Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC

Founded 1979 • With Angi since October 2006

18 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBCONTRACTORS. COST DETERMINED BY JOB. TRAVEL TIME MAY APPLY.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(18) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews
Courtney P.
5.0
07/14/2020
Tech arrived on time each day, great communication throughout the process, reasonable rates, clean-up was better than before they arrived and would absolutely recommend/work with again.
Description of Work
Adding new electrical outlets, installing boxes for ceiling fans and lights, replacing lighting
Category
electrician, lighting, ceiling fans
Sharon T.
5.0
09/21/2017
Fantastic, they do the work neatly and quickly. Great communication, very professional. Knowledgeable. Kept the lines of communication open. Any questions were promptly answered. Listened carefully to exactly what we wanted and executed perfectly. Both the owner, the office manager and the crew were all very professional, courteous and knowledgeable.
Description of Work
Ran electric out from our basement connection, through the supporting joists out to our bulkhead/pier to our 2 boat lifts. Dedicated line, exterior / weather and water concerns.
Category
electrician
Danette M.
5.0
09/19/2017
What I like best about Southwind Electric is their consistency in delivering a quality customer service experience. They advise me when to expect the electrician, they follow up quickly to advise me of the job status and options for repairs that might be needed, and the owner is very considerate in helping the customer to figure out the options with the best pricing. My most recent request involved a late night visit to two of our offices to determine if enough night lighting was illuminating the area. Not only did I get a call back the same day the work was done to advise me of some existing issues, but the owner was already preparing an estimate to resolve the lighting situation. Southwind Electric never lets us down and provides the very best service!
Description of Work
Southwind Electric has performed at least six different projects for a business office building. They are talented at troubleshooting problems with lighting, wiring problems, relays, and time clock issues. They also provide great service for new receptacles, switches, and clock outlets.
Category
electrician, lighting
chris N.
1.0
09/01/2016
Not well at all. When i called to make an appointment I gave my number and was promised a callback to schedule. five days later i was called and the soonest appointment was Thursday the following week at 830AM. at 835 Guy called and said there was some sort of foulup and would i mind holding while he contacted the tech. after having a long winded conversation he said the tech had run into trouble and he would send someone else to get there at 915AM when i asked if he could promise a window he seemed bothered and said "isn't that enough of a window for you" at which point i thanked him and said i would find someone else
Description of Work
replace a bathroom fan
Category
electrician
Dana R.
5.0
12/03/2015
Contractor was very responsive, came right on schedule, provided good price, did work well, and the office scheduled the required county inspection expeditiously so my project would not be delayed. A family owned firm with experienced people. I would certainly use again and highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed electrical service for a gas fireplace
Category
electrician
TERRY C.
5.0
08/27/2014
Arrived on time, consulted with me on job to be performed. Completed job on time and for price quoted and cleaned up. Phone call following day to check job before invoicing. Very Customer focused.
Description of Work
Installed internal fuse box and external access for Emergency Generator.
Category
electrician, generator service
laurie F.
5.0
06/05/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Multiple small electrical repairs
Category
electrician
chris N.
5.0
01/31/2013
Vadim spent 4 hours tracing the short. it was a loose wire in a wall plug in the master bedroom. hidden behind a dresser. Very good service. Called the office and Jo sent Vadim out quickly. I have nothing but good things to say about Southwind. I will use them as long as i live in the area
Description of Work
lost power in living room. came to troubleshoot
Category
electrician
chris N.
5.0
07/21/2011
Southwind was called for an estimate for the above work. I asked them to put in a switch for dining room light that i had purchased. I had removed the old switch, so all he had to do was attach two wires and screw on faceplate. My wife was home and said it took two minutes. A few days later Guy called and gave me a estimate for the outside switch and bathroom fan and I agreed to the price. He stated he would call back with a date for the work to be completed. On Monday morning i noticed a Southwind truck outside and found out they were there to do the work. Keith did a great job was very polite, the work was done in a timely manner. He had to come back the next morning to install the vent on the roof, due to rainstorm. It would have been nice to know they were coming that day as i might have not been home. They did a nice job, although they charged me $95.00 to connect my switch when there for a free estimate. I was hoping they would give me a break as i had the work done and added to the job as well. They would not budge on the price. I was a little disappointed and was hoping for a little flexability as they were there for the estimate. An update as of 7/22/2011. I received a call from Southwind and Guy agreed to work with me on a reduction on having my dining room switch replaced. It was a classy move and he has a customer for as long as i live in this area. Thank you
Description of Work
outside switch (GFI) on front porch,,lighted exaust fan installed in bathroom. switch (GFI) installed in same.
Category
electrician
TJ M.
5.0
05/26/2011
They were more than helpful, and the work was done on time, on budget, and the workers were courteous ans neat.
Description of Work
Guy from Southwind helped us with estimating costs for a larger project and added some exterior outlets and lighting in our garage.
Category
electrician
Amy B.
5.0
12/01/2010
Southwind Electric did a very good job. They got a permit and were very professional.
Description of Work
Southwind Electric installed an electrical sub panel for the kitchen.
Category
electrician
SHERAN S.
5.0
08/20/2008
I selected this company based on the recommendations on Angie's List. My father had just been released from the hospital and was bed ridden. He used the remote control to turn on and off the light and fan in his bedroom. This and two other controls in my house had stopped working. When I called to schedule service and mentioned that my father was dependent on the control, I was told they would work the job in within the next week. The electrician was there two days later. He replaced the controls in all three fans in just over an hour.
Description of Work
Replaced the existing remote controls in three ceiling fans.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Fred I.
5.0
07/08/2008
Southwind reviewed good digital images I emailed them of the damage, then they offered a quote with the reasonable understanding that any work needed inside would add to the cost. I accepted, the work was scheduled and the first phase completed, inspected by the county and the first company is to meet Southwind crews to finalize all work later this month. I am fully confident all will go as promised.
Description of Work
Storm damage repair. A summer storm knocked down a limb that pulled the service cable off. Another company was called and even though power got restored, the company said the service cable needed to be replaced and updated.
Category
electrician
Stephanie S.
2.0
06/29/2008
Called eight electricians, all highly rated on Angie's List, about this job. This is one of three that did not return my calls (spoke to Debbie twice and was assured each time I'd get a call back).
Description of Work
Wiring emergency generator into existing electrical box.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Since I, Debbie, schedule the work, there must have been circumstances existing that did not allow us to schedule the job.
MARILYN V.
5.0
09/14/2007
The price that they charged me seemed to be very reasonable so I am pleased with that, I am very happy with the work, and the ceiling fan had to be installed from scratch because I didn t have one before. He was on time and very polite when he arrived. He cleaned up everything very well. I would defiantly use them again, I had a great experience.
Description of Work
Southwind Electric came and installed one new ceiling fan and did four or five wiring jobs throughout the inside of my house.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
James M.
5.0
09/12/2007
I think that Southwind Electric is a very professional company and they do good work. For the work that they did, I thought that the price was fair and reasonably priced. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
Southwind installed a circuit breaker, three ceiling fans, and two 4 prong outlets in my 2 story, 4 bedroom home.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
DIANE S.
5.0
07/17/2007
Chris and Andrew arrived exactly on time and spent the entire day removing the old lighting fixture, installing the lift and new fixture. It involved doing much work in the very hot attic. Looking back, I should have waited until the fall for this project, only to give these guys a break from the heat! But they were extremely professional and neat. I should mention this cost of $775.00 was only for their labor. I had already purchased the lift and the new fixture. So this is not a cheap project by any means, but it is so worth it. Now, with a simple switch, I can lower the fixture for cleaning and light bulb changes. I highly recommend installing one of these as you are building a home. Chris also gave me some advice on some other projects I am considering and it was so appreciated.
Description of Work
Installed a chandelier lift. This allows for the raising and lowering of a very high chandelier (in a two story foyer) for cleaning and maintenance.
Category
electrician
MADELYN B.
5.0
10/26/2006
Excellent, as usual.
Description of Work
Numerous small jobs, i.e., switches, lighting, etc. They did a large outdoor job the same day they came for the assigned work. Everytime we have used this company, we have received polite and efficient and quick service.
Category
electrician

