AES Builder & Home Improvements

About

Founded 1989 • With Angi since September 2006

Company Motto: WHEN WE'RE DONE, YOU'LL BE HAPPY, IF YOU'RE NOT HAPPY, WE'RE NOT DONE. It's more than just a motto, it's our Company-Heartbeat. Family owned and operated, we have been serving Maryland Home owners since 1989. Tim Munson is a working owner, available to all his clients on a daily

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(289) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

220

4

16

3

13

2

17

1

23

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (142)window replacement (39)drywall (37)woodworking (32)basement remodeling (30)door installation (30)general contractors (24)roofing (15)decks & porches (14)cabinet makers (14)siding companies (12)insulation (11)
Showing 1-25 of 289 reviews
5.0

08/26/2022


David G.

I honestly can't say enough good things about AES Builders. Tim Munson and his crew of professionals guided us through this bathroom remodel, answering all of our questions, making sure that we were in the loop on every decision, and helping us from fixture selection all the way to the paint on the wall. This is by far the biggest project I've done with AES and it will definitely not be the last. I especially want to thank Tim for his personal outreach to me and my wife during the project to make sure that the job was done to our satisfaction. Seriously, how many owners make the time to personally talk to their customers?? I would certainly recommend AES builders for any project in your home. AES was up-front the entire process from the initial consult, job estimates, and scheduling. Another service we particularly appreciated was the concierge service where one of AES's designers came with us to pick out the new cabinets, fixtures, and tub for the project. She made the whole process very easy and pain free. Thanks to her, we have a great looking bathroom!! Many thanks to Tim and his people for the excellent job on my wife's bathroom. Looking forward to working with you in the future.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category countertops, electrician, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2022

5.0

04/29/2022


Kelly S.

We hired AES to do our master bathroom remodel. We are very happy with it, it’s beautiful! Everyone was friendly and professional, the sales person/estimator, the two men who did the work, the concierge, they were all very good at what they do. The workers were detail oriented and cleaned up the place every day before they left. We received quotes from 3 companies for this job, AES was in the middle. We really liked the concierge service - they send a designer with you to shop for the tiles, flooring, fixtures, etc, they help you pick everything out and tie it all together into a coherent design. It was very helpful, they even help you pick out paint colors.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We enjoyed working for you and are grateful for the trust and confidence you had in AES. Your bathroom came together very very beautiful. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Please remember, you have the five year free labor warranty with us. We are always here when you need us. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
2.0

04/12/2022


Veronica F.

There were some problems. The contractors who did the kitchen would show up at 12 in the afternoon and would leave at three. Their language was horrible even while I was present. It took them twice as long as it should have. The work got done to my satisfaction but they were extremely slow and went way past the deadline. If they had come to do a full days work, it would have been different. I would not hire them again.

Description of Work
They remodeled two bathrooms, put in new kitchen cabinets and new hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2015

Service Provider Response

This was a job we did back in 2015. I looked back in the files and located the customer satisfaction form. The job was completed on June 13, 2015. Customer stated in the satisfaction form that she would recommend us to her neighbors and friends and she would also do future work with AES again. She said “love my new kitchen and master bath”. She also answered questions on the form, 1. are you satisfied with the quality of work performed for you? She said yes. 2. Were you kept up-to-date as to the status of the installation process?, She said yes. 3. did the craftsman clean up after completing the job?, She said yes. 4. did the craftsman show care and concern for your property and Items thereon? She said yes. 5. Did the craftsman handle them selves in a professional and courteous manner?, She said yes. 6. Would you recommend AES to your neighbors and or friends?, She said yes. 7. Would you use AES for future work?, She said yes. Please see our other ratings as our professionalism and quality speaks for itself. Thank you for taking the time to read this long response. Tim Munson Pressure
5.0

03/17/2022


Peggy E.

