'58 Foundations

About

Founded 1958 • With Angi since August 2005

For more than 60 years, ’58 Foundations & Waterproofing has provided the highest-quality basement waterproofing, crawlspace encapsulation, radon mitigation, mold removal and foundation repair solutions for homes and commercial properties. We lead with a promise of Trusted Five-Star Service, which

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.3

(159) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

99

4

28

3

10

2

7

1

15

Rating Details

Price

4.0

Professionalism

4.4

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.3

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (145)well & water pump repair (33)foundation repair (26)concrete repair (8)water damage restoration (5)mold removal (1)water softeners (1)drain pipe installation (23)excavating (5)basement remodeling (2)water heaters (2)stone & gravel (2)
Showing 1-25 of 159 reviews
1.0

12/24/2022


Chaofu L.

Very very unprofessional, the inspection was scheduled approximately two weeks ago, and has been confirmed by email, and txt message, the txt message even confirmed on 22nd, our schedule was 23rd 9:00am, no one show up at all, and we have to wait in the snow for half hour, until I called, the +1 (888) 698-1958 told me the contractor was sick and not available, not sure how they get 5 stars based on not show on time, and not call customer first before customer call them, well they ain’t get 5 stars from my end this time. The incident continues, they called us on 23rd afternoon to offered us the other schedule inspection in 24th morning at 10:00, we decided to give them another chance, guess what they screwed up again, same style no show no call until we called-in, this company really has serious structure problems based on my incident, this company cannot even do the minimum when they operate their business, never on time, never called and not communicated with customers, long story short they offered us to meet their national manager at today 24th 12:30-1:00pm, also offered use a $400.00 credit, well if you screwed me up first and second times, you don’t get me on third time, good luck if anyone who would like to work with this company.

Description of Work
Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

10/28/2022


Beatriz W.

I regret hiring this company and I would not recommend working with 58 foundations to waterproof and mitigate mold in your basement and this is why: 1) Almost two months since the work was completed and we still have moisture on the basement and now we have cracks in the concrete (Photo included) 2) The crew initially assigned was unprepared, lack of training, and did not wear PPE when removing black mold from the basement walls. And their foreman did not show up until I called asking questions about things I saw that didn't seem right. 3) The crew cut the ground system of the house and left part of the basement without electricity unknowingly. We had to hire a certified electrician to fix the ground system and the electricity the crew cut out by mistake. Although 58 foundations ended up covering the fee, it was an unnecessary and avoidable cost. 4) A more trained crew was assigned to the project and rushed to finish the job. 5) We were sold a premium and professional service and we got the opposite. At this point I cannot trust the work they did on our basement. I wish I have asked questions such as: do you subcontract? Are you painting the walls after? How are you removing black mold? How do we know your system works once it is installed? I have included photos of what they called "great work" for you to judge if that is good value and quality for a $18k+ project.

Description of Work
Buyer Beware

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2022

Images

Review for '58 Foundations - 1344A W Nursery Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD - 39926844

+4 More

5.0

07/17/2022


Mary M.

Excellent, work done quickly and accurately. Received many compliments about the quality of work. I have given your company name to others.

Description of Work
Crawlspace Encapsulation

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and recommending us to others, it means a lot. We are so happy to hear that you are satisfied with the quality of work we provided. Have a great day!
2.0

03/01/2022


Samuel W.

Had '58 Waterproofing give me a quote. I will say that the process of the inspector coming out and discussing everything with me was pleasant and everything went well, he was a good guy, and this isn't a reflection on him. He was professional, did not badmouth the other companies in the industry (which is good, because they all basically do the same thing, despite how they all tell you that what they do is different and sooo much better). And he didn't play the BS game of "here's the quote good for a month, here's the quote good for a week, but if you agree to sign with me right this minute before I leave AND agree to write 2 positive reviews here on Angi's list and on our website, then we'll give you this even better price." The price he quoted me was far above the other quotes I received for essentially the same thing, even after subtracting work he quoted that wasn't really necessary. I went with another company based on scope of work and price. The inspector called me to follow-up today. I told him I had decided to go with another company. He didn't protest. This afternoon, I get a call from a southeast PA phone number from a pushy sales guy trying to change my mind. I told him I'd made my decision, I said goodbye, and hung up. The guy calls me back and then sends a text message. That's not cool. And if they were originally playing games with an inflated price, and were calling me to offer a better price, that's not a good way to do business. Give me the price you can do the job for. But not the worst sales tactics I saw from this industry (cough . . . JES . . .).

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2022

5.0

03/01/2022


Raji R.

