Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alternative Roofing Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since May 2012

4.5

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1219 Shady Creek Rd

MARRIOTTSVILLE, MD 21104

Description

The company formed as a partnership in 2004. One partner with 25 years of commercial roofing experience in government projects and the other with 12 years in roofing product distribution. They formed Alternative Roofing, Inc. as a contracting company that would provide the utmost customer service, integrate new products and technologies to offer customers greater options for their roofing needs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/25/2019


Nailya M.

Terrible. Appointment scheduling was not as expected. After multiple requests to let me know what time a technician will arrive to my house to evaluate a leak problem and assess roof, I finally received time frame between 2-4pm. On that day, a technician failed to show up for the appointment and did not call to inform about delay . I emailed Darcie to let her know that their service is no longer needed because I cannot trust the company's punctuality and commitment. I told that customers' time should be respected and when delays happen, customers should be informed. I have not received any response to my email.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

04/23/2018


Anditria D.

This company replaced Monarch Roofing at 5511 Maggie St, Baltimore, MD. 21225. It went great and the guys were so nice. I previously used this company in 2010 to add aluminum siding on my front porch. I called again but found they had new owners and no longer did siding. I had projects for two homes, both required gutter covers and aluminum coating on the porch roof. One house also needed window shutters replaced and one needed a downspout replaced and porch siding caulked. The old downspout was underground and clogged causing water to backup to the gutter and overflow when it rained. They gave me the cost to dig underground to replace piping or recommended bringing it above ground. I also called Homeserve to see if my insurance covered it and BGE Home to see if they offered a different price with my plumbing Smart plan. No, and no. I went with the above ground downspout replacement. Monarch also removed the cast iron device that held the old downspout in place and covered the hole in cement.

Description of Work
Gutters covered, Aluminum siding caulked, Porch Roof aluminum coated, Window shutters replaced, downspout replaced

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, roofing, window treatments

5.0

03/16/2017


Lottie W.

Jackie, who spoke to us, was very polite, helpful and professional. I'd like to work with her in the future.

Description of Work
I called to get some records of previous work that had been done on my roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking time to recognize Jacki she does a nice job and it's nice to hear that our customers can appreciate that. Regards, John Morath
5.0

09/30/2016


Mark W.

Everything went very well. I was very please with their services and would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking time to review our company. We're glad to hear you had a positive experience. Please keep us in mind on any future needs. Regards, John Morath
5.0

09/28/2016


Bryan K.

I was highly impressed with this company. Very honest.

Description of Work
Roof Repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear it was a positive experience. Please keep us in mind for any future roofing, siding or gutter issues. Regards, John Morath
5.0

09/26/2016


Anthea D.

They came out and were honest and fair priced. They did the repair and we will be calling them back when it's time to replace. Very honest company.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind remarks and excellent grades. We hope we can help you again in the future if needed.
5.0

09/26/2016


Jennifer S.

They did the work that was needed and did it very quickly. Price was reasonable.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind remarks and excellent grades. We hope we can help you again in the future if needed.
5.0

09/26/2016


Veronica G.

They did a great job and cleaned up better than I could've ever imagined. Looked better than when they started. Very happy and would recommend highly.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind remarks and excellent grades. We hope we can help you again in the future if needed.
5.0

09/26/2016


Jennifer L.

Company was amazing. Had bunch of other estimates and they were the only ones to get on the roof. Price was right and work was amazing.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind remarks and excellent grades. We hope we can help you again in the future if needed.
5.0

09/22/2016


Jason G.

They are a fantastic company. Very upfront and easy to deal with.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. Please let us know if we can help in the future in anyway.
5.0

09/22/2015


Michael B.

Took a while to schedule, but turned out OK.

Description of Work
Roor service.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], Thanks for taking time to review our company. I apologize for the delay in our response time, it is something that we need to improve upon. It's been a very busy year and we try to get to everyone in a timely manner, but sometimes things take longer then they should. I appreciate your feedback because it is something we need to work on. Regards, John Morath
5.0

08/17/2015


Kathy P.

It seems to have gone very well, but we are waiting for a good downpour to determine if we have water coming into the home. All employees were very friendly and answered any and all questions we had. Very hard workers in very hot weather.

Description of Work
Provider did roof repairs where the bottom of side of house and the roof of another row home came together and replaced with new flashing. Also patched corner and edges of existing roof with roof cement and reinforcing fabric and much more.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for taking time to give us feedback on your experience with our company. Hopefully we took care of your issue, if you do notice any issues please call and we'll get out right away. Regards, John Morath
4.0

07/13/2015


Robert V.

I have no details , he did the job that we ask to be done and we are very satify.

Description of Work
Inspect my roof and culked around the vent pipes and chimney.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [removed member's name], Thanks for taking the time to review our company. You should have been provided details on the roof work. Before and after photos are supposed to be taken on every job. We can forward them on if you would like to see, just let us know. Regards, John Morath
3.0

06/29/2015


Kelly G.

Very very slow service. Took at least 5 weeks from initial contact to get roof repaired. Took two weeks just to get an estimate. Had to call 2 or 3 times to even get it in the two weeks that it took. Never provided photos of the roof or damages a stated in the deal. Very poor customer service. Actual person repairing the roof was fine. If you don't care about poor response times and you have all the time in the world to get your roof repaired then they are fine. Otherwise I wouldn't use.

Description of Work
Repaired pipe flashings and ridge vent

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with our company. Sorry it wasn't a more positive experience. It's been a very busy year and we are working on improving our response times - we appreciate your feedback. Regards, John Morath
5.0

06/18/2015


Terry T.

The guys were very nice and professional and explained small adjustments they had to make. It was worth it to know that my roof is in good shape.

Description of Work
Roof tuneup.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to review our company. We're glad to hear it was a positive experience. Please let us know if we can help you with any future needs. Regards, John Morath
5.0

06/17/2015


Ji L.

Was very helpful and professional.

Description of Work
roof check and some repairs

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Please keep us in mind for any future exterior repairs. Regards, John Morath
5.0

06/17/2015


Michael J.

They did an inspection for the roof. Found some items that needed repairing, but luckily they would be covered under an Angie's List provided coupon that saved me $150. They were quick and did a great job.

Description of Work
roof inspection certificate and minor repairs

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks Mr. [removed member's name] we appreciate you taking time to write a review for your experience with our company. If there is anything that we can help you with in the future please let us know. Regards, John Morath
4.0

06/08/2015


Catanya C.

I purchased the service on May 18, 2015 and received an email from company to contact them. I called and the company was not ready to set the appt and I was told someone would be in contact soon. About 3 days later, I was contacted to schedule an appt. The appt was scheduled for May 28, 2015 at 2:00pm. I had an appt the same morning and left home at 9:00am. I forgot something and returned home about 10 minutes later and the company truck was at my home and the employee(s) was on the roof. I went to my appt and returned home to a door tag. I called the company and was told I would receive a report by email within a week. I asked if I would receive pictures of my roof and the work performed, along with an estimate for repair costs. I was told I would receive it all in the email. I received the roof inspection report on Monday, June 1, 2015 at 8:51pm. The email was only a letter explaining the "repairs" performed - no pictures or repair cost estimate. I replied to the email and asked for the pictures. The company rep acknowledged the email and stated pictures would be sent. As of today, June 8, 2015, I have not received the pictures or the estimate. As a matter of fact, I have not heard from any company representative. As a result, I cannot confirm if anything was done because I cannot get to the roof to view the repairs nor would I know where to look. I would never recommend this company, not even to my enemy!

Description of Work
UPDATE: I have since received the requested "before and after" photos. From the pics, my roof was in bad condition as stated in the company's letter. Alternative Roofing performed "patch" work per contract and I am satisfied with the services provided.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our company. Obviously it was not good. This is not indicative of the way we operate - unfortunately we've been a little overwhelmed with work and we are trying to be responsive to everyone, not always successful. I will look into your situation to see how the ball was dropped and get back to you. I will have the photos forwarded as well. Sorry it wasn't a more positive experience, please call with any questions in the meantime. Regards, John Morath
5.0

06/03/2015


James M.

They did a good job. They came over immediately and sent me the bill. I was very happy with their work.

Description of Work
There was a whole in the roof that they patched ($700.00-$800.00 I can not remember the exact price and date)

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

(removed member name) thanks for taking the time to review our company. We appreciate the feedback. Please call if you have any further issues. Regards, John Morath
3.0

05/06/2015


Kurt W.

He showed up on time but without a hammer and the proper shoes.

Description of Work
Came out to check my roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks Mr. [member name removed] for taking time out to review your experience with our company. I checked in with my technician to find out what happened and apparently his equipment was in another truck that day, no excuse, poor preparation. For your information the work was done properly, he did go out and purchase the proper tools to do the work. If you have any doubts about the work please call the office to discuss. Appreciate it, John
5.0

04/07/2015


Adam W.

Everything went well, punctual, provided before and after pics, completed in a timely manner. Easy to deal with.

Description of Work
My flat roof in Baltimore City needed extensive repairs due to previous patch job that was subpar.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thanks for the positive review. I'm glad to hear that you were happy with our service. I appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback. Regards, John Morath O# 410-489-9000 C# 443-285-1072
5.0

04/03/2015


Katherine M M.

We purchased the AL deal on March 7, and Alternative Roofing contacted us within a day or so to schedule. Because of the rainy spring weather, we had to reschedule a few times, but that is not AR's fault. On the final rescheduled day, they called 30 minutes before they arrived, which was appreciated. The technician, Jason, was great - very professional and friendly. About halfway through the roof inspection it started to rain, and he was soaking wet by the end, but you wouldn't have known it from his positive attitude - Jason is a wonderful representative for the company. He explained everything that he was going to do, took off the pads on his shoes before he came inside the house to see a couple of water spots we had found in our bedroom, and then went up on the roof. The entire visit took about an hour, with about 30-40 minutes spent on the roof inspection and repairs. Once Jason was finished he showed us pictures of two nail pops and unsealed pipe collar fasteners he had found and fixed/sealed. He explained that he had used wet dry cement instead of caulk because of the rain. He said that the pipe collar should be replaced ($300), but that the seal he'd done would probably get us through to when we'd need a complete roof replacement in 2-3 years. I really appreciated his honesty and integrity, not trying to sell us something we might not need. At the very end, he took about 10 minutes (still in the pouring rain) to take measurements for a new roof estimate so we'd have an idea of how much we'd be looking at spending in a few years. Overall great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend AR to others - $99 was a great price for the level of service we received!

Description of Work
Alternative Roofing provided a preventative maintenance roof package/inspection through an Angie's List Deal.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I really appreciate the detailed review that you provided. We had a company meeting today and I read your feedback to all our techs to let them know that this is the type of response that I want to hear from our customers. Jason was recognized and very appreciative of your comments. I've very glad to hear that you were happy with the service, it means a lot. Thanks again for taking the time to review us. Regards, John Morath O# 410-489-9000 C# 443-285-1072
3.0

03/18/2015


Renny J.

OK. The price was too high for what was actually done. It appears that most of the cost was just to go up onto the roof. Also, asked for quote to remove satellite dish from roof and was quoted $250.00

Description of Work
roof evaluation and sealed around pipe

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] We appreciate your feedback, sorry that you weren't happy our cost. The roof package is for $99 that includes roof inspection and minor repairs. While at your home we inspected the roof, re-sealed two pipe flashings, tightened loose ridge vent and sealed other exposed fasteners. That should be a very competitive price, after all it is a promotion. The price of $250.00 for removal of the satellite dish would have required the men to leave the site and find matching shingles for your house as well as the disposal of your dish - that as well should be a competitive price. I'm sorry that you did not feel that way, but there was no obligation to have that work done. If I am missing any details or if you have any further issues feel free to contact me at 410-489-9000. Thanks, John
5.0

02/08/2015


Latonya D.

Provider repaired leaky roof.

Description of Work
Minor roof repairs and inspections.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), Thanks for taking time to review our company. I am glad that you are pleased with the repair. Please keep us in mind for any future needs to the exterior of your home. Regards, John Morath
5.0

01/26/2015


Jason B.

The repairmen arrived on time. I appreciated that two of them came since it is a 3rd story roof. It takes a 40-foot ladder and is better to have two individuals to ensure safety. They also provided me with pictures of the area that I was concerned had a leak and completed repairs. They also went into the attic to inspect it from both sides. The cost was very reasonable. I will use them again.

Description of Work
Inspected the roof for a potential leak and sealed several areas.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[removed member name], Thanks for taking the time to review our company. We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience. We certainly stress safety to our men when they are doing their job - it's nice to get the feedback. Regards, John Morath

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter Helmet by Harry Helmet®

    Gutter Helmet Gutter Protection | Proudly Serving Local Homeowners Since 1981 Never Clean Your Gutters Again! Gutter Helmet is the one-time investment with a lifetime of benefits. Our system installs over your existing full-sized rain gutters, and we offer the only true four-season/365 day-a-year total rainwater management protection system. Trusted by over a million customers nationwide, we guarantee your gutters will remain free flowing and clog free from all debris with our triple lifetime, transferable performance warranty. Call to learn more about the Gutter Helmet difference and schedule your free demonstration and estimate today. (877) 779-8048. Senior & military discounts available.  

    Offers by Gutter Helmet by Harry Helmet® on Angi
    Chesapeake Property Services

    Chesapeake Property Services was founded in 2002. We are a family owned and operated company. Our rapid growth and great reputation has been built by our philosophy of total dedication to the needs of our customers. We are proud to serve central Maryland and look forward to helping your family live cleaner and feel better!  

    Offers by Chesapeake Property Services on Angi
    Shanco Companies Inc

    At Shanco Companies we want to be your go to company for everything home improvement, remodeling and repair. We specialize in meeting the needs of the homeowner. It is our mission to provide outstanding customer service, with emphasis on getting the job done right and done quickly the first time. Customer Satisfaction is Our # 1 Goal.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roof replacements, repairs & preventative maintenance for residential & commercial roofing systems. Gutters & Siding

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alternative Roofing Inc

    How is Alternative Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Alternative Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alternative Roofing Inc open?

    Alternative Roofing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Alternative Roofing Inc provide

    Alternative Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Alternative Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alternative Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Alternative Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Alternative Roofing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alternative Roofing Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Alternative Roofing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Alternative Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Alternative Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Alternative Roofing Inc offer?

    Alternative Roofing Inc offers the following services: Roof replacements, repairs & preventative maintenance for residential & commercial roofing systems. Gutters & Siding