AES was a pleasure to work with from the beginning consultation to the completion of the project. I liked the fact that we were able to select items from anywhere and not confined to limited choices as with some companies. I was able to design the bathroom exactly as I wanted as the allowances allowed me the flexibility to be creative. The tile installer was a perfectionist and his attention to detail is reflected in his work. We are thrilled with the finished master bath and are happy with our selection of AES as our remodeler.

Description of Work
master bath remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2022

5.0

03/06/2021


Rick C.

They just completed a 3-season room and deck for us and it looks great. 5-star rating for the end product for sure. The builders and installers all did a great job. They were friendly and willing to answer any questions I asked. The cleanup crew of one did a fabulous job. The salesman, David Hill, was very helpful and responsive throughout the process. A pleasure to work with for sure. If I were to ignore the fact that we signed the contract in March 2020, at the beginning of what became an unprecedented pandemic, and the build did not complete until February 2021, this review might have been far less positive. We were initially anticipating completion by July 2020. But who’d have known how the pandemic would eventually affect suppliers, inventory availability, inspector availability, and more. There were so many delays that appear to have been out of everyone’s control. Marc, our project manager, seemed overwhelmed at times trying to coordinate all the various activities for this project. Multiply that by all the other projects AES might have had going on at the same time and all the pandemic-caused impacts to suppliers and inspection offices in different jurisdictions with different COVID-19 mandates, I’m sure it was a nightmare. Still, I wish communications and coordination could have been more timely. But job-well done at the end of the day. The wait was worth it.

Description of Work
Build 3-season room and deck

Category sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2021

Images

Review for AES Builder & Home Improvements - 6915 Golden Ring Rd, Rosedale, MD - 39231946
3.0

08/10/2020


Jo Anne A.

AES does not do the type of job I needed.

Description of Work
Replace gable vent.

Category acupuncture

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2020

Service Provider Response

I’m surprised someone would give us a grade of “C” because we don’t do the type of work they requested. We always try to recommend another company or type of company they should contact. Our desire is to assist clients in every way we can. Thank you, Tim Munson President
5.0

07/20/2020


Chris C.

After seeking an initial estimate with a competitor, my wife and I asked AES to perform an estimate for a master bathroom remodel project. David Hill was assigned to our project as the lead sales representative. David met with us and quickly submitted a fair proposal (not to mention SIGNIFICANTLY lower in price than our initial estimate) to us to perform the work we were seeking in our remodel. As new customers we were pleased with the process and with the responsiveness of David throughout the project. AES uses an app, Co-Construct, which allows for transparency of the project details. It also allowed us to see status updates throughout each part of the remodel as pictures were frequently taken to demonstrate the progress of the work. Speaking to the work itself we were very pleased with the craftsmanship of our contractors, Matt and Kurt. They were very diligent and meticulous and did an excellent job, especially with the tile work involved. There were a few hiccups along the way (as with any remodel) and Matt and Kurt were very receptive and flexible in fixing the issues quickly and to our needs. In all the project took about 3.5 weeks and my wife and I are very happy with our new bathroom! We want to thank AES and all of the associates with whom we had the pleasure of working. We would definitely consider hiring AES for future home projects!

Description of Work
Master Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $26,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to serve you. We enjoyed working for you and look forward to serving you again in the future. I trust you will enjoy your new bathroom remodel for many years to come. Please remember,, you have a five-year labor warranty with AES. Please let us know if you need anything. Tim Munson President
5.0

06/19/2020


Jane J.

AES did a fantastic job with our kitchen remodel. Of course, there were a few unexpected situations, but AES solved each one to our satisfaction. Their attention to detail is outstanding. And they are true to their motto, "We aren't done until you are happy, and if you aren't happy, we aren't done." The concierge service is tremendously helpful with picking out cabinets, hardware, the countertop, and tile...everything that makes the kitchen yours. I would recommend AES to my friends without hesitation.

Description of Work
It was a total kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling, acupuncture

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2020

5.0

05/13/2020


Ann E.

