Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Olde World Slate Service LLC

Founded 2009 • With Angi since November 2009

5.0

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

47 Loveton Cir Suite M

Sparks Glencoe, MD 21152

Description

Olde World Slate is all about historic roofing and gutters for Baltimore homes. In addition to old-school craftsmanship and customer service, one of our top priorities is providing you with information about your valuable historic roofing system, to enable you to make the best decisions about caring for it. We provide honest and expert service in north Baltimore's historic neighborhoods where we have built a reputation that speaks for itself! MHIC #100174....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/07/2020


Stuart G.

Extremely well. Company and its people are a pleasure to deal with. On time, courteous, helpful and I will definitely call on them again when roof repairs are needed.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! I'm glad we were able to source your clay tile; thanks for your patience and thanks for the business!
5.0

07/27/2020


Brian J.

Olde World did a terrific job in all areas of roof on a somewhat old difficult slate roof. From completely replacing the lower lever and repairing the upper level. They did exactly what they said they would do(no surprises) in our agreement and in a timely, professional manner. Excellent communication from office and crew left my house and property in better shape than when they arrived.

Description of Work
Replaced lower section and repaired upper section of Slate roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review, [Member Name Removed]! It was truly a pleasure to work with you!
5.0

01/30/2019


April M.

Historic roofs have specialized needs that few companies are willing to perform at a fair price. I received quotes from several competing companies and two refused to do the work given the scope of the repairs. A lot of these guys look at an old house and see dollar signs, failing to recognize that as a resident of Baltimore city, I am already fleeced by property taxes and disreputable water metering. David and his team at Olde World Slate are artisans and David in particular was focused on ways to reduce material costs while still maintain the historic integrity of the house. He even provided me with a source for the roofing tools and supplies so I could repair my garage and save on costs. Like many historic home owners, we got caught holding the bag on nearly 60 years of neglect. I would have sold the property at a loss if I hadn't found a reliable roofer that was willing to do the work without taking advantage of me and my wife financially.

Description of Work
Aggressive roof repair

Category gutter repair,roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review! We look forward to the next job this Spring, and are always glad to work with homeowners who are successfully restoring these (often improperly cared for) historic homes!!
5.0

01/10/2019


MARLENE M.

Olde World Slate did a fantastic job (again) for us. Slate roofs require periodic check-ups and replacement of broken, slipped, and deteriorated slates. Our roof is 100 years old and still going strong! I was impressed with their honesty. Other well-known companies had suggested a complete tear-off for $60K, but they felt that our roof was in good shape and would only need periodic repairs of problematic slates. The slates they used match our existing ones perfectly. They started work close to the projected date of service. They left the site completely clean and finished the job in two days. They installed the new gutter and fascia we needed to correct a drainage problem we had. The estimator provided a referral for a cheaper gutter company, but we stuck with this company because they use top-of the line materials, are craftsman carpenters, and are reliable and communicative about any problems encountered. Their prices are not the lowest but totally fair given the quality and service. The office staff have been great, too! Will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Slate roof repair and gutter and fascia replacement

Category gutter repair,roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, especially when we were delayed a week getting to your job! At least now if this area continues to have high amounts of precipitation, you'll have a great new gutter to handle it!
5.0

09/17/2018


Peter L.

Outstanding. We have used David and Jessica's Team at OWSS for 10+ years and they do consistently outstanding work. OWSS uses Amish crews who are a pleasure and culturally enriching to have around. Some of the guys sing while they work -- for real. They know slate really well and don't cut corners. They know the rules and covenants for the historic neighborhoods and keep us out of trouble with homeowner's association.

Description of Work
Replacement of slate roof over a section of the house and other miscellaneous slate repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review! Always a pleasure to work for you guys!
5.0

02/05/2018


ELIZABETHc L.

These men are true artisans, and all of the work they've done has been completed to the highest caliber. They have started the work on schedule and completed it within the projected time frame and cost.

Description of Work
I have been using Olde World slate for several years to replace my slate roof and replace my copper gutters. The professionalism and quality of the work is truly unsurpassed. I won't ever be using anyone other than them!

Category gutter repair,roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for writing a review! It's been a pleasure to take care of your roof and gutters each year since 2015.
5.0

01/25/2018


Alma E.

Great communication & photos of work done & recommendations of additional issues found.