Phone

Address

3001 EASTERN BOULEVARD

Middle River, MD 21220

Other Information

Services offered

RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL ELECTRICAL SERVICE PROVIDER. CONTRACT PRICES AND/OR SERVICE WORK INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, TROUBLESHOOTING, LIGHTING, PHONE, CABLE, SERVICE UPGRADES, CEILING FANS, ETC. THERE IS NO JOB TOO SMALL.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC offers free project estimates.

No, SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC offers emergency services.

Yes, SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC offers warranties.

SOUTHWIND ELECTRIC offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL ELECTRICAL SERVICE PROVIDER. CONTRACT PRICES AND/OR SERVICE WORK INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, TROUBLESHOOTING, LIGHTING, PHONE, CABLE, SERVICE UPGRADES, CEILING FANS, ETC. THERE IS NO JOB TOO SMALL.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Mister Sparky Electric

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

Mister Sparky Electric

We are licensed and insured. We guarantee your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

J A Electric LLC.

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

J A Electric LLC.

10 Years Of Experience. Provides Exceptional & Guaranteed Residential Work. Put Clients Needs First Before Anything. www.jaelectricllc.net  

PVI Group, LLC

5.0

(39)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

PVI Group, LLC

PVI Group is your one-call solution for a wide range of home improvement, maintenance and repair and lawn care needs. Our licensed professionals are known for the quality of our workmanship and professional reliability so you know the job will be done correctly and efficiently.