Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AG Floors

Founded 1996 • With Angi since February 2005

4.7

(392) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11600 Boiling Brook Pl

Rockville, MD 20852

Description

AG Floors is a full-service hardwood flooring company providing refinishing, installation, and cleaning services to make your floors as beautiful as new. We were founded in 1996 and since then have grown into a company with great reputation and recognition in Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Maryland. Our mission is to deliver the best service to our customers with complete satisfaction. Our promise is to make our customers happy by making their floors beautiful, and also to provide the best customer service possible throughout the process. We strive to make each experience with our company smooth and pleasant, as we know our customers drive the success of our company. Many of our customers are repeat customers or referrals because we make every effort to ensure meet your expectations and ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to working with you. Beautiful floors are only a call away! *Note* We are not related in any way to Angel Floors....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/05/2021


Bella W.

Price was reasonable and Aaron Goodman's crew were efficient. They came at 9AM and were done by 12:30PM. I was able to work from home during the installation and they were very respectful and hardworking. Aaron came at the end to personally check off on the work. I would absolutely hire them again.

Description of Work
LVP flooring installation

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/07/2020


JP C.

AG did a terrific job. They finished all of the work in one day, and the installation job is superb.

Description of Work
Replacement of carpets

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/29/2020


Terry F.

Sam and his workers have been outstanding to work with. They have been on-time, provided accurate quotes, communicated very well and done excellent work.

Description of Work
Sand, stain, refinish 3-4 rooms and hallway.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/21/2019


Lisa J.

AG Floors did a phenomenal job replacing the damaged engineered wood floors with real hardwood floors throughout. They were very flexible and responsive on scheduling, and I chose the wood stain and finish on-site to make sure they looked good in my space. The hardwoods are BEAUTIFUL -- better than I expected, and AG Floors paid attention to the little details like angled corners and the quarter rounds. They also notified me when they had a question about the subfloor. And to top it off, they finished right on schedule and just under estimated budget! Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replace hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/13/2019


Jonathan M.

AG Floors did a fantastic job and the guys were all pros. They installed, sanded, and stained new oak hardwood floors throughout my house and it looks great. I would absolutely hire them again.

Description of Work
New hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/16/2019


Sharon L.

They are wonderful. I needed three rooms refinished and a patch replaced. I asked for stain and 3 coats of Bona Traffic HD. They quoted me a good price and notified me every day when the crew would arrive, The pair arrived promptly at 8:30 and stayed until 6 or 7 each night. They removed all the heavy furniture and put it back on the last day. The floors are gorgeous. I liked that they brought several stain colors with them and tried them out on the floor, so I could choose.

Description of Work
Floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/15/2019


Armenda D.

I wanted to have all my wood floors refinished at one time. In the past, some of the floors had been refinished with a water-based solution and some refinished with an oil-based solution. AG Floors was very responsive is sending a representative to my home and providing a prompt quote. After the price and terms were negotiated and the contract signed, AG Floors provided me with written preparation instructions. Each day of the job, the workers arrived on time and worked diligently. My only regret is that AG Floors could not provide me with a sequential list of floors to be refinished in advance and the days and times the workers would arrive and leave my home. Had I been provided with the sequential list and worker schedule, I would have been better prepared to carry out my routine duties. When the work was finished, AG Floors provided me with instructions for maintaining the floors. Finally, the refinished floors look uniform and attractive.

Description of Work
Refinished Floors (4 rooms, 3 closets, and a hall) and minor defects in some of the floors

Category floor cleaning

5.0

04/09/2019


Peter H.

Great! AG was outstanding, the crew was great, and the floors look amazing! Their quote was also lower than others. AG is awesome!

Description of Work
Refinished all floors upstairs and down

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/29/2018


Cynthia B.

Impeccable!!!! That is the first adjective that comes to mind as I discuss my experience with AG Floors. After thinking about refinishing of my hardwood floors for 20 YEARS, a family friend suggested AG. Well I signed up for total refurbishing of my dismal and worn wood floors not knowing what to expect. I went away for one week to allow them the freedom to do the work and imagine my surprise upon return. I almost cried when I came into the house and saw the magnificent restored floor, even better than when the house was new in 1998. The furniture was even moved back to exact positions and every detail was handled with care and class. As I told management, the skilled craftsmen are to be commended and I will be calling AG Floors again for other properties as well as recommending them on my neighborhood's website. Thank you for the superb work, AG!

