Handyman Connection of Silver Spring

About

Founded 1991 • With Angi since September 2007

Since 1991 Handyman Connection has been providing homeowners across North America with expert remodeling and renovation services along with our award-winning handyman division. At Handyman Connection, our mission is the same as yours - making your home a great place to live. We're not just proud of our workmanship - we guarantee it. Each Handyman Connection franchise is locally owned and operated, backed by the company that helped launch the industry. Our values are steeped in a long-standing dedication to the people we serve, and truly differentiate Handyman Connection as a home repair company. The Core Values of Handyman Connection * Deliver on Our Commitments * Respect the Connections * Have Pride in What We Do * Practice Continuous Improvement. Handyman Connection maintains a Maryland Home Improvement License, carries two million in general liability insurance, and is bonded. Our craftsmen have at a minimum ten years experience in the fields of home improvement and remodeling. All craftsmen are required to undergo annual background checks. One year written warranty on all services offered. Experienced Craftsmen- Quality Workmanship-Service you can trust-Guaranteed....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+108 more images

Unfinished Basement Conversion To Living Area

Unfinished Basement Conversion To Living Area

basement remodeling202020850
Conversion of unfinished basement to modern living area.
Powder Room Remodel project
Powder Room Remodel

home remodeling

201420901

Verified Reviews

4.6

(626) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

457

4

53

3

33

2

26

1

57

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

handyman (564)drywall (103)interior painting (80)woodworking (80)door installation (69)plumbers (57)tile installation (55)electrician (44)general contractors (34)house painting (33)home remodeling (33)lighting (25)
Showing 1-25 of 626 reviews
5.0

09/20/2022


LAURA A.

It was very well done. Nice people. On time. Would definitely hire again!

Description of Work
Old trime removed and new trim in living room. Hallway, living room and trim painted.

Category handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2022

5.0

07/21/2022


Ben G.

Roger was really great and skilled at what he was doing, we requested wainscotting and painting services from Handyman connection and they delivered. Roger was right there to advise pros/cons of everything we threw at him and I definitely recommend the service.

Description of Work
Wainscotting and Painting

Category handyman service, remodeling, interior painters, dryer vent cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2022

1.0

05/19/2022


Kate M.

After 1.5 month waiting for information from the Company and 2 phone calls a technician was finally scheduled to evaluate the problem. He did arrive on time but that was all good I can say about the "work" he did. He checked the windows in question and compared them with the working one. His advise was to attach "chains to the window frames on a certain level so that the windows will open and stay open at that level". Chains in the window frames! A technician with 21 years experience with the Company never heard about coil balances of different types and the fact that they are relatively easy to be replaced? He did see the coil even cut part of it (I have it). How can anyone be advised to keep the windows open "on a chain attached to window frames". Why would anyone want to damage window frames? His "solution" is worst that mine. I keep the window open at a certain level by supporting the pane with a sturdy shoebox until I find a handyman who can work on replacing those coil balances. They did not charge me for this visit due to being so late in responding. I took pictures the coil balance system. It is clearly visible.

Description of Work
Windows are not staying open.

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 05/18/2022

Images

Review for Handyman Connection of Silver Spring - 12057 Tech Rd, Silver Spring, MD - 39738704

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Not all windows are manufactured using the same design. Many do come with coil balance devices which hold the sash up in those cases a homeowner wants to get some fresh air into the room. This was not the case with the window sash our craftsman went out to inspect. Unfortunately, the only way to address the customer's concerns would be to replace the entire window. I am truly sorry that we were unable to be of assistance in this matter. Regards, M. David Klein, Sr. Owner and Operator Handyman Connection of Silver Spring 12057 A Tech Road, Silver Spring, MD 20904 Relentlessly Pursuing Excellence "To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity” Douglas Adams - Author Please remember to always use MHIC licensed contractors. You can verify if they are and that their license is current at the following link: Maryland Home Improvement Commission https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP_search/OP_search.cgi?calling_app=HIC::HIC_qselect Office: ([Member Information Removed]) 740-8865 Cell: ([Member Information Removed]) 606-4911 Email: dklein@handymanconnection.com

5.0

10/20/2021


Michael S.

Both went very well. Both technicians were knowledgeable and professional.

Description of Work
Two separate jobs approximately three months apart: installation of a solid core slab door and removal of kitchen ceramic floor tiles.

Category ceramic tile, doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2021

5.0

04/29/2021


Michael K.

excellent the company was very responsive , the handyman was excellent , very skilled , polite fast and the work was excellent . I would hire again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Handy man jobs

Category handyman service, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2021

5.0

04/23/2021


Margaret D.

The project went perfectly. Everything was done in the time expected, there were no surprises, and the contractor installed the closet organizer I had purchased. I would happily hire these people again.

