Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bailey & Shipp Electric

Founded 2010 • With Angi since February 2011

Bailey & Shipp Electric prides itself with a high quality of service. Focusing on our customers needs, we will go above and beyond to be sure of their satisfaction. The owners of Bailey & Shipp Electric hold a masters license for the State of Maryland,Virginia and District of Columbia.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(417) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 417 reviews
Paula M.
5.0
10/23/2018
It went well. We were pleased with the service and hired them to redo the electric wiring of our business.
Description of Work
replace ceiling fan
Category
electrician, lighting
Bonnie C.
5.0
07/10/2018
Perfectly in every way. The crew was punctual, courteous, and professional.
Description of Work
Fluorescent lighting fixtures repaired and two installed.
Category
electrician
Pauline C.
5.0
05/16/2018
Very professional and friendly. Arrived on time. Excellent workmanship!
Description of Work
New recessed & pendant lights with dimmer switches.
Category
electrician, lighting
Stephanie R.
5.0
03/24/2018
For the rewiring, the communication was not good. They left the first day and some of the work wasn't complete and some problems were created from the work they did. They came back and finished everything well. Additional costs were not discussed and were higher than anticipated. For the new fixture everything was great.
Description of Work
I had rewiring done at one house and a new fixture installed at the other house
Category
electrician
Dunia A.
5.0
03/21/2018
B&S installed 6 recessed lights with dimmers in our living room. They were punctual, clean, friendly, and very informative about the entire process. They asked my input on the location of the lights in the ceiling before they made holes, which I appreciated! The lights look great. The only downside was the number of holes (4) they had to make in order to rewire. They covered it up okay with square white box covers that blend in fairly well with the ceiling and wall paint. Also, we opted out of the LED upgrade, but when we turned the lights on they started flickering after about a minute or so. I called B&S a couple of weeks later and they sent someone out to see what the problem was. They were very helpful and didn't charge us for the visit. The fix was to replace with LED bulbs, which we purchased ourselves from Costco. It seems that the regular lights weren't the most practical choice. Would definitely use B&S for another electrical job!
Description of Work
Recessed lights
Category
electrician, lighting
Martin S.
4.0
03/19/2018
Work was done to satisfactory quality.
Description of Work
Recess light installation
Category
electrician
Pierre P.
5.0
02/13/2018
Very good, with excellent planning (location of fixtures), excellent communication of options and impacts. Note that this type of installation does sometimes require cutting into walls or ceilings, and plaster repair is not included in the work they do.
Description of Work
Overall, they did a good job with planning and installation.
Category
electrician, lighting
coral C.
5.0
02/13/2018
They replaced the smoke detector with no problem. Had a little problem with the outlet but the were well prepared and replaced the cover blocking out he draught. Overall, perhaps paid more than a 20 minutes job but worth it for the peace of mind. Both workers very professional, friendly, neat workers. Would definitely use again once I figure out the jobs I need completed.
Description of Work
Replace hardwired smoke detector and check wall outlets
Category
electrician, home security systems
Marquis P.
5.0
12/22/2017
Great service and very professional. He even explained the difference between LED and regular lights and the savings that could be involved. Would definitely recommend.
Description of Work
Installation of two recessed lights
Category
electrician, lighting
George P.
5.0
12/20/2017
Fine! I'm satisfied with performance.
Description of Work
Installation of 10 recess lights.
Category
electrician
Carolyn K.
5.0
12/08/2017
The work was outstanding. David made sure to check the location of the lights with templates before cutting holes in the ceiling, did his best to minimize the number of holes that needed to be cut to get electricity to the location, saved the holes of drywall that he cut out for later patching, and covered the holes with plates to leave a clean appearance. He could not have been nicer. He was a bit late the first day due to traffic, but around here, that's to be expected. He patiently waited for me to finish a phone call so he could get started. He tried to problem solve another light replacement. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They added overhead lights where there previously not any.
Category
electrician, lighting
CHRIS J.
5.0
11/27/2017
we have had them out for several jobs, recessed lights, outlets, fixtures, new wiring. great job, all the employees we have had dealings with have been fantastic. both on site and in the office.
Description of Work
outlets, lights, replacing and new fixtures, new wiring, recessed lights, new breakers, new GFI outlets
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company! We value you as our customer and are glad to meet and exceed expectations!
Todd L.
5.0
11/26/2017
Purchased installation of one recessed light special for $89. Called and scheduled. David and Lee took down track lighting and replaced with one recessed light. They were courteous professional and did great work. Would definitely use them again and would recommend.
Description of Work
Installation of recessed lighting.
Category
lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company! We pride ourselves on the experience and are so pleased to hear David and Lee did such a great job with your lights!
Denise M.
5.0
11/24/2017
We were burned by a previous electrician so we're very wary. Rob was wonderful! He patiently explained what was & was not a problem. Could not provide an estimate as this could be very simple or complicated so will need to be time and materials. Rob answered all our questions. We plan to hire Bailey and Ship to make the needed repairs. EXCELLENT SERVICE!
Description of Work
Needed assessment of previous work done and diagnosis of why outlets not working.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

