Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Beechtree Landscape & Design

With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(17) Verified Reviews

Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

Beechtree Landscape and Design is a full service residential design and build landscaping firm serving Baltimore and its surrounding areas. We offer a wide range of services from lush perennial gardens to complete outdoor living spaces. With a focus on customer service and attention to detail Beechtree’s skilled designers, craftsmen and masons can turn key your project from start to finish. Having over 25 years of residential design experience in the region’s finest communities, Scott Michel, owner of Beechtree Landscape, can put his years of knowledge to work for you....

Other local Pros in your area

Lakeside Lawn & Landscaping! Inc.

Lakeside Lawn and Landscaping, Inc. is a family owned and operated business since 2000. We are a full service landscape company. We offer free estimates. Visa and MasterCard accepted. We are Maryland Home Improvement Commission licensed. MHIC # 74336  

C.A. Taciak & Sons

Give us a call to find a solution to your plumbing problem! Direct line: 410-960-2667 Office line: 410-339-6364 C.A. Taciak & Sons is a family-owned plumbing company specializing in underground utilities for homes in the greater Baltimore area. Since 1940 we've been providing service for sewer line repair and replacement, pipe inspection, pipe locating, drain cleaning, water line repair and replacement, leak detection, septic system repair and replacement, rain leader and stormwater repair, and sinkhole repair. We understand that your house is your investment! We're dedicated to giving our neighbors an unmatched level of service and craftsmanship. With over 75 years of experience treating plumbing issues specific to Maryland homes, we have tried-and-true solutions ready to get your exterior plumbing working. From diagnosing piping problems to fixing them, we're here to help.  

Offers by C.A. Taciak & Sons  on Angi
G&G Landscaping

G&G Landscape provides your home or business with a beautiful outdoor experience; with our unique designs, craftsmanship and nack for care.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/20/2016


Greg M.

We had some undesirable trees removed from our yard and decided we needed professional help choosing replacements for them and getting our lawn looking less like a battlefield again. Scott came out and looked at our yard and suggested the best type of trees and then had us come to his lot and pick the trees we wanted. We picked an 18 foot and 3 -13 foot Bosque Elm. Scott and his team arrived on their scheduled day, professionally installed the trees and put down new sod to fix our lawn. So far we are very happy with our experience with Beechtree and we are very excited to see our new trees come to life this spring. Also the trees come with a 1 year warranty!

Description of Work
Installed 4 new trees and fixed lawn.

Category landscaping,tree service

1.0

06/18/2015


Cheryl W.

Unresponsive. Could not get a hold of

Description of Work
nothing

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We apologize that you have been unable to reach anyone as of yet. We do receive numerous calls and emails each day and pride ourselves on getting back to customers in a timely manner. We have double checked the Angies List message Center and also our office voicemail systems and can find no call back information. Please feel free to contact Scott Michel (Owner) directly on his cell - 410-967-1717. He is available Mon-Sat 7am- 7pm. Many thanks for considering Beechtree landscape & Design
5.0

03/07/2015


Jerome N.

Scott uses high quality products and has perfected his design skills. From early spring to late fall, there is color and texture in our gardens. It was a very cold winter last year, so a few plants including a large crape myrtle had died within the first year. Scott replaced everything at no charge without hesitation. He comes out periodically during the year to check on things and seems to really love his job. Scott's crew dug down at least two feet to install the foundation for sidewalk pavers and flagstone for our patio. We are confident that it will last 100 years! For the footer for our front porch step, he had the crew dig four feet. He worked with our lighting guy to layout the perfect lighting plan and made recommendations on how and where to install the irrigation. We really appreciate all that he's done to make our property beautiful.

Description of Work
We've hired Beechtree Landscaping two years in a row. The first project involved two walkways, hardscaping and landscaping. The second project was a flagstone patio and additional landscaping. For each project, Scott draws up plans so we know exactly what is planned. This year we plan to add more perennials and trees and gardens. I highly recommend them.

Category landscaping,tree service,hardscaping

5.0

10/02/2014


Maryellen G.

