Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bear Landscaping Inc

Founded 1989 • With Angi since March 2005

Locally owned & operated.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
5%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(41) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
Timothy L.
5.0
10/17/2017
They did an excellent job and it was done on time and for the negotiated price. Some time later, one of the stones started to disintegrate. We called Russell and made arrangements for the repairs. They repaired the faulty stone as well as touched up several other small defects we weren't even concerned about. I would highly recommend them for any outdoor task.
Description of Work
We had Bear put a bluestone front walkway in.
Category
concrete repair, hardscaping
Karen S.
5.0
08/14/2017
They are excellent, outstanding, perfect, wonderful. They did an outstanding job. It was absolutely amazing and I don't think I have ever been as impressed before. They so wowed me. I couldn't believe they accomplished all that.
Description of Work
Landscaping
Category
landscaping
Patrick M.
5.0
01/22/2017
Bear and his crew did an exceptional job. Bear himself was very responsive with his communication. The crew arrived on time and quickly got to work. Some of their machinery was as large as my front yard, but they were able to get in and out without damaging my sidewalk and steps. Although the pine tree they removed was about 7 feed from my house, there was absolutely no damage. To top it off, I dropped my Ray Ban sunglasses in the yard on my way to work. When I returned, my sunglasses were safely left on my front porch. I was particularly impressed with this honesty.
Description of Work
I had two trees removed from my small front yard. One was an enormous pine tree (70-100 feet tall) that was about 26" in diameter and split into two trunks about 20 feet up. This pine tree was about 7 feet away from my house. The other was a 14" diameter Norway spruce. Both stumps were ground.
Category
tree service
Mary K.
1.0
08/26/2016
The owner came out to my home and measured and gave me an estimate for pavers. It was a lot more than I had planned to spend, so I asked for a breakdown. I wanted to know how much of the cost was for labor, how much for supplies, how much was it to remove the old porch, how much for each thing we had discussed. You know, just a general breakdown of what I would be paying for. I asked three times. On the 3rd request, he said to give him a few days to break it down. It has been over a week. While Russell showed up on time for the appointment, he is unresponsive to my emails requesting more information. I don't know what planet he thinks we are living on, but I'm not handing someone $12,000 without knowing exactly what I'm paying for, I need more detail an overall number. I have many decisions to make, such as whether to go with pavers or something cheaper, perhaps to scale back the size, and other things, but without a better understanding of what Bear Landscaping charges for things, I cannot make these decisions. I'm very disappointed since Bear Landscaping was recommended by the company that installed my deck. They might do quality work at a reasonable price, but it seems they don't want to let me figure out whether they are quoting me a reasonable price!
Description of Work
Estimate for front porch and patio done in pavers.
Category
hardscaping
Susan P.
5.0
10/10/2015
showed up at scheduled time, job well done
Description of Work
Trimmed many dead tree limbs from very tall trees, removed trees
Category
tree service
adriana P.
5.0
09/24/2015
Bear did the job quickly and efficiently. They did great work as usual.
Description of Work
Removed enormous dead tree
Category
landscaping, tree service
Donald G.
5.0
04/07/2015
This is the second time we have used Bear Landscaping, and have had an excellent experience both times. They do the job with real professionalism and leave the property neat as a pin. I can't image a better job being done. Will definitely use again in the future. If you need tree service, they are the ones to call.
Description of Work
We had a dozen trees that needed trimmed and cleaned out.
Category
tree service
ADRIAN C.
5.0
11/08/2014
Went very well. They were punctual and professional both with the estimate and with the service. They limbed up and trimmed and then cleaned up everything as per the contract.
Description of Work
They limbed up and chipped limbs and from 3 big trees that had never been limbed before ( we've lived here for over 30 years!), and they did a thorough job of it. They also trimmed bushes in the front yard and cleaned up all branches, and leaves etc. Finished the job in about 6 hrs. for 1/3rd down, the rest due upon job completion.
Category
lawn service, leaf removal, tree service
Esther M.
5.0
10/03/2014
The Bear team was very efficient and professional. They arrived pretty much on time, give or take 30 minutes from the agreed time. They came in with their trucks, lift, and equipment and took out overgrown trees and bushes. They also trimmed up a few of our trees. The look afterward was amazing. A true transformation. They have done other work for us and we will continue to use them as we relandscape the front of our house.
Description of Work
Cut down a couple of large trees and two bushes; trimmed trees
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Deborah S.
5.0
09/26/2014
The tree trimmings went very well. Russell Bear came within a day or two to give an estimate. He was able to schedule the work to begin within 10 days of giving us the estimate. Russell gave us an agreement for our neighbor to sign stating which steps would be taking in trimming the neighbors tree. The crew showed up on time, Russell came within a few minutes to show the crew what he wanted them to do. The crew was very nice and professional. They cleaned up the yard and driveway, stacked the wood where we wanted it. We would use Bear Landscaping again.
Description of Work
Our neighbors leaning/up rooted oak tree was hanging over our fence and house. We requested any branches that hung onto our property be trimmed back. We also needed an oak tree on our property trimmed of dead branches and a branch that hung over the house be removed. We received a very reasonable estimate from Bear Landscaping. We had three companies gives us estimates.
Category
tree service
Jeff W.
5.0
08/22/2014
Have used Bear Landscaping in the past for firewood, and noticed they did dumpster service too. Call and got a price, which was the same as other providers -- however, they were able to deliver it exactly when we needed the dumpster. Was picked up, nice enough to bring boards to help protect the driveway. Went perfect.
Description of Work
Dumpster Service
Category
tree service
Paul F.
5.0
08/15/2014
They are Great! Quick response, great work, always exceeding expectations at a good price
Description of Work
Over the last year they have removed numerous dead trees and other land improvements
Category
tree service
jeffrey D.
5.0
06/24/2014
Prompt service and quality workmanship resulted in a unique and welcome addition to our existing patio. Russell was on top of the job from the design phase thru completion. We will look to Bear for any future landscaping needs.
Description of Work
Patio extension.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Kristi M.
5.0
05/26/2014
Crew showed up promptly, using a crane to take down the top portion of the oak tree and had a shredder to grind the smaller branches down. Heavy rain forced a delay, and a smaller crew came back one week later to complete the work. Russell Bear came out the first day to check on his crew and called me later to apologize for the rain delay. Note that the actual quoted price was $1725 but I received a discount with an Angie's list coupon. Having had tree work done in the past by a now defunct firm, I felt the price was quite reasonable. I would definitely use Bear Landscaping again for tree work. I also got a quote from Bear Landscaping for the replacement of my asphalt driveway with paving stones, along with the creation of two short terrace walls to prevent an erosion issue alongside the driveway. The Bear Landscaping quote came in $4,000 more than a competitor's bid.
