Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc

Founded 1959 • With Angi since September 2005

4.9

(371) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4941 BEECH PL

Temple Hills, MD 20748

Description

Established in 1959 and incorporated in 1979, Corley Roofing is a family-owned and operated business. John A. Corley was the founder and original owner of the company. His wife Dorothy L. Corley co-owned & managed the office until she retired in 2005. The company today is owned and operated by the founder's two sons, John D. Corley & Rick Corley. John & Rick manage and administrate the day-to-day operations of the company. Third generation Corleys also actively assist in the family business. Rick's two sons handle the majority of the metal work and John's twin daughters manage the office. ---Family owned & operated since 1959. 20 employees. Uses subs for some guttering. Cost determined by the job. No travel charges. Licensed in MD, DC, & VA - class a virginia license# 2705022346a, mhic #5878, & DC license #6935 ....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/11/2022


Sidney S.

No problem at all and it was a good service.

Description of Work
Replace roof

Category roofing

2.0

05/24/2021


Lisa K.

Mr. Corley quoted $865 to fix a dent and a bent seam in the metal roof over our porch that was allowing water to leak through. The amount also included adding a small piece of trimming (flashing) along the roof and tightening up a gutter running under the roof seam. About a month after I paid the deposit and signed the contract, two workmen came to my house unannounced to complete the repairs. It took them approximately 25 minutes to hammer out the dent and insert a couple of screws into the roof seam, slide the flashing into place and tighten some screws on the gutter. The worked looked sloppy but I would have paid the remainder of the bill had the roof not leaked just as badly as before the repairs during the next rainstorm. I emailed Corley's office and asked them to fix the problem, and submitted photos showing the poor quality of the repairs and evidence of the leaks. Five days later, the two workmen showed up unannounced at around 7:00 in the evening, but since I was not expecting them and we were in the middle of dinner, I asked them to return another time, but let me know when they were coming. I also emailed the company and asked that they give me a heads up, even a couple of hours, to let me know when the workmen would be arriving. They came back a few days later, this time I believe they called when they were on their way. Using a caulking gun, they applied several lines of silicone along the roof seam and prepared to leave. I told them that essentially placing glue along the seam was not an acceptable permanent solution. They agreed it was temporary fix and said they would tell their boss that the metal seam clip needed to be replaced. When I hadn’t heard anything after about a week, I emailed the company asking when the work would be completed. Mr. Corley emailed me back asking what needed to be done. I called him and explained that the silicone was temporary, and that after speaking to his workmen, it sounded like the seam clip needed to be replaced. He conceded that his company produced the clips and stated the work would be completed soon. I again asked that he give me a timeframe for when the workmen would show up so I could make sure I was home. About a week or two later, his workmen showed up unannounced while I was not at home, scraped most of the silicone off the seam and patched it with a 12 inch piece of metal seam clip. Their efforts fixed the leak but I was sorely disappointed with the quality of the work. I hired a metal roofing specialist thinking that the work would look professional and seamless, but it looks like something I could have done myself. Moreover, I think it was unconscionable to quote me $865 on a job they initially thought was going to take 25 minutes and involve nothing more than a couple of screws and a piece of flashing that sells at Home Depot for about $5.

Description of Work
fix a leak in a metal roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We made 5 trips to complete this repair (2 trips for estimates and 3 trips for repairs) at no additional charge to the customer. Our crews are informed to call the customer on the way to the job site. I apologize if you did not receive the messages but they should have called you to inform you when they would arrive. When we initially came out to do the first inspection of your leakage issue our estimator determined that the wall flashing, broken roof seam & porch gutter were the sources of the leak on the porch. These repairs were what we provided a proposal for, the contract you signed for and it was the work that was completed by our repair crew on March 3rd, 2021. You then informed our company on March 24th that it was still leaking. Our repair crew came back out within 3 business day (2 of the 5 days you mentioned was the weekend when we were closed) and made a subsequent repair. It was at that point our repair crew chief determined that the roof seam would require a more substantial repair requiring our metal crew which specializes in these types of repairs which is why only a temporary repair was made at that time. We sent out our metal crew for the final repair at which time they installed a piece of green metal capping on the roof seam that was broken. This solved the leakage issue. There were no additional charges to the customer for the subsequent visits or repairs. Additionally, I can assure you that it was a lot more labor hours than 25 minutes and the material used is not something you can pick up at a home improvement store for $5. Unfortunately no repair work is going to look seamless as you expected but we did our best to match the existing roof as closely as possible and I assure you that our repair and metal crews are highly trained professionals that have been working in the roofing industry for decades. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations but are happy that your roof is now leak free.

