Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bob 4 Hire

Founded 2012 • With Angi since September 2012

Small locally owned family business with decades of experience. We are licensed, insured, and bonded. We offer free estimates!

Verified Reviews

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
Herman F.
5.0
09/19/2021
Rob is an excellent handy man. He was reliable, courteous and very good at what he did. I will continue to use him for future projects needed around our sixty two year old house. Leanne, the administrator for "Bob 4 Hire" was also very professional at what she did and was easy to work with!
Description of Work
Dry wall installation, new basement flooring, steps to basement refinished. priming done on new dry wall installation
Category
drywall, hardwood floor, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you are pleased with the work. We look forward to working with you again!! Leanne
Jerome H.
5.0
07/23/2021
Needed help with random items around the house. Worked was performed well. Would definitely hire again. Thanks Bob!
Description of Work
Handyman services
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Glad we could help. Thanks Mr. [Member Name Removed] Bob
Dede K.
5.0
07/07/2020
Bob did a great job helping me to move.
Description of Work
Moving Assistance
Category
hauling services, cabinet refacing
Rebecca R.
5.0
04/14/2020
Good. He is very responsive and personable. I highly recommend him to others.
Description of Work
He did odds and ends around the house.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks
eric W.
5.0
11/01/2019
Bob and son arrived on time and did a great job, at a reasonable price. I would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Aluminum Siding Repair
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure. Bob
Brian S.
2.0
10/15/2018
never responded after giving quote when I wanted to proceed
Description of Work
several carpentry jobs
Category
woodworking
David J.
5.0
11/03/2017
It went great! Bob was about the only contractor who I talked to who did the job I wanted without trying to sell me on more pricey alternatives. I sent him the installation instructions prior to his arriving and he replied that the job would be a cinch. I mention this because I had two other contractors assure me they could do the job, then look confused and puzzled while looking at the instructions. I think Bob took about 45 minutes to an hour and the job was done under estimate. Bob can be pretty booked up sometimes, especially in the summer, but in my opinion he is worth the wait. Bob gave us a date and stuck with it. We would use the service again for any like project or any project that needed a qualified handy-man.
Description of Work
Bob put a wind turbine exhaust vent on my roof.
Category
handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks Bob Cushman
Randall M B.
5.0
09/16/2017
He came at 9am and was done by 11:30am. He went out to collect material for the vinyl floor. He did a very good job.
Description of Work
I asked him to repair the part of the vinyl floor where the new refrigerator (part of the vinyl had curled up), to cut off the lock on the shed in the backyard, to remove the old Comcast cable & plug the hole, to scrap, prime and paint the wood beneath the front entrance and back sliding door, install new outside lights, and etc.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed].
Michael P.
5.0
06/27/2017
Bob and his son did a fantastic job on everything. They were always punctual, easily able to adapt to changing requirements, super nice, and very creative with the budget we had to work with. They never seemed to be rushing their work. The work done on our kitchen probably paid fo itself 2 times over when it was time to sell. I really cant say anything bad about them.
Description of Work
I was putting my house on the market for sale and I needed the whole house painted and also some kind of makeover for the kitchen. We couldn't afford a full makeover of the kitchen but Bob did a mini-makeover.
Category
drywall, handyman service, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks
Robert M.
5.0
05/09/2017
Bob and his son were prompt, courteous, and got the job done in the allotted time. I would recommend and hire again.
Description of Work
I needed pictures and other items hung on our walls.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review Bob
Sandra M.
5.0
02/04/2017
It all went very well His son did most of the work. The ceiling looks great. We were able to keep the textured ceiling. All work was done with no mess. The wall painting may not be a strong suit but overall it's fine for a basement.
Description of Work
we had a number of things done Drywall ceiling was repaired and replaced a large area that had been removed by a plumber Repaired a door on the wall that hid utility box. A window sill was painted and the peeling frame was resprackled and painted Large basement was completely painted as well as the ceiling Used primer and then paint Repaired exterior rotted wood around the door and on the wood trim on the side of the house and painted. Replaced water damaged dry wall on the inside of the door. Fixted leaking roof where the flashing needed caulking Repaired wood trim that had rotted on the shed door. Replaced the lock and handle on the sliding glass door
Category
drywall, handyman service, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks Bob
Gwendolyn S.
5.0
02/01/2017
Bob was excellent! He was very responsive to my email and phone calls. Showed up on time and completed the job with precision. I would definitely hire him again and have already referred him to 2 other people.
Description of Work
Install Interior Door and Install Outside Gable Vent
Category
handyman service, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. Bob
Gregory L.
5.0
01/27/2017
He fixed the problem promptly and effectively. His work was on time and he even came in a little under budget. He even matched the paint perfectly and left the job completely finished. He's on our "A" list!
Description of Work
We hired Bob Cushman to repair some water damage in the bathroom that required replacing some bead board and preventing moisture from the shower from causing more damage.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed].
Raf C.
3.0
12/29/2016
It took months of Angie's List messages to finally set up a date for the repair at my elderly mother's home. I sent several pictures and described what needed to be done because I wasn't going to be there. It was a fairly simple job - cover a hole left by a missing piece of siding. He quoted a two hour job for $150. He performed the job with his son in less than an hour; OK, this was really a one man job, but I'll accept that two men for one hour is considered two hours. When I visited my mother a few weeks later, I was stunned by the poor quality job they had done. A piece of dented, unpainted metal sheeting had been attached and there was still a gap with wood still visible. I had specifically asked that the covering be white. I accepted the slow communication because I had hopes that I would be getting someone reliable to do future work at my mother's home, but I will not be using Bob's services again.
Description of Work
A small piece of aluminum siding came off and needed the gap and exposed wood to be covered and painted white to match the siding.
Category
handyman service
Charlene J.
5.0
10/11/2016
He is a very easy going, professional guy. He does exactly what you want done, and is very timely. He is also very trustworthy. I feel like I could leave with him being here and not have a problem.
Description of Work
I had to have him removed a wasp nest, replace the address numbers on the front of my house, set up a way for me to hang my folding tables, repaired one of my gutters, and replaced the batteries in my smoke detectors.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed].
Cecilia P.
5.0
06/07/2016
He was prompt, and easy to work with and the work he did was very well done.
Description of Work
Bob repaired two windows in the house
Category
handyman service
Charlene J.
5.0
12/14/2015
He just does the work. He did a little patch work and painting. He also fixed a leak on the outside of the house. Anything that I ask him to do he just does it. He is great and I will definitely use him again. He also helped with hanging my Christmas decorations.
Description of Work
Handyman
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] You are a wonderful Person. God Bless
Cathy R.
5.0
10/01/2015
I had contacted Angie's List requesting a recommendation of someone to install an attic ladder and got Bob Cushman's name (Bob 4 Hire). Angie's List had contacted him as well and he got in touch with us the next day. I came up with a few other things to have done and Mr. Cushman and Lloyd got to work right away. They reinforced the area where the old attic ladder had hung, hauled away the old attic ladder and gave the attic door a coat of primer. Mr. Cushman also put new hardware on a basement closet door and rehung it, and installed a mailbox on the brick front of our house. Both men were very pleasant and I was very pleased with the work that was done.
Description of Work
Installed new attic ladder, rehung basement closet door, installed mailbox on brick front of house
Category
handyman service
Tracey D.
5.0
09/28/2015
I was very happy with the results and the price.
Description of Work
Repair tile, regrout and caulking.
Category
handyman service
Charlene J.
5.0
10/09/2014
He did a fantastic job. He made things really simple and convenient for me. I think I will use him from no won because he did such a great job. He was also very nice and seemed like a good person.
Description of Work
I had him paint the cone on a light fixture to match the rest of the rim. He also arranged my angels and lights for the holidays. He also changed some light bulbs for me and fixed the globe as well.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank You
Matt T.
1.0
07/10/2014
We had high hopes for Bob Cushman; he came out to our house, seemed very professional, and promised us a detailed estimate within 24 hours. I called him the following afternoon to follow up; he said he was checking on the prices of some materials and would get back to me shortly. That was the last we heard of him. We called about a week later and he said he would be at our house the following day at 10 am; at 3pm he called to say he would not be able to make it. His work may be good but he wound up being a total dud for us.
Description of Work
Nothing, that's the problem!
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

I am a one man show. I have to rely on subs for a lot of this type of work. Very hard to get some customers to understand.
Annabel S.
4.0
06/30/2014
He did very good garden work for a fair price. It was $80 for clearing a good space for us for a garden. He did a good job. He communicated well and did the job well. We gave him a tip because he did a good job.
Description of Work
Bob 4 Hire did garden work for us.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks You
Eve G.
5.0
06/06/2014
Bob is pleasant, competent, efficient and seems to have a wide range of skills. Perhaps for that reason, he was hard to schedule so wouldn't count on him for anything I wanted done quickly. His price was reasonable for the work he did but the estimate he gave me for a second job I asked about was much too high so I hired someone else for that.
Description of Work
He attached a door, installed a light, and other "this and that" jobs.
Category
handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank You
Cynthia L.
5.0
05/28/2014
It went great. What I liked first about Bob is that he actually returned my call, when others I contacted did not, or said they were going to stop by and didn't. He was very professional, punctual and worked from the time he arrived until he left. His prices were honest and reasonable. I was very impressed and will call him again and would refer him to anyone.
Description of Work
Various household jobs - repairing a door, replaced kitchen faucet, lock on outdoor shed, concrete under front porch, replaced the marble threshold for a bathroom, repaired a kitchen door, and replaced a bedroom closet door.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank You
theodore K.
5.0
03/12/2014
Smoothly. No fuss no muss.
Description of Work
Installed anti-tip device on range
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks

Other local Pros in your area

Landlord Gopher

Landlord Gopher is you premier company for any and all Real Estate Services. We provide 24/7 care of your property for a flat rate of $89.00 monthly (no long-term contracts, month-to-month agreement). With almost 20 years in business compare us to Property Managers who charge 10% for like services. Contact us for additional information and promotions.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

S&J Services, LLC

 

Angi Certified

Closet America, LLC

Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

13001 Buccaneer Rd

Silver Spring, MD 20904

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Large construction projects.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
PayPal
Licensed
Trade License Number
105431
Trade License Locale
Maryland
Trade License Authority
MHIC
Trade License Expiration
08/30/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Bob 4 Hire is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Bob 4 Hire is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Bob 4 Hire accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Yes, Bob 4 Hire offers free project estimates.

No, Bob 4 Hire does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bob 4 Hire does not offer a senior discount.

No, Bob 4 Hire does not offer warranties.

Bob 4 Hire offers the following services: We perform lots of jobs in and around the home. We do a little bit of everything. Some of our frequent projects include: toilet repair or replacement, drywall repair, painting, trim work, flooring installation, garbage disposal replacement, gutter cleaning, pressure washing, deck staining, minor electrical, and much more!