Description of Work
construct a built in closet

Category contractors, drywall, interior painters

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2021

5.0

04/23/2021


Rodney W.

Chris provided excellent service and wonderful workmanship. We are very happy with the level of service which he provide and performed the task with a please attitude. Will highly recommend Handyman Connection to family, friends and neighbors. Will have them to come again to do other work that's need. Thanks once again for a job well done!!! Mr. & Mrs. Wood.

Description of Work
Need a gazebo assembled and installed

Category garage doors, handyman service, assisted living

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2021

5.0

02/27/2021


Sarathy K.

I got a major work and a few minor jobs done fixing the house by Handyman Connections. I am highly satisfied with the work performed. The Project Manager, Mr. Darush Chami initially assessed the scope of the work and gave the cost and time estimate. I got really surprised by the cost estimate and readily asked to take up the job. Again to my surprise, the jobs were completed within the given time frame and the expenses were well within the cost estimate. The work crew of Handyman connections are highly professional, devoted and committed. They will be my first choice for any future Handyman activities. It may not be out of place to add about Darush the project manager here. Mr. Darush impressed me with his knowledge and great skill on each and every aspect of the problems we had in the house. He uses innovative ways and ideas to fix the problem with minimal cost to the customer, and is highly disciplined and is very punctual.

Description of Work
YES

Category garage doors, plumbing, siding, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2021

1.0

09/24/2020


Robert S.

I was very disappointed in the Project Manager on this project. I was quoted $1,868.64 for labor and materials and the final bill was $2,468.64, an increase of 32 percent. The quote stated the painting of the walls after repair. When they got to the job, the Project Manager decided that they would just touch up the spots where the water damage occured. Any time I have had to have a wall repaired, the painter always painted the whole room to make sure it matched appropriately. We will not use this company in the future and would not recommend them to anyone else. I have the contract to prove they were suppose to paint the walls. The work performed by Carlos was good and this is no way a reflection of his work. Also, Michelle was very professional and pleasant to work with. This company should be ashamed of scamming senior citizens.

Description of Work
Sheet rock and water damage repair and painting.

Category drywall, home security systems, interior painters

Cost $2,468.64

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Three months ago, our Senior Estimator/Project Manager acting on behalf of the company met with Mr. [Member Name Removed]. At that time one of the walls in his sunroom had sustained damages. Subsequent to the inspection a proposal/agreement was presented to Mr. [Member Name Removed]. In early September Mr. [Member Name Removed] contacted our office to accept the proposal. The job was scheduled to begin on September 21st. On that date our Project Manager arrived at the customers home only to discover that additional sunroom walls had sustained damages. The inspection resulted in the creation of a change order reflecting the additional costs we intended to charge to make drywall repairs to the other three walls and the painting of each of the three walls and ceiling. On September 21st, 2020’ Mr. [Member Name Removed] accepted the change order contract along with the additional monies due our company. In my opinion, we were totally transparent both with the original contract as well as the subsequent change order. The customer willingly signed both documents prior to the commencement of any activity on our part. For these reasons, I really do not know why Mr. [Member Name Removed] is complaining about the increase in production costs. M. David Klein Sr. Owner Handyman Connection of Silver Spring

5.0

09/19/2020


Maurice A.

Very professional. On time, describe what he would do and executed it. A couple of the solid wood doors needed to be shaved in order to fit properly . Wallace completed the job and asked if there was anything else we needed done. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Rehung four doors.

Category home security systems, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2020

5.0

06/27/2020


Jewelene R.

Ryan McCormick was assigned to our project. He arrived promptly for the evaluation of work to be done and we were provided a written proposal. We agreed to all work and the $ amount was reasonable. Mr. McCormick arrived promptly to do the work that was completed in two days. He was very friendly and professional. We are very pleased with the work he did and would hire Handyman Connection again for other work as needed. My husband has said he would specifically ask for Mr. McCormick. Michelle Crenshaw, office administrator, handled the appointments and followed up to ensure our satisfaction.

Description of Work
Exterior Work: Power wash and paint foundation below siding of single family home, removed bird nest from laundry vent and installed new vent, replaced two rotting bases on front porch columns and painted, removed rust and repainted garden patio table.

Category handyman service, home security systems, pressure washing, woodworking, stucco, house painters, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $1,865

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2020

5.0

04/01/2020


Carl I.

They did a really good job. Ryan was really great. He kept me informed with the whole project, cleaned up after themselves and explained everything to me. Prices were reasonable.

Description of Work
He installed several light fixtures for me, he also installed a stand up shower door.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

5.0

11/08/2019


Richard B.

Excellent repair, outstanding service, and nice folks to deal with.

Description of Work
Repair of wood rot on the exterior door jamb and stop.

Category handyman service

Cost $532

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2019

5.0

10/14/2019


Linda S.

Wonderful job from start to finish. Totally satisfied with the work completed and now have a beautiful, new bathroom. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2019

5.0

08/12/2019


Larry A.

Dale was dependable, thorough and totally invested in ensuring everything was performed properly. He did a variety of tasks, from repairing and re-screening our porch to drywall a kitchen ceiling section (and painting), and the results were great.

Description of Work
Drywall repair and paintable kitchen ceiling, repair and re-screen a porch, and repair our fence.

Category drywall, handyman service, screen repair, interior painters

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2019

5.0

07/24/2019


Randall M B.

Tim from Handyman Connection worked on 06/24/2019-06/25/2019 & 07/10/2019. He repaired five holes and stains in the ceiling, replaced the shower bar & rod. He cleaned around the outside and repainted the shed.

Description of Work
Repair several holes and stains in the ceiling. Replace the shower bar or rod., clean and paint the shed.

Category drywall, handyman service, house painters

Cost $1,261.24

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2019

5.0

07/01/2019


Amanda B.

Handyman Connection removed old, cracked painting from an outdoor door frame and repainted it. The price was reasonable and the job was well-done. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Scraping paint from door frame and repainting

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2019

5.0

06/17/2019


Randall M B.

Jason of Handyman Connection arrived around 10:30am. He bought the needed supplies and replaced the hose bibs and shutoff valves. He did a good job. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I wanted the front/back hose bibs, and shutoff valves replaced especially with easy on and off valves. They are over 30 years old and have started to dribble.

Category handyman service, plumbing

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2019

5.0

06/10/2019


Joseph B.

Went great. Even got a heads-up that I needed a plumber when the bathroom work was done and THAT prevented future water damage. Work has been excellently executed by someone who has been in the business a long time and know his stuff. He brings everything he needs and makes suggestions on alternative ways to approach a problem. I usually bundle a lot of little jobs together to make a whole day of repairs.

Description of Work
Painting, wood repair, closet doors removed and new ones installed, bathroom caulking, iron gate sanded and repainted, hat organizer installed

Category closet systems, handyman service, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2019

5.0

06/05/2019


Daniel D.

Everything went well. Tech arrived on time and did exactly what I asked for and we confirmed the a/c was working properly. The estimate was a little high, but I needed the work done and I wasn't going to do it. They had a professional and organized system through the whole process (from first contact through job completion). Important note: even though the job involved an a/c unit, they made it clear they don't work on a/c systems themselves, you need to call an a/c contractor for that. In my case a bird had made a large nest in the externally exposed workings of the a/c unit, causing the fan not to blow.

Description of Work
Clean bird nest debris from wall a/c unit, outside portion

Category handyman service

Cost $220

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2019

1.0

05/30/2019


anne T.

didn't finish work---since we signed paper when worker left they wont come finish!!!! I've called once a week asking for help, but have been told no and don't call again.

Description of Work
lots of little things

Category ceramic tile, drywall, egress windows, handyman service, pressure washing, interior painters

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2019

Service Provider Response

After the customer's initial posted review and our corresponding response the customer again contacted our office on Wednesday afternoon (May 29) to discuss the contract information. Our General Manager took the time to patiently listen to their issues and once again review the contents of the contract. During the discussion our General Manager emphasized the fact that all of the contracted work had been completed to the satisfaction of the woman's husband. It is also worth noting that at the conclusion of the job the husband signed off on the contract and made payment in full. It is very apparent that the woman is hoping to shame our company with negative reviews on social websites into performing additional work not contained within the contract for free. Each time our General Manager explains that we are not in a position to perform additional work for free the woman proceeds to get upset that her demands are not being met. Thru all of the numerous conversations our General Manager has had with the woman he has been even tempered and respectful while at the same time not capitulating to her demands for additional services not contained within the contract. Regards, M. David Klein, Sr. Owner and Operator Handyman Connection of Rockville Relentlessly Pursuing Excellence

5.0

05/17/2019


Randall M B.

The Handyman Connection guy arrived around 9 am. He plugged the hole, cleaned the exposed cement as preparation for painting the cement. He did a great job and it improved the outside look of my home. He prepared the bathtub for the caulking and adding the shower shelf. He did an excellent job on the caulking and shelf, towel ring, and bar. He did very nice work on cleaning a fence that had not been cleaned since 2008, and it looks great.

Description of Work
Paint the exposed cement located below the siding which on three sides of the townhouse. Patch a hole located below the bottom right of siding. Power washed the fence. Upstairs bathroom Caulk the bathtub and some of the grout. Install a shower shelf. Buy new towel bar and install Install a new towel ring and towel bar.

Category fencing, handyman service

Cost $1,007

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2019