Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The English Painters

Founded 2000 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3970 Dursum Ave

Ada, MI 49301

Description

The English Painters has been a painting and home improvement business in the Grand Rapids area since 2000. With over 15 years experience, our services provide high quality workmanship with customer service being of utmost importance.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Cindy H.
5.0
08/07/2019
We were very impressed! The bathroom required some caulking above the shower and some wall repair due to water splashing from the shower. The master bath cabinets were not in great shape due to a previous paint job done by me with the wrong kind of paint. They removed the vanity doors and took them off site to sand and paint. Mat did such a beautiful job, They look like brand new. Everything was done perfectly. Mat and his employees were very professional. They were punctual, and Mat called or texted to keep us in the loop about any change in arrival time. We really appreciated that. He also was very flexible and helpful about working with our schedule, as we had guests coming from out of town. When we need additional painting done in the future, we will contact Mat.
Description of Work
We needed painting done in a bedroom, bathroom and vanity cabinets in the master bath
Category
interior painters
Bruce H.
1.0
05/06/2019
He emailed me 2 times ,the first time he wanted to know room size ,second time he wanted to know if he was painting the walls.I emailed him told him to call me, i left him 2 phone numbers to call or if he wanted to leave me his number and i could call him and explain what i needed done.Have not heard back from company,what a wast of time.
Description of Work
I have been trying to get a price on having my bath room painted
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

