Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dorcus Construction Co Inc

Founded 1990 • With Angi since January 2013

4.6

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Small, locally owned and operated family business for over 25 years. We believe in doing it right the first time and using the best quality materials. We pride ourselves in our professionalism, positive attitude and quality craftsmanship. Owner visits each jobsite daily; we provide maintenance and warranty services for homes all over Frederick County....

Other local Pros in your area

More Than A Carpenter Inc

We are a locally owned and operated home improvement company in Boonsboro, Maryland offering an array of services that include handyman work and a wide variety of interior and exterior home improvement projects. Our scope of work extends from smaller jobs like the leaking faucet to complete basement finishing. Licensed and insured, we have consistently provided the highest level of satisfaction, versatility, reliability and value to our customers.  

Value Dry Waterproofing

Value Dry transforms wet basements & musty crawl spaces into dry, livable or storage space through basement waterproofing & crawl space encapsulation. We have 20+ years of basement waterproofing experience with the best lifetime warranty in the DC/Baltimore area & 10+ years experience in crawl space encapsulation and conditioning. Our services include sump pumps, back up sump pumps, foundation waterproofing, vapor barriers, humidity/ventilation control, outside stairwell drains, window well drains, egress windows, insulation, and foundation repair. We are conveniently located between the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. beltways and our service range covers Maryland, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and southern Delaware. Our entire team–from our phone room staff to our inspectors and installers–is fully committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service and providing the fix that best fits the needs of you and your home. Our work is backed by a lifetime transferable warranty and a 24/7 service team. We are very proud of the reputation that we have built through online reviews, within our industry, and among our customers. Give us a call at (888) 768-2583 to schedule a free consultation or if you have any questions.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Value Dry Waterproofing on Angi
Handy House Cleaning

Handy is an Angie's List national platform partner. With Handy, you can book a transparent, fixed price home service with an independent professional any day from 7 am to 11 pm. Professionals booked through Handy are experts across a range of home services, including home cleaning, handyman services, painting, lawn care, and more. They have collectively performed over 3 million projects across 250 locations. Handy, through the Handy platform, offers technology and information to book home services, but does not itself provide these services. The provision of services is the responsibility of independent professionals scheduled through the Handy platform. Tasks booked and paid for directly through the Handy platform are performed by background checked professionals*, and are backed by the Handy Happiness Guarantee**. Notes: * Handy screens handyman and cleaning professionals that you book and pay for directly through the Handy platform. This process involves: a) Pre-screenings – Potential Professionals must provide detailed personal information, and validate their home service experience. b) Credential Verification – Handy partners with Jumio to use computer vision technology to verify the identification credentials of potential professionals. c) Background Check – The background check screening is performed by Checkr, an accredited third-party background check provider. Checkr's search includes national, state, and county databases stretching back at least 7 years, and longer in certain jurisdictions. The purpose of these checks is to identify offenses that may disqualify potential professionals from using Handy. You can learn more about Handy's screening and background check process at www.handy.com/trust-and-safety ** Handy backs all bookings made through its platform with the Handy Happiness Guarantee. Handy strives to match you with the right pro for you and your home every time. If you're not satisfied with the quality of the service you booked and paid for directly on the Handy platform, Handy will send another pro at no extra charge for your next booking. Additionally, In the rare event of damage, Handy's got your back. Bookings made and paid for directly on the Handy platform are insured. You can learn more about Handy's screening and background check process at www.handy.com/handy-guarantee  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/01/2016


Craig L.

We interviewed a number of contractors for this large job. We gave them each a set of existing house plans, a rough sketch of a few floor plans we had in mind and a written list of our desires for the final product. We basically wanted our small house to feel bigger and have more light. Dorcus was the only bidder that captured what we really wanted. Our kitchen/dining area includes a vaulted ceiling, skylights, corner windows around the sink and a door/double window combination facing the deck. The garage is as large as our lot allows and the master bed was designed with a huge walk-in closet and spacious master bath. Other bidders didn?t seem to get what we wanted or were unable to communicate very well. One losing bidder produced lovely CAD models of something that we didn?t like or want ? then said that to proceed we would have to pay $1500 for them to generate blue prints. Dorcus gave us multiple sets of very adequate hand sketches (including elevations) of our project as the design evolved, then produced prints only after we all agreed on the design. Dorcus is not the most inexpensive contractor in the area, but you really do get what you pay for.

Description of Work
We hired Dorcus to perform a major home remodel which included extending the rear of the house, expanding master bed and bath, expanding kitchen and dining areas, adding mudroom and front porch, adding rear patio, deck and new 2-car garage. It was a massive undertaking and was all accomplished while we stayed in the house. Needless to say, we got to know all the crew very well. Everyone was extremely talented, hardworking, knowledgeable, punctual, personable and very willing to accommodate all our needs and desires. Once underway, we talked to someone (an on-site supervisor) in person virtually every day, went over the day’s work and provided them with any updates and tweaks we wanted to incorporate. Any minor complaints we had were dealt with quickly and always to our satisfaction. Some work was subcontracted but everyone was obviously very well screened and provided the same high quality workmanship we received from all the Dorcus employees.

Category decks,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,home & garage organization,home remodeling

5.0

02/23/2015


Claire U.

Of the contractors I requested estimates from they were priced in the middle. The owner was available for questions and the crew were all long time employees. I appreciated the detail of their contract and suggestions for finishes and project details. The experience was great. They gave me updates and were available to answer questions. The quality of work was exception. I will use them again for my next project.

Description of Work
They build a front porch on my house with brick steps and a hip roof.

Category doors

1.0

01/12/2015


Suzan A.

The Dorcas representative came to our home, took measurements and gave us a timeline of 3 weeks for a written bid. He seemed like a knowledgeable and reasonable person, so we were disappointed when we did not receive any contact after four weeks. We called, left a message, and received a return message that he was still working on details of the proposal. Unfortunately, we received no further contact from Dorcas. Months wasted, Be warned.

Description of Work
We contacted Dorcas for a bid on a kitchen remodel, small addition and deck.

Category decks,remodeling,home remodeling,doors

1.0

01/07/2015


Matthew F.

Called for an estimate in late November. Was told the first available meeting was on December 9. Estimator was on-time on December 9. Was professional. I was informed an estimate would be emailed in ten days to two weeks from December 9. By December 30, I still had not heard from the company. The same day, I received an email informing me they had failed to complete the estimate. They would get back to me by January 5. On the 5th, I received an email saying that I would have an estimate by the close of business on the 6th. This assurance did not come to pass. It is noon on the 7th, and still no estimate.

Description of Work
Came to my home to view a potential job site for the purpose of providing an estimate for expanding a closet.

Category closet systems,doors

5.0

05/29/2014


Marianne E.

-It was a pleasure (except for cooking in the basement). The kitchen is beautiful and came out just how we hoped. They also helped renovate our family room: arranged for Oak cabinets to be painted, trimmed to match the room better), updated our gas fireplace-all new hardwood floors. Painters were great. Carpenters who installed our cabinets were perfectionist. Any changes we requested were done with change orders to keep track but Dorcas was very easy to work with. We checked their references and everyone loved them-now we know why. We just had them renovate our deck and patio May 2014-looks great. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Remodeled our first floor-knocked down the dining room wall and gutted our former kitchen and dining room. Dorcas Construction built us a beautiful new kitchen-arranged for cabinets, counters, flooring to be installed. Workmen were extraordinary-very punctual, competent and pleasant. Work continued from the day they started as they made sure everything was ready (all the cabinets, sinks, counters,light fixtures etc) before they would start. Always let us know what was happening and who would be doing it. Steve Dorcas comes out to supervise although his onsite supervisor was terrific.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/14/2014


Megan P.

Dorcus Construction did an excellent job with replacing our doors that were in much need of replacement. The new doors are beautiful and we could not be happier. The men were very nice to work with and great about keeping our house as clean as possible during the construction process. We are also happy about the work done to hang our TV above the fireplace. They did a great job running the wires and patching the work behind the wall. We plan to use Dorcus Construction for future projects.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced double french doors with transoms. Also, moved electrical and and ran cable to move television above fireplace mantle.

Category electrician,doors

5.0

02/08/2014


Teresa P.

Work was done professionally and in a very timely manner.

Description of Work
Remodeled hall bath and replaced a basement window.

Category replacement windows,home remodeling

5.0

02/05/2014


Miriam M.

We had a wonderful experience with Dorcus and will never use anyone else. When they left, there was no evidence of their having been in my house other than their completed work. Craftsmanship and attention to detail was exemplary. They are not the low cost provider, but the quality of their work and their responsiveness makes the price worth it.

Description of Work
.

Category doors

5.0

01/04/2014


Chris H.

They started on time on the day they said they would start. I was available the first few days to see the work being done since there were certain items that were not to be removed and the refrigerator needed to be moved to the living room to use during reconstruction. All the worker were very professional but also friendly and explained each morning what was being done that day if we were home when they came to start work. Some days I had to go to work to pay for the renovation so I was not there the whole time but they did leave a calendar with the work expected to be completed each day. The flooring was completed early so painting started sooner. I asked for extra plaster work on the dry wall due to some holes we found and they did the repair work as asked and explained what they were doing. Also the painter asked if we had paint for the hallway in which only the floor was being redone but the painter touched up the walls which we had patched and repainted so all the hallway had a fresh coat of paint. The counter top sub-contractor delivered the wrong stainless steel sink but once I called them, they sent the crew back the same day to remove the counter top with the sink and reinstalled it the next day. The electrician for Dorcus did an excellent job in getting the hallway recessed lights installed and all the recessed lights were place as indicated. The pendant light over the sink was discussed with the electrician for location and he did an excellent job of placing it directly over the sink. Previously we only had a florescent light on a cabinet to light the sink. We had cabinets installed from Carefree Kitchens and those were installed with excellent workmanship and they did an excellent job of adjusting for the walls not being even from top to bottom. There was an 1.5 inch gap at the top which they did an great job of adding the molding to hide the gap. We had the roll out shelves in the cabinet pantry and found with four shelves we had room to install a fifth roll out shelf which I order from Carefree Kitchens and installed my self. While moving the previously installed shelves I found one of the slow close brackets had a broken part and Carefree Kitchens replaced it immediately at the store and I was able to get the pantry completed. Overall Dorcus was very responsive to all our questions either in person or by email and called back to get clarification on any items they were not sure about. Anything we found the night after their work which we felt needed repair they fixed the next day and most of these were pretty minor issues. Would definitely consider them for any future work.

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of kitchen and family room. Added extra outlets in bedrooms and put in a ceiling light in the computer room. Kitchen and family room included complete removal of ceiling and flooring including previous sub-flooring and installing new sub=floor and flooring vinyl tiles. Added recessed light in hallway, kitchen and family room. New cabinets, dishwasher, and stove installed, plus new countertops by Topline Counter tops and new kitchen faucet and stainless steel sink. New faucet in bathroom. Installed new molding around all the title floors

Category lighting,plumbing,woodworking,home remodeling,doors

5.0

09/21/2013


Iris N.

Excellent. I can now open them with my finger. Removed, altered top and bottom of doors, cleaned slide areas and then after replacing windows cleaned the entire glass. All of this was done in one day with 2 men as the doors were unusually heavy.I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Repaired seven Sliding Glass Doors that were almost impossible to open.

Category glass repair,replacement windows,doors

    Services Offered

    New home construction, remodeling, maintenance, Brand new Professional Closet system Line, wiring installation & upgrades, ceiling & attic fans, interior & exterior painting, pressure washing, driveway sealing, heating, cooling, walls, ceiling, kitchen, appliances, plumbing, attic, insulation, bathrooms, windows, doors, roofing, garage, drainage, ventilation, chimneys & porches.

    Services Not Offered

    NO JOB TOO SMALL!

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes