Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

William G Hyman Electrical Contractor

4.9

(424) Verified Reviews

Founded 1980 • With Angi since September 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Licensed
Trade License Number
ECC711
Trade License Locale
District Of Columbia
Trade License Authority
Washington DC: Trades
Trade License Expiration
11/30/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

712 Notley Rd

Silver Spring, MD 20904

http://www.hymanelectric.com

Description

Award winning service for over 40 years. Our trained and experienced electricians can offer you a full range of interior and exterior lighting options and electrical installation services. Whether it is one light fixture, a custom lighting layout or a comprehensive wiring service upgrade or Heavy-Up, we have the necessary tools, knowledge and experience to turn your plan into reality. Please include your contact information and property address when contacting us....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(424) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

393

4

14

3

9

2

3

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

electrician (412)lighting (94)ceiling fan installation (37)landscape lighting (4)home inspection (4)home security systems (2)
Showing 1-10 of 424 reviews
5.0

01/20/2022


Vicki T.

Bill Hyman and team have done great work on past jobs and today talked us through our electrical problem via phone and how to fix it and ended up not needing to come out (or accept payment). Another reminder why they are hugely recommended.

Description of Work
Helping restore breakers and power to part of our house

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2022

5.0

11/24/2021


Zach C.

Good work, fast turn-around. Bill Hyman was quick to respond and gave a lot of advice over the phone, even doing some visual inspection on a real-estate site to plan out work. Two techs came out on the next business day. Techs were friendly, answered all my questions, and managed to give a lot of information even while doing a small job. Will be my first call for future projects.

Description of Work
Removed abandoned wiring

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2021

5.0

07/27/2021


William J.

I called Bill, the owner, and he asked for a few pics of the lights we wanted installed. The following Monday, he had Jeremy, and his assistant Kevin, at the house to complete the work. Bill texted me to let me know an approximate time of arrival, and also to let me know they would be a little early, which was very much appreciated. Kevin assessed the work to be done and quoted a price of $975. My initial reaction was that this may be a little high, since the work took only two hours. But, I had nothing to compare it to as I had not received any other quotes. I had previously contacted another highly rated electrical company, and the woman kept coming back and back with asking for more and more pics. I finally got frustrated and called Bill. The work was completed professionally and the lights look great. They cleaned up everything, to include the boxes the lights we purchased came in, which we did not expect. Jeremy also checked some outdoor and inground lines for us that we recently discovered after a demo of a planter box. He said the lines were all dead and that we could cut and/or bury them ourselves. Jeremy and Kevin were very professional, courteous, and most importantly, competent. And add to that the personal attention from Bill, the owner, made this a very good experience. I will definitely call Bill in the future as we have other projects to complete.

Description of Work
Installation of overhead lights for my basement.

Category electrician

Cost $975

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2021

5.0

07/06/2021


Sharon L.

Mr. Hyman and his team were friendly, professional and efficient in getting major electrical upgrades completed on our old house in a timely manner. His prices were fair, and Mr. Hyman dealt with the bureaucracy of DC requirements and the quagmire of dealing with PEPCO. We are very happy with the work and would use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced outside wiring, electrical box and upgrade several outlets on old home.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

5.0

06/17/2021


Herman F.

This is the second time I have used Hyman Electric in the past two months for electrical services. As always, Bill, Jeremy and Kevin were top notched, professional and really good at what they did. Our house is 62 years old and the work was done in about 4 hours. The lighting looks really good!

Description of Work
Installed six 5" recessed lighting fixtures in basement ceiling

Category lighting

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2021

5.0

05/28/2021


Anthony J.

Bill showed patience and was very helpful. He resolved the issue in no time.

Description of Work
Electrical circuit was out.

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2021

5.0

04/28/2021


Daniel R.

I had a light switch break in early morning hours, called Hyman Electrical first thing in the morning, and they made to my house shortly after noon. In addition to the broken switch, they fixed a few other outlets which needed attention. Overall the work was very good.

Description of Work
Repair light switch and outlets

Category electrician

Cost $545

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2021

5.0

04/20/2021


Herman F.

As rated, Excellent! I am very very pleased with the professionalism, skill and competence of Bill, Jeremy and Kevin. I am now planning on using them for additional work in renovating the electrical lighting in the basement of my sixty two year old house. Thank you Hyman Electric!

Description of Work
Changed an attic fan, replaced a bathroom vanity light and replace an outdoor gfi outlet.

Category electrician

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2021

5.0

04/01/2021


Jason Z.

Jeremy and Kevin did outstanding work and I'd definitely hire them again! They're friendly, efficient, and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Install light fixtures, ceiling fan, and bathroom vent fans, install GFCIs, replace damaged recessed light socket

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2021

5.0

12/29/2020


Benjamin S.

I'm very happy with the service Bill provided. He provided a quote within just a day, which was comparable to other electricians I contacted. The crew he sent was polite, helpful, and answered all my questions. And they finished the whole job in just 1 hour. I will absolutely contact them next time I have an electrical issue.

Description of Work
Electrical outlet installation

Category electrician

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2020

Services Offered

Service Upgrades, Electrical Heavy-ups, Circuit breakers, Replacement panels, Fuse box replacement, New Circuits, Air conditioner wirng, Kitchen outlets, Appliance wiring, Electrical Wiring, Recessed lighting, LED Lighting, LED Under cabinet lighting, vent fan installation, lighting design & installation, renovations, new construction, additions, troubleshooting & repair, Cable TV, Phone, Network wiring.

Services Not Offered

Commercial buildings, multi-family condominiums & apartment buildings. Ceiling fans installed only in conjunction with other work.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about William G Hyman Electrical Contractor

How is William G Hyman Electrical Contractor overall rated?

William G Hyman Electrical Contractor is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are William G Hyman Electrical Contractor open?

William G Hyman Electrical Contractor is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does William G Hyman Electrical Contractor provide

William G Hyman Electrical Contractor accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, American Express

Does William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offer free estimates?

Yes, William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offers free project estimates.

Does William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Are warranties offered by William G Hyman Electrical Contractor?

Yes, William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offers warranties.

What services does William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offer?

William G Hyman Electrical Contractor offers the following services: Service Upgrades, Electrical Heavy-ups, Circuit breakers, Replacement panels, Fuse box replacement, New Circuits, Air conditioner wirng, Kitchen outlets, Appliance wiring, Electrical Wiring, Recessed lighting, LED Lighting, LED Under cabinet lighting, vent fan installation, lighting design & installation, renovations, new construction, additions, troubleshooting & repair, Cable TV, Phone, Network wiring.

Are there any services William G Hyman Electrical Contractor does not offer?

Commercial buildings, multi-family condominiums & apartment buildings. Ceiling fans installed only in conjunction with other work.