Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since July 2005

5.0

(50) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

508 Finsbury Rd

Silver Spring, MD 20904

Description

Daniel started his construction career in 1983 as an apprentice in Switzerland, Europe. There he learned from experienced old school carpenters how to timber frame and build log houses. Cutting mortise and tenons for structural posts is still something that's done today. Since the late 80's, Daniel has learned all about the ever-changing U.S. construction industry. Daniel started his own remodeling company in 2001 and has since designed and built many additions and remodels in and around Montgomery County, MD. Due to years of experience, Daniel is able to make design changes that make construction easier and cheaper. He has proved himself to be a great communicator so that all parties involved in a remodeling project work as one. His ability to plan, schedule, and execute projects have made jobs less stressful and more rewarding for his clients. Things most frequently mentioned in client reviews are that Daniel and DK are staying within budget, getting the job done on time, are responsive and available, have clean and organized job sites, and are experienced. MHIC LICENSE #81268....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/31/2015


Daniel G.

Through Angie's List, we got the contact. We would really like to use them. It came on a little bit too expensive for what we wanted to use it for. They quoted us for $80000. The service was excellent. He was very, very responsive to everything. If it wasn't for the price issue, we would definitely go with them. It was for a significant amount of work to be done but it was just outside of our price range. His price is fair for the market.

Description of Work
It was for the home remodeling.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/18/2015


Brent H.

Daniel was the most knowledgeable contractor that I met with. He was very professional and easy to deal with. Daniel provided very thorough and complete pricing and helped me to resolve unknowns that helped drive the overall cost of the project down. Daniel is very current with the best construction methods in regards to energy efficiency and green building. I would have loved to award Daniel my project, but due to budget issues I had to only award the structural/exterior shell work to a GC and I am managing the rest of the project myself.

Description of Work
Provided multiple site visits and pricing for a shed dormer and dining room addition project.

Category contractors,remodeling,roofing,home builders

5.0

12/04/2014


Margaret D.

We're very pleased with them. We got estimates from three different companies and Daniel's presentation of what he could do was good. His price was the best or close to the best. He followed through with things he promised. Their work was good. It was quality work. They got things right. They did some finishing touches on some things that came out a little different than we were planning. They made sure we were happy with the job.

Description of Work
They renovated our bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member name removed]. It was our honor working for you.
5.0

11/29/2014


Jonathan E.

We had two meetings with Daniel to discuss marjo renovations to the house; he had some great ideas, and was very responsive, and put together detailed proposals. We ultimately decided not to move forward with the major renovations. However, I was very impressed with Daniel and would consider him for any future renovations.

Description of Work
Gave us a bid on renovations to house.

Category handyman service,remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]! It was a pleasure working with you. Looking forward to any future projects.
5.0

07/23/2014


Stephen S.

Daniel was very professional and held to his commitments. The work was done on time and at what we thought was high quality and reasonable cost. Two things I wish he had done were to suggest putting in a skylight, which would have certainly been cheaper and easier to have done when the ceiling was removed. It's not his fault that I didn't think of a skylight at the time, but I would have welcomed the suggestion. Also, when cutting the brick not enough care was taken to prevent dust from permeating the house. When I raised the issue he put up a plastic sheeting but made no offer to clean up the mess. Maybe I expect too much, but that's what it would take to get the highest rating.

Description of Work
Turned an attached summer room into a year round room integrated into the house. Cut an open doorway through the wall, replacd with full insulation the floor and ceiling, put in a sliding glass door.

Category flooring contractor,insulation,remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for writing the review [member name removed], It was a real pleasure working for you. Next time we will be more careful with the dust. Daniel Krienbuehl
5.0

06/10/2014


Warren H.

Danieal provided a very competitive price, suggested many helpful design ideas and was always prompt and professional as was his team. Would definitely use Daniel again.

Description of Work
Repaired and renovated porch and built new MBR deck.

Category decks,remodeling

5.0

12/29/2013


Shawn M.