5.0

09/10/2020


Michael M.

I called at 8:00 this morning asking to have someone come as soon as possible to fix a leaky roof. (I chose Corley because it had replaced our roof 11 years ago.) Mr. Corley said he would try to squeeze us in today; when I checked back 90 minutes later, he said someone would be here by noon. At just about noon, an employee named Melvin was at our door. In the pouring rain, Melvin found a hole in the flat portion of the roof (not the portion that Corley previously replaced) and made a temporary repair. Melvin could not have been nicer and he refused to charge us; he will send us an estimate for fixing the flat roof. We were so relieved and grateful; it's continuing to rain outside (a flood alert has been issued), but for now the leak has been stopped.

Description of Work
Emergency roof repair

Category roofing

1.0

07/22/2020


Anthony T.

Service was scheduled for this morning (Wednesday July 22, 2020) and I received no call and no show. Very unprofessional to say the least.

Description of Work
Resolve bay window leakage

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

There was a misunderstanding between the project manager and the customer. The job was never scheduled with the customer, thus our repair crew was not scheduled to come out on 7/22. After the customer signed the contract on Monday (7/13), he requested that job be done on Wednesday, 7/22. At that time, our project manager told him that the job would be scheduled based on the crew availability & the weather and that the project manager would call him to set a repair date. The extremely hot weather (over 100 degrees) and afternoon thunderstorms the week of July 20th did not permit us to do the job on the day the customer had requested & no date was ever set with the customer. I apologize for the misunderstanding. After this review was left, our project manager called to try to schedule the job for Saturday (7/25) but the customer was no longer interested in having us do the job. While we make every effort to accommodate a customer requested date, it is not always possible due to weather & crew availability. Roof repairs cannot be done in the rain. We apologize that we were not able to meet the customers expectations in this case.

5.0

04/13/2020


Helen N.

Job was done very professionally. Most importantly, we trust the estimator, Josh, who did the original job. When we had some smaller items that needed repair, Josh came out and did, basically for free as a courtesy himself. His crew did an excellent job on our rubber roof and the work seems to be holding up well after 3 years. Josh is honest and committed to doing right by his clients. Josh is the main reason we still use Corley, and the company seems to do very good work. We would not hesitate to recommend them

Description of Work
roof repairs

Category roofing

5.0

04/06/2020


Marcello A.

Excellent - Crew were professional; on time; and efficient.

Description of Work
Fascia board - covered with white aluminum to prevent birds and animals accessing roof.

Category roofing

5.0

07/01/2019


Robert D.

Quick and high quality work. Looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Copper Roof, ~100sqft

Category roofing

5.0

07/01/2019


Kevin E.

Replaced all my gutters with 6" seamless gutters. Matched the color of my house. They did such a good job, I didn't even know they were there. I came home one day to realize my gutters just looked better. Fantastic job and now I actually look forward to rain storms!

Description of Work
Gutter replacement

Category gutter repair

4.0

03/28/2019


Everett L.

Their estimator was a consummate professional. A man named Dennis showed up when specified on the dot. He provided a wealth of feedback, steered us away from some red herrings, and even popped out a crowbar to help us with a siding issue, on the spot. Every other part of the process was fraught with issues. We requested modifications to the initial bid. It took 9 days and repeated requests to even acknowledge the mods. The followup was so far removed from the job itself that someone was sent over for a second look. I received a confirmation via email by John, the owner, that work would start on the 23rd, weather permitted. A truck arrived a day early at around 3:30, catching us off guard. I asked how long the job would take; they said 40 min - an hour. So I let them get to work, since they were already there. Three hours later, the sun had long since set, and I’m expressing discomfort with approving a finished product that I cannot inspect. So we agree to have them come back on the day that was actually scheduled, to finish up. After unresponsive followup emails, I make a few calls on the 23rd to clarify when the workmen will arrive. The response I receive is that no one is coming. My irritation gets patched through to a gentleman named Steve. He explains their side of things (inclement weather limiting their crews to just 8 workable days that month). I explain my side: an email confirming service on that date, along with an inability for me, their client, to meet the convenience of their ever-changing schedule. Steve goes a long way to explain how Corley is a family run business for 60 years that stands by its work. We arrange an agreement where someone will come by on the 24th to complete work, regardless of if anyone is present, and then Dennis will follow up afterward about the workmanship. He expresses concerns about wanting to beat rainfall and not leave us with an incomplete downspout. He relays a couple of stories about the importance of handling this properly. And then 9am on the 24th I get a call postponing the work because of rain. Now eventually, everything got taken care of. It took them 3 more visits to completely finish. But regrettably, I’m convinced that work would have ceased after day one had I not been so tenacious. And (our fault) their cost was well above regional expectations for gutter replacement. Short story long: a lot of disconnect with the administrative side of this company soured my experience.

Description of Work
gutter replacement

Category gutter repair

5.0

02/26/2019


kevin H.

First I would like to note the people at Corley are honest and accurate with their estimates. They started within the quoted time frame (6-8 weeks which was reasonable considering the rain and backlogs of 2018). They also offered the lowest cost and best overall estimate. Their contract spelled out exactly what they were going to do and what specific materials I was going to get. They are a good company. The work went well from delivery of the materials to cleanup. It took 2 1/2 days for 5-6 guys to complete the work. Everything was done according to the contract and the roof looked good when they finished. I highly recommend Corley Roofing. (Caveat for insurance claims- The March 2018 wind storm damaged about half of my main roof and this was my first experience with a homeowner's insurance claim. Even though half of my main roof singles were damaged, the insurance company said they would only pay for spot patching. I had an estimate from Corley but I wanted to get one last estimate and I wound up signing a contract with another "reputable" and large roofing company but they wound up wasting 5 months of my time by doing nothing. That other company only does open-ended contracts for insurance claims where they "work with your insurance company" to get the most money for you. This is a borderline scam. Notice those types of contracts have no written specifics! Rather than a whole roof replacement they might only do spot patching and there's nothing you can do about it because that's the most they could get the insurance company to pay. I did have this other company put in writing that the contract was void if they couldn't get an entire roof replacement but I forgot to put in a deadline. The 5 wasted months happened mainly because of my patience - 2018 was rainy and roofing companies were backlogged from the widespread wind damage. A few times each month I got reasonable excuses from this other company about the delays and because of their good reviews I believed they could eventually get my insurance company to pay for more than spot patching. But it was 4 months before they finally came out to my house to take pictures for the supplemental claim. A month afterward they still had not sent in the supplemental claim to my insurance company. The way the contract was written I did not have an out or a reason to cancel except for the incorrect 6-week estimate for work completion. 5 months had passed by the time I gave up and I told them to cancel the contract. If you're doing insurance related work try to find honest companies like Corley that will put in writing exactly what materials will be used and exactly what work will be done, regardless of how they will work with the insurance company. Because I went with Corley I have to submit the supplemental claim myself. But that's much better than signing an open-ended contract where essentially a roofing company can do whatever work they want. Because of the roof damage in 2018 and some small damage twice before, all I wanted was 130 MPH rated roofing and my insurance company to pay for it.)

Description of Work
Entire roof replacement (44 squares / 4400 sq.ft) with 130 MPH-rated GAF Timberline HD architectural shingle system (underlayment, starter strips, shingles, cap shingles, etc.) including complete tear down of existing 60 MPH asphalt singles and roof paper and cleanup. The work included a sunroom roof, morning room roof and two other small areas that had roof shingles.

Category roofing

5.0

02/20/2019


O C S.

Corley did an excellent job. Our home has three roof levels with two different pitches, plus an attached garage. One of the levels has three large skylights. The total area was 3650 sq. ft. The information provided by the sales representative, Russ Reynolds, was accurate, as was the estimate. I was very impressed with the quality of the work (when I was younger I used to be a carpenter) and their crew was meticulous about protecting our landscaping. The roof looks great, and when the roof was done, there was not a scrap of material left behind. The new gutters are a huge improvement and the color was a good match for the roof and the color of our home. Highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Removed old roof and installed a new GAF Timberline roof and Leaf Relief gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing, drain pipe

5.0

01/14/2019


Laurie L.