You could have just answered my question on the website [Member Name Removed]. It is the reason it is there, and the reason I asked the question. This is a ridiculously busy time, as well as doing all the estimating, I actually work , painting, six, sometimes seven days each week. I apologize for wasting your time. Good luck with your project.
Pamela H.
5.0
02/12/2019
Excellent work! Very professional crew, neat and detail-oriented. Beautiful job with minor drywall repairs and getting a neat line over old dark paint at the textured ceiling. Great value for the money. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Interior painting
Category
interior painters
Anne T.
5.0
06/06/2018
English Painters did an excellent job. They were very professional and friendly. Their quote was by far the lowest of the three quotes I got.
Description of Work
We had our basement finished and English Painters primed and painted the new walls, trim and doors.
Category
interior painters
Douglas S.
5.0
08/14/2017
They picked them up on a Thursday and delivered them the following Monday. I plan on having them paint 6 additional doors in the near future.
Description of Work
I had 9 interior doors painted. This project consisted of taking the doors to their shop and preping them, repairing any blemishes and priming and finish painting. This included pick up and delivery of the completed doors.
Category
interior painters
Tracy R.
5.0
07/19/2017
The English painters painted the entire inside of my new home. This included four bedrooms, a finished basement, kitchen family room living room and several bathrooms and closets. They did a fantastic job and I would definitely recommend them. They were prompt, courteous, professional, friendly, and flexible! They went above and beyond to make sure the rooms looked great.
Description of Work
Interior house painting for the entire house. Also trim paint on the exterior of the house.
Category
house painters, interior painters
David S.
5.0
06/07/2017
These guys are easy to recommend. First they were prompt and met the schedule they promised. Second they were neat - not a drop of paint anywhere. They were careful around shrubs and foundation plants - nothing was damaged. They were fast - 3 days total. The siding looks brand new! We've received several compliments on the work. I would have no issue with providing a personal recommendation.
Description of Work
The English Painter painted 3 sides of the exterior of our house (one side has new siding).
Category
house painters, interior painters
David S.
5.0
05/23/2017
These guys are great. The work was first rate, the job was completed in less time then I expected and Matt was very punctual. Not a drop of paint anywhere it wasn't supposed to be. I'd readily use Matt again and recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Exterior house painting.
Category
house painters
Daniel F.
5.0
10/06/2016
Great. They were very responsive. I was NEVER waiting on the painters. They even came back and painted the Baseboards after the floors were completed. The price was fair for the work.
Description of Work
I had a entire rental house painted.
Category
interior painters
William R.
5.0
03/10/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Painted our kitchen cabinets, and touched up adjoining paint work. Very excellent company.
Category
interior painters, cabinet refacing
Karyl J.
5.0
02/18/2016
unknown
Category
interior painters
James D.
5.0
11/11/2015
Mat and team were fantastic and I have already recommended them to a friend. We were in process of downsizing from one home to another and a window of opportunity opened to have a painter come into the home while it was vacant after close and before the move. Due to some complications, we did the search for a painter later than ideal and as I went down the List for highly rated painters, most were scheduled out too far. Mat was too, but offered to accommodate us on a weekend that fit our tight window so we booked the date. Unfortunately, our close was delayed and we could not paint that weekend and when I advised Mat, thinking I would be out of luck for a couple months, he made the offer to do it the following weekend. Despite the change from a vacant home to one full of furniture and boxes from a downsize move, Mat and team were able to do substantial prep (he correctly stated that the walls looked like a heard of Wildebeest came through; they were left in rough shape by prior owner), Mat and his team of pros worked a ton of hours over a Friday and Saturday to get the job done to perfection. I offered to have him raise the estimate due to need to move furniture and he was very reasonable in that regard and his work was worth every penny! I can be tough to please on things like this and I am used to being a bit underwhelmed so trust me when I say kudos to Mat and team and I would hire them again without hesitation.
Description of Work
Prepped and painted interior walls for several rooms
Category
interior painters
Claudia F.
5.0
06/23/2015
sprayed kitchen cabinets, repaired 5 scratched doors from previous owner's dog and spot painted nicks and scratches on white woodwork. Did very nice job and all looks fresh and clean. I will definitely hire him again for all my indoor needs.
Description of Work
see below
Category
interior painters
Julie L.
5.0
04/14/2015
The English painters were very professional, neat, and were willing to work around some construction chaos like boxes laying around the floors. They were able to get our custom colors and were quick. We will be inviting them back in the summer for staining our front door and trim.
Description of Work
Painting entire downstairs and basement including ceilings, closets and pantries.
Category
interior painters
Karyl J.
5.0
11/12/2014
What an great job! So much attention to detail. Highly organized, covered items and taped areas to keep clean, gave suggestions when asked, repaired unwanted holes, painted efficiently and thoroughly and cleaned up spotlessly. I will have them back in the Spring for other paint work.
Description of Work
Painted 3 rooms
Category
interior painters
Mary K.
5.0
09/24/2014
Mat was wonderful. He made time in his schedule for this relatively small job when several other contractors would not. His charge was also a bit lower than other estimates, but more importantly, his work was excellent and he was prompt for every appointment. When a small section of ceiling required an extra coat, Mat returned immediately, no excuses. The ceilings look pristine now and we couldn't be more pleased. Well done, Mat!
Description of Work
Painted textured ceilings in living area and bathroom after repairing water damage.
Category
interior painters
Ashley E.
5.0
05/24/2014
Mat and his team did an amazing job. He showed up on time and his price was extremely fair to paint several rooms in our house. Mat is very knowledgable when it comes to paint selection as well, which was great. We will definitely be hiring him again.
Description of Work
Excellent work and price
Category
house painters, interior painters
Staci S.
5.0
04/06/2014
Mat and his team are great. I highly recommend them. They are on-time and their work is flawless.
Description of Work
Mat has done a few projects for us, the last job was painting the living room, ceiling, and trim plus some ceiling repair.
Category
interior painters
Ryan L.
5.0
11/05/2013
I contacted Mat from the English Painters to provide an estimate on my interior painting project. Mat was on time and provided a competitive estimate to paint some very challenging walls in my living and dining rooms, hallways, and entryway. Mat and his team were very professional and completed the project on-time. We were pleased with the quality of Mat?s work and his painting knowledge and recommendations. I would hire the English Painters without hesitation.
Description of Work
I hired English Painters to paint several interior rooms (living and dining room, hallway/staircase, and entryway).
Category
interior painters
Joseph S.
5.0
10/02/2013
Mat and his crew from The English Painters arrived on time and were eager to dig in to work. The job was completed in a very professional manner and ahead of schedule, allowing for the extra job of paining 2 additional rooms. They were extremely accommodating to us living on site during this very large renovation. They cleaned up at the end of each day, minimizing the mess. Mat used superior quality paint and was generous with his tips on techniques and ideas for future renovations. Mat was extremely easy to work with, never complaining about small revisions or my demand for perfection. I interviewed several other painters for this project, but none compared in their willingness or ability to tackle such a demanding job or to meet our tight schedule. I am grateful to the work colleague who referred me to the English Painters and have recommended them to many friends and family since.
Description of Work
Painted wood trim and doors throughout the house, including a wooden ceiling and wall. Painted walls of 2 large rooms with vaulted ceilings. Set up spray booth for dozens of doors in garage. Sprayed doors and trim of windows, base, crown and stairs in primer and 2-3 finish applications.
Category
interior painters
Sally B.
5.0
09/24/2013
They are great, couldn't ask for a better crew to use. I will definitely use them in the future and have recommended them to several friends that are looking for painters.
Description of Work
Painted 3 bedrooms
Category
interior painters
Alice H.
5.0
07/07/2013
The job was fabulous, he kept in contact with me to make sure he was meeting my requirements. I would absolutely use him again.
Description of Work
He painted the exterior of my house, repaired trim and did it quickly.
Category
house painters
richard G.
5.0
06/26/2013
Excellent experience. Was always on time, did precisely what he said he would do in the time frame he set down. Did a very high quality job. Very professional operation. I would definitely use his services again...
Description of Work
painted entire basement
Category
interior painters
Sally B.
5.0
03/08/2013
They arrived on time, and were done and gone in 6 hours. They moved furniture, patched any holes that needed patching, cleaned up after themselves, even going to so far as to offer to vacuum. These guys are fantastic, can't say enough good things about them. Next time I need some painting done, they will be my ONLY phone call!!!
Description of Work
Painted three bedrooms.
Category
interior painters
Sally B.
4.0
02/11/2013
I haven't had the painting done yet, but Mat has been very prompt and responsive to my questions and concerns. I would be shocked if his work in sub par.
Description of Work
Painting bedrooms
Category
interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Danjoefredco