We are so glad to hear Rob did a wonderful job! As unfortunate as it is, those sub par companies exist and we pride ourselves on not being one of them. Our electricians are knowledgeable and honest, and we are excited to be here for your electrical needs!
Beth B.
2.0
11/21/2017
Never had work done as prices were outrageous. Went with other electricians at third of price Bailey wanted to charge us
Description of Work
Fans installed in several rooms.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Gerard R.
5.0
11/20/2017
Employee was punctual, professional and did great work. No drywall repair necessary on two complete ceiling fan installs. Would absolutely use again!
Description of Work
Installed two ceiling fans
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Lisa C.
4.0
11/13/2017
The actual work was fine! The problem was that the receptionist seemed too careful to guard the owner's (or knowledgable electrician) time. When I wanted to get information, she would ask the electrician, not let me speak to him. I didn't like this. I was told that the installation that I wanted would take a day. I came up with another job that I wanted done that was far less complicated. When I talked to the receptionist again, it was the same way. Finally, I challenged her on it. She wanted to schedule a job when I didn't even know exactly what I wanted done for the 2 hour time frame. After complaining, she put the electrician on, and he was very nice and knowledgable, and I felt confident in what I would do, and in their ability to do it.
Description of Work
Originally, a ceiling fan installed. Alternatively, I had a timer installed on the front porch light, and some adjustments made to the back flood lights.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

We are glad to hear that everything went well with the work that we completed for you! I am sorry that you felt as if the receptionist was guarding the electricians and/or owners. We want each of our customers to rest assured that we will complete their project in a timely and professional manner. However if each of our customers wanted to speak with an owner or electrician before each scheduled appoint it would be very difficult to be at our customers home completing the work in a timely manner. I hope that you understand and know that if you ever have questions or concerns we are just a phone call away and any of our office staff can be of assistance.
Mike F.
5.0
10/19/2017
Both workers (I believe it was David and Lee) kept me informed along the way throughout the entire project. They were extremely nice, professional and overall pleasure to work with. Highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Requested 6 recessed lights installed in family room and remove old chandelier install a pre-purchased chandelier.
Category
electrician, lighting
Sharon L.
5.0
10/12/2017
He did a great job and found and fixed an issue that was causing our ceiling fans to short out
Description of Work
Replace ceiling fan
Category
electrician
Judith H.
5.0
10/02/2017
Great! These folks are terrific! Good preparation of the work area, great attention to detail and really solid, professional work! All This and they clean up the area as well. And, as an added bonus, they are polite, well-spoken and just genuinely nice people! A real bonanza!!
Description of Work
Multiple recessed lights installed, switches moved and added and thermostat moved to a different location.
Category
electrician, lighting
Adam B.
5.0
09/25/2017
David and Lee were extremely polite and professional. David explained some of the processes to me while they were working, which was extremely informative. Afterwards they also installed the ceiling fan and it looks fantastic. This required a hole in the ceiling and a hole in my wall to expand the light switch from one to two switches. They laid down a tarp and my room stayed clean while they worked. They even had booties to slip over there shoes when they came in and out of the house! I also got a thank you packet from them which was unexpected and pretty awesome, I won't tell you what was in it, because that would ruin the surprise. They did an excellent job and I would and will hire them again for any home electrical I need done.
Description of Work
I needed wires run for a ceiling fan in a spare bedroom and all of the outlets to not be connected to the wall switch.
Category
electrician
Janice G.
3.0
09/25/2017
The guy showed up on time. He was average in professionalism but not particularly friendly. He spent half the time in his work truck. I don't know what he was doing all that time. He got the electrical socket done for the stove but brushed off the refrigerator due to "lack of time". I am not a professional when it comes to electrical work; that is why I hired somebody to do it. However, I would imagine a professional should be able to do two electrical sockets in a two hour time frame if they were not sitting in their truck half the time.
Description of Work
I had requested a electrical socket added for my stove. I also asked if there was time for another electrical socket for my refrigerator.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our services. Unfortunately, on this particular day we had 2 technicians call out due to illness an instead of cancelling appointments we made the decision to send our service manager out to perform the work that was needed. As you can imagine it was not a wonderful day for him with having to adjust the schedule to make accommodations for everyone, so I also apologize for what may have been a not so pleasant mood. We strive always for 100% customer satisfaction and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
Daniel W.
3.0
09/18/2017
Work was performed ok but was charged travel time to get supplies (receptacles and wire) that I would expect to be carried by an electrical contractor. Receptacles were only a few feet from existing line so nothing was required to be run in the wall. Very easy job that took less then 90 minutes to actually complete but with a bill close to $300. The individual that performed the work was personable and did a good job.
Description of Work
Installed 2 receptacles and moved phone line several feet away from existing wiring.
Category
electrician
Scott M.
5.0
09/18/2017
I was very happy with work since we paid for two hours of service and received excellent work during that period of time.
Description of Work
Garbage control switch added, light fixture replaced, light switches added.
Category
electrician
Craig B.
5.0
09/11/2017
Very well. Very friendly and professional
Description of Work
New outlets and light fixture
Category
electrician

Phone

Address

8229 Cloverleaf Dr. Ste 460

Millersville, MD 21108

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Electrical, Stand-by generators, lighting. Energy efficiency auditing. Pool & spa service & repair, Ceiling fans, surge protectors, panel box upgrade, LED Recessed lights

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
PayPal

FAQ

Bailey & Shipp Electric is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Bailey & Shipp Electric is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Bailey & Shipp Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Yes, Bailey & Shipp Electric offers free project estimates.

Yes, Bailey & Shipp Electric offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Bailey & Shipp Electric offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Bailey & Shipp Electric offers emergency services.

Yes, Bailey & Shipp Electric offers warranties.

Bailey & Shipp Electric offers the following services: Electrical, Stand-by generators, lighting. Energy efficiency auditing. Pool & spa service & repair, Ceiling fans, surge protectors, panel box upgrade, LED Recessed lights

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Atlas Home Energy Solutions is committed to providing the highest quality home energy improvements to homeowners interested in reducing their utility bills and improving the comfort of their home year round. Customer Satisfaction is our number one priority and we promise that we can make a real impact in your home in a way that keeps you happy every step of the way. Images  

Atlas Home Energy Solutions is committed to providing the highest quality home energy improvements to homeowners interested in reducing their utility bills and improving the comfort of their home year round. Customer Satisfaction is our number one priority and we promise that we can make a real impact in your home in a way that keeps you happy every step of the way.  

Home Energy Saving Solutions

5.0

(89)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Home Energy Saving Solutions

As a Maryland certified Home Performance with Energy Star contractor, we focus on making homes efficient and comfortable. Our energy audits and energy efficiency improvements usually qualify for generous state incentives and rebates through Pepco, BGE, and Potomac Edison. Mo is the owner/operator at Home Energy Saving Solutions. He has a deep depth of knowledge and experience gained from well over 1000 energy audits. Participation in numerous industry groups and conferences further enhance the expertise brought to each home energy audit. We will inspect your entire home as a system and evaluate energy loss and comfort issues using advanced diagnostic equipment. At the conclusion of the audit you will be presented with a comprehensive report detailing all findings and solutions, along with a payback period for repair and retrofit options.