Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

V-TecProStop

Founded 2015 • With Angi since November 2015

With 25 plus years of experience and located conveniently in Upper Marlboro, MD, we are here to provide remote, immediate assistance to your computer needs and problems, as well as, on-site support for those bigger tasks and repairs that cannot be handled remotely, most same day. We also install Security Systems, Cameras, & DVR's, as well as, HDTV's and Audio Systems. Most of these installs can be done in one day, but, may take longer, and must be scheduled a week in advance.

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Projects

Custom PC Remediation

computer repair

202120772
Non-booting Custom PC. No post/no boot. CPU had bent pins following a motherboard swap - straightened and re-seated. Also had a recent power supply swap but the prior modular cables were still in place - AIO and SSD were damaged. Swapped out to the correct modular cables, replaced SSD with an M.2 SSD and installed a replacement CPU cooler. Installed Windows 11 Pro and MS Office 2021 along with all motherboard and GPU related software and drivers. Cleaned up and organized the case for a finished look.
View project

Verified Reviews

5.0

(28) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
Matthew K.
5.0
11/27/2022
Werter Arrington is fantastic! I've worked with him on multiple projects, including (1) hardwiring my home with Cat6 ethernet cable; (2) installing a patch panel; (3) installing a mesh WiFi network; and (4) running low-voltage cables and flex conduit behind walls for my TV and home entertainment center. Werter's work is always high-quality, efficient, and excellent value. He's thoughtful and creative about managing projects with the least possible disruption, like cutting into drywall. When we had to cut some holes in my living room wall to run new flex conduit, he made a great patch that was indistinguishable from the surrounding wall after we painted it. More than once, he and I have run into unforeseen problems on a project, and I thought we might not be able to get the job done. Werter has always found a way. He's knowledgeable and responsive, and he's very generous with his time over text and email to make sure he understands the project and gives the best possible advice. I really enjoy working with Werter and won't hesitate to hire him in the future. I've referred him repeatedly to friends and can't recommend him highly enough.
Description of Work
Installed ethernet and low voltage AV wiring with flex conduit for home entertainment system.
Category
home theater design
Matthew K.
5.0
05/28/2022
Werter Arrington is fantastic! I've worked with him on several projects, including hardwiring my home with Cat6 ethernet cable, installing a mesh WiFi network, and running low-voltage cables and flex conduit behind a wall for my TV and home entertainment center. Werter's work is always high-quality, efficient, and an excellent value. He is thoughtful and creative about managing projects with the least possible disruption (e.g., drywall cutting). More than once, he and I have run into unforeseen problems on a project, and I thought we might not be able to get the job done. Werter has always found a way. He's knowledgeable and responsive, and he's very generous with his time over text and email to make sure he understands the project and gives the best possible advice. I really enjoy working with Werter and won't hesitate to hire him in the future. I've referred him repeatedly to friends and can't recommend him highly enough.
Description of Work
Ethernet cable and TV low-voltage installation
Category
home theater design, internet service
Lewis G.
5.0
02/16/2022
He replaced the touch screen not only the day he received the part but I saved over half the price I would have spent sending it back to the manufacture. I highly recommend him for his knowledge on how to repair computers and his pricing.
Description of Work
Touch screen replacement
Category
computer repair
Jack S.
5.0
02/04/2022
I have a custom PC that pooped out one afternoon and wouldn’t boot. I thought it might be the power supply, but wanted to be sure nothing else was wrong. I ran across V-TecProStop and gave them a call. Werter answered right away and from the start, he was beyond helpful. He made time for me to drop off my PC that worked for my schedule and had the issue diagnosed within the next business day. He talked me through what went wrong, the causes, provided solutions, and made sure I was comfortable with everything that he was doing. It turned out my power supply was dead and needed to be replaced. I was extremely pleased with the amount of care that went into his work. He even offered additional insight on other parts to upgrade, such as RAM and my SSD, to future proof my PC and get better performance for gaming. His thoroughness is top notch and was very willing to explain anything I had questions about. If you want a trustworthy service that goes above and beyond in repairs, optimization, upgrades, you name it, V-TecProStop is the place. I highly recommend!
Description of Work
I needed a diagnostic test and potentially a repair on my custom PC after it randomly stopped working one afternoon.
Category
home security systems
Gabrielle K.
5.0
01/24/2022
The service went very well. He gave us warranty. he's prompt, came on time, very professional and he works very good with follow up.
Description of Work
It was for mac technical repair
Category
computer repair
Stephen B.
5.0
01/21/2022
Very Smart, Lot of experience. I have used them several times already and they didn't fail me. I will continue to use them if needed and recommend to others.
Description of Work
Information System.
Category
home security systems
Lynne D.
5.0
01/21/2022
He's fantastic and he cleaned up. He wins over everything. I would absolutely use the service again. The quality was tremendous. He's a professional and it was a very good company. It was a top notch security program protection for viruses. I've been using the service for 3 years now. He's prompt and he makes arrangements as soon as he is available. He works hard, run the test, and did a thorough job. He's conscious of being compliant, he always wear a mask. He's conscientious and he makes sure that he did a good job.
Description of Work
He fixed the computer and upgrade the software.
Category
computer repair
Gerald C.
5.0
01/19/2022
It went very well, he repaired my son's computer and provided really good advice on parts and programs for the computer. Everything worked out well.
Description of Work
Computer Repair & Services
Category
computer repair
Daron R.
5.0
12/16/2021
V-TecProstop Computer & and Werter Arlington was a great decision move i made in a time of need .... They always there when i need them if nothing else a question any time . Werter Arlington is stand up Guy and he make me feel like a friend everytime we meet up or speak on the telephone and I will recommend him anyone any time
Description of Work
Work on my wifi computer phone so much more
Category
computer repair, internet service
Shirley H.
5.0
09/13/2017
very well thank you
Description of Work
work on computer
Category
computer repair
Marion B.
5.0
05/17/2017
Werter Arrington far exceeded my expectations. He involved my grandson in the fixes, showed him exactly what he was doing and why the computer didn't work. He also showed him how to do the fixes and let him do some of the repairs. We got more than a fixed computer; we got a great lesson in computer hardware and electronics.
Description of Work
My grandson is building his own computer and I was helping him. We got it all put together but it didn't turn on. We tried some fixes but nothing worked. So I decided professional help and guidance was needed. I didn't just want to drop it off in a shop and pick it up; I wanted us to know what was done to fix the problems and why.
Category
computer repair
Laura D.
5.0
04/24/2017
Very smoothly and quickly.
Description of Work
Werter Arrington did terrific work in helping us select our new home computer, installing it, hooking it up to the printer, and making all the updates. He also showed us several programs that we will benefit from, too. We asked him lots of questions about a range of computer related issues that went beyond the installation and he was very knowledgeable about cost effective options. He got our wi fi connection going again by recommending and installing a wifi extender. The bottom line is he provided excellent service.
Category
computer repair
Marcel M.
5.0
04/14/2017
Wow what great work! I had given up on my MacBook completely because it wouldn't turn on. I thought it was dead - new battery, new power supply and I still couldn't make it work. I took it to Apple's Genius Bar (Apple's idea of a service center) and after they told me my motherboard was shot and I was out of warranty. So before paying the ridiculous repair I searched the internet in hopes of getting a second opinion. I was lucky and found Werter. Once he looked at it he determined my power port was shot and once he had the part and got it swapped and like magic I was up and running again for pennies in comparison to the Apple quote. And if that wasn't enough he did some other stuff I don't understand but it cleaned my Mac up and now it starts and runs faster, almost like new. I will never take my Mac to anyone else ever again! Thanks Werter for the awesome job!
Description of Work
I needed my dead MacBook fixed.
Category
computer repair
Christine M.
5.0
04/09/2017
He has resolved my problems every time. He is professional, punctual, conscientious, and clearly enjoys solving problems. He is what everyone is looking for in a computer repair technician. You should not hesitate to contact Werter for your computer repair or installation needs. I assure you, you will not be disappointed!
Description of Work
Werter has worked on my computer multiple times. He has resolved my problems every time. He is professional, punctual, conscientious, and clearly enjoys solving problems. He is what everyone is looking for in a computer repair technician. You should not hesitate to contact Werter for your computer repair or installation needs. I assure you, you will not be disappointed!
Category
computer repair
Jason K.
5.0
02/15/2017
Werter and his team were in and out. They took the time to explain the issue, teach me how to resolve it in the future, and were willing to answer any questions I may have had. Every aspect of the support was quick, professional, and affordable. I can't speak highly enough about the service I received. I highly recommend V-TEchProStop for, like the motto states, any of your computer and networking needs.
Description of Work
My computer was not responsive. It would turn on but no output reached my monitor, keyboard, or mouse. I had tried everything I knew but didn't have the time or knowledge to finish the job. I contacted the team on a Sunday and they were here within a couple of days, at my home, and ready to fix the issue.
Category
computer repair
Raymund D.
5.0
12/19/2016
I would recommend Werter to anyone needing help with PC set up. He was prompt in replying and stuck with me until everything was working. He was patient and helpful in solving numerous questions I had in getting used to an unfamiliar system. He is a highly skilled professional who knows his stuff and takes care of his customers.
Description of Work
new PC computer set up
Category
computer repair
Rebecca W.
5.0
11/01/2016
Excellent customer service. Provided weekend recovery of data from a damaged thumb drive. Same day service. I would highly recommend Werter!
Description of Work
Recovery of data from a damaged thumb drive
Category
computer repair
WILLIAM T.
5.0
11/01/2016
I got what I paid for. It went well. Have contracted for follow-up service.
