Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alonso Construction Services, LLC

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2010

4.4

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12207 Academy Way 13

Rockville, MD 20852

Description

Alonso Construction Services serves the Washington Metropolitan area in the specialties of Masonry, Concrete, Stone, Brick and Hardscapes. Our clientele extends from residential, government and commercial....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/04/2017


Ed S.

The deck ended up being about 600 square feet. We weren't sure what we wanted at first so he came out, took some measurements, drew up a few designs and gave us a layout. We made changes along the way but the finished project is just wonderful and exactly what we didn't know we wanted.

Description of Work
Built a new deck onto our home.

Category decks

5.0

01/29/2013


Prabha I.

The stucco on the front of our townhouse was buckling, and a large patch had actually sloughed off in one place. There aren't that many companies that work on stucco any more, so there weren't a lot of choices. Once I called Mr. Alonso, he came over within a couple of days and noted the work that needed to be done. He explained what his company would do, which included removing the damaged stucco all along the front of the house, adding waterproofing if required, installing a strip that allows water to run off the wall rather than into it, installing the stucco, and power washing the entire front of the house. He also took a sample of the stucco so he could make sure to match it. He sent his quote the next day, and it was very reasonable for the amount of work proposed. In fact, I received a quote from another company that was almost 3 times as much! There were some delays in starting the work because some materials had to be special ordered and took more time to arrive than expected. But once the work was started, it got done within two days, even with some stoppage for rain. The crew was 3 men, and Mr. Alonso stopped by a couple of times while the work was done. The men worked neatly, and cleaned up after themselves. I don't have much landscaping in my front yard, so there wasn't much to damage. It has now been several months since the work was done, and the wall looks great so far. If you look carefully, you can tell where the new stucco was put on, but only if you looked carefully. I am very happy with the professional demeanor, the work, and the price that this company charged. I would definitely call them again for other exterior projects.

Description of Work
Excellent work, fast and responsive

Category stucco

1.0

12/01/2012


Regina B.

It is with great regret that I have to write this type of review. This project began with such promise, and to end this way is very sad. On April 1st, 2012, I hired Felipe Alonso of Alonso Construction Services, located at 12207 Academy Way, Suite 13 Rockville, Maryland 20852, to create a patio area in my backyard. We agreed on the price and the timeline of construction, we signed a contract, and all seemed to be moving ahead steadily. We were both happy with the look of the finished product. In early May, 2012, the construction part of the job was complete. It was beautiful and I was very proud. I even named the area ?Castletop Lounge?, complete with a welcome sign and a quasi dedication ceremony. The final payment was made to Felipe, per our contract agreement. All that was left to do was a sealant spray over the pavers. Simple enough, right? Wrong. This is where the beautiful dream turns into the nightmare that I?m still living with today. Felipe was to come back and perform the sealant phase of the patio. Bear in mind, this is still in May. I could not reach Felipe in June, July, and nearly August passes before Felipe comes back to do the work. It would have been no problem had he told me that it would be three months before I saw him again, but he told me nothing. Just didn?t show up. When he finally communicated with me, we agreed that he would come to my home on August 29, 2012. Felipe arrived after 8pm with the sealant and his sprayer. I questioned the lateness of the hour to begin such a job and the small amount of sealant that he brought with him (1 can). He assured me that he knows what he is doing and that all is well. Less than halfway through the job, he runs out and has to leave my home to get more. When he returns with, what I suspect is another brand of sealant, it is not the same look as the original sealant. I again questioned him, but he said that when it dries, it would blend in and have the same look as the first application. On the next day, September 1st, Felipe returns and tries to continue his work; however his sprayer breaks. He proceeded to toss the sealant out of the can and wipe it onto the pavers freehand with a rag? A RAG! Felipe?s dried footprints were throughout the project area. It was horrifying! [PICTURES ENCLOSED]. Again, Felipe disappeared for weeks with no response or rescheduling to correct this poor sealant job. In an attempt to get answers on what I could do to move this process forward, I contacted the paver company, Nicolock. I wanted to know what product could be applied. They said they would get back to me on that, but in the meantime, on September 24, 2012, Felipe finally responded to one of my emails. He apologized for the shotty work and expressed his embarrassment, but vowed to correct it. Great. I felt better. He came out a few times to apply chemicals to lift the sealant off, but he has now disappeared once again. As of this writing, December 2, 2012, I wait. I am now exhausted with waiting for Felipe to make time for me. If I have to pay another company to correct his mistake, I surely want to be reimbursed for this charge. There were many things about this job that I chose to overlook in the name of forward movement (that I won?t even bother to list here), but I will NOT look away while someone tries to take advantage of me! Felipe Alonso was paid in May, and in December I still wait for him to correct his errors. This is not right, and he knows it! I will take this matter to whereever I have to in order to get satisfaction.

Description of Work
Create a patio space in my backyard: excavating dirt, pouring cement, applying stucco, installing pavers, adding lighting features, sand, and sealant.

Category hardscaping

5.0

09/07/2012


Barbara B.

We live in Reston where it is important to keep the outside of your home in good repair or get dinged by your cluster association or Reston Association, which was only a matter of time, given the condition of our home. We contacted Felipe Alonso of Alonso Construction, who we found on Angie's List. It seemed like he had recently done jobs of similar scope from the reviews we read. He gave us a quote for just the stucco work but readjusted it to include the wood repair work as well. The crew was a 3-person crew who arrived when expected and worked steadily. They cleaned up all the trash/debris at the end of the job and left things neatly each day when they left. They were careful of our landscaping while completing the work. The job took 3-4 days as the first day it was raining and so they only put up the scaffolding. During, and especially at the end of the job Felipe continued to check in via phone to make sure everything we wanted done was getting done. I felt he was a great communicator and our satisfaction was important to him. He was there in person at the beginning and end to make sure everything was as it should be. He did everything to make sure it looks like a brand new house again - and it's over 30 years old! He has promised to come back and powerwash our deck because a portion of it got powerwashed when they were doing the work - when he does that he will get an A plus from us! Overall, a great experience and we would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
We had our stucco repaired and recoated on 2 sides plus a three story stucco chimney of our end unit townhouse. We had our T1-11 siding replaced and repaired, plus trim boards replaced and repaired, followed by painting. This job required scaffolding.

Category siding, stucco

5.0

06/15/2012


Ananias B.

Felipe was excellent to do business with. He had a very fair price. He had an excellent response time. He had great communication. I would highly recommend him to do anything that he can under his belt of construction.

Description of Work
He did some masonry stucco work.

Category masonry, stucco

5.0

02/27/2012


Harry C.

We bought a house and knew from our inspection that there were two large sections of the exterior faux stone facade where water had seeped in over the years and caused plywood layer to rot. We asked for several vendors to review our detailed inspection report and take a look at the house and provide us with a proposal. Alonso was not the cheapest of the bids. In fact, they were on the higher side. However, Felipe (owner) was responsive to our initial request from day one, provide a thorough, professional proposal, responsive to my calls and answered many questions around the proposal and the work involved - which raised my comfort level that he knew what he was talking about and that he would do a good job. All the references that Felipe provided all praised him as well. He did not disappoint. He started the work on time, right away, and did a thorough job with his crew in carefully removing the faux stone layer (to be replaced later almost as if nothing had been touched), get to the rotten plywood layer, replace the insulation, plywood, put water proofing materials, and put the faux stone layer back. He took additional steps to fix other minor parts on the exterior that wasn't even on his proposal. There was no surprise in any additional cost. As Felipe promised from the beginning, he finished the project on-time, on cost proposed (with additional work thrown in), and was responsive to meet with me or call me and give me updates. Overall excellent quality of work, and much better outcome than I had anticipated. I would use him again for any future projects.

Description of Work
Repairing water damaged sections of stucco exterior walls

Category concrete repair, stucco

5.0

08/12/2011


Marlene N.

From the beginning, Felipe Alonso arrived on time, went over the facts of the job and what to expect. He gave me a detailed estimate. When the job began, they kept to the promised time frame. The workers were professional and respectful and answered all questions that I asked. They arrived within the time frame that I was told. It was very important that they keept to this schedule as I was having a graduation party and needed everything to be perfect for this special event. The price was under what I budgeted for which gave me more money for the grad party. The crew was very careful not to ruin my garden and did a fabulous job cleaning my patio. Two thumbs up!!!!!!

Description of Work
Repair concrete steps - Removed damaged concrete, replace with new. Repair stucco - Damaged wall was repaired and new stucco was installed. New paver patio - 400/sf of paver patio with sitting walls was installed.

Category concrete repair, masonry, stucco, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cook & Sons LLC

    No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Additional e-mail -cookandsonsllc@hotmail.com.  

    Black Rock Stone Company

    We are a local small family owned business. We offer high quality, personal and unique services. Since 1988, Roger Cooley's passion and details for his craftsmanship has built countless creations for his customers. Roger is very hands on and will see every project from beginning to end. Black Rock Stone Company offers Historic Restoration, Walks, Patios, Retaining walls, Fire Pits, Water falls, Columns, House fronts, Wood Ties, French drains, Grading, Hauling, Bob cat work, and Light Excavation landscapes. We offer free estimates and do New and Repair work no job is too small or too big.  

    Maryland Worx, LLC

    Plumbing and Excavation. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Offers by Maryland Worx, LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Alonso Construction Services serves the Washington Metropolitan area in the specialties of Masonry, Concrete, Stone, Brick and Hardscapes. Our clientele extends from residential, government and commercial.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alonso Construction Services, LLC

    How is Alonso Construction Services, LLC overall rated?

    Alonso Construction Services, LLC is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alonso Construction Services, LLC open?

    Alonso Construction Services, LLC is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Alonso Construction Services, LLC provide

    Alonso Construction Services, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal

    Does Alonso Construction Services, LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alonso Construction Services, LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Alonso Construction Services, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alonso Construction Services, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alonso Construction Services, LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Alonso Construction Services, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Alonso Construction Services, LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Alonso Construction Services, LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Alonso Construction Services, LLC?

    Yes, Alonso Construction Services, LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Alonso Construction Services, LLC offer?

    Alonso Construction Services, LLC offers the following services: Alonso Construction Services serves the Washington Metropolitan area in the specialties of Masonry, Concrete, Stone, Brick and Hardscapes. Our clientele extends from residential, government and commercial.