Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hiram Grace Contracting

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2011

We are a compete home improvement provider.This simply means that we have trained professionals to skillfully take care all your home improvement needs. We do over 85% of the work in-house, cutting out the subcontractor's added price.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

1.8

(11) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews
Robert M.
1.0
06/11/2014
Work started around March 4th and was to take 2 weeks. It now has been 3 months and nothing is finished (e.g. warped wood on deck and fence-replace flooring in small office-plaster board and moldings need to be installed-rooms painted and deck and fence sealed). Contractor has promised to finish numerous times (e.g. at least 10 since May 1st) and has not kept his promise including numerous times where he stated he would show up to finish the job and was a no show. He has admitted that he took on too many projects and over-extended himself yet our project remains unfinished and we have to get another contractor to finish up. Apparently the $1000 remaining to be paid is not an inducement to finish the project
Description of Work
Was to install/seal fence and deck, create small office in home and install Bow window
Category
handyman service
Lee F.
1.0
11/26/2013
We bought a Goupon from this company to try out their painting services. We contacted them prior to puchasing the coupon to see if we could get on their schedule within the following two weeks. They said yes. They guarranteed us a time within two weeks. We purchased the groupon and then tried to schedule our appoinment. We left several voice mails and emails and didn't hear back from the company for over a week and a half. Finally we reached them (we called them) and asked if we could get on their schedule. They said they would get back to us. They claimed they were very busy. Another week and a half went by and still not response. Again we were able to conact them by luck when they picked up the phone. We asked if they were ever planning on coming out and they said they would have to get back to us. At that point we contacted Groupon and got our money back. The price was pretty low and I feel it was a bait and switch. I believe that this company was waiting until they didn't have any work one day to come out and paint on their schedule not ours. It's too bad. If they had come out and done a decent job I would have hired them to do more work. As it was we spent $4,000 to paint a good portion of our house and in the end they lost out on a good job.
Description of Work
Interior Painting
Category
handyman service, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We are not claiming to be busy.We are very busy,And we are sorry that we could not get to [Member name removed] but we have thousands of faith customers who have experienced the professionalism and craftsmanship in our work and they will always be our first priority.
Brian P.
1.0
11/19/2013
Purchased voucher July 2013 and attempted to schedule an appointment Aug 2013. Made several calls in the attempt to make an appointment and was not successful. Every call went into a voicemail that didn't even identify the business. I saw this as a bad sign and unprofessional. Predictably, I was never called back despite leaving several messages asking for my call to be returned so I can make an appointment. After researching this so called "business" online, I saw bad reviews were written on just about every website that caters to reviews. I decided to try to get a refund through Living Social. Living Social opened a case and after almost 3 weeks, Living Social got back to me stating a refund will not be honored because they were able to get a hold of the contractor and they stated they were honoring vouchers. I called the contractor again and finally got a hold of someone. We made an appointment for power washing at my house on 10/19 a week in advance. I called the day before the appointment to reconfirm. I got a hold of "Kevin" I believe and he confirmed he will be there for the appointment despite rain in the forecast. Needless to say, contractor never showed at 9am. I tried to call the contractor and he didn't pick up his phone or call me back. I was completely blown off. I ended up disputing the charge on my credit card for the voucher. This has to be the worst transaction of any kind I've been through and the most unprofessional and incompetent businesses I've ever dealt with. Not surprising considering the other reviews on Angie's List, other websites (Google, Yelp) and an actual "F" rating from the Maryland Better Business Bureau,
Description of Work
Purchased Living Social voucher that covered 2000 square feet of power washing.
Category
decks
Sharon O.
4.0
08/24/2013
He pressure washed the exterior of my house, as well as my gutters and roof. He seemed very nice and was always courteous. He also pointed out some needed repairs that he noticed about my home.
Description of Work
The provider pressure washed the exterior of my house, roof and gutters.
Category
handyman service
Michael B.
1.0
08/08/2012
*UPDATE -- I have an update to my report submitted on Angie's List yesterday (8/7/12). I emailed Kevin yesterday to voice my displeasure with him and how I was disappointed in his unprofessionalism. He responded...below is a copy of our unedited email exchange. Never once did I get an apology. And the fact that he calls me "irate" and "raving" is a joke. I never left him a voicemail or sent any other email besides what is posted below. Complete unprofessionalism. ---------- Forwarded message ----------From: Kevin Smith Date: Tuesday, August 7, 2012Subject: DealFind -- interior painting neededTo: Mike I am glad you are getting a refund,however,I am just letting you know that we get work on the quality and craftsmenship we provide real clients.Not by irate ravings of a coupon customers posting on the internet. Kevin --- On Tue, 8/7/12, Mike wrotewrote: From: Mike Subject: Re: DealFind -- interior painting needed To: "Kevin Smith" < hiramgrace01@yahoo.com> Date: Tuesday, August 7, 2012, 3:42 PM Kevin, I just wanted to let you know how disappointed I am with you and your company. I scheduled this appt almost 3 weeks in advance with you. I took the day off work yesterday, cleared out the bathrooms so that they'd be ready to be painted, and then waited all day. You didn't even have the decency or common courtesy to call or email me. That's just really poor customer service. While I realize that I only paid $98 for 6 hours of service, I only needed a 1/2 bath and a very small full bath painted....I wasn't asking for you guys to complete a big project for me on the cheap. Anyway, I've asked DealFind for a refund and will be sure to let people know on the Internet about your company. -Mike
Description of Work
None - they didn't show up.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

This is the point I am making.What is driving you tpo continue to respond.It was only $98.00 With the qualily of the service we provide we start painting bathrooms at $500.00 Member you do the math.
Michael B.
1.0
08/07/2012
Looks like this is a common theme here. I also purchased 2 DealFind vouchers almost a year ago for $49 each for 3 hours of handyman service. I called Kevin months ago to try and schedule a paint job (I needed 2 small bathrooms painted). It was very difficult to reach him. When I finally did reach him, they were booked and couldn't do anything anytime soon. I told him we were in no huge rush since this DealFind special never expired, and that I'd just call him in a few months when things slow down for him and for me (since I was going to be traveling for work, etc.). When I called him a few weeks ago (which was about 4 months from when we last spoke), we finally scheduled the paint job. He also confirmed via email the day and time this was to be done (which was supposed to be yesterday). So yesterday rolls around and nobody is at my home at 9am. I must have called him 6 or 7 times during the day...no answer. I also texted him and emailed him (as his voice message says email is his preferred method of communication)....no replies. So I basically took the day off of work, prepped both bathrooms at 8am (completely cleared them out so they were ready to be painted), and sat and waited for Kevin all day. Now I'm trying to get a refund from DealFind but they'll only give me a credit which I do not want. I'm pretty shocked at the unprofessionalism Kevin has displayed...not sure how he can stay in business if he keeps this up. I felt I was very fair and patient with him and it's not like I was trying to get him to do a major job on that discounted price (1/2 bath and very small hall/full bath).
Description of Work
None...they never showed up.
Category
contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, decks, drywall, fencing, flooring contractor, picture framing, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, hardwood floor, landscaping, remodeling, roofing, wallpaper removal
Robin G.
1.0
07/14/2012
Purchased two vouchers for 3 hours of handyman services from Dealfind for $49.00 each voucher. When they finally responded to numerous email attempts to make the appointment, the appointment was for 7/11/12 at 9AM to have some wallpaper stripped. My boyfriend stayed home from work to wait for the contractor to arrive. 9AM came and went and no contractor. He called them at 9:30 and they said "oh, I thought the appointment was for 1PM." We had the email from them saying 9AM but we were like fine, see you at 1. No one showed. We called the company but when you call, you get a message to send them an email because of high call volume. I tried back at about 6PM and finally had someone actually answer the phone. They said "honestly, you should request a refund from Dealfind because we're just too busy to make the appointment." When we said we'd still like them to come out and do the work they advised that they "didn't need my money because they had plenty of money." Obviously, I can't attest to the quality of their work because they never actually did any. Clearly my business wasn't important to this company and I'd recommend that if you're looking for a professional contracting company that will treat you as a respected customer, look somewhere else. I'm going to assume that the contractor is responding to another disatisfied customer below because we did NOT call anyone from his company a piece of s^#t. We told him that we would be sure to let all of our friends know not to use his company.
Description of Work
No work performed. Contractor didn't show up to do the work.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