They did a great job. Very patient with me. make themselves available to address all the worries I have. work was done quickly and professsionally

Description of Work
water purification

Category water softeners

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2021

5.0

01/08/2018


Bridget Q.

Great, the crew was friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Waterproofing basement

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2018

4.0

12/19/2017


Donna P.

Explained all that needed to be done to fix the problem. The problem was corrected and there have not been any problems. Satisfied.

Description of Work
Leak in the wall in the basement

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear the problem has been corrected. If you need anything in the future please contact us. -- The BDry Team
5.0

10/17/2017


jeannine D.

Great! Rob was very proffesional and even called to ask if he could come earlier than scheduled.

Description of Work
There is a crack in our foundation. Rob measured the outside and inside of the house where the crack was. Fortunately the crack was not on any interior wall, so no repair was needed.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2017

3.0

06/08/2017


Lynne F.

The person who provided the estimate was punctual, polite & professional. BUT, we did not choose to work with B-Dry. Here's why...sales tactics, pressure, upselling, price. I did feel a little verbal pressure to commit immediately, (discount for agreeing by end of day of estimate) which was not our plan, we wanted to collect a few estimates & compare. As I compared I noticed a few things that I urge others to consider. They are definitely selling specific products, and using sales tactics. They have their own specially patented drainage "tubes". Its theirs & unique, but folks w engineering backgrounds might tell you what they think of a tube its flat on the bottom & hard plastic without perforation & how well that drains and what slime it could harbor. They only use one sump pump for all jobs which is extremely costly, though it is the most super top of the line pump, but it might not be necessary if your water damage us not extreme & if other aspects of the waterproofing job are done right. While their pump has a lifetime warranty, you could buy a new sump pump every 3 years (unlikely to be required) for a decade or more for the cost of theirs. Lastly and most bothersome was that while their estimate was very high, he looked around my basement & suggested that in the future I might need to do another specific area of wall that may be a concern, and provided me with an estimate of the bigger area if I want to, comparing it to the more urgent job, making it seem like the "cheaper" option. Later, 2 other professionals told me that same area did not suggest damage or need for future work. In the mail I was immediately sent glossy brochures for other systems & products from B-Dry & a sister company. In the end, for about half the price, and less damage to my house, I found an A-rated local company in business for decades with a life of structure warranty that worked more quickly & cleanly than offered by B-dry with quality, guaranteed materials.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for waterproofing a finished basement.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

04/10/2017


Bob B.

Couldn't have been better. Very professional, courteous and friendly. Left the basement spotless.

Description of Work
French drain and new pump.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2017

5.0

01/31/2017


Bridget Q.

Excellent, they were courteous and professional, prompt and thorough

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. Our employees make our company great! We are proud to have your in our BDry family. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know. The BDry Team
5.0

12/12/2016


James Y.

They fixed it - no more water, even in the biggest storms

Description of Work
We had work done to try to fix a chronic leak

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are happy to have you as part of the BDry Family. Please let us know if you need anything in the future! The BDry Team
5.0

11/14/2016


Jovonni S.

It went as planned- on schedule and done correctly. No issues with any water since the system was installed 2 years ago.

Description of Work
waterproofed basement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2016

Service Provider Response

Thanks for being part of the BDry Family! Please let us know if you need anything in the future. The BDry Team
3.0

09/29/2016


Sharon H.

Half the things the salesman told me were not true and no one will return my call about getting a new door for my crawl space. The sump pump works so I guess I should be happy.

Description of Work
I needed a new sump pump and a new crawl space door.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2016

Service Provider Response

I will pass your review along to the Operations Director in your area. Please let us know if you need anything else. The BDry Team
4.0

06/09/2016


Deborah H.

They were very responsive. The work was more than one day and their punctuality was great. They were really good. It is just the mess we were left with, but it is bound to happen with all the grinding, concrete, and everything else like that. They just did not pick up the mess when they left.

Description of Work
We used B-Dry for basement waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and being part of the BDry Family! Please let us know if you need anything in the future. The BDry Team
1.0

04/11/2016


Sharon C.

It worked fine for a limited time, and then water started seeping in around the pipes/holes B-DRY installed! B-DRY came back a couple times to apply additional cement around the pipes they installed from the inside of basement. After that didn't work, they installed flexible white sheeting around the pipes and down the wall, which served no purpose except an attempt to "hide" the problem. The old adage, "You can run but you can't hide" comes to mind. Water expanded on either side of the sheeting causing further staining/damage. I called B-DRY once again and they told me to attach a long spout to the end of my down spout. That, of course, did nothing to remedy the leaky holes they drilled into my wall. I called back, got voice mail, left a message, and about 3 months later (no joke) I got a return phone call. After explaining the situation to the lady, she told me that the service call will now include a service charge since the original work was done about 15 years ago. I informed the woman that the work included a warranty and I've never had to pay a service charge for the other times they had to come out to fix a problem that they themselves made. Apparently, B-DRY's warranties are not worth the paper they are written on, and their "remedies" sound good but B-WARNED, my home still B-WET.

