Baumann's Lawn & Landscape

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since August 2008

Additional contact: Matt Baumann, mattbaumann1@aol.com. Rick baumann, rbaumannjr@yahoo.com Currently not accepting jobs under $5,000 due to high demand. Check back for updates!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+5 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(134) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

112

4

4

3

1

2

6

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

lawn care (109)lawn & landscaping (70)hardscaping (22)lawn treatment (20)mulch delivering (19)tree service (14)leaf removal (8)Patios (7)stone & gravel (7)excavating (5)irrigation system (3)hauling (3)
Showing 1-25 of 134 reviews
4.0

10/15/2021


Brian H.

quality of work is good. One issue was they tried to change agreed upon price after work was completed, however, they did honor original estimate. When reviewing my outside cameras to understand why agreed upon maintenance cost increased 100% from a few months earlier it became clear, two employees at all times were sitting in their truck while the other two were working...

Description of Work
Ivy Trimming

Category landscaping

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2021

5.0

01/30/2021


Emily D.

Rick returned our calls promptly and gave us a fair quote for services. Baumann's does not overcharge or upsell. Once we settled on Baumann's Landscaping as our contractor, we called Rick and the crew were out the next morning promptly at 9am. We were expecting two days of work to clear the brush, but they completed the job in 4 hours. The crew went above and beyond, killing vines choking our trees, mulching all the deadfall, and pushing the brush line all the way back beyond the trees (we live on Maryland wetlands). Fast, prompt, great job. Would absolutely hire again. A++.

Description of Work
Brush and overgrowth clearing around the house.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2020

Service Provider Response

We thank you for the kind words. You are a valued customer. Thank u.
5.0

07/30/2020


Mia S.

Baumann's Lawn & Landscape did an amazing job, in a short amount of time. I couldn't be happier. These are the guys to call! Santos brought numerous workers to execute the job. They effluent and fair I would call them again for my next haul job.

Description of Work
hauling job

Category hauling services, landscaping

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words it means the world to our small business!
5.0

10/07/2019


Mark S.

I hired Baumann's Lawn and Landscape to fix my front lawn. The soil was mostly clay and sand and covered in weeds. They killed and removed all the vegetation, tilled the soil, brought in new topsoil, conditioned/fertilized, and then laid sod. The crew was fast, efficient, polite, and did an amazing job (hopefully this site allows me to upload photos after writing this). The work was done in 3 separate days and took less than 2 weeks from the initial phone call to the finished installation. The price is what you would expect for this level of work and that much sod (sod is not cheap). They're not over-priced but it's not Bob's discount landscaping either. You'll get your money's worth for your project. Baumann's will be my #1 choice for future landscape projects.

Description of Work
Lawn preparation and sod installation

Category lawn service

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2019

Images

Review for Baumann's Lawn & Landscape - 14409 Fairdale Rd, Silver Spring, MD - 38155843

+2 More

5.0

12/14/2018


Timothy D.

Rick's team was on time and fast and proficient. Job well done!

Description of Work
Build a new window well and retaining wall

Category excavators, hardscaping

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working for you. Thanks for taking the time to write your kind words. Happy holidays..
1.0

11/25/2018


Andleeb K.

I called this company and left a message to get a quote for services I needed. I didn't hear back and left another message a week later, and I never heard from them.

Description of Work
Yardwork for my new construction home

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 11/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to do better in the future.
1.0

09/24/2018


Laith S.

he gave me estimation of 550$ for a job that is done by other provider for 35!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Are you sure this guy want to work?!!!!!

Description of Work
grass cut and removal.

Category lawn service

Cost $550

Work Completed On 09/18/2018

Service Provider Response

This is not accurate. We provided an estimate for mowing at $175 per month to mow the lawn every week. If the member received a price for $35 per cut than that equals $140 per month.
5.0

08/13/2018


PENNY B.

This summer's weather proved challenging to get our back yard re-landscaped. Rainy weather caused several delays but once things finally cleared, Baumann's crew came in force and did a beautiful landscaping of our back yard, including installing a sprinkler to keep things growing while we were away, installing a downspout drain, and adding pavers and a small stone patio. They also did a massive clean up of our yard, clearing out weeds, thinning out bushes, and replacing the mulch. We don't look like we live in the jungle anymore. For general yard clean-up and maintenance, these guys are great and punctual.

Description of Work
Yard clean up and backyard landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your business always.
5.0

12/07/2017


Anita C.

I loved this company because they just *handled* it with minimal instruction and direction. I could not be more pleased. I hope to use them again when I want to redo the landscaping in the spring.

Description of Work
I have a tiny yard, a plot almost, but it was sorely in need of help -- overgrown bushes, new mulch, weeding, removing dead plants.

Category lawn service

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

08/29/2017


Barbara M.

They are excellent! They follow up on any requests, and have a very personalized service.

Description of Work
They mowed, and trim.

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review
5.0

07/12/2017


Patricia S.