Description of Work
Slate replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review!
5.0

10/02/2017


William G.

Went as planned, no problems at all. I can't say how the price compared since I did not get multiple bids. They have done minor work for me before and i trust them to do the job right and our insurance company accepted the price without question.

Description of Work
We had a branch crush part of our slate room, take down gutter and all. They were very careful about rebuilding the underlying structure and installing new gutter.

Category gutter repair,roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We always hate to see tree damage like this, but are glad we could take care of the repairs for you. Thank you for your trust!
5.0

04/12/2017


Aaron P.

Could not have gone better - extremely professional, quickly done. Highest of recommendation.

Description of Work
Replaced broken and worn slates on roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure to take care of your roof this year.
5.0

10/09/2015


Jeff S.

We live in an established North Baltimore neighborhood where all of the homes have lots of character and slate roofs that we love and hate. The roofs are beautiful, yet they are also prone to cracks and slippage following 60+ years exposed to the elements. We completed a whole house remodel five years ago and we are very picky about who works on our property. We recently learned about Olde World Slate Service from a friend who is a real estate agent. This is perhaps the single best referral I've received in a lifetime. The entire Olde World Slate Service team is exceptional!... from David in the field, to Jessica in the office, to the crew who performed the work on our roof today. Customer service is clearly a top priority for this organization. Since my initial call to schedule an estimate, I have been treated respectfully with each interaction. David conducted the first visit and walked around the house with me to hear my concerns and to share his recommendations for an approach to problems with our 60 year-old slate roof. He provided options that were practical and technically sound. The proposal I received was clearly stated in straightforward terms at a fair price. There was no guesswork, and I had no hesitation in accepting it. I was very comfortable with the price based on previous experience with another slate repair company in the city. Upon returning the signed proposal, Jessica was in touch with me to schedule the work and she explained exactly what to expect. As she promised, a crew of five professionals arrived punctually on the appointed day and time. They conducted themselves with precision and they showed care for our home and landscape. They were onsite working diligently for nearly 6 hours and they barely disturbed me or my neighbors. Before leaving the job site, the crew went around the entire house and picked up every piece of fallen slate and nails--they left things in better shape than they found them on arrival. Once finishing the job, the foreman came to the door to let me know the work was done and asked if I had any questions. I have been so impressed by the level of service that everyone demonstrates within this company. It is truly exceptional to find this level of craftsmanship, pride, professionalism and customer service in the current business climate... and I am now a lifelong customer as a result. I enthusiastically recommend Olde World Slate Service for your roofing needs.

Description of Work
The crew completed extensive replacement of damaged slates on a large roof, installed new copper valleys and flashing on three dormers, installed fresh seals on several peaks and around chimney flashings. In addition, the crew assessed and addressed a problem spot in the roof that was not on the original work order (a new leak had appeared in a heavy rainstorm just a few days before the service visit).

Category roofing,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[member's name removed], thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We're so glad that we were able not only to take care of your roofing needs, but also to provide you with a pleasant experience while doing so. We appreciate the glowing review, but I also think your words will be helpful to other historic home owners. It was a pleasure to work for you.
5.0

09/21/2015


MARLENE M.

Olde World was fantastic. They were prompt, professional, fair & detailed about the estimate, & they started & ended work on schedule. The roofers are craftsmen. They worked quickly and cleaned everything up each day. The photos were helpful in showing what needed repair & a completed job well done. I couldn't have asked for a better experience & wouldn't hesitate to recommend! We also had a great experience with the carpenter they recommended to replace deteriorating front porch columns, Dennis Ciesla. We had gotten bids from Fick and Roland Slate, who had told us we needed to replace the entire roof, a 60K project. David VanLaningham explained that our roof was in very good shape for its age and only needed repair of deteriorated and slipped slates as well as flashing work. So happy with the results and will definitely use them again in the future!

Description of Work
We had a slow leak and knew our 93yr old slate roof needed repair. Olde World replaced deteriorated slates, secured slipped slates, resealed a roof peak, resealed a chimney flashing, replaced a flashing at upper water table with white aluminum, re-attached the front porch roof with new copper flashings, and replaced 10' of wood.

Category roofing,chimney repair

5.0

08/21/2014


Grayson D.

I would recommend them. They were very good. I would use them again. They have fair price and high quality work. They were punctual and they have good clean up. Everything was top quality about them I think. They are pretty busy so scheduling could be tough but they did respond very quickly.

Description of Work
I used Olde World Slate to put in downspouts and clean up gutters.

Category gutter cleaning,gutter repair

5.0

01/27/2014


Ronald F.

They took pictures of the roof before and after they did the job to show what they did. They were professional. I would recommend them to anyone. Three people came out to do the work. Scheduling went just as expected and I was 100% satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
They replaced some gutters and some slates on the roof.

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

11/05/2013


Penny Q.

Olde World Slate Service did an exceptional job of explaining what was needed (and the timeliness required) and how they would go about repairing/replacing items. David suggested reading and quot;The Slate Roof Bibleand quot; by Joseph Jenkins to learn more about slate roofs. He also advised having a mason look at the chimney as that is not their area of expertise. Olde World Slate Service was quick to schedule a time to inspect the roof and chimney, and promptly provided a quote (the next day). The quote separated the work into and quot;Houseand quot;, and quot;Chimneyand quot; and and quot;Garageand quot;. The quote also included additional options to 1) reseal all main roof peaks and nail heads on the house 2) to repair/replace slate tiles on the garage roof (and reseal the garage roof peak and nail heads) and 3) to install new copper ridge rolls along all the main roof peaks. These options were an additional $3600. I opted to focus on the and quot;Houseand quot; and the and quot;Chimneyand quot; and to defer the options and and quot;Garageand quot; work (based on their recommended priority). Since the work cost more than I could afford at one time, they broke it down into 3 separate quotes and we have spaced the work out evenly over the year (note: I also received quotes from two other popular roofers in the Homeland neighborhood and Olde World Slate was the most reasonable). The quote was received in January 2013 and work has been completed quarterly during the year, with their most recent visit in September. Communication with the office is wonderful. Fast, efficient, courteous and creative in helping you find solutions to help you decide how to prioritize the work such that it lines up with your budget. Each time work is completed, I receive photographs of the before and after. Their cleanup is immaculate (you would never know they had been there). Top of the line quality - I intend to keep Olde World Slate for my annual maintenance and highly recommend them to others with slate roofs.

Description of Work
Replaced Roof Brick Chimney Flashing, Replaced broken, missing and deteriorated slates on the roof of the house (the quote above does not include the additional options described below).

Category roofing,chimney repair

5.0

09/09/2013


Melissa D.

I love them and I thought they were great. The work was beautiful and I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Repaired slate roof.

Category roofing

5.0

03/12/2013


John S.

Olde World Slate Service LLC are above board, they provide you pictures, they show up when they say they will, they stay on the job until it's finished, they offer a free annual inspection, and they're not cheap but it's a fair price. Their quality and personal service stands out to me.

Description of Work
I used Olde World Slate Service LLC for roofing services.

Category roofing

5.0

02/24/2013


Maureen R.

We got estimates from 5 roofers and they were all over the map in terms of what work and quot;neededand quot; to be done and cost. Some were from companies with and quot;the bestand quot; reputations for slate roofers in our area. Several of and quot;the bestand quot; companies didn't even get up on the roof to assess the problem. Olde World got up on the roof, and took pictures to show us what was wrong and what they'd do to replace it. They gave me several options in the estimate. They were priced under the other estimates. We had to wait for them because they had so much work. Then a big storm was coming and I was worried about more leaking, but before I could even call to ask if there was a way to protect it during the storm, they came and fixed the active leak portion of the job. We didn't have a drop during the storm. Then they came back and did the rest of the job. it was great.

Description of Work
We had a leak in our slate roof and some seeping from our flat roof. We ended up replacing an area where the slates had fallen off, replacing broken slates around the roof, and replacing our flat roof.

Category roofing

5.0

11/10/2012


Douglas M.

Olde World Slate was fabulous from start to finish. On his initial visit, David went into great detail about the condition of the roof and offered a great deal of useful advice. The estimate was much the lowest we received (out of four). The work was done in a timely way by careful, conscientious workmen. David was in constant communication during performance of the work. And all transactions were conducted with the utmost integrity. Olde World Slate is commendable for its absolute honesty in a business where many companies will attempt to cheat or mislead.

Description of Work
Chimney repair; replacement of damaged galvanized roof with copper roof; replacement of roof slates.

Category roofing,chimney repair

5.0

10/21/2012


Thomas G.