Description of Work
Installed pipes under each window well to prevent water from coming through the window of the window well.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,800

Work Completed On 01/11/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the information. We have sent your comment to the new Operations Manager in your area. Please let us know if you need anything in the future. The BDry Team
5.0

03/05/2015


Beth K.

The salesman was very knowledgable and friendly. The crew was very professional and courteous. The job was executed quickly and thoroughly. They really have this down to a science. We have a Lifetime of the structure warranty.REMEMBER, Lifetime warranty and Lifetime of structure warranty are two different things. We recently needed a very minor service call which was done the same day and quickly with no problems. We have had lots of rain, snow, and flooding since the job was done and we are still bone dry. I would recommend this company to anyone. They also offer financing but we received a 20% discount for paying cash in full.

Description of Work
Installed free flow drain system around entire house and sump pump. Also treated any mold and fixed small crack in foundation.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, foundation repair

Cost $7,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2014

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for leaving a review. We love to hear from our customers and appreciate the feedback. Please let us know if we can do anything for you in the future. Regards, The B-Dry Team
1.0

03/04/2015


JF H.

I got them to come in and they gave me an estimate on the job and told me that it would have a lifetime warranty that could be transferred to another person as long as no other contractor came in to jeopardize what they had done. They have been trying to fix it for ten years (since 10/24/05) and the last time they came in they told me how they would fix it and I knew it wouldn’t work. They sold me two sump pumps a while ago and when I called to complain later about an issue, the city told me that they couldn’t do anything because the man who signed the paper wasn’t licensed. They ripped me off. I haven't heard from them since they told me they'd have to do more extensive work (on 6/14/14) and I got a card for the operations manager. They never stopped the water from coming in. Now I have mold in the basement because they didn't fix it, which will cost me over $5000 to fix. The company never contacted me about my complaints to them or the city.

Description of Work
They were supposed to waterproof a basement, but they have been in several times doing different jobs as a part of it.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $11,061

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2014

Service Provider Response

We have been in contact with the customer many times and have been to her house to fix whatever problems she had with our installation. We are still currently working to ensure that all the issues have been addressed and our customer is satisfied. We apologize that you had any issues in the first place but we are working to ensure these issues are properly taken care of for her. Please contact us if you are having any additional problems. Regards, The B-Dry Team
5.0

01/06/2015


Larry J.

Installation went very well; installers were very efficient and completed the job quickly. They also did a good job of cleaning up the area as well.

Description of Work
Installed 20 feet of drainage system and replaced 20 feet of delivery line back into drain going to the street.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Cost $2,450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/08/2014

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with you installation. Please let us know if you need any additional assistance. Regards, The B-Dry Team
5.0

12/29/2014


dawn F.

The initial workers did a poor job. However, after a phone call, it was amended. I knew what I needed and their salesperson wasn't pushy and never tried to take advantage of me. He was awesome, as was the owner, and Mike the foreman.

Description of Work
They installed two new sump pumps and a window drainage system.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2014

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words! We're sorry you thought the first work crew didn't do a good job, but it looks like our employees were able to make it up to you. Thanks for sharing your B-Dry experience.
5.0

12/29/2014


Lou E.

It was fine. Scheduling the service was very easy and after they came the second time, it worked well.

Description of Work
They waterproofed the cellar.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2014

3.0

12/29/2014


Michael G.

It was ok. The salesperson did give sufficient information on how the system worked, so we made some decisions without a sufficient knowledge base. I also don't think that they did a good pre-assessment of our needs or situation. However, they worked very hard, it looks good, and they came back when we had a problem. They were very respectful on the property and they were agreeable to come back out.

Description of Work
They did a complete trenching of the crawlspace and encapsulation.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2014

5.0

12/29/2014


William D.

They guarantee that you’ll never have a wet basement as long as the property is there. There are very few companies that will guarantee their work like this. It was easy to schedule the service and they had lots of options for appointments. They had a crew of 5-6 and they did the job within the timeframe and priced as stated. There was an issue with the battery beeping, but that was handled with a phone call and they were prompt in fixing that. The job was very labor-intensive and they were very professional. I would recommend them highly.

Description of Work
They waterproofed the basement and installed a backup sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2011