We asked Daniel and two other contractors to bid on our project. Daniel's was the lowest bid of the three. We also visited several of his previous projects before we decided to go with him._x000D_|_x000D_|The project was an almost complete renovation of our second floor including adding a dormer, expanding a dormer, adding a roof beam and other structural elements to our under built house, roofing, siding, insulation, windows, HVAC, electrical, and finishing out three bedrooms and our master bathroom. We also had Daniel and his crew remove the existing sunporch and build a new four season room with an attached deck and universal access ramp. There were a few additional pieces like replacing windows and doors and ceilings in other rooms and coding up old openings in masonry. In the end only one room of out house was not touched by this renovation._x000D_|_x000D_|We are very pleased with Daniel and his work, and here is why. His crew was here everyday at 7:00 AM and worked straight through. They were always kind and courteous; the type of people that you can trust being in your house all day when you are away. They did excellent work start to finish. Daniel was on site daily to check on progress and we had the same three workers at our site throughout the project. They were respectful of our family and our needs (we lived in the house during the work). They managed the sub contractors well throughout the project. The project came in very close to budget. Unanticipated change orders came to only about 1% of the project. The project did run past the original time estimate but that was largely due to difficult weather, a delay from the window manufacturer, changes in the needed structural work, and the challenging inspectors we have in our county. To be honest, the biggest mistake we had in the entire project was that the pairing contractor's person started to paint some trim with the wrong color and Daniel's foreman discovered it and checked with us and had it corrected right away. When the biggest mistake is paint color...you can really feel like you made a great choice in contractor._x000D_|_x000D_|We are delighted with our house. It is now cozy, warm, solid, energy efficient....as well as beautiful.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician,insulation,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,sunrooms

5.0

10/22/2013


John H.

Bid was received as promised and was sufficiently detailed. Daniel offered to walk us through it in more detail as needed.

Description of Work
Received a bid to tranform a covered, screened-in porch into a 4 season room, including HVAC, finishing the space under the porch, etc.

Category remodeling,sunrooms

5.0

12/11/2012


John L.

my expectations: Definitely rely on Daniel's vast experience. He pointed out insulation that should be done and doors that needed to be changed that I didn't realize would affect the project. He has a wealth of knowledge and strikes me as a real craftsman.

Description of Work
I called Daniel in to show him what I wanted and get an estimate. He show up promptly and listened attentively and asked questions then made suggestions on how we might improve the concept. His insight was instrumental in rethinking the design which we are now undertaking before having him tackel the project. He may not be the least expensive, but I have great confidence his work will more than live up to my expectations.

Category remodeling,sunrooms

3.0

11/27/2012


David M.

We did not pursue this project any further.

Description of Work
The proposed cost for expanding the guest bedroom over the garage was exhorbitant!

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Our records show that we were contacted by the Customer on April 4, 2012. We agreed to do a site visit on April 10th at 7 PM. I don’t remember being late for the meeting. No drawings or specifications were on hand to price the work accurately, so we based the estimated cost on similar projects we did in the past. We submitted a written estimate to the Customer's on April 16th. We have never heard back, by phone or email, until this post (7 Months later). Please do not hesitate to contact us. We will respond as quickly and accurately as possible. Daniel Krienbuehl

    Other local Pros in your area

    JES Foundation Repair

    JES Foundation Repair, founded in 1993, is a subsidiary of Groundworks: a family of companies that provides engineered solutions for foundation repair, underpinning, crawl space encapsulation and moisture management, concrete lifting and leveling services, and basement waterproofing. The JES brand has grown to become a professional team of over 450 repair experts providing over 70,000 engineered solutions for residential and commercial properties across Virginia, Maryland and beyond. They currently maintain offices in Appomattox, Baltimore, Chester, Manassas, Roanoke, and Virginia Beach. JES is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes and commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Offers by JES Foundation Repair on Angi
    University Painters

    We are professional painting contractors with an outstanding customer satisfaction and referral rating. That means our future is on display every day — in how we paint every type of house and building: interior, exterior, residential, commercial, office, and condominium. We are "The Educated Choice" in painting because we offer: Professional Service Free Written Estimates Fully Licensed & Insured Staff The Highest Quality Paints Affordable Rates  

    Pedro Guerra Lara Painting Contracting

    Family business with plenty of experience  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Construction & Remodeling – Additions, Basements, Bathrooms, Decks, Kitchens, Porches, Arbors, Gazebos, Passive Solar Design, Zoned Heating, & Thermal Shutters.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc

    How is Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc overall rated?

    Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc provide

    Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc?

    Yes, Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offer?

    Daniel Krienbuehl Contractors Inc offers the following services: Construction & Remodeling – Additions, Basements, Bathrooms, Decks, Kitchens, Porches, Arbors, Gazebos, Passive Solar Design, Zoned Heating, & Thermal Shutters.