Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 TV Sales & Service LLC

Founded 1957 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(160) Verified Reviews

TV Repair
TV Sales
Delivery Service

Description

Family owned since 1957. We have 5 employees including two service technicians. We do in home repairs and also offer in shop repairs. We are an authorized service center for LG, Samsung, Panasonic, Mitsubishi, Toshiba, Pioneer, Hitachi,Funai,Magnavox,Emerson, Philips, JVC, Orion, NEC,LG,and Sharp. Award winning. Additional service area: Frederick County...

Other local Pros in your area

Best Messenger Inc

Best Messenger provides immediate or scheduled pickup and delivery of all items small and large, every day of the year, with no advance notice, appointment, or account ever needed Pay with credit card or cash. Service is fast and affordable, prices are posted online, and tipping is not recommended or expected.  

Prince Asong Moving and Delivery Company

Prince Asong is owner and operator of Asong moving and delivery services. Our team has been satisfying Maryland customers for over 5 years. Fully licensed and insured we pride ourselves on treating your move like we would our own. Contact us to see how we can help today!  

Great Job Moving and Storage

Great Job Moving and Storage is family owned and operated business. The company was founded in 2010 in Virginia. It's often said that moving is one of the most stressful things you will ever do. It probably is when you consider it involves your home, your family, your work and your money all at the same time. At Great Job Moving and Storage we aim to help shoulder some of the stress by taking responsibility for collecting and delivering your belongings to your new home on time and in one piece. We know that the success of our moving company depends on the satisfaction of our customers. Our goal is to make you feel you hired some of the best movers in DC metro area. We are dedicated to providing our customers with professional and hassle free moves at prices that are fair and competitive. Confident in our moving crews and the movers' abilities, our licensed and fully insured moving company includes basic liability insurance in our moving rates. You can also reach us at info@gjmoving.com  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/13/2020

The actions of A-1 have led me to pursue legal action and begin media outreach to "consumer report" and "on your side" reporting against LG and A-1. They have put me through **** since March 2020 and it is now September. My 65" LG C9 has a well known and documented coil whine issue. You can find videos of the sound and complaints on any message forum and review section. It only occurs when bright colors appear on the television. The fix is to replace it. When watching TV became unbearable I put a repair order in, in March. A-1 then sent Person #1 (I believe the owner) out. He said he couldn't hear it (even though my partner and I could hear it screaming into our ears when we put a bright screen on). He said it was likely the power strip. So we changed power strips and the noise was still there. He then said it likely had something to do with the room/cables but I explained we had moved the previous couple of weeks and that it was doing this there too and that it couldn't be possible. He then said "well then it's likely not the TV" but something plugged into it, he pointed out the Fios router. I explained we had Xfinity at the last place and it still did it there, like I just said. We unplugged everything from the TV including the power. Then just plugging the power in we turned the TV back on and as soon as a bright image came on from one of the LG wallpapers, the noise predictably happened again. So he said he would swap out the power supply and that should fix it (even though he just said it was the power strip, cables, other devices plugged into the TV). Of course, this did not fix it. I let it go for a couple weeks to see if it would self resolve and it didn't. So I put in a second repair request. Person #2 comes out and says he CAN hear it. After looking everything over he said since we replaced the power supply and that it's a coil issue, that I need LG to replace the unit for me since there's nothing else A-1 can do. So I called LG as Person #2 instructed me and told them what Person #2 said and they said he never sent that information in. So we spent a couple MONTHS trying to get A-1 to cooperate and send that information over and they NEVER got back to me or LG. LG tried everything, to no avail. So LG said they would type all of this up and send A-1 out a THIRD time exclusively to get a note saying they cannot repair it and LG needs to replace it. So Person #1 is sent back out again. I have the noise blasting with bright screens on and he can't hear it. Again, just like the first time, he tries all of the "take a shot at whatever it could be other than the TV" excuses. Even though he is just supposed to be saying he can't fix it and it needs to be replaced. He finally says he will let LG know and leaves. This is where I am forced to take legal action. In his report, he DID NOT write that they simply cannot fix it and it needs to be replaced. He pulled YET ANOTHER RANDOM excuse from his rear end and blamed ME, saying that we keep it TOO HOT AND HUMID in my apartment and that it's causing the noise. WHAT!? Our apartment stays at 68º-72° and normal to low humidity. I have a smart thermostat that will show you SINCE I HAVE OWNED MY TV that the temperature and humidity have been WELL within the Owner's Manual temperature suggestions. I also have a decibel reader that very clearly shows the TVs high pitched screaming noise that Person #1 claims to not hear. After over 20 calls with LG they asked A-1 to come out and take a look again and A-1 refused. In July, my tinnitus (permanent ringing of the years) drastically worsened when I was simply sitting on the couch, out of nowhere. I suspect the high pitched screaming into my ears from the TV has aggravated it permanently so I cannot even turn the TV on anymore because of this. I am currently working with my ENT, who also thinks it's very possible this is the source and could have been prevented if the noise was removed sooner. All that was needed was a simple "well we can't fix this so let's get you a replacement". But after six months the only thing left is legal and media action. I will now be bringing my over 20 recorded calls to LG, proof of them repeatedly trying to reach A-1, my decibel reader and readings that contradict Person #1's claims, my smart thermostat information proving again that Person #1's claims are ridiculous and pulled out of thin air, and my doctor's notes to court and every local news source and I will even attempt the larger national "On Your Side" and "Consumer Watch" segments. Every format that can get a review and description of this will also get this write up. The absolute **** this has been is indescribable when it should've been handled completely differently from the start.