Because you can't really see it, no home-maintenance issue is harder to understand truly than a roof. And no roof is harder to understand than a slate one. David VanLaningham arrived as promised and explained first what we have in a slate roof; then he gave us various options for how to proceed--from replacing what we have to making minor repairs to making more involved repairs. He was very knowledgeable; he builds trust through his obvious understanding and enthusiasm about doing not only a good job but the right job (meaning, the one we could afford that would satisfy basic needs first). We reviewed his analysis (based on his two-hour inspection of our roof--house and garage) and decided that we could not afford to replace the roof at this time. We discussed lower-cost options with him and agreed on a plan that would satisfy our most pressing current needs. His contract was thorough and understandable. His price was fair, based on several other estimates we got from other providers approved on Angie's List. The most important difference between Olde World Slate and the others was that David took the time to really examine our roof, communicate clearly with us, and provide options that we could afford. His crew arrived as promised and performed all contracted services. The way they worked (steadily and carefully, leaving no mess) was an extension of what we had come to expect based on our conversations with Mr. VanLaningham. We were MORE THAN JUST PLEASED with their overall service. We will definitely use Olde World Slate in the future for all of our roofing and gutter needs. We recommend this company 100% and without reservation to anyone with a roofing issue, but especially a slate roof, and especially an older one. They will do what they say they will do and do it well.

Description of Work
Olde World Slate repaired and replaced parts of our slate roof on a row house in Rodgers Forge. David VanLaningham performed an in-depth inspection and analysis of our roof, including the garage. He was knowledgeable and thorough, explaining the status of our roof and our options for repair and/or replacement. David is a person who understands slate, how it ages and behaves over time, and what one can reasonably expect from this material. We have owned this house for more than 20 years, and have had numerous repairs performed over this time. David was BY FAR the most knowledgeable and most communicative of any service provider we have ever experienced. While his analysis and recommendations were comprehensive, he was flexible enough to understand that cost was a factor; he helped us decide on a range of repair that we could afford, while pointing out repairs that we might want to consider in the future. His crew arrived when they said they would; they were professional; they did the work as promised.

Category roofing

5.0

10/20/2012


Jennifer C.

David Vanlaningham, the owner, came out to do the initial inspection and estimate at the end of July. He was very, very knowledgeable, professional and polite. He answered all of our questions and took photographs of the damaged areas of my sunroom roof during that first visit. (We later had David come back and do a complete inspection of the rest of our roof (with photographs) and formulate a maintenance list for the future.). While we were having exterior painting done, the painters discovered a large area of rotten wood and an internal gutter that was disintegrating and allowing water penetration into the under roof wood. It was one of our painters who recommended David to us. David and his employees did a superb job with their repairs of wood and metal. They also replaced a few slates on our house's main roof. David is very knowledgeable about the different types of slate used in our region--the degrees of quality and lifespan of each type. When writing our work estimate, David worked with us to come up with a plan that fit our budget and time frame. He is very ethical and does not recommend unnecessary work or materials. When recommending a more expensive solution, he explained his reasons clearly. Due to the company being busy, the actual work did not occur until two weeks after we received the estimate. The carpenters and roofers were always on time, professional, meticulous and cleaned up when the job was done. Over the weekend, rain was forecast and they made sure to leave a tarp to protect us from any water leaks. After the job was done, David came back to our house to answer any questions or concerns we might have. And when we asked him to come up with a future plan to maintain our roof, David came back in person to go over everything. We have been very happy working with him and his company and will continue to use Olde World Slate.

Description of Work
Rotten wood removed and replaced; rusted and deteriorating flashing removed and replaced; broken slates replaced, thorough inspection of entire roof, including dormers, peaks and valleys and flashing surrounding bases of chimney and plumbing vents as well as a skylight. Future maintenance plan was formulated.

Category gutter repair,roofing,chimney repair,skylights

5.0

08/29/2012


Amy B.

I don't usually write reviews, especially for people who I didn't actually use, but I was so impressed with this company that I decided to write one. David came out to give me a quote for repairing copper gutters and he was so knowledgeable and honest that I was really, really impressed. Although it was a better choice for me to replace the gutters with aluminium than with copper, I would definitely use this company for any slate, copper or metal work if I would need it in the future, based on this meeting alone. I was really impressed.

Description of Work
Quote for copper gutter repair

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

07/27/2012


Rommel L.

Workers showed up on time in the morning and finished quickly. Aside from the normal dust associated with roof work, it was a very clean job. They were finished by the time we got home that day. I had a question about the tiles, and the owner personally came to look at the roof and answer my questions. From start to finish, I have to say that it was a pleasure to deal with David and his team. The estimate was reasonable, and he was honest that not all of it needed to be done immediately. At my request, he gave me a plan of action for the next three years to spread out the costs. There was no hard sell for a yearly maintenance contract, and he takes pictures and is very customer focused. I highly recommend this company. I will be calling them next year for more work.

Description of Work
Normal yearly maintenance work. Replaced 20 slate tiles and maintained flashing where needed.

Category roofing

5.0

03/24/2012


Matthew W.

The workmen were very organized, efficient, courteous, and neat.

Description of Work
Removed old slate roof and replaced all damaged sheething. Placed 6 feet of ice dam barrier. wrapped all pipes in copper as well as copper flashing in valleys. Placed a lifetime Certainteed shingles and ridge vent.

Category roofing

5.0

02/27/2012


Tom H.

Top notch service and work. Advised me of the specific type of slate that me roof contains (Pennsylvania Chapman), which no other roofer has ever done. Also pointed out the different types and grades of slate that have been used by other firms to repair my roof. Was VERY knowledgeable and professional. Referred me to the "Slate Roof Bible" by Joseph Jenkins to educate me on the various types of slate in use. Took about 10 weeks from the time I signed the contract until the work was done - which was exactly what he had said up front. It was worth the wait.

Description of Work
Replaced 24 slates on the roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/24/2010


ELIZABETH B.

Very well! Fast, efficient and good quality work. Very personable. Much better value then many of the other slate roofers that over charge and under serve. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced a few slates that had come loose during the storm this past winter.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    GLR Home Improvement

    We have over 30 years experience! Our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.  

    All Pro Chimney Service

    All Pro Chimney Service is a full service chimney and hearth company specializing in chimney cleaning, inspections, and maintenance. Our goal is to provide you, the valued customer, the quality service and satisfaction you deserve. We provide quality workmanship, honest and expert analysis on your chimney and hearth products, and most of all a fair and competitive price on any of your chimney and hearth needs. We want to make sure that your satisfaction and expectations are met by All Pro Chimney Service and our chimney sweeps. Our professionals will go above and beyond to facilitate any need you may have regarding your chimney or hearth appliance. At All Pro Chimney Service we believe it is important to educate our customers on our products and services during their decision making process and will help them every step of the way. That’s why we’ve provided our customers with this web site which has a wealth of information about our products and services. We hope you find all the information you need and if you don’t please contact us and we’ll be happy to answer any questions you may have  

    Honest Abe Home Services

    Honest Abe Plumbing is a family owned and operated business that prides itself as being one of the most competitive pricing professional plumbing and hvac service in Maryland. We provide honest and guaranteed low pricing and top quality workmanship. We offer a free home inspection with any service, and do our best to satisfy our customers with integrity, and affordable pricing.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Honest Abe Home Services	 on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    100174
    Trade License Locale
    Maryland
    Trade License Authority
    MHIC
    Trade License Expiration
    07/14/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Slate roof repair and replacement, roofing of copper & tile, flat and rubber roofing systems, gutter repair and replacement, gutter cleaning, skylight replacements, copper crafting.

    Services Not Offered

    Asphalt roof repairs. Hot tar, slag or gravel roofing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Olde World Slate Service LLC

    How is Olde World Slate Service LLC overall rated?

    Olde World Slate Service LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Olde World Slate Service LLC open?

    Olde World Slate Service LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Olde World Slate Service LLC provide

    Olde World Slate Service LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Olde World Slate Service LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Olde World Slate Service LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Olde World Slate Service LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Olde World Slate Service LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Olde World Slate Service LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Olde World Slate Service LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Olde World Slate Service LLC?

    Yes, Olde World Slate Service LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Olde World Slate Service LLC offer?

    Olde World Slate Service LLC offers the following services: Slate roof repair and replacement, roofing of copper & tile, flat and rubber roofing systems, gutter repair and replacement, gutter cleaning, skylight replacements, copper crafting.

    Are there any services Olde World Slate Service LLC does not offer?

    Asphalt roof repairs. Hot tar, slag or gravel roofing.