Description of Work
Diagnostic
Category
computer repair
CC R.
5.0
08/18/2016
We are very happy with the work done by these guys and wouldn't hesitate to call them again.
Description of Work
The guys at V-TecProStop (Werter Arrington and company) did a great job handling multiple projects for us. Werter upgraded and installed additional memory in several systems as well as cleaned up a couple of buggy, virus infested laptops. He also transferred all of our very important files from a desktop that had caused us multiple problems in the past. All in all he was responsible for bringing 3 iMACS, 2 laptops and 1 server back to great functionality. Werter is also very good at walking you through the diagnoses of your system problems. He then gives excellent feedback and recommendations on how to keep your systems clean.
Category
computer repair
Christine M.
5.0
07/27/2016
For someone like me who is not technologically savvy, Werter is like the best possible computer handyman you can have. He has fast earned the top spot on my speed dial. Several of my friends have used him and they feel the same way. You cannot go wrong with Werter.
Description of Work
Fix multiple items on my computer. Fixed my connection to my router. Networked my desktop with all other wireless devices in my house. He can do anything! And he's always available by phone to walk you through any issue that he showed you that you might have forgotten.
Category
computer repair
Cheryl B.
5.0
07/27/2016
everything went great. Werter was able to fix all of our issues in the time frame that he quoted me.
Description of Work
upgraded several cpu's to Windows 10 and correct other computer issues
Category
computer repair
Wyll P.
5.0
07/21/2016
Werter is definitely the guy to call for computer service, whatever the may be. He is very capable, knowledgeable, articulate, and affordable. He is completely committed to customer satisfaction and goes beyond the problems at hand to enhance customer computer usage and experiences, a big plus for people like me with limited computer knowledge and capabilities.
Description of Work
Werter found and eliminated a virus; repaired internet and e-mail problems. Installed Windows 10 and external hard drive back-up. Generally cleaned, de-cluttered and tweaked my PC for a much smoother overall operation.
Category
computer repair
kris B.
5.0
07/18/2016
When my computer became infected with a virus, I was fortunate to find Werter, of v-tecprostop. Werter's quick response, as well as the level of courtesy and professionalism he displayed when he repaired my PC was impressive. He is extremely knowledgeable and clearly very skilled, but took the time to explain what he was doing, in a way that I could understand, every step of the way. He was very thorough in diagnosing, explaining, and fixing the problem, but completed the job quickly and efficiently. Based on my experience, I would definitely recommend Werter's services to a friend, and will not hesitate to contact him for computer repairs in the future. Werter sets a high standard of service. I wish all service providers would provide the same high-quality service to their clients.
Description of Work
Virus removal on my PC, as well as provided information about virus protection
Category
computer repair
Bob F.
5.0
07/18/2016
GREAT!!! Warner did a lot of stuff for my computer that I did not know was possible. It is much better organized, secured and easier to use.
Description of Work
1. Corrected malfunction in printer to interface with Apple desk top; 2. Optimized computer for easier use; 3. Helped organize files; 4. Created back-up network.
Category
computer repair
Gwen B.
5.0
07/18/2016
He connected to my computer and I sat in front of the computer and watched everything he did and then he explained why he did them and if something happens in the future what I could do to help with the problem. He always assures me to call him at any time if there is something I am concerned with no matter what it is.
Description of Work
Corrected pop ups and helped assist me with short cuts for the future if the same problem occurs again.
Category
computer repair

Other local Pros in your area

Astro Premium AV

We offer a variety of quality Audio Visual services at an affordable price. Services range from TV Mounting through Total Home Automations. So please contact us TODAY for a free estimate!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Modern Security & Technology Solutions

We invite you to experience a tradition of customer satisfaction that will exceed your greatest expectations. Our professionalism and quality workmanship will accurately reflect your taste and lifestyle. From conception to completion we work with you until the job is done. We thrive to take care of all of our clients unique needs. We are ethical, honest and easy to communicate with. Call us today you'll be pleased you did. Thank you!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

ADT

ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

8916 Simeon Ct

Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
PayPal
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

FAQ

V-TecProStop is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

V-TecProStop is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

V-TecProStop accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

No, V-TecProStop does not offer free project estimates.

No, V-TecProStop does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, V-TecProStop offers emergency services.

No, V-TecProStop does not offer warranties.

V-TecProStop offers the following services: Computer Builds, Installation, & Upgrades, Networking Setup & Troubleshooting, Remote & On-Site Computer Services, Data Backup & Recovery, Virus & Spyware Removal, Operating Systems & Software Installation, Video Surveillance Installation, Security System Installation, & HDTV Audio System Installation.