Description of Work
Sanding, refinishing, staining, and coating of 20-year-old hardwood flooring.

Category hardwood floor

1.0

11/19/2018


Stefanie M.

I scheduled an estimate to have my hardwood floors sanded and refinished. The owner (I believe) came to my house and stood in the foyer and said he couldn't do the job because of the bevels. I knew he was not being honest. I already had other estimates done and dealing with the bevels had been discussed by the other flooring professionals. I have a beautiful home and I am not sure why he failed to provide an estimate. I suspect it was due to my skin color. Interesting enough, one of the other flooring experts saw the list of companies I was getting estimates from. He was quite frank and told me which companies did good work and which ones to stay away from. He told me not to go with AG Floors because they do not do good work. So, perhaps in the end I dodged a bullet.

Description of Work
Estimates to have floors sanded and re-stained.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

07/24/2018


Chelsea K.

Communication was great with Teresa. They were able to work within our timeline with moving overseas. We reviewed all the paperwork and the house was empty for their workers. Work started on a Friday and was expected to be completed on Monday (Tuesday just in case). Sanding took two days and then on Monday no one arrived at the property until I called to see where the workers were. By 3pm they were applying the first coat of stain. At 8pm they were still at the property. We returned the following day and noted issues with the work. On Tuesday they applied the first coat of poly and Teresa informed us they wouldn’t be finishing until Thursday (Wednesday was a holiday). She said it was due to the stain color we picked (even though the company saw our color choices before starting the project. Thursday, they finished the job, but the attention to detail was lacking. They didn’t put the quarter round back on the stairs, there were areas that they missed sanding and staining, drips of polyurethane on the stairs, rough sanding areas, sanding marks and gouges in the bathroom, they sanded through the stair backing into the plywood and then stained it instead of communicating with us. We requested a worker to return and fix the issues. They did send someone to fix some of the issues, but some couldn’t be fixed (sanding marks, exposed screws, oversanding the stair riser. I wouldn’t recommend this company. They had too many jobs and thus had no attention to detail. We had a different crew each day and they often pushed us to the second job of the day. Highly disappointed.

Description of Work
Our wood flooring needed to be refinished.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/21/2018


Peter J.

Excellent job refinishing 61-year-old hardwood floors. Beautifully done quickly and with great attention to detail.

Description of Work
Refinishing hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

06/04/2018


Alison O.

The crew did an amazing job, including seamlessly replacing some boards that were stained. Final floors look beautiful.

Description of Work
Refinish all floors including stairs

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

1.0

05/05/2018


joanne G.

Horrible experience. Horrible unprofessional workman. Cut lumber inside condo without my permission. Should have cut on balcony or on first floor of condo. Did not clean up— left surfaces covered with dust. The bathroom they used was left filthy. Told me they would be finished in a week. Took a 7 1/2 days. Did not cover some of the furniture when they moved it. Did not take pictures of arrangement of furniture. Told me to come at 230 on Monday to tell them where to put furniture. Not ready when I arrived. Wasted 2 1/2 hrs of my time. Same thing Tuesday. Had me come back Wednesday morning. Still not finished. Complete lack of respect for my time and my furnishings. Damaged walls in 3 places and didn’t tell me. Still discovering nicks and chips in furniture they moved. Removed clothes from my closet (why I am not clear since we agreed that I would clean out the floors of my closet and they would put plastic over my clothes. Paid no attention to where clothes were and randomly put them back in closets. It will take me 3-4 hours to get my clothes properly arranged. Went into my personal possessions and got my step ladder and step stool and used them without persmission. Left plastic step stool in kitchen sink. After a long harangue with the owner he agreed to reimburse me for repairs to the dry wall they damaged, a maid service to clean, and my time.

Description of Work
Replace bamboo floors in condo

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Ag Floors has obtained its reputation by offering great services and giving 100% and more to our customers and their needs. We are very sorry to hear that Ms. [Member Name Removed] was not happy with our services since we went above and beyond our duty in helping with preparation, Ms. [Member Name Removed] was unable to prepare for the job, as we request from each and every customer prior to commencing work due to her physical restrictions. We took this into consideration when working on her home. Even as we went beyond to do the contracted job she was not happy of the fact that her clothes (not part of the contract) were not put back in the right order. All personal items where to be removed and put away prior to our arrival. Everything was left in place and that added time to our project which we informed Ms. [Member Name Removed] that we would need. We always request customers to be in the home to inform us where they want their furniture to be placed at the end of the project. Customer requested to be reimbursed for her personal time, cleaning services, and dry wall touch up. A discount of $650 was given to her. Upon having all her requests made she then demanded an invoice without the deductions of discounts given to her so she can submit to her insurance. Once we informed her that we would not be meeting her last demand she threaten to place a bad review on Angies List. Unfortunately we do not cave to anyone's threats or demands.