We are a very professional company;however I will not allow any of my employees be disrespected by any customer by calling them a piece of shit.Therefore we refuse to work for such customers.And advised them that they would be fully refunded by contacting dealfind.
Deborah W.
1.0
03/28/2012
Found this company through DealFind. My initial attempts to contact the company via phone and emai were unsuccessful. FIRST FLAG! Recent attempts over the past two weeks have also been unsuccessful. No response at one phone number, and a recorded message to send an email at the second phone number. Three weeks later, still no response.
Description of Work
None.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

We receive hundreds of calls a day, in addition to the dealfind campaign customers.We apologize for not responding to every call however,we are in businees to prvide a service and to profit.Therefore we have to evaluate every prospective customer and the cost effectiveness of responding.,And every dealfind customer is advise to get a refund if can not provide service to them..And finally our work speaks volumes as to the craftsmenship ,professionalism,and attention to detail we give to every customer we serve.
Cecilia M.
1.0
02/16/2012
I have been the unwitting recipient of extremely rude behavior, unresponsiveness to phone calls, and overall poor customer service from this company. I purchased a Dealfind voucher (have since unsubscribed from Dealfind) to have Hiram Grace do some handyman work. First of all, they don't take phonecalls at either number, instead there is a voicemail message telling you to email them. I was finally able to arrange an appointment (months later), which Mr Kevin Smith confirmed by email. The day of the appointment, no one shows, I try to call, email, finally get a call from Mr Smith saying he can't send anyone over and that I need to contact Dealfind for a refund. When I ask to reschedule and tell him that I've taken the day off of work for this appointment, he responds "I'm a 2 million dollar company and I can't be bothered with piddly customers like you." Needless to say, I am horrified and appalled at this kind of behavior. Have submitted a formal complaint with Better Business Bureau and would suggest that Angie's List reconsider including this company on their roster.
Description of Work
Work was never performed, no one showed.
Category
gutter repair, handyman service
Esther P.
1.0
12/05/2011
An appointment was set up and they never showed up and never contacted me.
Description of Work
Was supposed to have window and gutter cleaning through DealFind
Category
handyman service
Joellen F.
1.0
09/23/2011
Kevin F. Smith was referred by a church member in Virginia Beach, VA. I met with Kevin several times to complete plans for new windows, style, size ect. for a sunroom. After paying Kevin one third down and cost of Windows to order, I waited for his availability. Planning had started in April of 2011, but final decisions were concluded in May 2011. He said he would be available by mid-July. After waiting for his call to start work, I finally called him July 15, 2011. He stated he was still busy in Maryland and would call when available. No call ever came. He would not take my calls, nor return any phone calls. Mr. Smith has taken my $3600.00 and has deceived me. No windows were ever ordered. Criminal charges are being put in place against Mr. Smith. I also learned from other church members he has attempted to scam others. He has a valid Virginia Contractors License, 2011. Do Not Hire!
Description of Work
No service performed.
Category
contractors, remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

Closet America, LLC

Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

Angi Certified

CHESAPEAKE CLOSETS

In 1987, Chesapeake Closets was launched with a vision of creating a new kind of storage-and-organization company. We are proud to say that Chesapeake Closets is locally owned and operated and are a family business. Please call our local office today to schedule your free estimate: 410-823-7342  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

J.G. Benhoff LLC

JG Benhoff, LLC is a Carroll County based asphalt and concrete paving contractor.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

201 Poplar Ridge Court #31

Owning Mills, MD 21117

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

heavy plumbing,electrical,heating and air, carpet installation.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Hiram Grace Contracting is currently rated 1.8 overall out of 5.

Hiram Grace Contracting is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Hiram Grace Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Ask Hiram Grace Contracting for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Hiram Grace Contracting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Hiram Grace Contracting offers emergency services.

Yes, Hiram Grace Contracting offers warranties.

Hiram Grace Contracting offers the following services: We do rough and finished carpentry,hardwood and ceramic flooring,complete remodeling ,additions,painting,decks ,widow installations,roofing,siding

heavy plumbing,electrical,heating and air, carpet installation.