Description of Work
Coil Whine on 65" LG C9

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We reported your issue to LG it is their decision not ours good luck in you resolution.By the way this had nothing to do with ANGIES LIST.
1.0

08/26/2020

Worst and most unreliable service. They were booked by Best Buy Geek Squad to service my home appliance. They never showed up on date of appointment and have the gall to call to "schedule" an appointment for a future date. Previous to appointment I called multiple times to confirm, and no one answers the phone, forcing me to leave multiple voicemails. They don't care, and I would avoid like the plague.

Description of Work
Over oven microwave repair through Best Buy Geek Squad

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

We are over booked at this time it extremely busy and cannot get to ever one in a timely manor it least we called you to reschedule. You are a very angry person and most likely need professional psychiatric assistance.
1.0

06/20/2020

They asked for a picture of the screen and did not contact me again. The TV can be fixed. But they did not respond.

Description of Work
Fix Smart TV

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

The LCD panel is NLA from Samsung we have been at least two weeks behind in our service sorry we could not have given you a answer to your question. Good luck.
5.0

06/13/2020

I have a problem with my Samsung TV. Owner called and discussed possible problem with me. Concluded fairly quickly that it probably wasn’t worth repair due to cost. Even though there was no repair money to be made the owner stayed on phone with me and gave me a great deal of information & insights into possible replacements. Friendly, knowledgeable and overall very helpful even without any financial benefit for him to do so. He will be my GO-TO repair person if either of my 2 other TVs need repair. It’s no wonder they’re rated so highly.

Description of Work
Possible repair

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, We strive to give all of our clients the best possible assistance for all circumstances. Zachary
5.0