Description of Work
One very large oak tree and a mulberry tree were taken down, and both those stumps plus the stumps remaining from an old cedar and a cherry tree were ground down. At my request, most of the wood was left.
Category
landscaping, tree service, hardscaping
Kara R.
5.0
05/01/2014
They were great. The project was great. Working with them is so easy.
Description of Work
They did my front bed with plants and a self watering feature.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service
Jennifer R.
5.0
04/07/2014
Very professional. Showed up on time and started working right away, job completed in under 4hrs. Large pine tree with cracked trunk removed. Cracked limb and superficial roots from mulberry tree removed. 2 stumps ground. Everything hauled away. Dead tree behind property cut down and left in woods per agreement. Section of fence removed for access to backyard then replaced before leaving. Owner Russell seems very knowledgeable. He came for estimate and pointed out safety concerns that no one else had. He also worked along side his staff. Appt scheduled within a week of estimate. Estimate gave detailed explanation of planned work. Good price (I obtained 6 different estimates). I will definitely use again.
Description of Work
Tree Removal
Category
tree service
Joan K.
5.0
04/04/2014
The service was great. The guys showed up on time. Started working immediately. Very hard workers and knew what they were doing. They had to dig up 12 year old bushes by hand, the roots were huge, and yet they had no problems with them at all. Very impressed with their work ethics. They took exactly 30 minutes for a lunch break and then went right back to work. Highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Cleaned up leaves, weeded, trimmed trees, removed dead bushes and planted new ones.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, tree service
Dennis H.
5.0
02/25/2014
Two were huge oaks and the third was a very tall pine tree hanging over a neighbor's yard. Because of the septic system, they could not use their large trucks with extendible buckets on them but had to climb and bring down the trees by hand. They completed the work when promised and cleaned everything up very well. I recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They removed three trees, grinding the stump of one nearest the house.
Category
tree service
Patricia D.
5.0
09/25/2013
Had four workman. Were finished in six hours. All debris removed. No problems. The owner came and checked out their work. I have no complaints. They did all that was asked.
Description of Work
Took one large tree, that was showing rot, down, trimmed 5 large trees to allow more sun in our yard, trimmed multiple other trees, removed all trunks, limbs, leaves and cleaned up all debris. Also shored up one tree that is leaning too much.
Category
leaf removal, tree service
Patricia F.
5.0
08/12/2013
They did a very good job. They were punctual and professional and cleaned up afterwards. Their prices compared favorably to other estimates.
Description of Work
Bear Landscaping took down several very tall trees that were close to the house, thinned and pruned other trees, removed stumps, and trimmed a large holly hedge.
Category
tree service
Kathleen D.
5.0
06/05/2013
It went very smoothly. And the worker were very courteous.
Description of Work
Cut down 2 dead trees-over 40 feet tall and left very, very short stumps. Cut off one trunk on a doubled truck oak tree-over 50 feet. Removed overhanging branches and removed all debris.
Category
tree service
David C.
5.0
10/23/2012
Russ Bear came out on Monday (same day I called for the estimate), Looked over the job and quoted me $150.00 which was the same as an earlier quote from a "no-show/no-work performed" company. Agreed on the price and Russ said he could have a crew at my house the next day. The next morning around 8 a.m. Russ called and said the crew would be there in 15 minutes. The crew arrived as planned and the crew of 2 men proceeded immediately to do their job. One man, the crew-chief/climber got right to work getting up into the tree and the 2nd man brought in additional tools and set them up. All work was performed and cleaned up. Wife had found a 10% coupon in "the consumers eye" the night before the service, so it ended up costing me $135.00.
Description of Work
Removed an approximate 15 foot Maple branch from an Oak tree. Branch had been stuck in the tree from a previous storm. Removed other loose/dry branches in tree. Cut up large branch, picked up and removed all twigs, blew and cleaned up ALL leaves/mess from the job.
Category
leaf removal, tree service
Marjorie B.
5.0
05/24/2012
It went very well even though there were power lines, and other big trees surrounding the pine and it was located fairly close to two houses with a fenced yard. They were very professional and did an expert job. They also did a good job of cleaning up afterward. I would definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
They removed a very large white pine tree (which had developed a serious lean), from my back yard. It was the biggest thing in the yard, I would say at least 60 ft. tall.
Category
tree service
Jonathan M.
5.0
10/17/2011
Russell came out and walked through the yard with us, making notes as he went. He took a thorough look at everything we wanted done, and gave suggestions for solutions that would work for the problems we had. We had to ask them to come and do the removal work early so that the siding could be put up. Even though it meant he had to split the crew, Russell made arrangements for half his crew to come out and remove the front plants and do all the trimming. There was a surcharge added for the extra day, but it was only $250. Very reasonable, I thought, since it was kind of last minute and meant more gas and equipment use for the company. The crew came out on the first day and got all of the removal and trimming done. They were very good about checking with us what we wanted to keep, and making sure they weren't removing plants we wanted to keep. Some of the trimming was a little more severe than I expected, but everything looks healthy and cared for now. About a week later, they came back to do the plantings. We didn't specify what plants we wanted; rather Russell made some suggestions in the proposal. I loved his vision, so made no changes in his plans. He observed that our plantings all were green with hints of red (red maple, holly tree). He continued that green and red theme in the plantings, with bushes that have the green and red, and some that even change colors as the seasons change. The only exception are some yellow day lilies, that give a pleasing pop of a different color. We also spoke with Russell about some problems we are having with drainage from our sump pump. He came up with a solution that could be done that day, and only added a couple of hundred to the estimate. The solution worked, but not entirely. When he came out to make an adjustment on the drip line water timer, he suggested extended the pipe further out, so it drains out our driveway instead of our neighbor's. He also suggested a solution for the drainage problem from the other sump pump, that is turning our back yard into an unusable swamp. We have a proposal for that work which is just waiting our signature and a down payment - and we will definitely have Bear Landscaping do the work.
Description of Work
We had several dead trees removed, other trees trimmed. We had plants torn out in the front and replaced with other plants. We had a lot of trimming of bushes in the back and on the sides of the house. We had ivy removed from the top of the hill in our back yard, and out of the trees there. We also had some overgrowth of vines removed.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Robert L.
5.0
09/19/2011
Quick service, exactly as I wanted.
Description of Work
They built a retaining wall, installed underground drains and sloped land away from my foundation.
Category
landscaping, drain pipe

Phone

Address

8116 Veterans Hwy

Millersville, MD 21108

Other Information

Services offered

Residential and commercial landscape, hard scape, ground maintenance and installations, tree removal, pruning, stump grinding, lot clearing, concrete, bobcat, dumpster roll.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check

FAQ

Bear Landscaping Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Bear Landscaping Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Bear Landscaping Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, Bear Landscaping Inc offers free project estimates.

No, Bear Landscaping Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bear Landscaping Inc does not offer a senior discount.

No, Bear Landscaping Inc does not offer warranties.

Bear Landscaping Inc offers the following services: Residential and commercial landscape, hard scape, ground maintenance and installations, tree removal, pruning, stump grinding, lot clearing, concrete, bobcat, dumpster roll.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Value Dry is committed to never stop fighting the damaging effects of moisture and poor air quality in your home. We transform wet basements and musty crawl spaces into dry, useful space through basement waterproofing and crawl space encapsulation. We have more than 20 years of basement waterproofing experience with the best lifetime warranty in the DC/Baltimore area. Plus, more than 10 years of experience in crawl space encapsulation and conditioning. Our services include sump installation and replacement, battery back up sump pumps, foundation waterproofing, vapor barriers, humidity/ventilation control, outside stairwell drains, window well drains, egress windows, insulation, and foundation repair. We are conveniently located between the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. beltways and our service range covers Maryland, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and southern Delaware. Our entire team, from our call center staff to our inspectors and installers, is fully committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service and protecting your biggest investment, your home. Our work is backed by a lifetime transferable warranty and a 24/7 service team. We are very proud of the reputation that we have built through online reviews, within our industry, and among our customers. Give us a call at (888) 768-2583 to schedule a free consultation or if you have any questions.  

Maryland Lighting and Sprinklers is a local veteran owned company that services both residential and commercial customers. From service to installation we are the leading company for irrigation, and outdoor lighting. We offer 24hr service for all irrigation customers as well.  

Jd Landscaping

5.0

(7)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Jd Landscaping

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in gardening and landscaping services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!