AES was a pleasure to work with from start to finish! They were extremely professional, hardworking, and efficient. They absolutely stand by their motto! I'm very satisfied and will definitely use them in the future for my other home improvement projects.

Description of Work
2 very large windows replaced, 1 large sliding glass door replaced, all gutters replaced

Category gutter repair, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience. Steve our window craftsman has been with AES for 30 years. He is very meticulous installer and has years of experience with installation of windows and Doors. Remember, you have our five year free labor warranty. Please let us know when we can serve you once again. We appreciate you and your business. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

05/10/2020


Greg C.

AES has delivered in every aspect of the process. An experienced team has guided us every step of the way with daily communication and an easy to use online schedule for our project that has been kept. Everything from blueprint to interior design to construction has been very well organized. Can't wait to see the finished product!

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category acupuncture, basement remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience concerning AES with Angie’s List members. We appreciate your allowing us to serve you by remodeling your basement. We have enjoyed matching the Decor of your custom built home. The work is really turning out beautiful and Marc has enjoyed working with you on this major remodel project. Thank you for allowing us to serve you and your family. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/22/2020


Joe & Racine D.

A phenomenal recent job was done by our favorite general contracting company and all around first-class owner Tim Munson! This is our major second AES project hire and just as with our first, massive 2018 interior home remodel project, from start to finish, Tim and his staff handled every single detail to perfection. The driveway, sidewalk and rail-less steps still had the original cement poured some 65 years ago!! The cement was cracked and crumbled. The sidewalk space was too narrow and the climbing height between the stairs was uneven. AES came to our rescue, yet again, transforming these aged exterior features into a contemporary and roomy visual delight. We couldn't be more pleased! For construction and remodeling, AES is our only choice.

Description of Work
New cement driveway, sidewalk and front steps with railings.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Joe and Racine, thank you for calling us back again and trusting us with your exterior remodeling. We appreciate you and your business. The new steps, railings, sidewalks and double car driveway has given your home beautiful curb appeal. It has also made it much more safer for you and your guest to enter and exit your home. Once again we have enjoyed serving you and are looking forward to installing your new front entry door in a couple weeks. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/22/2020


Judy S.

I couldn't have been happier! The work was completed on time and price exact. Whenever i wanted to implement a change, their comment was always "no problem". My home was 20 years old when i bought it and the master bath and kitchen were old and very dated. When AES completed the project i felt like i had a brand new home and the value of my home improved overnight! I would definitely recommend AES to anyone considering having any type of home improvement work done to their residence. Polite, professional, knowledgeable, and they are not finished until you are happy, is not just their motto, they live by it!!!!! Judy S

Description of Work
i have a very old outdated kitchen and master bath that needed an upgrade

Category ceramic tile, countertops, handyman service, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your AES experience with Angie’s List members. I personally visited your home after completion, taking pictures and doing a final inspection. The transformation of your Master bathroom certainly has the “WOW FACTOR”, from the walk-in shower, heated tile flooring, steam free light mirror system and beautiful vanity and sink tops. You and our designer did a beautiful job making your bathroom user friendly and functional. I trust you will enjoy it for many years to come. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Again, thank you for trusting us with your remodeling dream. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/21/2020


Richard F.

My wife and I hired AES to install an upstairs powder room in our 100 year old home. Upon requesting a consultation, Dave Hill quickly answered our request and scheduled an appointment. Dave took his time with us, answering all of our questions and concerns, and we had several with the quirks of and old home. Dave provided a professionally detailed evaluation, taking into account our requirements and our personal needs. He provided a detailed estimate and brought out the crew who would be working the project to confirm they had every angle covered. Work commenced on the day scheduled. The crew of two (carpenter-Matt and plumber-Wes) worked in unison from start to completion. These guys were polite friendly, professional and worked tirelessly. Both kept us informed of their status and progress and what to expect the next day. Dave also dropped in to ask us personally how the job was going. Like I said, we had some concerns because of the age of the home, but Matt and Wes gave the house and the project the care required. Upon completion, the work area was clean and the powder room looked perfect for the room, Every detail was completed. Dave followed up to make sure all went well. The experience was just what we wanted. Minimal intrusion by a friendly and skilled crew. We are impressed with the finished product. I would not hesitate to use or recommend AES to a friend or neighbor. Thanks, Guys!

Description of Work
Powder Room Addition

Category drywall, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling, acupuncture

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Homeowner, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Angie’s List members. We appreciate your trusting us with your home remodeling. We enjoyed working for you and look forward to serving you again in the future. Please remember you have a 5 Year Free Labor service guarantee with AES. Let us know if you need anything. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/21/2020


Robert M.

Your motto is truly a testament to quality work," I'm happy!! " Upon completion of work, I felt I moved into a new home. Also would like to thank the whole staff. Very accommodating and sensitive to my needs. A special thanks to David Hill for his explanation of the process and the steps you had to take to complete the project. It was a pleasure working with David and I will highly recommend your company to anyone.

Description of Work
Remodeling Kitchen

Category acupuncture

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Homeowner, thank you for allowing us to serve you in the remodeling of your kitchen. Your kitchen has been transformed into a state of the art Kitchen. We appreciate your trust and your referring AES to your friends and family. We look forward to serving you again soon. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/21/2020


Jon M.

We needed to replace a Peachtree hinged patio door that provides access to our walk out basement. We have used AES for 5 remodeling projects over the past 5 years and they have always done excellent work. So, I called Dave Hill, our salesman at AES. Dave came out to the house promptly to take a look at the door and give us an estimate. He recommended a ProVia door as the best value. Mark, their door installer, came out to take measurements. The door was delivered to the house and Mark came out to do the install. The original door was a non-standard size and an unusual install. The only way the new door was going to fit was if they removed the inside drywall, floor tile and vinyl floor around the door, installed the door and then replaced everything. Mark was willing and able to do the work but after more discussion we agreed that the job was getting out of hand. AES ordered a seconds door (at no cost to us) that could be installed from the outside. Mark came out a second time and installed the door in about 5 hours. The new door fits perfectly. The inside finishing work looks great and the outside is well sealed and looks great.

Description of Work
Replaced a Hinged Patio Door

Category doors

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your continued trust in AES. In the past 5 years we have remodeled your kitchen, 2 bathrooms, constructed an addition, replaced your decking, installed flooring throughout the house and now your basement door. We have always enjoyed serving you and your wife, (cats too). Repeat customers such as yourself speak volumes about our company and our staff. Again, thank you so much! Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
1.0

04/20/2020


Joseph E.

First off the estimator was rude and stand offish. The estimate they gave me was 8,000.00 more than 4 other estimates. I don't know if his tape measure was broke or he just gave me a high price because he didn't want the job. Look out people , you are paying for all the ads they run. Not me I'm running from their high prices. How a company can get away with charging such high prices is beyond me. Thanks to the rep for walking out the door while I was asking questions about the job. I don't care how good the work is, for those prices I should've got gold laced siding.

Description of Work
Estimate on new siding and porch roof

Category decks, siding, acupuncture

Cost $18,000

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Upon receiving this complaint I contacted the home owner to further investigate this matter. This is an unfortunate situation of miscommunication between the estimator and the homeowner. When the estimator arrived he noticed there were people in the house working and due to social distancing he ask the homeowner to come outside as the work being estimated was on the exterior of the home. The homeowner did not want to come outside so the estimator went inside at the request of the homeowner. Our representative was uncomfortable because the room was small and felt he was not able to keep social distance, also they was a carpenter working in the room. Therefore, the homeowner felt he was standoffish. The estimator did state he wanted to leave as soon as he could as his glasses were fogging up as he was wearing a mask for protection. Obviously our estimator did not understand the scope of work the homeowner desired. When I spoke to the homeowner, I offered personally to visit with him and review the scope of work, as there had to be a mistake if we were $8000.00 difference. Having been in business for over 30 years, there was obviously a miscalculation in measuring and scope of work. The estimator who estimated the job has been with AES for more than 13 years, and has received high reviews for his customer relations and many clients have called back and ask for him. The homeowner appreciated my calling him and respectfully declined my offer as he said he signed a contract earlier in the day with another company out of Delaware. Please continue reading our reviews and you will discover we care about all our clients. Thank you for taking time to read my response. I look forward to serving you in the future. Tim Munson President
5.0

11/19/2019


Joe L.

Very, very precise craftsmanship. It wasn’t cheap, but nothing is nowadays. They do excellent work; and their motto is for real ... “When we’re done, you'll be happy. If you’re not happy , we’re not done.” They attended to every detail and suggestion I had as the work proceeded. Thinking about getting them back for an open deck job for the lower level.

Description of Work
Demolish old deck and replace it with a covered screened-in deck.

Category decks

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear Homeowner: Thank you for sharing with Angie's List Members your experience with AES. I enjoyed personally meeting you when I stopped by to check on the job. Your screened in room has made a wonderful improvement to you home and lifestyle. I am sure you will enjoy it for many years to come. Remember, you have our Five Fear Free Labor Warranty. Please let me know if you need any type of service or future needs. We have been making Homeowners like you, Happy for over 30 Years. Blessings, Tim Munson President
5.0

09/02/2019


Catherine T.

Windows were a good match, installation went smoothly, I am happy with the results and will use AES services again.

Description of Work
I need 3 windows installed - they needed to match existing. AES made an extra effort to find windows that matched - other contractors were unable do so.

Category remodeling, replacement windows

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to helping you in the future. Please let us know if you need any type of service, remember you have the five year free labor warranty. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

05/25/2019


Deborah S.

Everything was wonderful from start to finish. Love the finished product. AES was meticulous in everything they did. They were on time and very clean and courteous. Will definitely be using them again.

Description of Work
We had a deck built on our home.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to serve you. Please remember you have a 5 year free labor warranty with us. Please make sure you let us know if you need anything. We look forward to serving you in the future. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/24/2019


Peter G.

It was a pleasure doing business with AES. From the initial contact with the estimator, to the day spent with the concierge, to the actual workers doing the remodeling everything was handled in a very professional and timely manner. The project was completed in less time that originally anticipated and the work crews attention to detail and respect for our home was great.

Description of Work
Kitchen, foyer and powder room remodeling

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing you experience from AES. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to a long lasting relationship. Please let us know if you need any assistance in the future. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

04/13/2019


Donna K.

My experience with AES was excellent. I worked with Charles from the initial consultation through the completion of the job. He is professional, thorough, pleasant to work with, responsive to questions/concerns, and is a master of his trade. Shawna was very helpful during the design phase of the project, and suggestions/recommendations made it easy to choose from the many products available. The only glitch was that it took longer than promised to start the job, but I think that this is likely related to how busy the company is due to the excellent work they do. During that time, the owner himself was responsive to questions about the start date and kept me posted on the status of the job. AES provided great customer service and a wonderful outcome to my project. I would definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Main bathroom remodel (minus tub/tile replacement) and replacement of toilet/tile in second bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing with Angie's List members your AES experience. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Gratefully yours, Tim Munson President
5.0

03/17/2019


Steven W.

This was our second time hiring AES and we were not disappointed. David Hill scoped out the project and provided us with a quote for installing new hardwood floors in our master bedroom and paint for walls, trim and ceiling. Everything came out perfect. AES is simply the best when it comes to service, quality and results. Will definitely be hiring them again for our next house project.

Description of Work
New Flooring in Master Bedroom and Paint

Category flooring contractor, remodeling

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2019