Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Sharper Cut Inc

Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(89) Verified Reviews

Licensed
Trade License Number
MHIC #: 123736 | VA #2705134773 | DC #70106249
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

*Formerly The Sharper Cut Landscapes || At LiveWell Outdoors, we believe your experience should be as extraordinary as the results. We deliver 20 plus years of expertise, providing a broad range of disciplines that include landscape architecture, landscape design, and construction. We offer single-source landscape design to help you through every stage of your outdoor project – from initial brainstorming to design and material selection, and of course, final build and installation. ...

Other local Pros in your area

Stampcrete of Maryland, Inc.

I am on every one of my jobs. We hold the old time values of quality work and customer satisfaction. We only use quality products. After 25 years of experience in concrete and construction we became the Maryland distributor and stamp contractor trainer for Stampcrete products. We provide free estimates. We except cash, checks and major credit cards.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Metro Drainage Pros LLP

Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Mr. Handyman of Anne Arundel and North PG

We are proud to have won more than 50 Angie's List Super Service Awards! We do everything on the honey-do list that honey doesn't do! Individually owned & operated franchise of the largest Handyman companies in the country. We are licensed, bonded and insured. All of our technicians have a minimum of 10 years experience and are full-time employees of the company. All work guaranteed for at least one year (any exceptions are discussed and noted on the invoice). And it's not just the small jobs! We have years of experience doing larger projects, especially bathroom remodeling! MHIC # 102097  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/29/2019


Lynn G.

Our home is now like a resort thanks to Bill and his crew. They installed the pool in the spring of 2018. We loved the company so much we signed up for the yearly plant and turf maintenance plan. They pay attention to detail and the keep up with the latest technology. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
We had a pool installed as well as all new landscaping.

Category landscaping,lawn service,irrigation systems,mulch,tree service,drain pipe,hardscaping,outdoor lighting,swimming pools

Service Provider Response

We're so glad that you're happy with how your projectt turned out! Resort-style living is one of the best ways to enjoy summer! Thanks so much for leaving a review. Much appreciated!
5.0

07/25/2019


Kathleen S.

This was the second project we have had completed by The Sharper Cut. This project, as well as the first job, exceeded our expectations. The work began on the start date as promised, the staff were all extremely professional and the quality of work was exceptional. We were extremely pleased with all aspects of the scope of work and will be reaching out again for further projects.

Description of Work
Sidewalk repair (prior company) and two retaining walls

Category hardscaping,patios

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reveiw. We're so glad that we were able to help. Most importantly, we're thrilled that you're happy!
5.0

05/21/2018


Aaron W.

We had a patio installed in our backyard. We met Bill from Sharper Cut at a home improvement show in Upper Marlboro. He was very professional from the beginning and scheduled a follow up meeting for us to come out and meet with him on that day. Before we had the meeting, he came out to the property to take pictures and see the layout. We had previously had a drawing which we sent him ahead of time. When we met with him, he had prepared several different options for a patio, including landscape. He listened intently to what we wanted and implemented it, including the seating wall, pillars and lights. He was very patient, showed the designs, modified them based on our questions and requests, and explained things very clearly. When there was a delay with a stone that we originally chose for the patio, he had us choose another stone to our liking, without making any adjustments to the price. The crew that did the work, showed up timely and were extremely professional. They would have been completed on time but got delayed because of rain storms that soaked the yard. However, as soon as it dried up they came out and finished the project. We are extremely pleased with the patio and all of our neighbors that come and see it, absolutely love it. I have recommended him to several of my neighbors and would encourage anyone looking for quality work to be done for them to consider Sharper Cut. They are awesome!!!!

Description of Work
Patio, with sitting wall, pillar, lights and landscape.

Category landscaping,hardscaping,patios

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind review! We hope you've been enjoying your patio!
5.0

04/09/2018


Karen G.

Fabulous work! Staff and students at our school are amazed at the difference in our courtyard. We all feel uplifted with this delightful and well designed outdoor space for peace, growing plants, etc.

Description of Work
hardscaping, landscaping, installation of soil beds, replace grass with seed to promote better growth, installation of gravel stones, pruning shrubery

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,pavers, gravel,tree service

Service Provider Response

That's music to our ears, [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for trusting us with this project. We are so happy that we could help enhance the space for staff and students to enjoy.
5.0

12/29/2017


Curtis B.

I've used Sharper Cut to develop the gardens in front of the house, terrace the front garden for a level field for the trees, bushes, plants and water fountain, and build out the back garden to include and expanded patio and fishpond with waterfall. Their work is superior...and helps give the house a more inviting exterior view to family and guests. I'd recommend them for any project great or small...and they can tailor the project for future growth based on your budget! The winter refresh and clean up went exceptionally well...as their work always provides!

Description of Work
Major garden clean up and replantings (front, side, back)

Category landscaping,mulch,drain pipe,fountains

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind comments about the scope of our work. We try hard to accommodate our clients every step of the way, and make every effort to provide exactly what they want. So much is taken into consideration when we work with our customers. Details are important to us as is customer service and workmanship. We look forward to working with you in the future as you expand your projects.
5.0

12/20/2017


Dawne W.

I was late in finding a company to do holiday lighting for us. Sharper Cut responded promptly to my request and we're able to get my lights up in time for a holiday party we were hosting. They did a fantastic job, the crew they sent were very professional, payed attention to details like where the electric wires and extension cords went, made sure they wouldn't be in a place where people could trip over the cords....it came out more beautiful than we expected! Will definitely use them again next year!

Description of Work
External LED holiday lighting for our single family home in Annapolis,MD

Category holiday decorators

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed], and we are so thrilled you chose us to work with you. You were a delight every step of the way, and it was our pleasure helping to make the outdoor part of your home more festive and beautiful.
5.0

12/07/2017


Dick M.

The design was well conceived. The installation was careful to not disturb grass lawn. The light fixtures seem to be excellent quality. The installation was overseen by a manager.

Description of Work
Design and install outdoor lighting to enhance trees and sculptures and to light paths.

Category outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words about the work we did at your home. We are so glad you like every facet of the lighting.
5.0

09/05/2017


Terrie N.

Outstanding design and construction.

Description of Work
Large hardscape patio.

Category drain pipe,hardscaping,patios

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words, and we are happy you are pleased with the end result. Thanks!
5.0

06/05/2017


Michael H.

Fantastic, they did and excellent job. Started on time and finished on time.

Description of Work
Installed an new 20x20 patio with sitting wall and 20 foot walk way.

Category landscaping,lighting,patios

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the feedback, and am thrilled that you are happy with the work!
4.0

06/05/2017


Lawrence G.

While we initially went in for their free consultation to have a pavilion with fire place and stone work, they pitched a landscape plan for our entire property. We loved their design plan and they worked with us very well. Bill is a great guy and pleasure to work with. While we had a few quotes from other contractors, we chose Sharper Cuts. Overall work performed was very good. We had some concerns with grouting not filling pavers completely, but they came back to take care of this issue. Still, areas were still not done. Some of the flagstone tops used were not high quality with rust prevalent. Perhaps their supplier was the issue. They replaced inferior slabs. Plantings were good, but not great with some plants dying and needed replacing. Mulching was scantily done and we ended up spending close to $800 purchasing bulk mulch and laying more down ourselves. THE MAJOR problem we had was the damage done to our lawn along the path they used to drive the heavy machinery (like a Bobcat). They reseeded the area, but the ground was so compacted it didn't take. They came back and loosened the soil and re-seeded again. Much better but we still have a wide and long area where the ground is lower than the surrounding area due to the compaction. Kind of got tired asking for more work to be done. So, overall they are a very good contractor that strived to make things right. The reason for a "B" grade is the fact that issues should be addressed the right way the first time and not in a manner that patches the issue resulting in the customer having to call them back again. Still, they did respond promptly and did not avoid the issues. That is a BIG plus with any contractor. Perhaps they are trying to grow to big too fast and simply did not put the effort in to resolve the issues correctly the first time. Still, I think they are honestly trying their best and this may be a learning curve. We are thankful for their willingness to try to resolve issues despite still having issues outstanding.

Description of Work
Pavilion, fire pit, pavers and landscaping work.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the opportunity to work with you on this project and of course welcome our your feedback. With any outdoor construction, there is always a bit of repair work that needs to happen to the existing yard, and as most landscape companies out there, we price for efficiency to be as cost-effective as possible, which involves machinery and turf damage. We are continually looking at ways to improve our client experience, and one thing we learned from this project moving forward is to manage our client expectations up front by showing them photos of what to expect. Particularly with regard to the turf damage. Furthermore, we are, for the most part, factoring in sod for the repair as we have much more success with it taking off. We know we are not perfect, but aim to please all of our clients and do what is right by them.

    The Sharper Cut Inc

    Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2010

    4.8

    (89) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    11602 Cheltenham Rd

    Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, gardens, patios, walkways, retaining walls, water features, fountains, pools, hot tubs, paver driveways, pergolas, decks, porches, firepits, fireplaces, outdoor kitchens, and pools.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes