Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

M Taylor Enterprise

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2007

4.8

(62) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9914 Tenbrook Dr

Silver Spring, MD 20901

Description

foundation repair, structural repair, basement and crawlspace waterproofing, concrete, masonry, grading, excavation, footings , helical piers, mud jacking, basement wall stabilizing...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/01/2020


Bruce V.

I highly recommend Matt Taylor, his brother and their crew for any foundation repairs or other related work. Matt is a true professional who is a real expert at what he does, explains things in a calm and understandable manner, and follows through on the agreed-upon plan in every detail. After one thirty-minute conversation with him, I knew he was the right person for my job. Matt and his brother are really easy to work with and together they refined our original plan as work progressed. And the crew was really on top of things, working carefully, skillfully and fast(!). The fact that they don’t require payment until the job is complete kind of tells you that this is the type of company that you want to do business with.

Description of Work
remove a basement window, block in and waterproofing the opening, build a retaining wall and regrade the area to better control the flow of rainwater.

Category landscaping, masonry, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

3.0

04/10/2018


Phyllis R.

The estimator came in a timely manner, and communicated with me via phone and text regarding getting an estimate to me. But I never heard from him again.

Description of Work
Driveway repair/replace

Category concrete driveways

5.0

04/03/2018


Martha W.

Perfect. Best concrete work I've ever seen. The 12' x 12' pad for the shed was absolutely level in all directions after it dried. The driveway is now 2 years old and not a crack or any other problem with it. Matt also repaired a broken support pier under our house, and did other foundation work after the 2011 earthquake. Great guy to work with, and an awesome crew of concrete finishers.

Description of Work
Driveway, walkways and pad for shed

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, foundation repair

5.0

03/14/2018


Catherine P.

Matt came highly recommended from an architect and a structural engineer that we knew. We solicited additional quotes, but Matt was the most reasonable by far. Additionally, his specialty is foundation repair and helical piers, which many other companies don't do. Matt is very professional, honest, and straightforward. He can be a bit abrupt, but he and his crew do great work! Our house was basically sinking and the back wall had started to cave inward, which we didn't find out until they had started digging. Matt made sure we understood the problem and had the structural engineer present to explain different options. He was very thorough and made sure that even more minor repairs were completed as we had requested. All of the work was done in a timely manner, and we felt aware and involved in the process every step of the way. Lastly, our neighbors are home during the day, and they told us that the crew was always very careful to clean up at the end of each day and were as quiet as possible.

Description of Work
Helical Piers and Wall Repair

Category masonry, foundation repair

5.0

09/11/2017


Ariel R.

Matt's team did exceptional work and for great value, and I would totally use them again

Description of Work
I Beams needed to be installed

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/05/2017


Ariel R.

Matt showed up within 24 hours in order to give me an estimate for installing 4 I beams. Work involved sinking the beams into a concrete floor, installing cieling bay blocking and through bolting the work. - His price was extremely reasonable! A week later, as agreed, his team showed up, a few minutes early even...they did the whole job in less than a day. They were extremely courteous and polite and cleaned up very well after the job was done. I would use Matt again in an instant and recommend him 100 percent!

Description of Work
Matt's team installed 4 I-Beams in our house to shore up a failed wall.

Category masonry, foundation repair

5.0

05/17/2017


Elaine L.

Very knowledgeable, very professional in every way. Superb workmanship. Have already recommended them to a neighbor

Description of Work
Replacement of Garage floor

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/28/2017


James S.

Beautifully. They were very knowledgeable about how to repair our issues. They kept a very clean work site and responded to all of our questions promptly and professionally.

Description of Work
Foundation repair

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

5.0

05/27/2016


Chad R.

Matt, his brother Brad, and their team showed up on time a little after 7, which allowed them to complete the job by late morning so I didn't have to stay at home all day. The filling of the void with concrete went exactly as planned. They had all of the supplies they needed with them, once they dug out underneath the stairs they found precisely where the void was that was letting water through, and they worked quickly to fill it. After the concrete had dried, they ensured the work area looked precisely as it had before the job started. This included relaying the sod as it had been, and they added additional mulch to a nearby flower bed to cover up any indications that they had to up turn the ground in that areas. Also when they were diagnosing the void beneath the stairway, Matt surprisingly discovered one of the downspouts in my backyard was not connected to a pipe so water was pooling underneath my deck instead of being funneled downhill into the yard. Matt graciously offered to correct this issue for me, and was very understanding in terms of how this would impact the overall price of the job. He also appreciated the fact that I preferred the new pipe they connected not be positioned to drain into my garden, and he was able to find a creative solution to ensure my summer garden would not be compromised from a deluge of water. draining into it If I have future exterior water issues with my house, Matt will definitely be my first call and I plan to refer him to friends and neighbors in my area! I found him to be highly competent, honest, willing to be flexible with his approach, and his pricing is very fair and competitive.

Description of Work
Matt Taylor and his team used a concrete mixture to fill a void that had emerged between the top of my basement walk-out stairs and the soil underneath them. The void was leading to sediment being washed into the drain at the bottom of my staircase leading to a risk of the drain clogging and water getting into my basement during heavy storms. Matt also connected a pipe to one of my downspouts because the water was, to my surprise, previously pooling underneath my deck and could have created long-term foundation problems.

Category concrete repair, excavators, drain pipe

5.0

12/07/2015


Charlotte K.

I had read great reviews of Mr. Taylor and how he was straightforward and honest. I wrote and asked him if the task I needed done was one I needed a professional for, and said I was willing to pay him for the time it took to write a response. He gave me the advice and waived the fee. This is so rare that I just had to comment. I believe he will give me a good deal if I ever use his services. Like that he is so nearby - just on the other side of four corners. Thanks very much, Matt!

Description of Work
Gave advice as to what I should do with my basement floors.

Category foundation repair

2.0

10/28/2015


Jonathan P.

they never responded when we asked for a detailed estimate. We tried by email and phone to make this happen.

Description of Work
nothing

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/24/2015


Joel L.

I'd like to begin by saying if anyone reading this review has basement water issues, you can't do better than M.Taylor Enterprise LLC for price, job quality, and timeliness of your project's completion. I began my remodeling plans with one job in mind. My basement bathroom was the last room in the house that needed remodeling. Before seeking bids I'd decided I'd better test for mold as I'd had water issues for many years in my downstairs basement bathroom from my home's foundation settling. In addition to that, the concrete that was laid across the front of my house to stop water from getting in, was now failing after perhaps 20 years, and water was now getting in as a result of the foundation settling in the front. The mold test came back positive both in the bathroom and in my living room as a result of the new problem at the front of my house. My one job now turned into 4 as I couldn't remodel my bathroom before doing a mold remediation. And I couldn't do the mold remediation until I finished the waterproofing of the basement. All the basement waterproofing companies that came out said I'd need to rip out my kitchen counter, drywall, sink and cabinets as their waterproofing solution called for ripping out all these things. This meant a partial kitchen remodel as well. The bathroom remodel was about 7 to 8K. The mold remediation was from 8 to 10K, and the waterproofing bids ran from 9 to 13k. To get my kitchen back up to par would have been another 2 to 3K. I wasn't sure what to do. This was all cost prohibitive and I couldn't afford it. These bids were all for doing the waterproofing from the inside and not the outside, and they all said doing it from the outside would be far more expensive. The company that gave the 13k quote actually started out at 17K. The price dropped 4K in the span of 15 minutes. Needless to say, I didn't appreciate that. I saw through the cheap sales tactics as I'm in sales as well. Enter Matt Taylor and his brother. They were a breath of fresh air. Each time I showed the now failing original concrete work at the front of the house to the assortment of waterproofing companies that came out to provide bids, they all smirked. Explanations were provided why having concrete there wasn't a good idea. In other words, they all went for the jugular. It turned out to be like overhauling an engine before checking to see if the spark plug was the problem. Matt and his brother's solution was to lay a slab of concrete at the front and rear of the house. It made perfect sense to me. It actually made dollars and sense as their solution saved me about 13K, and it stopped me from going into debt as I was considering financing options for the13k waterproofing bid. Matt and his brother went over and above. They did some extras such as connecting my downspout in the back that was not operational. They also disconnected another downspout and reconnected it to make it shorter as it was far too long, and would eventually develop blockages and further potential problems. M. Taylor Enterprise LLC gets an A plus in my book. Their straightforward, no BS approach, pricing, job quality and timeliness of completion should make them the first choice on anyone's list for waterproofing issues and masonry work. They understand what long haul business thinking is, and that if you treat the customer well, the money will follow. I can't thank them enough. Sincerely, Joel Lerner

Description of Work
They laid concrete at the front and back of my home to prebvent water that had been leaking in a creating mold.

Category concrete repair, masonry, plumbing, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

06/22/2015


Stan S.

Matt was great from responding to my messages over the weekend to coming over first thing Monday. Luckily for me my issue wasn't structural and Matt advised against doing any major repairs. Very professional and honest. Would recommend to others

Description of Work
Garage floor settlement and cracks

Category concrete repair, foundation repair

5.0

12/13/2014


Robert Drew M.

Matt Taylor personally reviewed and discussed the concerns I had and recommended the repairs to be performed on the basement wall and front porch. Work was started on schedule and completed in a very professional and complete manner

Description of Work
Installed 3 steel piers in the basement to reinforce a bowing basement wall and patched all holes in cinder blocks or loose mortar in between. Removed a tipping down front porch and installed 3 support piers to hold the front edge in place on the new porch. Sealed the seam of the driveway and the house along the reinforced wall and down the back steps.

Category masonry, foundation repair

5.0

10/29/2014


Richard H.

Very straight forward. Matt came by to look at the crack, gave us an estimate and did the work to successfully fix the crack shortly thereafter.

Description of Work
Repaired a crack on the concrete threshold of our front porch.

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/06/2014


Chris G.

Excellent service from quote to the completion of the job. Matt and Brad took the time to explain the options and even came in with a different option when the work started. The crew were professional and the work was done on time and budget. There isn't more you can ask for from a service provider.

Description of Work
Installed helical pier foundation brackets and Kevlar straps to support a settling two-car garage on a single family ranch-style home.

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/19/2014


Rachel D.

We had to open up a wall due to a pipe leak and there were some cracks in the mortar of the cinder blocks, which the mold remediators suggested we have checked out. Mr. Taylor came out much more quickly to look at it than some other companies were able to do. He was forthcoming that we did not need to do anything to repair the cracks as they are normal for a 50-year-old house. Another company tried to have me spend $4k on a new sump pump system, so I appreciated his honesty. While I hope not to have any foundation issues, I would gladly call Mr. Taylor again in the future if the need arose.

Description of Work
Looked at a wall for potential foundation issues

Category foundation repair

5.0

08/11/2014


Christine H.

Everything went great. We've had problems with this wall since buying our house 8 years ago and over the years have tried small fixes to keep the water out but nothing has worked for the long term. I'd read great things about Matt and seen his trucks in the neighborhood so we called him when we knew it was time to pony up for the right, complete fix to our problem. Matt is not the most talkative guy to start off with so I wasn't sure after he visited our house the first time exactly what he thought about the problem we were having and how to fix it. But he then emailed us a quote with his thinking on how it needed to be fixed and what steps it would take. He answered all the questions I threw at him over email. We were going to get another quote but couldn't even get an appointment for another company to come out because they were all so busy. Plus, most other companies we found were interior waterproofing people and don't have experience with structural work or excavation so Matt really was a blend of exactly what we needed. Eventually we decided to just go with Matt because he came so highly recommended. He came back out to look at everything again and actually changed his mind on what he wanted to do which brought the cost down by $1k. So I would recommend really going through the work in detail and getting his thinking behind it before you start. The work started very quickly because Matt had an opening in his schedule and his team showed up bright and early for three days in a row. Matt's brother, Brad, came out to oversee everything and seems to be the more communicative of the two so he talked us through everything they were doing step by step. The guys doing the work were very nice and also answered any questions we had along the way. We were amazed by how quickly they got the work done and the care they took to keep the exterior and interior of our house clean. Even after digging down to the footer and putting everything back, you couldn't even tell they were there. And the inside of the basement looks worlds better now that they fixed the wall. While it was painful to hand over such a big check, we really feel like we made the right decision and got the best people for the job.

Description of Work
Matt and his team excavated down to the footer in front of our front porch, waterproofed the entire thing, helped with drainage and back-filled it properly. They then came inside to the interior side of the wall and fixed some cracks as well as installed Kevlar straps where we had bowing. They scraped the wall clean and painted it with multiple coats of waterproof paint. They also redid a badly existing french drain and tied it into an existing sump.

Category excavators, drain pipe, foundation repair

5.0

06/27/2014


Richard F.

From initial contact to completion, our experience with M Taylor Enterprise exceeded our expectation. Matt Taylor, the firm?s principal, is an experienced, knowledgeable contractor who specializes in foundation repair. Also, because this work must be performed to certain technical standards, Matt recommended we hire a structural engineer to evaluate the foundation problems and propose appropriate repairs and stabilization. Matt and the structural engineer inspected the house together, and developed an executable plan. Their discussions continued, as necessary, both before and during the performance of work. Matt proposed and we accepted a fixed price contract which we believe was both reasonable and competitive. All work was completed, including several additions, without extras charge. Throughout this entire process, we found Matt to be professional, responsive and very easy to communicate with. Matt?s team of seven workers was careful, prompt, courteous, and, judging from the results, very competent. Both before and during performance, they fully-explained their work in detail, including the safety measures being taken. This is third major home repair/improvement we?ve experienced relying on Angie?s List contractors in the last year. In each case, including this one, we?ve been completely satisfied. Therefore, we can confidently recommend M Taylor Enterprise to Angie's List subscribers, friends, neighbors and relatives.

Description of Work
M Taylor Enterprise repaired and stabilized the foundation of our home which had some settling over a period of many years. Helical piers and new steel columns were installed to support the two main floor bearing beams. Helical piers were also installed to support the basement floor and carport, and a new exterior retaining wall was constructed around the latter. Cracks in the foundation wall were filled and the two main bearing beams were jacked to correct for the settling of the main floor. All work was performed in accordance with the drawings, plans, specifications and approval of a structural engineer.

Category foundation repair

1.0

04/23/2014


Casey T.

After getting banished to the email form (instead of taking time to talk with me on the phone), I sent the details of my project over. About 1 week later, I got a one line response from the vendor, stating something to the effect of "is the crawlspace clear?" to which I responded immediately (yes, it's clear, level, has a plastic sheet across it, and has >3' access throughout.) That was the last I ever heard from him. I called this company based on Angie's list recommendations that it was an "A" rated provider. Unfortunately, my project was either too small or too inconvenient to even rate an email response saying "sorry, we don't want to work your job." Sadly, this "no response = my response" seems like it is "DC-normal". I am totally disappointed in this company, and have rated it accordingly. Perhaps in the future, they should consider actually calling the people who are trying to use them and being more straight forward with their potential clients. If you are too busy to accept new work, SAY SO -- it is much more honest and direct.

Description of Work
I called the provider to discuss having my central I-beam supports fixed; they're sagging below my house. I have a crawlspace. Before I could get into a discussion, I was directed to "send an email from the website" (Which I did, see below.) The provider never followed up with me, even to say "sorry, we don't want your business." Unfortunately, the message was received loud and clear.

Category foundation repair

5.0

01/31/2014


aaron T.

I purchased an older house that was remodeled and was very concerned to see some many cracks occurring. I did extensive research and decided to contact Matt Taylor. Matt Taylor performed a survey of my house today. He listened to me and looked at all the cracks that I pointed out in my house. I had many major concerns about my house's structural integrity. Matt alleviated my concerns and said that all of this was normal for my house. Matt was very professional and courteous and even removed his shoes when coming into my home. I would definitely recommend Matt to anyone looking for an honest and reputable home foundation expert.

Description of Work
Surveyed my house.

Category foundation repair

5.0

01/24/2014


Emily D.

They are professional and reliable. I did have to remind them to provide my estimate after Matt was very quick to come out and assess the situation. I would use them again and recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They removed portions of our old concrete driveway and front walkway, and installed new concrete.

Category concrete repair

5.0

12/30/2013


William H.

We had a fantastic experience with M Taylor Enterprise! They were patient with us (we exchanged dozens of emails and they answered all of our questions), provided expert advice that was readily understandable, submitted a competitve estimate, were responsive to last minute changes, and did an excellent job. We want them to do additional concrete work at our house this coming Spring. We received many estimates from several other contractors before we decided to go with M Taylor Enterprise. There were significant language problems with some of the other contractors. Some of the other contractors had no insurance and had been sued in court many times. Some of the other contractors did not want to interact with the County. M Taylor Enterprise had no language problems, had the proper insurance, and had no record of any lawsuit (you can check for yourself by going to http://casesearch.courts.state.md.us/inquiry/inquiry-index.jsp). M Taylor Enterprise readily met with the County inspector throughout the project. It was a genuine pleasure working with Matt, Brad, and their entire crew! If anyone would like to see their work, ask them to give you our name, address, and phone number.

Description of Work
Removed old front patio/steps, old driveway, and old culvert. Installed new front patio/steps using bricks and flagstone, new and widened driveway, and new culvert/flanges. Also installed new steps and sidewalk around the side of the garage, and decorative stone.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

5.0

12/30/2013


R B & D S R.

It went very well. He and I both were disappointed because he couldn't do what he wanted to do due to the sewer location. He was good at keeping in touch with me by email as to what he could and could not do as well as the time frame as to when he was coming. I wasn't living at the house at the time, so he was good at coordinating the time when he would be there.

Description of Work
He worked on the foundation of our Townhouse.

Category concrete repair, excavators, masonry, drain pipe, foundation repair

5.0

11/20/2013


Justin P.

Matt was responsive to email, professional, and prompt. He recommended carbon fiber banding and gave me an estimate for the same to ensure that a slightly bowing foundation wall would not not move in the future. His recommendation exactly matched the recommendation of the structural engineer I hired to review the same foundation issue. Matt took his time, asked probing questions and answered mine. His estimate was less than I expected and the only reason I did not hire him to complete the work is that I decided to sell the property as-is. If I am in need of foundation/masonry work in the future, Matt will be my first call.

Description of Work
Estimate for foundation repair.

Category foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Metro Drainage Pros LLP

    Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Johns Home Improvement

    *GUTTER MAINTENANCE SPECIAL* CALL US TODAY* 202-277-0731 Roofing Expert for over 50 Years. FREE estimates. Chimney Repairs, Caps & flashings. Gutter repair, installation & cleaning New Roofs and Repairs. Gutter services. Copper, Flat, Metal, Rubber, Shingle, Slates, Tile, Woodshakes. Roof Coating and Chimney Repairs. Digital Images of your roof. Guaranteed Installation Dates. Lifetime Warranties Available. Whatever the concern we can address it or point you in the right direction call or message us with any questions. We are a family owned business. LICENSED. BONDED & INSURED.  

    Offers by Johns Home Improvement  on Angi
    Yard Enhancement Services LLC

    Locally owned and operated full-service landscaping company  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Foundation repair, waterproofing, structural repairs & masonry.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about M Taylor Enterprise

    How is M Taylor Enterprise overall rated?

    M Taylor Enterprise is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are M Taylor Enterprise open?

    M Taylor Enterprise is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does M Taylor Enterprise provide

    M Taylor Enterprise accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does M Taylor Enterprise offer free estimates?

    Yes, M Taylor Enterprise offers free project estimates.

    Does M Taylor Enterprise offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, M Taylor Enterprise offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does M Taylor Enterprise offer a senior discount?

    Yes, M Taylor Enterprise offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by M Taylor Enterprise?

    Yes, M Taylor Enterprise offers warranties.

    What services does M Taylor Enterprise offer?

    M Taylor Enterprise offers the following services: Foundation repair, waterproofing, structural repairs & masonry.