As above- Scott was able to visualize a harmonious final product (despite the chaos during pool construction), coordinate its execution, manage the delivery, and articulate what was required to all parties along the way. I had a few other landscapers early on take a look at the project and they were flummoxed by the scope and complexity. Beechtree was clearly the only company that had a clue. The high attention to detail, daily communication, professionalism, and follow up were a much needed and welcome relief from the abysmal experience with the pool company. Scott offered lots of advice along the way-- everything from how to prepare the ground for decking prep by using soaker hoses to settle the soil to suggesting the stone masons come back to fire edge the coping stones to advising on the placement of conduit and drain lines. With not a lot of advance notice he put together a comprehensive plantings package to bring out the best in the hardscape and overall environment of the site. His team are very hardworking, experts in their craft, respectful of the homeowner, punctual, and friendly. As opposed to many supervisors, Scott was on the jobsite everyday ensuring quality, making adjustments, and at times going out his way to fix aberrations or mistakes made by the previous contractors. I have used Beechtree on 5 projects over 6 years including masonry, brickwork, transplantation, tree plantings, and landscaping. Not one of the dozens of trees has died, the masonry is more solid that the foundation of the house itself, and the plants are all thriving. I am certain that the value of the property has increased at a multiple of what we spent on Beechtree's services-- so I view this as more of an investment than a transaction.

Description of Work
Landscaping around a new pool. We put in a new pool this summer. The pool contractor gave new meaning to the concepts of poor communication, contempt for the customer, and unprofessionalism. Luckily, the subcontractors who did the real work did a great job. During the process I called Scott Michel of Beechtree. He gave me lots of advice about what to ask for and what to watch for with the decking, plastering, and finish work. He even came over to redraw the lines of the concrete pool deck. This was all before we had even signed a contract with him. Once the pool was complete- he designed a full hardscape and landscape package.

Category landscaping,tree service,hardscaping

5.0

09/28/2014


Michael M.

Scott was fantastic to work with. He kept in close contact before, during, and after the job. He created excellent drawings to show us what our project would look like when complete. He worked with us through several iterations while scoping the job and even worked through some changes we requested during the job. His employees were great and worked very hard. The final product is top notch. Beechtree does A+ work.

Description of Work
Installed patio, river jack, underground downspout extensions, walls, pavers, and flagstone walkway.

Category landscaping,tree service,hardscaping

5.0

01/25/2014


Nina R.

Beechtree did an entirely new landscape for us at our old house 4-5 years ago. We recently moved and he cleaned the area (we had another company remove the old landscaping - trees and bushes). Beechtree dug out 8 inches or so of soil to capture all of the weeds and weed seeds that were in the ground (I forgot the type of weed). Previous guy I hired did not dig out the weeds to this extent. So, I believe to start with Beechtree did a better job to insure my new landscape job would not be covered with weeds come Spring. Scott provided a detailed landscape design. We have a large lot. However, the area for the landscape was in front of and down the side of the house. The existing landscape was just in front of the house. While we went through the bushes/shrubs/trees in person, frankly except for a few specimens, I was not familiar with a good number of plants. It was no problem as the design had all of the precise names on them. I reviewed all of the plants prior to install. I really like the idea of the miniature butterfly bushes. All of the plants needed to be deer friendly as we are constantly visited by the deer. All of the plants appear to be deer friendly. One week after the landscape design was in the deer came through with no apparent damage. Landscape design was great. We had another estimate from the company that did the initial clean up. That design, while it was less expensive, was not as detailed. Also, what separates Beechtree from the rest is the quality of the job. I struggled a little on whether the price should be a "A" or "B" above. They are a little more expensive than other providers. However, the workers and workmanship is "A" quality. I have no issues whatsoever on the install, quality of in the install, or timing. The work site was clear and no messy. The grass area that was damaged was repaired with their green mesh. They have a 1 year guarantee on their plants. We actually did a much larger job at our old house 4-5 years ago that required expensive landscape sloping, new turf, etc. Not as big of a job this time. I would feel comfortable recommending Beechtreee to another. If you want the cheapest landscaper in town, then Beechtree is not your company. If you want quality work, thorough landscape design, backed by someone that has years of experience, then Beechtree is your company. The price is a good price for high quality work. I had the opportunity to talk with Scott at length at our house before we started the project and he goes through great lengths to keep his crew happy. "Happy crew equals good work" - he said something to that effect. Good quality work. It is my plan to have Beechtree do the year round maintenance for our landscape.