I've been with them I know 4 years. You're gonna have a hiccup every now and then. There was in an announcement they gave me for mulching and everything, but we got it straightened out. I'm not sure how long that's gonna be, but we got it straightened out. They're very good. They're a very good family ran business. Two brothers are running it now, Matt & Rick; and both of them you know, they're just good guys. They do an excellent job. Matt, who oversees the mowing; I can't say enough good things about him because he's outstanding. One thing I've noticed about this particular landscaping company; they care you know, they wanna know if you're not happy. Especially Matt; I think Rick does landscaping, but as far as the mowing and all this other stuff. Matt's the one that I have most of, well actually all of my correspondence is with Matt. He has a crew that does all the work. The cost is weekly. On price, I think for the size of yard; A. On punctuality, well now sometimes they come maybe on a Wednesday. I think if I set a date, if I said Matt I want the crew here on Thursday no exceptions; I think he'd do it. I didn't have them mow last week because it was too hot and the yard didn't need it. So they came Monday, when they would have usually been here Wednesday or Thursday before. So, it's okay. The only reason why I went trying, I was just checking prices because I'm alone and I'm trying to watch how I spend the money, but nah. They're just good guys. They are a good company and I'm speaking 98.9% regarding Matt because that's the one I use the most. I hope he knows it, but it never hurts for someone else to tell him. He's just been very good as far as my relationship with him on business; it's just been outstanding. I just have a good relationship with him and I hope it continues because I don't know what I'd do. I'm sure there's other good ones out there, but that's just one thing I don't have to worry about. I'd be glad for him to know it, because as I said I think he already knows how much I appreciate him and how much I think of him, but it's always good for him to know that I'm willing to tell others too. It's hard work. You know landscaping; I know they get on mowers and I know they ride, but let me tell ya. It's hot out there so I appreciate 'em.

Description of Work
They were out here last week for mowing.

Category lawn service

Cost $48

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

06/11/2017


David H.

Perfect! I need no more words, except to get off this review page.

Description of Work
rip out overgrown shrubbery, clean up, edge, and lay down mulch

Category lawn service

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

05/22/2017


Dale G.

On time and was done with precision and quality. All the hand cut stones are level, straight, and looks and was done by Master Masonry and Gardner.

Description of Work
Front yard hard scape with stone, then soft scape with shrubbery and flowers

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2017

5.0

05/12/2017


Dr. Carl D.

Scheduling was easily done, very professional service. They were outstanding and very pleasant.

Description of Work
They removed stumps from dead bushes which entailed removing very deeply rooted stumps and replanted new bushes. They also trimmed the existing bushes and mulched.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

12/05/2016


Ellen B.

Very well. Rick got back to me quickly, was able to schedule the work to get done on a specific day and the crew did a wonderful job. Very happy!

Description of Work
General fall cleanup including trimming shrubs, cutting back perennials and picking up leaves.

Category lawn service, leaf removal, mulch

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2016

5.0

11/22/2016


Heather P.

Great, speedy service the week of Thanksgiving! Our yard has never looked better. They even welded our wrought-iron fence back in two spots, saving us having to hire a different vendor. We highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Mowing the yard; clearing vines and saplings off a wrought-iron fence; cleaning up a patio area.

Category fencing, hauling services, lawn service, leaf removal, patios

Cost $650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2016

2.0

10/18/2016


Howard P.

Baumann’s has been doing weekly mowing for us since June. I contacted them in May because of all of the A ratings on Angie’s List. At that time I explained that all we needed for our small yard was mowing and weeding every other week. Rick Baumann’s response was that they only did weekly mowing and maybe they weren’t the right fit for us. That seemed kind of curt to me but I did want someone who was highly rated to do the work for us. So I continued. I told Rick that I’d agree to weekly mowing and weeding. He also mentioned that his service included several “treatments” to our lawn which were not something that we could accept or decline. So I told him to write me up an estimate of what this would all cost. His estimate for all of the work involved was actually pretty reasonable so I paid the up front costs and had them start the work in June. For a few weeks everything went well. His people showed up regularly and the work seemed to be satisfactory. Then I noticed that after the initial spraying for weeds they hadn’t done any weeding at all. I mentioned this to Rick. He said he’d have his people take care of it. After a couple of more visits from his people the weeding still hadn’t been done. This went on for quite some time at which point Rick told me that his services didn’t include weeding. I was flabbergasted. Why hadn’t he mentioned this before telling me he’d take care of it? When we discussed the job initially all I really needed done was mowing and weeding. How could you ignore 50% of our service request? As if he was doing me a favor he said he’d have his people weed and wouldn’t charge me extra for it. How nice of him. Then the invoicing nightmares started. I received an invoice that had several hundred dollars worth of charges that I had no idea about. Some were for overdue payments, some were unspecified and some were for God knows what? And so our email exchange began. I sent rather detailed emails asking a lot of questions about the charges. Rick’s responses were usually, if not always, very short, didn’t answer my questions fully and completely ignored other questions. This went on for some time. At one point he told me that some of the charges were for treatments that they had done. I explained to him that I was unaware that they had performed any additional treatments and that there was no paperwork left for us at the time to inform us that any work at all had been done. I notice that another Angie’s List review mentions this kind of thing also. It actually turned out, after a ridiculous amount of emailing, that two checks I had sent to him had never been received. This reminded me of the “we don’t do weeding” incident. Instead of incomplete answers to questions just give me the facts up front. I can deal with that. I can’t deal with wrong answers or incorrect data. Why make up an "answer" that it was for some unspecified "treatment" that had actually never been done? I immediately reissued new checks for the payments they had never received. I also included payment for some additional work they had done for us and for the upcoming month of service. I have to backtrack a bit here. One of the checks that Rick hadn’t received was for mowing (and ostensibly weeding) in July. It turns out that my wife had also sent him a check for this unbeknown to me. At that time I asked Rick if he wanted to return the duplicate check or have us apply that amount to the following month. He said he’d return the check. We waited and waited and waited for the check to be returned and it never came. Then, as I outlined above, we find out that he never received the check in the first place. I’m not sure how he was going to return a check he never received or why he never called us to let us know then that, upon looking, he hadn’t received the check. Knowing this would have saved a lot of questions and wasted emails later on. It’s also unclear to me just how often his people have come to mow (and ostensibly weed) for us over the past few months. Sometimes I’m here and see them. But often times I’m not. I do know of at least two weeks, and maybe more, when they haven’t shown up. When I asked Rick about this he mentioned the weather being poor one week. But after asking him several times what was to be done payment wise on those weeks they simply didn’t show up…I’ve never received an answer. Not even a wrong answer. No answer at all. Remember the two checks that they had never received? One of them included payments for some pruning and pressure washing they had done plus a deposit for the month of September’s mowing (and ostensibly weeding). This was paid to them in August. All of my checks include a complete description in the memo section of what the check is for. Just a couple of days ago (it’s now October) I received a statement saying that we owed them for September’s mowing. Knowing that I had paid this in August I didn’t want to assume anything and thought that maybe they had once again not received the check. So I checked my bank statement online. That check had been cashed and had cleared. I’m able to view copies of the check online…so I did. The check in question clearly stated that it included payment for September. The back of the check clearly showed that it had been endorsed by Baumann’s. So there you have it. My long and not very pretty experience with Baumann’s Lawn & Landscape, Inc. Their record keeping and bookkeeping is atrocious. Their responsiveness to questions is unacceptable. Their ability to communicate clearly leaves a lot to be desired. The work people that they actually send out are very courteous. It takes them nearly no time to mow (and ostensibly weed) our small yard so I haven’t had the chance to talk with them very much. But it’s clear that whatever problems we’ve had is in no way their fault. Our last month of service with them is November. As I said…they do a satisfactory job of mowing our lawn (and ostensibly weeding) so I’ve just stuck with them this year. Would I use them again? Not on your life. Would I recommend them to someone else? No way. I’m very happy for all of the people who have had wonderful experiences with them and who felt they deserved an A. Possibly I’m an anomaly.

Description of Work
Mowing (and ostensibly weeding). Lawn treatments, tree pruning, pressure washing.

Category lawn service, lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2016

1.0

08/16/2016


Dana L.

After three messages and twelve days they got back to me to say they were full in my area (which is listed on their website as a common service area).

Description of Work
Lawn mowing.

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 08/16/2016

5.0

08/05/2016


Elaine R.

Fantastic job! Courteous work crew with a great attention to detail. Scheduling was a breeze!

Description of Work
Front and back yard clean up

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2016

5.0

04/20/2016


Tom H.

Richard and his team did the spring clean up, which involved raking, trimming shrubs, mulching beds, and edging beds. I have extensive landscaping and they did a superlative job, leaving the yard looking fantastic! In addition to the spring cleanup, they relaid one of the flagstone pathways in fine blue-gray gravel at minimal extra cost. Overall: They are prompt and reliable, and highly professional. While not the cheapest company around, their work is second to none.

Description of Work
Cleaned up yard, mulched and edged beds, trimmed shrubs, relaid a flag stone pathway that was uneven and falling apart.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2016

5.0

11/08/2015


Shirl M.

They came out and gave me an estimate to remove and replace a slab of concrete in the rear of my home. I hired another company with a lower estimate.

Description of Work
They came out and gave me an estimate to remove and replace a slab of concrete in the rear of my home. I hired another company with a lower estimate.

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 11/02/2015

5.0

10/14/2015


Leon G.

Rick was very professional in his dealings with me. He impressed me as being knowledgeable and courteous. The start date was delayed due to several consecutive days of rain, but he knew I wanted to have the work performed by a certain date and met the deadline. His crew did an excellent job and a thorough clean up.

Description of Work
Fill in holes in back yard, grind several tree stumps, remove bamboo, trim shrubs.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2015