Yard By Yard Makeovers LLC

About

Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2008

Brian David Mahan, Master Gardener, and his expert crew have been helping homeowners in Silver Spring and Takoma Park, Maryland since 1993. We can reshape and beautify neglected yards, or any yards. Our creative expertise can provide you with a basic plan compatible with your needs and budget...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+7 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(94) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

86

4

2

3

1

2

3

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (88)lawn care (39)mulch delivering (37)tree service (27)hardscaping (9)lawn treatment (2)Patios (1)window replacement (1)trash removal (1)
Showing 1-25 of 94 reviews
5.0

07/14/2020


Tonia E.

There are not enough words to describe how wonderful Brian and his team from Yard by Yard Makeovers was! They are friendly, professional, and efficient. Brian not only listened to what I envisioned, but provided his expertise to bring my vision to life. I would highly recommend them to anyone who has landscaping needs. -Tonia E.

Description of Work
Overall landscaping

Category garbage collection, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2020

5.0

10/11/2019


Scott M.

Brian and his team are fantastic! I could not believe my eyes when I looked out at my yard after sunrise this morning. He transformed our overgrown and unruly lawn into a park! My wife and I are looking forward to sitting out on our deck and simply enjoying the incredible makeover of our yard. Brian put in a high quality dark mulch to fill sculpted garden spaces, added plants and flowers that are beautiful and deer-resistant, formed borders around trees, shaped our shrubbery, removed overgrowth and deadwood from trees, removed vines from tree limbs that were threatening their health and beauty, removed unwanted ivy from our property, and more. He spent time before and during the project to make sure that he understood our goals. He stands by his work, and I am sure he will continue to be there for advise at any time. His prices were not the lowest, but reasonable considering the scope and quality of the work performed. No doubt we will continue to use him and recommend him.

Description of Work
Landscaping renovation

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2019

5.0

07/17/2019


Stephanie K.

Brian and his crew were absolutely incredible. We just moved into a home in Takoma Park, MD and our front and back yard were in need of some major work. The backyard was a complete jungle. It was extremely overgrown with weeds, brush, poison ivy, and dead/unattractive trees. Brian's crew manually dug out everything and removed all of the dead trees as well as their roots. They also cut back a ton of bamboo and then laid mulch down in the entire yard. Brian and his crew were able to start within days after getting the final quote. Brian is an extremely reasonable, knowledgable, and caring person. In addition to his landscaping knowledge, he is also a "master gardener." We had no clue about what to do next, so he offered to draw out some sketches of designs (free of charge) as well as ideas for plants and flowers that would be suitable for our particular yard. I took this sketch with me to the nursery yesterday and it was very helpful! I would highly recommend using Yard by Yard if you're searching for a landscaping company that you can trust will do a fantastic job!

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback [Member Name Removed].
5.0

10/17/2018


martha Y.

Brian came out, listened to what I had in mind, and designed a beautiful grouping of shrubs and plants for the front of my home. I wanted something simple with small evergreens and plants that are deer resistant. I am very happy with the results and would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
design and plant landscape in front of house

Category landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2018

5.0

01/08/2018


Lisa R.

Brian was very attentive to our needs and what would grow well- he literally remade our yard, which was failing before we had hired him. New top soil, mulch and plantings- came out beautifully. We will definitely have him back.

Description of Work
new grading, mulching, new plantings

Category landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

09/20/2017


Michael & Barbara T.

They are very professional. Yes, I would use them again.

Description of Work
They pruned some trees for me. They also did some debris clearing.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Cost $365

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

08/02/2017


William R.

We are very happy with the services performed. Brian and his crew of 4-5 guys were amazing and professional. Brian knows every plant and shrub, made great suggestions, and had an excellent design sensibility. His crew was very professional and understood exactly what to do. They removed and took away two truck-loads (a big truck) of yard waste, took out two dozen large rocks that had formed borders; unearthed and removed an old concrete walkway; divided/moved/replanted a number of good plants; trimmed a couple of small trees; pulled a ton of ivy that had covered a large area of ground and much of our 75 foot long back fence; replaced previously planted and weedy overgrown beds with sod; and pruned and hand-trimmed a lot of azaleas, hollies, and other shrubs; beautiful mulching; more. This wasn't the lowest bid, but Brian seemed to immediately understand what we needed, so we went with him. Very glad we did. You may be able to find a crew to do what Yard by Yard did for less money, but you get what you pay for. For us, it was worth every penny. We were late getting started, and understood that they were backed up. I knew that we should have gotten on their books earlier in the season, so we had no problem with the lag between contracting and the work done. They are a small firm with lots of work, but again, it was all worth the wait. The crew was unbelievably hard-working and cleaned up perfectly every day they worked. Real pros.

Description of Work
We had a very overgrown yard, both front and back. We had reached a point where we were unable to maintain our extensive plantings by ourselves and sought a major clean-up and mulching to simplify our gardens.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2017

Service Provider Response

I hope you are doing well! It has been a true pleasure to work for you and help you to beautify your landscape. My crew and I are humbled by your kindness and are very greatful to you for your business. Thank you for your wonderful review! Its very helpful to us! We will continue to do our best to meet and exceed your expectations in any work we may do for you in the near future. If you have any questions or need advice regarding your landscape I am there for you 7 days a week. Just give a call. Thank you so much! Brian and The Crew
5.0

06/17/2017


Iris W.

They were fantastic! We now have a yard again. These guys pulled out our poison ivy, tacked the vines, pruned our cherry tree, cleaned our gutters, mowed, etc. They worked from 8 to 4. Very organized, hard workers. The owner came to give us an estimate and arrived on the morning of the job. He gave us a very reasonable price. He is a really good guy, very personable and thoughtful. They are very busy because they are known for their excellent work ethic and we feel very lucky to have found them! We will probably have them come back to do more work for us in the future.

Description of Work
We needed a "jungle job", a complete yard clean-up and clear out. Our yard looked like a rainforest.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2017

Service Provider Response

I hope you are doing well! It has been a true pleasure to work for you and help you to beautify your landscape. My crew and I are humbled by your kindness and are very greatful to you for your business. Thank you for your wonderful review! Its very helpful to us! We will continue to do our best to meet and exceed your expectations in any work we may do for you in the near future. If you have any questions or need advice regarding your landscape I am there for you 7 days a week. Just give a call. Thank you so much! Brian and The Crew
5.0

05/17/2017


Sarah B.

Brian and his team did an excellent job. He came out and gave us a price breakdown for each of the jobs we needed done, allowing us to choose which ones we wanted now and which we wanted to wait to complete. A couple weeks later, his crew came by and did the entire job in a day. They removed a series of overgrown holly bushes, did substantial pruning of a tree, trimmed the hedges on the side of the house, removed a large bush along the foundation, and removed another bush in the back yard. They hauled away the waste and providing grass seeding/mulch where needed. I was very happy with the quality of the work and think it was an excellent value. I plan to hire them again in the future for the remainder of the projects they provided estimates for.

Description of Work
We had several overgrown hedges we needed to be removed, as well as other trees/bushes that were in need of trimming/pruning.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Cost $2,325

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2017

Service Provider Response

I hope you are doing well! It has been a true pleasure to work for you and help you to beautify your landscape. My crew and I are humbled by your kindness and are very greatful to you for your business. Thank you for your wonderful review! Its very helpful to us! We will continue to do our best to meet and exceed your expectations in any work we may do for you in the near future. If you have any questions or need advice regarding your landscape I am there for you 7 days a week. Just give a call. Thank you so much! Brian and The Crew
5.0

05/17/2017


Adam S.

Brian provides excellent advice on plants and is very knowledgeable. He is helpful in suggesting plants that will work with conditions and space in the yard, and even will work with you to come up with a landscape plan. All the plants he planted last year (many), both small shrubs and larger shrubs and trees, have done well.

Description of Work
Significant landscaping and new plant installation in front and back beds. Worked with customer to create unique and appropriate landscaping. Significant clearing.

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2017

Service Provider Response

I hope you are doing well! It has been a true pleasure to work for you and help you to beautify your landscape. My crew and I are humbled by your kindness and are very greatful to you for your business. Thank you for your wonderful review! Its very helpful to us! We will continue to do our best to meet and exceed your expectations in any work we may do for you in the near future. If you have any questions or need advice regarding your landscape I am there for you 7 days a week. Just give a call. Thank you so much! Brian and The Crew
5.0

05/05/2017


Z G.

Scheduled, work not started yet. Will start in the next few weeks.

Description of Work
Yard clean up

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2017

5.0

04/19/2017


Sandi S.

They did exactly what I wanted and did a good job fairly quickly. The only thing I was annoyed with is that they were so busy I had to call twice to get on their schedule. But once they do the work they do a good job. I may have waited to long to get the work done and that's why it was hard to get on their schedule.

Description of Work
They planted shrubbery, planted flowers, trimmed and did weeding.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2015

5.0

03/10/2017


Vicki F.

I was blown away by the job that Yard by Yard Makeover did! From the first meeting for an estimate with the owner, it was obvious that his goal was making sure I was absolutely satisfied with the work his company would be doing. He and his team of fully licensed and insured workers were the most hard working people I've seen. What I thought would take at least a full week they completed in 2 and a half days! And they went beyond what ordinary companies would do by also removing a rusted basketball goal post and broken swing set. Very friendly, very thorough, very professional, very capable! I can't give enough kudos to them!

Description of Work
We had a huge amount of yard debris that needed to be cleaned up - lots of branches, overgrowth, poison ivy, etc.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2017

5.0

11/29/2016


Michael & Barbara T.

He did a great job and the price is reasonable. I thought I had poison ivy that needed ripped out. Turned out it was wild green bean vine. His quality of work is good and he's very punctual.

Description of Work
He was hired for landscaping help.

Category landscaping

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2016

5.0

11/29/2016


Michael & Barbara T.

The staff is very likable. I will use them again.

Description of Work
They did some trimming in the back yard.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2015

5.0

09/21/2016


Shannon W.

Yard By Yard Makeovers did a wonderful job. They arrived on time about 8am, did everything that we needed done, and were finished by 3pm. And this was no mean feat. The porcelaineberry's roots run deep since it's invasive. The mint was everywhere in one area, as was the pokeberry in another. And poison ivy is, well, poison ivy. They dug everything up and disposed of it. They pruned our crape myrtle and dug out the "weed tree." They transplanted two types of plants from one bed to another. They put down grass seed in two now empty areas. And they created two beautiful new plant beds, fertilized and mulched. They also helped me pick out which new perennials would be the most appropriate for planting, keeping in mind the sunlight that would be available and that we wanted to stick with natives or native hybrids. We are so excited about our new plant beds, as are our neighbors, who no longer have to look at two overgrown messes. We can't wait to watch over the coming years as the plants grow and flourish! We now have the best looking plant beds on the block.

Description of Work
We had two overgrown plant beds that needed to be dug up and redone. One was filled with porcelaineberry and mint. The other had pokeberry, poison ivy, euonymus, and a couple sorry looking hosta. We also needed a "weed tree" taken out behind a quince bush and a crape myrtle tree pruned.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2016

Images

Review for Yard By Yard Makeovers LLC - 7304 Carroll Ave, Takoma Park, MD - 33575565

+5 More

2.0

09/14/2016


Brenda M.

I was wanting them to remove cinder blocks and install boarders around trees. The owner came with his assistant (who did not speak any English) to give an estimate. You have to be very careful with Yard by Yard; be alert and know what you want. The estimate was $135.00. When I called back to schedule services, the estimate went up to $425.00. I do not trust them. They gave me a reasonable price at first but since I took a while to schedule the services they changed the price. Nothing in my yard has changed. The estimate should have been the same. I stated to the owner that I was looking to also get sod but he said I didn't need it because there was grass there. The next day mysteriously, in that same spot, and after it had rained, there was no grass there. Then somehow, after I had my lawn cut, the Yard by Yard business card ended up neatly in my yard, under the drain, and untouched by the rain. Please be careful when dealing with people who cannot speak English or can only speak enough to get by. It is better to have all contractors who speak English fluently. Just a reminder, never let a company come over when you are not home. Make sure either a family member or yourself is at home. All members who belong to Angie's List, please stick with her. If I had known Angie's List was out there before when I had previous jobs done, then I wouldn't have bumped my head so many times when finding service providers.

Description of Work
Estimate.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/18/2016


Jean C.

Brian came out personally to do the initial consultation. He went over my entire yard and discussed what I needed to be done, made thoughtful suggestions, and gave me an estimate on the spot. We had a huge amount of rain that caused them to have to postpone coming out for a couple of weeks, which gave the weeds a chance to really get out of hand, but he still honored his original estimate despite the extra work they had to do. Brian came out with his crew and personally supervised the job. He was very pleasant to deal with and his crew is clearly dedicated to doing a high quality job, especially the young man who trimmed my trees and shrubs. Every bed in the yard got a beautiful edge and hand weeding, and the shapes of the newly added beds suited the plantings perfectly and made it much easier to mow. The area where the stump had been removed was transformed into a lovely raised bed with three beautiful shrubs, and even the area that is still settling from last years' excavation looks better with the new grading and fresh layer of mulch. My neighbors have all been exclaiming how pretty everything looks as they pass by my house. I will certainly use Brian again! During that same time, Brian's crew also did work for my sister who lives next door, with a huge cleanup and beautification of a jungle-like area of weeds under a huge old oak tree, which included uprooting poison ivy and removing vines that had climbed up 15 feet to the tree's branches. Everything looks wonderful now!!!

Description of Work
They cleaned up all the beds in my yard, including hand weeding and pulling back ground cover from all shrubs. They added a couple of new beds around trees I had planted in a median between my house and the neighbor. They trimmed all shrubs and pruned trees. They removed stump grind from last summer and put in new topsoil, and they graded an area that was still settling beause it had been excavated to 13' last summer for a major plumbing repair. They mulched everything, put down Compro and Preen. They also planted three new shrubs and a small tree.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Cost $3,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2016

5.0

09/26/2015


Emily V.

Mr. Mahan determined that the job was outside the scope of the services he provides, but he spent a lot of time talking through our options with us and recommended other landscapers who might be able to assist. He was prompt and courteous.

Description of Work
Came for a consultation regarding a particularly problematic area of our back yard.

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2015

5.0

08/30/2015


William G.

We were impressed by how knowledgeable the owner was about plants, and he seemed to really like his job. He brought a crew of several men to work on our yard the day of the work. There was so much to do that it took most of the morning. The pruning was done differently, depending on the type of plant they were dealing with. It is useful to be home if possible when you hire them, because they will consult you while they are doing the work if anything comes up they have a question about, but it isn't necessary to be home if you can't be. The owner came with the crew and directed them all, overseeing everything done.

Description of Work
Yard had been planted years ago with plants and trees, but badly neglected. They did a lot of pruning, some thinning of the small plants, and lots of weeding. We also have a small walkway of large stones leading from driveway to steps for front door. The stones were uneven, and they leveled them and power washed the cement steps to the front door. Biggest plants were two crape murtles and a Japanese maple.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service, hardscaping

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2015

5.0

08/12/2015


Adam Z.

Brian was fantastic. You could tell that he loves what he does and is very passionate about gardening and landscaping. He was very knowledgeable and was very helpful in helping us choose plants that would work for our lawn. He was also very reliable. Overall, it was great experience and I would highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They cleaned our entire lawn.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2014

5.0

07/15/2015


Bassey E.

What a dream. Our backyard was completely overrun with bamboo thanks to an abandoned home next door. We tried digging out the root system ourselves but it was tedious and left us with a VERY lumpy dirt backyard. The cost to hire professionals to dig out the roots was considerably high so we read up and learned about a less aggressive option--which is why we hired Yard by Yard...to get us a good looking lawn that we would maintain as we slowly killed off the bamboo roots. Yard by Yard basically cut down all the stocks, then added dirt and topsoil and laid sod on top. The goal being to cut down the bamboo shoots ASAP before they grow leaves...if we do this for a few summers, the root system will weaken and eventually die out. We ran the plan by Brian and he agreed it should work. Last summer we got quotes from several companies and while Brian's wasn't the lowest, it definitely felt like he was the most knowledgeable. He was able to name all the trees around our property and he was all about being cost effective. We could have included a bamboo barrier to help combat the invasion from the abandoned house, but Brian admitted that as long as that house remained in that condition there was no guarantee it would work...I appreciated his honesty. At the end of the project we were left with a beautiful backyard (seriously better than all of my neighbors) that we can actually maintain.

Description of Work
Cut down bamboo stalks below ground level, add fill dirt/topsoil, remove concrete path and slab. Add sod.

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2015