Description of Work
Beechtree installed new landscape for our house. We moved into the new house in August 2013 and new immediately we needed new landscaping.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words [removed member name]. It's been a pleasure working with you and Adam over the years. I'm glad we had the opportunity to landscape both of your houses.
5.0

01/20/2014


Cheryln C.

We had floods that killed the ground cover and they came back and planted a 2nd and 3rd time. All the plantings were covered at 100%. I thought they were hard workers, very tidy about cleaning up and made it look even better than I thought it could look as they had suggested some additional work along the side of the garage. It turned out beautifully and was beyond what we had considered. He has made the area quite lovely. We chose Beechtree for their ideas.

Description of Work
They helped us in the backyard by laying slabs of rock around the flat part of our backyard. Between the slabs, they planted ground cover.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you and [member name removed]. This project was very unique because of the location and the rustic nature of the back yard. Thanks for your nice review.
5.0

01/20/2014


Lisa H.

The quality of work keeps us going back. They have very good responsiveness.

Description of Work
They were performing regular maintenance. I've used their service since 2009. They were the original company to provide landscaping for us.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review [Member name removed]. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
5.0

01/20/2014


Judi K.

He has also turned us onto a lighting vendor. Scott is a good guy. His workers are legal and he takes good care of his workers. In the past, he's been very responsive and has been our landscape guy for close to a decade. He completely redesigned our backyard and planted bushes, trees and plants that are good for our region. He has also given us guidance on removing ivy. He has helped to transform our entire yard. His prices are competitive.

Description of Work
They were clipping bushes and putting down fertilizer to shut down our yard for the season.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member name removed]. It's been a pleasure working with you and [Member name removed] all these years and we look forward to many years to come.
5.0

11/20/2013


ANN M.

I am extremely pleased with the results. Being a gardener it was very important to me to preserve as much of the work and plantings I had put into my yard previously. Scott and his team respected this request; saving and reusing many plants, trimming up existing shrubs, providing access to the beds via paths and leaving room for my additions over time. Scott used plant materials that can best deter, as well as any can, the deer from consuming them. His knowledge of plant material is extensive and I appreciate the naturalness of the design of the stream bed and it plantings. Over the course of the work a number of Beechtree crews worked on my yard. I learned a lot by watching them work and see the quality of it in the results. At the end of each day tools were carefully stowed and any debris taken away. And a final note, all of my emails and phone calls were responded to and questions answered timely.

Description of Work
Addressed slope and runoff problems and extended existing landscaping by: --Renovating and expanding existing island bed adding additional plantings and pruning existing shrubs.. --Grading and planting adjacent slope, adding boulders and reseeding graded area. --Renovated area where large tree was lost to lightening addressing its slope and adding 3 cedar trees --Extensive clean up of existing beds including reuse of many plantings in new design. Addition of hollies, other shrubs and perennials, preparation of chip paths to access compost area and gardens. --Addressed run off with installation of stream bed of boulders and stepper stones, including large stones for 'bridges' across the stream. --Planted stream bed with perennials. --Graded and reseeded area adjacent to stream bed. --Prepared and reseeded areas where trees were previously removed. --Re-edged and mulched all beds added or renovated --Buried rear downspouts and neutralizer wash pipe routing all of them to stream bed. Installed clean outs.

Category landscaping,drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice response [member name removed]. We enjoyed installing your project. Between the deer, shade and water run-off issues it sure was a challenge. We're glad we came up with a positive solution to your problem.

    Beechtree Landscape & Design

    With Angi since June 2010

    4.8

    (17) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    11026 Red Lion Rd

    White Marsh, MD 21162

    Services Offered

    Landscaping - Hardscaping & Pavers, Lighting, Maintenance. Patios & Walkways, Drainage & Grading, Large Tree Installation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes