Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Inspectormike.com

Founded 1995 • With Angi since July 2011

4.3

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

45090 Thornhill Ct

Canton, MI 48188

Description

Cost is determined by the job, age, size & configuration....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/19/2017


Terry H.

Complete disregard for the property inspected. Damaged paint and greasy fingerprints on several freshly painted surfaces. Came to property unannounced and was very rude to the home owners.

Description of Work
home inspection

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

This is interesting as I have never inspected any property with this address??? In fact I have not inspected any properties in Pontiac this year yet???? Maybe one of may competitors is having some fun...... I also have not had any inspections this year where the homeowners did not know about it, it has happened in the past but that has been a few years ago.
5.0

07/02/2015


Tanveer A.

Description of Work
The service included home and pest inspection. Mike is very thorough in his inspection. He explains what he see's and tells you whats is good and what is not. | |Throughout the inspection, he gave us tips on maintaining the house and what to lookout for. | |He provides you with an extreamly detailed inspection report with picures of all the observations. | |Altogether a very pleasant experience. |

Category home inspection

5.0

05/07/2015


Renny F.

Description of Work
complete home inspection-very thorough

Category home inspection

1.0

02/25/2015


ross G.

When i met him, i told him where the attic access was, and he replied "if i can't find that, i shouldn't be here". Real wise a**. Not knowledgable about a metal roof and caused a major uproar with the buyers. He made a lot of assumptions and conclusions that were not factually backed up. He suggested that the white paint on a single attic board was put there to cover mold, but that the rest of the 1000sq ft attic showed no signs of mold and no signs of water leaking through the 6 year old 50year decra metal roof. He told me the ridge vent was incorrectly installed since there was not a 6 inch cut down the center of my roof, which is also incorrect. He told me there was only 1-1.5 inches when he measured. When I called decra they told me the correct spacing for the ridge vent with their product is 1-1.5inches right off the bat. He put in the report that the metal roof was the only layer present-also inaccurate, it was installed over the previous roof. He concluded that the basement was recently waterproofed to mask leaking (completely inaccurate, as it was waterproofed 6 years ago). He inaccurately identified wiring issues that did not exist (a few did and easily rectified). He told the buyers to get another inspection to see if the bath vents were correctly hooked up to the outside. Isn't that his job?? Plus no signs that they were not correctly hooked up ie mold or moisture. He made many assumptions and conclusions, too many to specify, that were just opinion and not factual, ultimately leading to the buyers backing out. BUYER BEWARE!! ** Interesting enough - post inspection update....The roof company who installed the roof, came to the home, inspected the roof, showed the realtor, buyers and home owner a PROPERLY installed ridge vent. Also, had a licensed electrican & HVAC company out to fix "problems" all of which would have not been required under current code. I would have to agree with licensed individuals who specialize in their line of work. As an inspector, opinions don't work, seller/buyer should be provided clear cut advice and proper guidance. Basement structure update- before an inspector voices an opinion on a repair they should educate themselves. Basement is 100pct structural sound. Hired a structural Engineer for an evaluation. The opinions killed the deal

Description of Work
inspected our home for the buyer

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately in my line of work the sellers do not seem to like it when we critique their homes, which I do understand. I just cannot let that sway my reporting to the buyers as if they were my daughter ...(it is funny when these same sellers are on the other side of the fence they have a totally different attitude)!....... ****The seller was not present for most of the inspection so a lot of his comments are incorrect since he did not hear me say these things nor see them in my report. I could produce pictures if anyone wants to see them. ***I do joke around a bit because I like to have a little fun during a serious task. ***I never said the attic vent slot at the ridge was 1.5" wide.....What I said was; IT WAS NONEXISTENT. There was NO gap at all. The roofer SAID it should be 1.5". They forgot or decided not to make one. He got screwed. I used to own a roofing company & am very familiar with this metal roof & actually love it. There was nothing wrong with the roof just the venting. ***The basement had had some very significant repairs to take care of bowing walls. Graphite strips were attached to the south & north walls. Bowing is caused by water pushing on the walls as we all know. The walls had been sealed on the wrong side of the wall. I did not say who did it but to ask the sellers. ***There was quite a bit of amateur electrical work in this home. What can I say. I have pictures. **I am sorry the sellers were upset that the buyers backed out. This home would have benefited by doing a "Presale" home inspection as long as they would accept the truth.
5.0

10/05/2014


Shail G.

Mike was able to arrange a prompt radon test and inspection to occur within days of my call. He was responsive by email and phone. On the day of the visit, he was already present on my arrival. He did a detailed walk through of the exterior and interior which lasted approximately 3 hours (3200 sq foot house plus basement). No detail was left untouched and lots of good recommendations were made. By the following morning, he provided a detailed report with pictures of the house and outstanding issues. I would recommend Mike to all home buyers. He was recommended by a friend who used him outside of a realtor deal.

Description of Work
home inspection and radon test

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

05/13/2014


Hilary B.

The inspection went very well (as far as Inspector Mike's service was concerned). He was already up on the roof of the house when my husband and I arrived - and we were about 10 minutes early for our appointment! He was very patient and explained A LOT, which came in particular handy when this house deal fell through and we had to start hunting again - we knew a bit more about what sorts of things to look for! His report, except for the results of the radon test, was in my inbox before 7:30 the next morning. The radon test results were in by March 15th (the test had stopped working and he needed to run it again). Inspector Mike was very personable and had a good sense of humor. My husband and I both enjoyed working with him and will definitely keep him in mind for the future. We'll also be recommending him to our friends and family.

Description of Work
Inspector Mike inspected the home we were planning on buying.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/19/2013


Sallie W.

Mike was very thorough with his full house inspection of our new home. He provided a detailed and prompt report and gave us tips to improve the quality of the home as well for the future. He gave us a booklet of educational information which we found useful. We learned a lot about heating and cooling systems!!!!

Description of Work
A home inspection plus a radon test

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

06/02/2013


Wendy H.

I'm very glad that I chose Inspector Mike to do the inspection. He's obviously been doing this for many years and has lots of experience with contracting and inspection. He also has a science based method of working though the inspection that I really appreciated. While his primary focus is discovering and detailing the condition of the house and grounds, as we walked with him he told us what we need to do to fix the issues as that came up. If there are several ways to handle the issue, he described the pros and cons of each, and weighed in on what he would do in that situation. He was never preachy, just a very practical, experienced guy giving the best advice he can from his own experiences. He repeated this useful process throughout the entire multihour inspection. (I can't remember how long it took, but I do have a 51 page report with photographs to remind me of all the discoveries.) Mike was very down-to-earth and friendly, so the multihour inspection did not feel like a long drawn out process, but more of a friend who knows about these things showing you the quirks and ins and outs of your new home. He also told us that he would answer questions after the inspection. We have not had to ask any since we have his report, and we also have a small homeowner's handbook and a separate flyer of notes on correcting some of the most frequently seen issues that he gave us on the day of the inspection.

Description of Work
Inspector Mike inspected the property I wanted to buy. He inspected the garage, grounds, pole barn, roof, crawlspace and every room in the house, including attic, furnace, central air unit, water heater, outlets, heat ducts, floors, porch, deck, and plumbing.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

04/30/2013


Josh G.

Mike did a really through inspection of my condo. He even looked up at my attic even though it was beyond the basic scope of the inspection. He gave me some good upkeep tips as well as providing a basic service manual to do quick repairs on my new home. The next day he sent me a 20+ page detailed report of his findings with pictures and examples. Mike went over and above what I expected. For the condo only inspection he was about $100 cheaper than other inspectors I spoke with.

Description of Work
Condo inspection, 1000 square feet. Included examination of furnaces, water heater, appliances, and attic.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/10/2012


Stuart T.

Description of Work
Did an inspection on a home I plan on buying. Did a great job going through every detail with me. Gave me a lot of good advice. Submitted a very complete report after. Even answered questions I had for him days later. Highly recommended !! His cost was in line with other inspectors.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/21/2011


Maureen T.

He was a great guy, and was very thorough with his explanation. The money was well worth it, given all the advice that he gave us.

Description of Work
He gave us a general inspection for our home.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Energy Savers Roofs & More

    We offer quality and affordable roofing services.  

    Homelife Home Inspections, LLC.

    General residential home inspections. We offer Radon Testing along with your Home Inspection as well. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Integrity Home Exteriors

    Integrity Home Exteriors is your single source for high-quality roofing, windows, insulation, doors, siding and gutters services in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Started by Adam Becker in 2000, Integrity has grown into a full-service residential, commercial and industrial exteriors contractor for all your installation, repair and maintenance needs.  

    Offers by Integrity Home Exteriors on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Home inspection, Radon testing, Pest, Well & Septic evaluations. Blown in cellulose insulation during the slower winter months. I will not insulate homes I have inspected. I can help YOU insulate also making the job less expensive.

    Services Not Offered

    I do not do mold testing because that should ONLY be done by a licensed industrial hygienist.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Inspectormike.com

    How is Inspectormike.com overall rated?

    Inspectormike.com is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Inspectormike.com provide

    Inspectormike.com accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Inspectormike.com offer free estimates?

    Yes, Inspectormike.com offers free project estimates.

    Does Inspectormike.com offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Inspectormike.com does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Inspectormike.com offer a senior discount?

    No, Inspectormike.com does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Inspectormike.com?

    No, Inspectormike.com does not offer warranties.

    What services does Inspectormike.com offer?

    Inspectormike.com offers the following services: Home inspection, Radon testing, Pest, Well & Septic evaluations. Blown in cellulose insulation during the slower winter months. I will not insulate homes I have inspected. I can help YOU insulate also making the job less expensive.

    Are there any services Inspectormike.com does not offer?

    I do not do mold testing because that should ONLY be done by a licensed industrial hygienist.