    Interior/Exterior painting and floor refinishing. A small professional company, with 6+years experience  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Saint's Quality Painting

    WE DO NOT OFFER STAINING OR PAINT STRIPPING Saint's Quality Painting is dedicated to providing high quality painting services around your home. As a locally owned and operated business, we feel invested in our clients as if their homes were our own. I have over 5 years of experience in the painting industry and I would love to take a look at any upcoming project in your home. We are offering free estimates and would love to hear from you. Please call or click for an estimate today! We do not offer any work on furniture or staining of any sort.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    J & G Painting Renovation LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Drywall repairs, wallpaper stripping, interior & exterior painting, spray finishing of cabinets & furniture.

    Services Not Offered

    We are no longer able to offer exterior painting services on homes prior to 1978 due to the Michigan lead law.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The English Painters

    How is The English Painters overall rated?

    The English Painters is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are The English Painters open?

    The English Painters is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does The English Painters provide

    The English Painters accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does The English Painters offer free estimates?

    Yes, The English Painters offers free project estimates.

    Does The English Painters offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The English Painters offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The English Painters offer a senior discount?

    No, The English Painters does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The English Painters?

    Yes, The English Painters offers warranties.

    What services does The English Painters offer?

    The English Painters offers the following services: Drywall repairs, wallpaper stripping, interior & exterior painting, spray finishing of cabinets & furniture.

    Are there any services The English Painters does not offer?

    We are no longer able to offer exterior painting services on homes prior to 1978 due to the Michigan lead law.