2.0

02/15/2018


Ying H.

Things went well at beginning. But the post work reviewed bad work around stairs. As suggested, we selected three coat option to get better protection. But only after a few walk through the stair already showed scratches. We trusted the company but they failed.

Description of Work
Refurnish hard floor for the whole house.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

12/18/2017


Patricia A.

It went as per contract. There were a couple small gouges left that they came almost immediately to fix, beautifully. A few other small details could have been better-like nails in shoe molding not completely nailed in, and one place where the molding piecing was not fully flush, but I could pound in the nails and the piecing was negligible. Overall I am totally satisfied. The floors were a mess before, now I just love them.

Description of Work
Refinish hardwood floors in two bedrooms, and hallway to match + shoe molding

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/11/2017


NIKI G.

Very well. AG Floors was efficient, punctual, and professional. Unlike some contractors who I worked with in the past, they paid attention to details and seemed committed to doing a thorough high-quality job. The only minor issue was that they originally estimated that it would take four to five days to complete the work, but in reality it required seven days. This was an inconvenience because I had to live elsewhere while the work was completed.

Description of Work
Replacement of water-damaged hardwood floors in one half of a room, sanding and refinishing of all existing and new wood floors.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

10/30/2017


Jula K.

They did a beautiful job and we are extremely pleased with the quality of the work and the professionalism of the staff.

Description of Work
AG Floors refinished the hardwood floors on the main level in our home.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

09/12/2017


CAROL M.

They did a fantastic job! I would definitely hire them again. The floors are beautiful. The company is very responsive, called immediately if there were changes to the quoted price (there were some minor additions to the work needed once we pulled up the carpet)

Description of Work
AG Floors removed the carpet and refinished the hardwood floors in my new house.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

09/09/2017


Martine K.

Went well and Teresa was very helpful in answering my questions, scheduling the appointment, and following up with the team on items that came up. The team was very punctual and they finished the work when they said they would. Floors came out great, love the color. I was also impressed that I was able to get an estimate during the estimate visit, which made it easy to pick them since I was working against a deadline. Other firms were sending me the estimate 3-4 days after the visit.

Description of Work
I had floors refinished.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

09/02/2017


ron M.

Before writing a review I like to wait a few month to make sure everything shakes out OK. I am simply delighted with how well the floors turned out. AG Floors was about $1000 less than my 2 other estimates and they did a fabulous job. It's been 8 months and I have had no issues or anything to complain about. The house was SPOTLESS when they were done. It did not even dawn on me that there would be a great deal of dust. Several weeks after the work I found 1 window sill and part of 1 closet that had a layer of dust on them that had not been cleaned when they finished. I am actually quite glad they missed cleaning those areas, because knowing how dusty things must have been when they finished made me appreciate how thoroughly they had cleaned up after themselves. I am truly impressed with both the work that was done and the cleanup after the completion of the work. Had I known, there is one thing I would have changed. Previously the house had had wall to wall carpeting. The original owner had put screws into a number of places to get rid of squeaks. I prefer the wood look so removed all the carpeting and all the screws. AG Floors did a very good job of filling in all the screw holes with wood putty. My only dissatisfaction (and it is a very small one) is that the wood putty shrinks when it dries and leaves a dimple. Perhaps a different wood putty, or taking a 2 day break and refilling the holes again to achieve a flat fill? Just a thought, but probable quite impractical. Very happy with the work and price and from my experience I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Floors refinished on a 1954 rambler.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

1.0

08/21/2017


Amanda B.

What a horrible experience. I was initially very impressed with the work AG Floors had done. They were very responsive and the floors looked beautiful. After a couple weeks both my sons developed bad coughs - in fact, one developed croup. At the same time, we heard a weird humming sound that we thought was an HVAC issue, so we called our HVAC company. After an initial inspection, the HVAC tech was able to solve the humming problem but discovered that all three of our HVAC units were filthy and the ducts had a thick layer of light colored dust all throughout. In fact, the filters he pulled out were absolutely CAKED in light colored dust. He advised us that the floor refinishers had left our HVAC units on during the sanding process and all that dust they had understandably kicked up during their work had been doing were sucked into the HVAC units. He said HVAC units should NEVER be on during such sanding. I called another HVAC company and they came, inspected, and said the exact same thing - that it was clear that the floor refinishers had not turned off the units. I immediately had the second company clean all our ducts out and service our units - I couldn't believe we had been breathing in this air and I was furious that the techs from AG Floors had not known to turn off the units. I called the company and voiced my complaints with a supervisor who was very rude and told me that it is a dusty job and that the instructions warned that there would be dust kicked up. I said that I accepted that OF COURSE dust will be kicked up, and yes, I had read the warning about dust, but if the HVAC units were off the dust would not have been sucked up into the systems and then been spewing out the dirty air that we were breathing. She was wholly unsympathetic even after I told her that my small children had been coughing. She said the owner would call me back, which he did. He also said sorry, but that's the nature of the job - it's dusty, you have a big house, and that's what we tell people ahead of time. Again, I did not disagree that dust would be kicked up but when two separate HVAC companies tell you that it is clear in their professional opinion that the HVAC units were left on, they should not have been, and they sucked up an abnormal amount of dust, this is a problem. He was so rude and dismissive - I was APPALLED. He asked me what I proposed as a remedy and I said he should pay for my HVAC cleaning. He laughed and flatly refused. I am a pretty easygoing person and usually don't make a fuss when things go wrong with contractors because, hey, no one's 100%. But when a company makes an error of this magnitude and fails to fix it, this is just bad business. I will never use this company again and will never recommend it to anyone.

Description of Work
Floor refinishing.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/21/2017


L J R.

They did an great job. They did when I wasn't around the house. They had a good price. The work was superb. I love looking at at the floor everyday. I wasn't even here when they did the work.

Description of Work
They did the resurfacing of the floor, and put new floor in the entry way.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

08/15/2017


Punam S.

A rep came to measure my home. She was on time and polite. However, she knew little about the process, immediately said repairs could not be done and that all flooring would have to be replaced. (Several other confirmed this is not true.) She couldn't speak to types of wood they had or stains, or the process. She was annoyed I was asking questions, which surprised me. Finally she gave me a ballpark figure and said a detailed quote would be emailed to me explaining what's included in the service. Companies vary in what they'll include, like replacing/restaining flooring under appliances, baseboard repair, etc. A week later, I got a 2 sentence quote for a different size and color wood than what I had requested. The quote didn't specify what was included other than "installation, labor, and materials." It was several thousand higher than what the lady who measured my place said it would be. They offered no explanation of their products and services, gave conflicting estimates, didn't listen to what i had asked for, and couldn't even show photos of previous jobs. I don't understand why they're so highly rated on Angies List. I would not use this company.

Description of Work
I needed my hardwood floors repaired in certain areas and have the entire home sanded and refinished with a different stain. This would mean also replacing some of the baseboards and all of the shoe moulding.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/15/2017


Robert G.

It went great. From the first meeting to get a quote down to when the workers 1st arrived to begin work.

Description of Work
Wood Floor restoration

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jamb contractor

     

    CAS Landscape Services LLC

    We do interior painting for houses and apartments, as well as landscaping and landscape design. My partner and I are dedicated to giving our customers the best results for our services in a timely manner. Craig Strasbourger, the owner, has degrees in interior design, fine arts, horticulture, landscape design, and agribusiness management.  

    Potts Brothers LLC

    Interior & exterior painting, kitchen, bathrooms & basement remodeling. Award winning. New in 2019 home elevators We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Hardwood Flooring Sales, Installation, Refinishing including unfinished, pre-finished, domestic, and exotic wood. We also provide services for all types of flooring including laminate, carpet, and cork.

    Services Not Offered

    Vinyl or Tile

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AG Floors

    How is AG Floors overall rated?

    AG Floors is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are AG Floors open?

    AG Floors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 11:30 AM

    What payment options does AG Floors provide

    AG Floors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does AG Floors offer free estimates?

    Yes, AG Floors offers free project estimates.

    Does AG Floors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AG Floors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AG Floors offer a senior discount?

    No, AG Floors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AG Floors?

    No, AG Floors does not offer warranties.

    What services does AG Floors offer?

    AG Floors offers the following services: Hardwood Flooring Sales, Installation, Refinishing including unfinished, pre-finished, domestic, and exotic wood. We also provide services for all types of flooring including laminate, carpet, and cork.

    Are there any services AG Floors does not offer?

    Vinyl or Tile