The worker said it was due to bad siding and flashing which his company does do. He did not charge me for the assessment.

Description of Work
Determine where my roof was leaking

Category roofing

5.0

12/11/2018


Michael W.

I began doing business with Corely approximately 8-10 years ago. They have been consistently professional and responsible. They are punctual and do quality work. I recommend them highly and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Corley removed an old roof and replace it with a new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

12/11/2018


Michael W.

Excellent work. They were very professional and I used them before they became a part of Angies List

Description of Work
Replacement of a roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/21/2018


Michael J.

After getting 3 estimates for my leaking flat porch roof, I decided to work with Corley Roofing. Their estimate was very reasonable and more importantly their 5-year warranty could not be beat. Josh was an excellent. He was very responsive to my emails and phone calls and followed through with his promises. The work was completed on time and without fuss. The foreman took the time to show me everything they did and answer my questions. I found them to be professional and easy to work with. I highly recommend Corley Roofing.

Description of Work
Back porch roof repair (flat roof)

Category roofing

2.0

08/29/2018


Alan B.

Corley replaced my roof about a year and a half ago right after I purchased the home. At the time I was satisfied with the work but as time has gone on I've realized there were several shortcomings which will now be more expensive to address. Those are: - complete lack of ventilation - rot under flashing, animals nesting - spots of compromised sheathing I partly blame myself for these, I was a new, inexperienced homeowner in a hurry because there were active leaks, and thus didn't ask all the questions I should have or get additional bids. But looking back I can see now that the inspection that was done was inadequate.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We had not been contacted by this customer directly before he left this review. This is the first we are hearing about any potential roofing issues. We did a full roof replacement and the roof is under warranty. We will be happy to send a crew back out to take care of any issues. We absolutely stand behind our work and initial roof inspection. We did replace all the rotten/damaged sheathing that was present when we installed the new roof 1 1/2 year ago. It was a significant amount of sheathing that was replaced. As far as animals nesting under the flashing, we have no control over that. Squirrels and rodents can certainly chew through almost anything including metal flashing but there is no way to prevent that. Additionally, the customer never requested any changes to the ventilation at the time we installed the new roof. We'd be happy to help with that now but were unaware the current ventilation was inadequate or that additional ventilation was wanted. We have contacted this customer to schedule a site visit but have not gotten a response yet. We will be happy to help him with whatever he needs.

5.0

07/28/2018


JOHN W.

Our area has been hit by multiple storms. Josh found time in his busy schedule to fix a leak at my daughter's and to survey the condition of our roof. Mission accomplished in short order at daughter's and when he came here he found we had a small leak and missing shingles -- which he patched. Phew. He's recommended additional work for next year to protect stack-pipes against the kind of leak my daughter had. He operates on the Corley philosophy... take care of your people and your customers and everything else will work out. We will be Corley customers from now forward.

Description of Work
Fix leaks in roof

Category roofing

5.0

05/21/2018


Ivy W.

It was excellent. They were very professional. I will certainly recommend them.

Description of Work
They repaired some roof damage.

Category roofing

5.0

04/07/2018


LARRY S.

Very well. From the person who received my phone call, to the person who made the estimate, everyone was courteous, punctual, and professional. They answered all question, and offered options to help the decision process. It came down to money, and another company that was equally professional presented a lower bid. I will contact Corley's about our next project because they are that impressive. Give them a call.

Description of Work
Have entire roof shingled.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/03/2018


Donisha M.

My roof was damaged in the recent wind storm we had. I called them to get an estimate. Mr. Corely and his team was very professional and responsive to my needs. They answered all my questions and concerns I had, even took the time to walk me through the company website they use to select my roof shingles and color. I like that they were patient and willing to address my all my questions.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

5.0

02/07/2018


Mindy L.

We had a leaking ceiling after a heavy storm and had a couple contractors come by to assess the damage. No one could quite figure out where the water was coming in from, and one highly rated roofer even wanted to replace our entire 3-year old roof (they claimed there was hail damage). After our insurance inspector denied any hail damage, we called Corley Roofing. The roofer they sent over assured us that our roof was in great shape and suspected an issue with the flashing and gutters. A very reasonable amount later, we had new flashing and clean, redirected gutters. We haven't had a leak since. Almost a year later, we had a separate issue with our roof due to other contractors and wanted our gutters cleaned again. Corley sent the same roofer, and he remarkably remembered the work on our roof from nearly a year ago. He fixed the issue on-the-spot and even told us we didn't need a gutter cleaning. It's such a breath of fresh air to find honest, dependable professionals that take pride in their work. We know who we'll contact when we eventually need a new roof.

Description of Work
Leaky roof repair

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing

5.0

02/06/2018


Victoria H.

This is the second time I've used Corley Roofing for my mom's house. The old roof needed to be replaced with options ranging from new slate to standard shingles. Got three estimates- there were cheaper out there but upon inspection, the materials offered by other companies were inferior to Corley Roofing. I went with Josh and Corley Roofing again based on previous experience and competitive estimate. As with before, Josh is incredibly patient, courteous, professional and delivers what he says he is going to. I really appreciated the care Josh took to explain options and benefits. Josh also did an excellent job with my elderly mother- in a sense he had to explain things twice on different occasions. These guys are who you want your professional contractors to be- honest, communicative, proud of their work, on time and efficient. I would gladly recommend to anyone looking for work performed on roof and gutters. These guys have done both for me and A+ across the board.

Description of Work
New Roof- old slate roof was past it's life and needed to be replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

01/10/2018


Steven G.

I contracted with Corley Roofing to put a new asphalt shingle roof on a townhouse unit that is 30 yrs old. They scheduled the job within 3 weeks from the date of the deposit. The work was knocked out by a professional crew led by a knowledgeable and customer friendly foreman. They replaced several pieces of the underlayment mostly that bordering the adjoining units. The project was completed in one day and the cleanup was satisfactory. This company was recommended to me by a friend in the building profession. I think I was steered in the right direction.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

12/04/2017


Robin V.

We got estimates from Corley and two other highly-rated companies to repair a roof leak where an addition met the house. Corley was not only less expensive than the other companies but they way they were going to fix it was also a lot better than the others based on our research and input from an architect relative. Estimator Josh did a great job of explaining things. The repair crew worked hard and picked up every piece of debris. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Roof leak was repaired.

Category roofing

5.0

10/31/2017


Thomas M.

Very well. They are extremely responsive and professional and came back to fix a repair that had an issue.

Description of Work
Repaired/Painted roof and walls of house.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jr leesburg painting llc

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    EAD Contractors LLC

    EAD CONTRACTORS LLC is a locally owned and operated company which values honesty, integrity, and treats your home or business as if it were our own. We are experts in all aspects of masonry and our services are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in both installations and replacements. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by EAD Contractors LLC on Angi
    Worldwide Waterproofing & Foundation Repair

    Worldwide Waterproofing & Foundation Repair is a woman and family-owned/operated business leading the basement waterproofing industry for the Baltimore/Washington Metropolitan area. Our company has over 25 years experience producing satisfied customers. For more information, you can review our other websites at www.marylandegress.com Financing available. About Us Worldwide Waterproofing and Foundation Repair Inc. provides waterproofing, egress windows, foundation repairs, and mold remediation services to the Pasadena, MD area. Serving Maryland, Washington, D.C., and Northern Virginia. Basement waterproofing Downspout drainage Egress window Epoxy injections Foundation repairs Grading Mold remediation Mold removal Sump pump installation Yard drainage  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    5878
    Trade License Locale
    DC
    Trade License Authority
    Washington DC: General
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    ALL TYPES OF ROOFING , Skylights, seamless aluminum and copper Gutters & Downspouts, Sheet Metal Work, Replacement Windows, all types of Siding, Waterproofing, & Chimney Work.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc

    How is Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc overall rated?

    Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc open?

    Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc provide

    Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc?

    Yes, Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offer?

    Corley Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Inc offers the following services: ALL TYPES OF ROOFING , Skylights, seamless aluminum and copper Gutters & Downspouts, Sheet Metal Work, Replacement Windows, all types of Siding, Waterproofing, & Chimney Work.