Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc.

Founded 1987 • With Angi since June 2010

At John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. our number one priority is customer satisfaction. We make it our goal to ensure each and every customer is 100% satisfied with the work we provide. Since 1987 we have strived to offer quality jobs at reasonable rates. Our technicians are respectful, hardworking, and trustworthy. With more than 30 years of experience in the electrical field, we are well known throughout Maryland and Virginia.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(17) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews
NANA O.
5.0
02/24/2022
It went great. I've spent approx $300 to another electrician that couldn't fix it. Called John and sent out Chase and Michael and wallah it was fixed. Both men were very courteous and pleasant. I will definitely recommend to friends and relatives. Thx John
Description of Work
Aladdin lift for Murano Chandelier
Category
electrician
Scott M.
5.0
11/12/2018
They do fantastic work and are the best in the whole area. They back up their service and we would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I have been using them for electrical needs. They put in a whole house generator among many other things.
Category
electrician
AMELIA C.
5.0
10/26/2018
He did a great job. I have used used him about 4 times. He is very nice and I would highly recommend him.
Description of Work
He did some work on a melted plug in among other electrical work I have needed.
Category
electrician
Elizabeth S.
5.0
10/02/2018
Everything was great. Came out in just a couple days. cleaned up any dirt made from drilling. Mr. Goudie was very pleasant to talk to on the phone. Would definately use Goudie Electric again.
Description of Work
New kitchen and bathroom lights, 5 new outlets, repair 5 basement flouresent lights, put new bulbs and ballasts in,join two lights to one switch.
Category
electrician
Lisa R.
5.0
03/09/2018
Excellent service. They did a great job .
Description of Work
Wired our entire house, built the wire on our exterior garage and put in landscape lights.
Category
electrician
Kim S.
5.0
03/08/2018
It went wonderful. They were my favorite company I've worked with.
Description of Work
They did all the electrical work for our new house.
Category
electrician
Donna S.
5.0
03/07/2018
The work turned out perfect! They were a great company to work with.
Description of Work
He installed all of my lighting in my living room, he installed exterior lighting, he rewired switches, installed smoke & carbon monoxide detectors, installed ceiling fans, etc.
Category
electrician
Sabrina S.
5.0
03/06/2018
They were awesome. They did an amazing job.
Description of Work
They install some electrical outlets and fixture.
Category
electrician
Steve J.
5.0
02/15/2018
On time, professional and for the price quoted. Couldn’t ask for more!
Description of Work
Added Receptial for basement sump pump.
Category
electrician
DeShera L.
5.0
01/20/2017
John Goudie Electric was listed as a preferred provider on the company's website from where I purchased my car. That alone was reason enough for me NOT to use them. When I called, I was given an appointment to have someone come out to provide me with an estimate. Johnny came out for the estimate. Not only was he on time, he also explained to me what was needed and what I could expect if they (or anyone else) performed the work. Once I made the 50% deposit, Johnny contacted me to make the installation appointment. Unlike with most companies, Johnny was the person that I dealt with throughout most of the process. Someone else took my payment and e-mailed my receipt, but that was due to Johnny being out on a job when I needed to submit the payment. On the day of the appointment, Johnny called to let me know that he and two workers were in route to start the work. Again, they arrived on time. Johnny introduced me to Joe and Chris who did an excellent job on the electrical work. The outlet was needed in the garage which was on the opposite side of the house from the fuse box. I was prepared to have to repair drywall as that is what was explained that I might need to do since going across the house for the install would most likely mean having to go through a finished wall. I was elated when I was told that they found a way to fish the wire from the room with the fuse box all the way to the garage without destroying my finished walls. The work was quick and flawless. They took the time to make sure everything was as they found it. I mentioned an electrical issue that I'd been having and thought it would be good to have Johnny schedule a time to come back to do additional work. Instead he asked Joe and Chris to look into the issue while they were there. Albeit small, it wasn't a part of the work order, thus taking the time to look into it was much appreciated. I would recommend John Goudie Electrical and I will be using them again. I hope you are as lucky as I was to have worked with Johnny, Joe and Chris.
Description of Work
240 V outlet added to garage Breaker added to fuse box
Category
electrician
James L.
1.0
01/01/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Never returned my call.
Category
electrician
Roberta S.
2.0
10/12/2015
They were under subcontract to Fox Creek Builders/Testament Construction, and their cost wasn't broken out clearly on our contract so we don't know what they were paid. After an initial visit to plan out the work, we didn't see anyone from Goudie for weeks. Our screened in porch work was delayed this entire time awaiting completion of the electrical work. Our contractor assured us that they were on Goudie's backs every day trying to get them to show up but couldn't get them out. Our contractor was from outside of our area (St. Mary's County, MD), and didn't seem to be aware that Goudie's is located in Waldorf, MD over 40 miles away and there are many other good electricians available locally. When they finally showed up to do the wiring, they left without installing two ceiling outlets specified in the contract. We had to wait another week or more for them to come back & finish the job. We had one last issue with the inside switches that they knew needed to be fixed and once again it was another week or so before they showed up. The quality of the finished product was excellent, but the responsiveness was as bad as we'd ever seen from any contractor. By the way, the poor responsiveness we lay entirely at the feet of the owners/management. The young electricians that came down to perform the work were professional, competent, courteous and accommodating. But we had the impression that management had more important jobs to take care of and they were being put out having to come down to St. Mary's. Our contractor did shame them into showing up to install some wiring on the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend (when the entire job was supposed to have been done), to their credit. But further delays on their part contributed to the entire job not being completed until 4th of July weekend. They may very well be more responsive closer to home, but we wouldn't consider them nor recommend them for any future work here - the month-plus long delay finishing our porch was incredibly frustrating. This alone prompted the overall D grade we gave them. The end product was high quality, however, and would have earned them an overall grade of at least a B if they had shown the least bit of responsiveness.
Description of Work
Installed wiring for a new combination screened-in porch/deck. Wired & installed 2 new exterior wall light fixtures, 2 ceiling fan/light assemblies, & 6 electrical outlets. Also wired new switches in the kitchen to control the fans & lights.
Category
electrician
Scott A.
5.0
09/01/2015
Amazingly brilliant! Company is a local Waldorf, Md, family-owned business. I think they primarily perform new construction and industrial electrical services, but the family's son seems to be steering new business with residential upgrades and renovations. Pleasant people. Professional. Could not have made me happier.
Description of Work
Replaced circuit breaker panel.
Category
electrician
Jonathan J.
5.0
03/11/2015
Two man team showed up promptly at 8am and finished at 2pm. They wore shoe covers without me having to ask. All work was done professionally and they picked up after themselves. Work was done as explained by Mr Goudie Jr. during the estimate. The look of the lights really transformed my kitchen.
Description of Work
Wire and install track style, LED under cabinet lights in Kitchen. Pre-wire for 2 ceiling fans in upstairs bedrooms.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for allowing us to work with you on your electrical project, it was a pleasure working with you. Please don't hesitate to call us in the future for any and all of your electrical needs!! Thanks again. Johnny Goudie Service Manager John Goudie Electric
Michael P.
5.0
02/02/2015
One day they've got four guys and they did everything. The only thing that was left to do was the chandelier that wasn't in, so they came back again and that did it. The pricing was pretty good.
Description of Work
John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. hung chandeliers, added a light lift and transformed the armoire into a wheat box for us.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you so much for reaching out to our company for your electrical project. We thoroughly enjoyed working with you. I hope to work together again in the future! Thanks again. Johnny Goudie Service Manager John Goudie Electric
Dianna K.
5.0
04/16/2014
When I called to schedule the work, the office staff was very helpful. I spoke with Mr. Goudie and he was very professional - answered all of my questions and made helpful suggestions.. The workmen arrived at the time scheduled - they were very professional and nice. They explained everything that they would be doing prior to the start of the work. The work was completed in an hour. This is a company that I will be using in the future.
Description of Work
Install new lights in workshop
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure working with you also. Our Company is very proud of all of our employees. Each of them are very hardworking, professional, and honest. They take great pride in their work. Our Customer's are our number one priority. It is always nice to hear such nice compliments on our Company. Looking forward to working with you in the future!
AMELIA C.
5.0
01/28/2013
He has done work for me several times. He is very nice. He does good work and is priced well. I think got his name from the people I have that do the work on my furnace and air conditioner. Anytime I need anything, I call him. His wife works in the office and is also very nice.
Description of Work
He did some electrical work for me. This past week I had to get a new dryer. The older dryer I had was hardwired instead of just plugged in. He came out and put in some plugs and a switch for a back light. Several years ago he also did some major work for me on wiring that was on the side out of the house where the wires had been stripped.
Category
electrician

Other local Pros in your area

Murphy Family Electric

Sean, the owner of Murphy Family Electric, first worked alongside his electrician father when he was a mere 14 years old. The experience stuck with him, and in addition to a college degree, he went on to attain his master electrical tradesman license. Call Sean today at 703-309-6125 Today, he and his team at Murphy Family Electric carry on the tradition and perform all skilled home services, installation and repairs, from electrical services, to plumbing, heating and cooling and handyman. Easily book and get deals and pricing upfront. Book direct deal on our website and an appointment today! We have multiple locations with local service options.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

BELTWAY ELECTRICAL SERVICE

Beltway Electrical Service, Inc. is a family owned and operated company. We have been in business since 1978. We take pride in our work and will get the job done in a timely manner. Give us a call for all your electrical needs. VA Fairfax County Electrical License 1553578 Maryland electrical license 803 call us at 301- 627- 7355  

Angi Certified

Kolb Electric Inc

We are a family owned and operated business that has been serving the Baltimore, Washington Metropolitan area since 1925. We are committed to providing superior electrical services. The valuable advantages we can offer you are great service, high quality and experienced workers at a competitive price.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

4457 Southern Business Park Dr

White Plains, MD 20695

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Ask John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. for details on free project estimates.

No, John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

No, John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. does not offer warranties.

John Goudie Electrical Contractor, Inc. offers the following services: Electricians,Electricians