, they were the only ones who responded. So take it for what you will.

Description of Work
I needed my air conditioner fixed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Great Dane for your emergency repair. As you mentioned in your review the higher cost of repair is certainly due to the Sunday premium time, but it certainly is a convenience to our customers to have our staff available 24/7 for emergency service if they choose too. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. S. Ford Manager
5.0

07/16/2018


PAULA L.

Started about 9 am and finished 6:30 same day. very clean excellent work.

Description of Work
New furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and we hope your new heating and cooling system brings you years of comfort! S. Ford Manager
5.0

05/08/2018


Richard F.

The service was excellent. I use them for all my heating and AC needs.

Description of Work
They installed a new thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our service. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to serving you again. S. Ford Manager
5.0

02/02/2018


Brian B.

It was a great experience. Ron and Cross from Great Dane heating and cooling did an excellent job. Very professional and very clean. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a new furnace or service.

Description of Work
I needed a new furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Great Dane for your new furnace. We appreciate your business and we are very pleased to hear that your experience was great! We will be sure to share your compliments with our installation team. We hope you new furnace provides you years of comfort and energy savings! Appreciatively, S. Ford Manager
2.0

01/27/2018


Jack C.

furnace install was fine, but after further inspection I notice a shingle on my lawn so I went up and looked at the roof jack and noticed they installed the flashing on top of the shingles(really?) this was verified by another contractor. they sent out the original installer and he said that was the only way they could install it because the pipe was in one piece(again really??) and they couldn't slide it under the shingles (that's just not true). There is nothing I can do unless I want to hire a lawyer, but that is just more money that I DON'T want to spend. <<>>> I will update with a picture soon.

Description of Work
new furnace and roof jack vent installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We regret that the explanation as to why the roof jack was installed this way was not fully understood. Under normal circumstances when you vent thru a roof the roof flashing is slid under that shingle tabs. However, with a manufactured home roof jack the roof flashing is a press welded piece that is already affixed to the roof jack. Therefore, it is not possible to put shingles over the flashing. The existing roof jack had the shingles over it due to the roof being replaced while the old roof jack was in place. Therefore, it is sealed on the underside and on top of the flashing. Our technician, did confirm that the roof jack is complete sealed on his follow-up visit. If you have any additional concerns, then please feel free to contact us. We are here to assist you. Respectfully, S. Ford Manager
5.0

12/27/2017


Prat P.

Very professional .. I was so impressed with Josh B who took my initial call for a quote on water heater that, I immediately said yes to get his crew out .. An hour later Great Dane truck was in my driveway .. The installation crew Chris and John very were professional & in spite of the snow outside they were careful with the installation process and very promptly cleaned up the entire area once the installation was completed. I would highly recommend Great Dane

Description of Work
Water Heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased that your were completely satisfied with your water heater purchase from Great Dane. Your comments are sure to be shared with our team! We look forward to serving you again in the future! Appreciatively, S. Ford Manager
5.0

12/18/2017


Susan W.

He changed the filter and adjusted water flow and it fixed the problem

Description of Work
Furnace humidifier leaking

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent service experience with Great Dane. We are very pleased to hear that you were completely satisfied and we look forward to serving you again. Respectfully, S. Ford Manager
5.0

11/15/2017


Delaine M.

It went excellent and they are kind, knowledgeable.

Description of Work
They fixed the leak in HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Great Dane for your most recent service. We are very pleased to hear of your complete satisfaction. We look forward to serving your again! Thank you, S. Ford Manager
5.0

11/09/2017


David G.

The price was competitive. It was good. It was more like advice. They were very professional.

Description of Work
Consultation and for a small problem

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to serving you again in the future. Appreciatively, S. Ford Manager
5.0

10/19/2017


Neil H.

Fantastic. Part was ordered promptly and even though we had to wait a week for the factory to deliver the part to Great Dane, they were out the very next day and completed the repair quickly and professionally.

Description of Work
Replacement of compromised heat exchanger

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/16/2017


Daniel L.

The job was very good. Brain answered all my questions and I felt confident that he was doing the best job possible. The information he gave me will help me to make decisions in the future

Description of Work
tune up furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing Great Dane for your recent service. We will be sure to share your review with Brian and our team. Respectfully, S. Ford Manager

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr. Mason LLC

    Mr. Mason LLC is a family owned and operated masonry company. We are a fully licensed and insured company. Mr. Mason LLC continues to maintain current workman’s compensation and liability insurance. Mr. Mason LLC specializes in residential masonry restoration. We here at Mr. Mason LLC strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction! Through friendly and prompt customer service, as well as quality projects built to withstand the harsh elements of Michigan winters. From Chimney rebuilds to simple tuck-pointing, each project is addressed with the same care and compassion. While having 30+ years of combined experience restoring homes in the metro Detroit area, Mr. Mason LLC currently employs only 10-15 skilled employees. Mr. Mason LLC Accepts only the highest quality craftsmanship from our masons and trusted workforce. Mr. Mason LLC has remained small enough to care without lacking production, quality and safety.  

    Angi Certified

    Acme Ventilation Cleaning

    We provide quality air duct cleaning service using NADCA certified equipment. We are a family owned and operated local business since 2012. We take pride in our work, and treat your home as if it were our own. Call us today at (586) 306-8972 to schedule your next air duct cleaning service!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Eco Clean Maintenance

    Hello everyone! We are new here at Angie’s but not in the business. Please call our office to schedule your estimate at (586)277-1888 E-Co Clean & Maintenance is your go to company for all of your routine maintenance needs, including air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning, electrical, pluming, handyman services and so much more. Our goal is exceed our costumers expectations. Give us a call for all of your home or business maintenance needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Eco Clean Maintenance  on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    7113133
    Trade License Locale
    Michigan
    Trade License Authority
    State of Michigan
    Trade License Expiration
    08/31/2019
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial repair, maintenance, installation. furnace, central air, ductless air conditioning, boilers, standby generators, custom duct, zoning, air cleaners. humidifiers, UV air purifiers, water heaters & tankless water heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning?

    Yes, Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

    What services does Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    Great Dane Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Residential and commercial repair, maintenance, installation. furnace, central air, ductless air conditioning, boilers, standby generators, custom duct, zoning, air cleaners. humidifiers, UV air purifiers, water heaters & tankless water heaters.