04/21/2020

I have a Samsung F8500 plasma, purchased in the fall of 2013. For those who don't know, this was the pinnacle of TV image quality and still fares extremely competitively against current TV's especially. Essentially, this is still a great TV despite it being 7 years old and I have no desire to jump into an OLED set yet. Imagine my dismay when out of the blue, the TV started doing all the things that TV's start doing when they're about to act up. Taking longer to power on. Then after a while, starting to shut itself off. After extensive googling, I thought it could be a couple of different things and I really didn't want to break out the soldering iron and attempt to repair it myself. The stakes were too high! My plasma baby deserved professional attention! I looked up and called A-1 TV service to attempt to remedy my issue. I had no issues with them whatsoever. They made an appointment, came during the specified time, and very methodically diagnosed and repaired my TV. They *could* have done any number of things to extort more money out of me (they could have told me it was a bad power supply, a bad capacitor, etc) but the problem was literally that the TV needed to have a couple connections re-soldered. It was taken care of professionally and courteously, and they even put my TV back right back on it's wall mount. Their price was super reasonable, and I will always use them in the future if any of my other appliances have issues. They repair all manner of appliances except refrigerators. Thank you A-1 TV for bringing my F8500 back to life!!

Description of Work
Repair Samsung F8500 Plasma

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review of our company's services .We glad that we were able to resolve the issue the Samsung plasma they are a fantastic set wish they could have keep production alive and running before the green act was enacted. Enjoy your set I still have my old Samsung plasma and Pioneer plasma love them.
1.0

04/06/2020

LG contracted A-1 to perform a warranty panel replacement for my LG B6 OLED television that had image retention issues. A-1 came out and replaced the panel, but the next day the TV would power on, but wouldn't display a picture. A-1 identified the issue as an internal cable that was defective and ordered a replacement cable from LG. A-1 came back out and replaced the internal cable but the issue with displaying a picture persisted. The TV powers on but no picture is displayed. I contacted A-1 again to request their assistance and the owner came out to take a look. He disassembled the TV and re-seated the internal cabling. Afterward it powered up and a picture was able to be displayed. The next morning, I attempted to turn the TV on and no picture was displayed. I turned it off, turned it back on - and it displayed a picture, but just as a precaution I emailed A-1 to let them know that this issue was persisting and asked what the path forward for troubleshooting was. I received no response from A-1. I emailed again this morning reporting that the TV still has issues displaying a picture and received a response that I'm going to have to go through LG for further support. My LG B6 never had any issues displaying a picture until A-1 replaced the panel. Now they're referring me back to the manufacturer for an issue that they can clearly troubleshoot but are refusing to do so. If a company is contracted for warranty repair work and the repair never really works, does the work count as being completed? I'd say that the answer is, "No." Avoid these guys! 4/7/20 - I just had the owner, Jeff, call me in a rage and tell me that he "didn't appreciate" the poor review that I left him on Angie's List (same as here). I've never had a vendor speak to me in the way that he did in my life. There's another review on Yelp (yelp.com/biz/a-1-tv-sale… ) from a woman who describes Jeff's demeanor as being in a rage. It's accurate. Believe her. At the end of the call he told me to "never call him again." This is what you'll be dealing with if you deal with this company. A-1 TV was contracted to replace my OLED panel and it has never worked appropriately since the day it was installed. That's the bottom line. I've been nothing but accommodating during this process. I work in tech and realize that sometimes technical things don't work even if you do things the right way. This issue was never fully troubleshot (after FOUR (4) visits to my home) to determine the actual cause of the fault. Sending me a terse email telling me to pursue further support from LG is passing on the responsibility for the issue. A-1 was hired to perform warranty repair work and it was never appropriately completed. I told Jeff to cancel the ticket. I'll work with literally any other authorized LG vendor in the area to get this work completed. As of today, 4/7/20 - I still have a TV that doesn't work after the initial visit from A-1 on 3/16/20.

Description of Work
LG B6 OLED Television Warranty Panel Replacement

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We only preformed our service per Technical Call Center guidance we abide by there instructions we are sorry you have a issue with your set hopefully LG can get another servicer out who can remedy your issue.
2.0

01/31/2020

The technician was punctual, polite and appeared knowledgeable, explaining that he would need to order a part. But nearly three weeks passed and we hadn't heard back from the company. After calling and leaving a voicemail message to find out the status of the ordered part, we contacted the company a third time. We were finally told the part has been discontinued. Why didn't the company contact us to inform us? Very poor communications by A-1 TV.!

Description of Work
Television repair

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We apologize for not getting back sooner. We have been backlogged with repairs and my head technician had this under his pile of claims we are working on resolving with LG. No excuses though. As far as needing to make three phone calls, I will have to check why no one answered your voice mails or provided updates for you. This particular model when it suffers flickering image is known to have panel failures, which are astronomically expensive. Why that couldn't have been sufficiently explained when being evaluated will need to be handled as well. Thank You, Zach
2.0

10/05/2019

Poorly, The left panel of the TV worked intermittently, and I had previously attempted to fix it myself by replacing the boards. I had some success by adjusting the wires, but I'd practically have to take the TV apart each time someone bumped it. So I know it was a loose connection somewhere in the TV. When I took the TV to A-1, based on a few discussions back and forth in Angies list and their good reviews, I hoped for prompt service (especially since so many folks said they serviced TVs in place at home quickly.) Unfortunately, I felt like I had to call twice a day to get an update. There was no clarity on when a diagnostic would be done until they returned my call and said it would be 72 hours pluss a weekend day (this was already 24 hours into the process) before someone could diagnose, but that one of the techs had "taken a quick look yesterday". I explained how frustrating that was, and that I was not impressed by their communication, and planned to write a review at the end of the process. A few hours later, they called and told me that though they hadn't done a full diagnostic, the tech who took a cursory glance (and didn't open the TV to do it) had already decided the left panel was bad, and because that part wasn't available, we should just buy a new TV. Obviously this was VERY frustrating. The receptionist (very friendly!) let me talk to the tech, who insisted over and over that he didn't need to do a comprehensive diagnostic because it was financially a better idea to just buy a new TV. He was unwilling to describe in technical details why (I'm a friggen trained electronics technician, i just didn't have the time to do it myself) why he'd made his assessment and when I asked him to justify his assessment with evidence, he told me "This is why I don't like talking to people like you. You know too much. I don't want to talk to you" and hung up. Now I'm out $75 dollars for a diagnostic that was never fully done, had a tech hang up on me, and lost time driving to drop off the TV, which I now have to go pick up (but they're closed now and tomorrow.) I've got nothing to show for my time and money. Based on my limited experience, I suspect they do the level of work I could do myself in my spare time: They do simple parts swapping and won't take the time to solder or use a multimeter.

Description of Work
Identify loose wires and secure

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

Your television has a Bus card failure with the LCD panel that’s intermittent due to a tabs bonding issue. The majority of time, we do not have to take the set apart when we see this issue because the display panel indicates exactly what is wrong with it. We have all the tools that we need to fix the television that does not have this kind of issue. You would need an assembly line along with millions of dollars of equipment to fix this issue due to the fact that these are only made in large warehouses in China by thousands of people at a time. Essentially, he would need to replace that bus card or the entire LCD panel which are bonded together in the factory. And you cannot do it without having the very expensive equipment that heat bonds it together. It’s not something that a hot air gun or hairdryer could fix. Please don’t make assumptions that you don’t know.
5.0

09/28/2019

They told me part was no longer made. Saved me the trouble of trying to do a repair that couldn't be done.

Description of Work
assessment of TV repair

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We are always up front with our clients for the best out come and most economical solution.
4.0

08/18/2019

Good response to questions and courteous, but seemed unwilling to go outside the box to find the necessary part (located in a few moments of Google searching) when their normal supplier was unable to source it immediately. I had provided the model # and manufacturer, and a pretty detailed list of what I had already tried, and narrowed the problem down to a particular module. Ended up choosing another shop that was able to acquire the necessary part. Bonus points to an amicable encounter.

Description of Work
Repair of TV set

Category tv repair

Service Provider Response

We looked for part as well and could not find sourcing.

    Services Offered

    Television Repair, Audio Equipment Repair, Television Sales.

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance Repair, Computer Repair, Phone Repair, Tablet Repair.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes