Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Artistic Landscaping Inc

Founded 2002 • With Angi since June 2009

3.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10800 Lanham Severn Rd

Lanham, MD 20706

Description

Artistic Landscaping, Inc. is a local family-owned and operated professional landscaping contractor business serving residential, commercial and industrial business clients located in Prince Georges County, Anne Arundel County and Howard County Maryland, and the Washington DC suburbs. We all want to achieve a perfect home; doing so is not always about home renovations and remodeling. While many homeowners do not care about having one, a beautiful and well-maintained lawn landscape enhances the overall environment of your home....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/23/2018


Healey W.

I had landscaping installed by this company about a year ago, and a number of mistakes were made. The person who installed the plants put plants in that, it turns out, cannot survive in my home's climate (heat, soil grade, and soil type). I learned this year that she was let go from the company. Instead of correcting the mess made by one employee lacking the proper knowledge, the company made it even worse. The people they sent out to do the work were caught on camera napping on my front lawn and no apology was extended. They do not respond to phone calls or requests for assistance - I've only been able to get a reply from their management by badgering them with emails and phone calls. They blamed all problems on me not watering, which is a completely baseless accusation as I have spent hours watering - they blame watering because this one of the only things that "voids" their plant guarantee, so buyer beware, they will always have a convenient excuse not to fix the problem. They did replace a few plants (only after I spent several hundred dollars on mulch) but did a shoddy job and didn't complete several cleanup tasks they indicated they would do. I have lost a ton of money, have had to buy and install my own replacement plants, and it is very upsetting. I am writing this only because I wish I had known before I hired them for this work. RUN from this company - and spend your hard-earned money elsewhere.

Description of Work
Front yard landscaping

Category landscaping

4.0

07/18/2018


Robert G.

Initially, the "sales" person was very responsive, and insightful - knew her stuff (she is no longer with the company). The initial work was done well but could have been more thorough on our backyard hill -- but a bit pricey compared to others. Since, they have been less responsive and more expensive, to the point we had to find a new company.

Description of Work
Hill landscaping; tree beds created, fixed; some lawn maintenance

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

10/24/2017


Jean F.

.

Description of Work
.

Category lawn service

2.0

06/10/2017


Patricia K.

It went badly from the very beginning. The crew stayed about two hours and did not hand weed but did the usual weed whacking that I had done myself. They did not spread the pre-emergent which needs to contact the soil but did spread the mulch covering the soil. They simply stopped in the middle of the gardens and left. I called and the lead designer brought them back two days later and we went over the plan once again. The second time they stayed longer, about 4 hours, but refused to weed an area containing poison ivy even though I had specifically talked with the lead designer about that very issue and area. They sprinkled the pre-emergent on top of the mulch making it useless. They covered existing plants with the mulch and left the area in disarray. They offered to come back a third time but I declined and accepted a $100 reduction just to end my dealings with them. Needless to say they will not be doing phase two.

Description of Work
I spoke with the "lead designer" about a two stage project. First was hand weeding of ivy and other growth, cleaning out of garden beds, trimming trees, prune shrubs, use of pre-emergent to landscape beds, install soil and shredded hardwood mulch. Second, after the summer they would transplant shrubs and perennials and add shrubs and ground cover. The price for phase one was $1280.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

06/05/2017


Julia H.

very well [Review text must be at least 10 characters]

Description of Work
I have used Artistic Landscaping Inc for lawn mowing services for many years. When we had that late snow and ice storm in March 2017, I used them to remove a tree the price was reasonable and the work was excellent. They removed the tree completely and removed a few low hanging branches on another tree in my yard for a nominal fee.

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

07/01/2015


Judith G.

I have used him one time. One little spot was over looked and he came back and fixed it. They take care of my yard they do a great job. Comes on time for appointments and is reasonably priced. He also put mulch all around my yard and it had held up very well. Trimmed bushes and got rid of weeds.

Description of Work
Lawn Care

Category lawn service

2.0

02/13/2015


James L.

All they did was come out and do a lawn mowing. He charged me $90.00 for a $45.00 job. I called him two or three times and said just have somebody come and look at it. I don't think they ever sent anybody out. I never got a response, even though they said they would send somebody out. Just recently, in January, I was just communicating with them, and I said that someone didn't come out and look. The front yard was fine, they got some of the leaves and stuff, but the backyard, there were still leaves. I took pictures. I was trying to see if I was being over-charged. If all they were going to do was come out and do a mowing, then I should have just been charged the $45.00 price. I paid $90.00 for what I considered a $45.00 job. The last time I called and spoke to a representative, she said "Well, they're not going to come out anyway, because it would take them too long, and by that time more leaves would have blown into the yard." I asked, "Would you still please have someone come out again, and just talk to them so I at least know what their response is, and if this is the quality of work that they do"? I never heard from them again. I will still do their lawn services, but I will not order any of their other services.

Description of Work
Leaf removal service.

Category leaf removal

5.0

02/13/2015


James L.

They're prompt, every two weeks. I don't have to worry about it.

Description of Work
Lawn service.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you (Member Name). Please let us know if there's anything we can do for you in the future. Whether it be physical work onsite or a simple question pertaining to plants and moving forward projects. Hope you have a GREAT/BLESSED day! :)

4.0

03/11/2014


elizabeth S.

I have had this company service my lawn and leaves for at least 6 years. All of a sudden, they raised my rate by $30/cut. I am in the process of finding another lawn service provider. Regarding quality, they were OK, but I would have to call to get them to mow to the edges of my property because they cut corners. I would still use them if they had not raised the price so much.

Description of Work
Lawn cuts, blow and edge trim, remove leaves

Category lawn service

4.0

02/12/2014


Carolyn B.

In the fall they seeded my yards. The work was satisfactory and I am looking forward to seeing how my lawns look this spring. At times I experienced getting responses to my phone calls and emails. I last called and emailed them on 11/27/13 and as of today's date (2/10/13) I still have not heard from them.

Description of Work
I contracted Artistice Landscaping to do spring clean-up of my front and back yards and cut my yard on bi-weekly basis.

Category landscaping

4.0

10/28/2013


Catherine B.

Very professional and timely on the service.

Description of Work
Cut down/haul tree and consult regarding the health of another.

Category tree service, drain pipe

5.0

08/27/2013


Tammy J.

They do excellent work and they are very professional. They are the best landscaper I have ever had. Their people are knowledgeable.

Description of Work
I use Artistic Landscaping Inc for landscaping and yard work. They cut, they mow, they blow, and they edge.

Category landscaping, lawn service

2.0

04/03/2013


Linda T.

They had trouble with their computer system, and lost us from their system. I had to call them because the grass was growing and no one was coming out to cut it. They apologized and said they were trying to get their system put back together. When they came to cut it, they never gave us a warning. They never picked up sticks or anything else in the yard.

Description of Work
They cut our grass mainly, orignally they were here to take down some bushes.

Category landscaping, lawn service

2.0

11/20/2012


Danielle S.

We received a prompt estimate of $422 for all services. This is relatively high for our area but we wanted a professional company and good work, so we signed the contract and set the date. A deposit of half the contract value was paid. That day came and went without any work being done or any communication from the company. The next day passed as well. Finally, we contacted the company and were told that the person we booked the service with quit and our appointment had been missed. They were apologetic. The work was scheduled again. Two workers did show up and blew most of the leaves away but much debris was left in the flower beds and a pile of sticks they'd gathered were left out front. We didn't think much of it because the full service wasn't finished. Well, it's almost a week later and no more work has been done and we were not contacted by the company. My husband called and was told the work was all done. He informed them nothing but a bad leaf removal job had been done. They promised to send a crew and a project manager out within three days to finish and/or prove us wrong. They will be in contact with us this evening to ensure we're satisfied with the end product. I'm really disappointed with the way we've been treated, the numerous bumps along the way and the actual work performed. Given the positive reviews and the high dollar estimate, we expected more. We are hoping to make this a rental property soon and wanted a dependable lawn service.....guess these guys aren't it. Note to readers: we live in a depressed socioeconomic area about a mile from the New Carrollton Metro Station. We've had some contractors do a less than adequate job seemingly because they think they can get away with it in this area. Given the other good reviews, this is probably one of those companies. So, if you're in an affluent area, they might perform better for you.

Description of Work
We contracted for fall cleanup, leaf removal, mowing and edging.

Category lawn service, leaf removal

1.0

08/03/2012


Ernest C.

My saleman was Tim. He promised to start on Thursday and did not start until Friday. They sodded the yard (using 800 sq ft not 900 sq ft) and pour the concrete (wrong color from steps). Two months later after regular watering, sod was turning brown, not taken rootand dying in areas where dirt was compact. I also noticed they dumped their excess cement by my foundation behind a bush and covered it with mulch, about about 1 ft by 3 ft lip. They put the wrong bushes in. I called the company and they send Tim again. I told Tim my issues and he said I should have watered the lawn for 90 minutes in the morning and 90 minutes in the evening everyday and their was nothing he could do. I told Tim about the cement, he would send someone by in a couples to fix. I told Tim don't bother because I thouhgt he woud brake or destroy my foundation wall. I dont trust Tim, he seemed to have mastered the art of gitting over on his customers while covering his tracks. Needless to say, I will not use this company again.

Description of Work
I hired this company to put 900 sq ft of sod down and 2.5 yards of top soil on front yard, I recently had my main water line brake. Add a one three ft bush and two small bushes, to match existing bushes. And pour 3 yards of concrete to repair walkway in front of house. And to remove old concrete.

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Service Provider Response

We schedule the member for Thursday originally; however we had a lot of mowing to catch up on that day and had to postpone the member one day, which we informed him of. Firstly, we installed two pallets of sod to the member's front yard each pallet carries 540 square feet of sod. Two pallets would equal 1080 square feet even if you allow for 10% loss due to damaged pieces and edges that would still be 980 square feet meeting the specified 900 square feet. We do not recommend planting any type of sod or seed in your yard in the summer, it is too hot and dry to do so and most lawns are not given enough attention to maintain them through the hottest parts of the summer, with the exception of lawns with irrigation systems, the member did not have and irrigation system and we made it very clear to him that in the middle of summer with no irrigation system we did not recommend or guarantee any of the sod work. Secondly, concrete that is not poured at the same time will almost never match exactly there are too many determining factors such as the type of sand or cement used, where the aggregate came from, the plant the concrete was mixed at. We at Artistic do our best to match the existing concrete but it can never be 100%. The only reason the member is bringing up the color of the concrete is because it is how we were able determine that concrete attached to the foundation was there prior to our doing the work because it was the same color as the rest of the foundation and the existing steps, not the same color as the concrete steps and sidewalk we poured. Also if you read any article on line it will tell you that new concrete will not stick to old concrete without some sort of chemical being applied to the old work before attempting to attach the new work or it will separate and or crack. We never dump extra material in customer’s yards unless instructed to do so by the customer. Concrete Color indecorativeconcrete.com/?page_id=400 Concrete Bonding sakrete.com/media-center/blog-detail.cfm/bp_alias/Bonding-to-Existing-Concrete

1.0

04/02/2012


Michael W.

I found this company to be very unprofessional. . A time and date was scheduled for an estimate. The representative was late so I called the office. When he answered, he stated that he had lost my telephone #. He came and promised to send me a quote the next day. When I called him, he stated that he had misplaced the quote and needed to come a second time. The second time, he was late so I called the office. I spoke to a young lady who argumentative and rude. I left a message with her and before I hung up the phone, he picked up and told me there had been a miscommunication on the time he was to come. Based upon my experience, I did not move forward with them. Also, I had a chance to drive by their place of business and was not impressed with the landscaping. If they are in the business of going out of business, they should keep on doing what they are doing.

Description of Work
Late for Appointment Did not follow thru with an estimate because it was misplaced. Rudeness on the telephone.

Category landscaping, lawn service

1.0

10/17/2011


Greg J.

I made an appt. to have some soil removed and grading work done in my back yard. The man called the day of the appt. and was very nice in asking to re-schedule later in the day which was fine. He never showed up for the appt. he made earlier that same day. I paid someone else a fair price $3,300 today for good results and professional work. I think they may only chase easy money and thus like to work for people they can overcharge and provide less than expected.

Description of Work
Wanted to have bobcat work, soil removed and backyard regraded and grass planted.

Category landscaping

1.0

07/27/2011


William A.

They wanted to charge me almost $800.00 to do this. I live in a townhouse and their price was ridiculous. I found someone else to do my work and cancelled with Artistic. It took them two weeks to refund me my money.

Description of Work
They were supposed to resod my front yard. I paid them $260.00 down and agreed to pay balance upon completion.

Category landscaping

4.0

05/26/2011


DIANN D.

The estimate was provided on schedule. I did have to request updates to the estimate/proposal because it did not contain enough details. I paid the deposit and did not hear back on a start date for over a week. When I called to inquire, the job started the next day. It was done with no disruptions. The grading was done to correct a drainage problem. We've had some heavy rains and it looks like it is resolved. About 80 percent of the seeded area has come in and looks great. Looks like I'll have to re-seed the remaining areas.

Description of Work
Backyard was graded and seeded. Sump pump discharge line was relocated.

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

05/14/2011


Cheryl Z.

I contacted the company via telephone for an estimate to mow two lawns in a Bowie subdivision. I received the estimate the next day. I paid the deposit, and the lawns were cut the same day. As promised, the lawns are being cut bi-weekly. They do a very good job of not cutting the grass too low and cleaning up the yards. The price is very reasonable . . . much less than I was charged previously by another company that did not do a very good job. I am glad that I contracted with the company for lawn maintenance and mowing. This will be the first company that I call when I am looking for landscaping services.

Description of Work
Mow two lawns on a bi-weekly basis.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/08/2011


Mr. C.

They gave us two estimates one is to do everything and the other was only maintenance on the property. They were great. They got back to me quick with the estimate and even wrote a mail to me.

Description of Work
I had Artistic Landscaping Inc come out to give me an estimate in October 2010.

Category landscaping

2.0

01/25/2011


YVONNE M.

I was not happy with them. They did not give me all the services that I paid them for. There were certain times when they were supposed to put in some flowers. They did plant the flowers, but some of them died. I called them and they were supposed to come out and put something in their place. They did not do that. I kept waiting. Even when I paid off the bill, they had not completed some of the things they were supposed to do. I had used them because I had got a packaged deal. The package included them doing certain things. They did do few things, but what they were supposed to come back and complete, they did not. I called them about it a couple of times and they assured me that they would send somebody out, which they never did. I will not use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Artistic Landscaping Inc. for getting some yard work done, a year ago.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Per the contract agreement with the member we were contracted to do an initial garden cleanup with 4 trim/pruning to be continued throughout the year and 2 flower installs (summer & fall). The agreement was signed 5/2/09 and expired 5/2/10. During which time 4 trim/prunes of bushes/shrubs were done at the home. And 1 summer flower install was done along with 1 fall flower install. The work cost was $590 and per the clients request we split the $590 over a 12 month installment plan coming to $49.17 a month with no extra cost for financing. During the year of contracted work (4 trim/pruning + 2 flower installs) we received many calls from the member having to explain the agreement and work within. I believe the dissatisfaction lies with the clients understanding of the agreement and expectations. We apologize for any dissatisfaction and will be more than happy to provide the member with the service dates. Have a GREAT/BLESSED day.

5.0

08/30/2010


TAMARA J.

The company responded promptly. I had an estimate by the end of the week. They trimmed, edged, manicured, and mulched everything. Even addressed the urns on my porch. The work performed exceeded my expectations.

Description of Work
Clean up and mulching of large garden.

Category landscaping

4.0

06/01/2009


YVONNE M.

We are on a program with them and they did a good job. It was the first time they came out to do the work and they would continue it for a while. I had no problem with them and everything was fine. Overall it was a good experience.

Description of Work
I used them about two weeks ago. They planned some flowers and shrubbery for us and put on some mud.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/07/2005

THEY DO EXCELLENT WORK. I WILL BE USING THEM AGAIN, AS WELL AS REFERRING THEM TO OTHERS. THE PRICE WASN'T TOO STEEP AND I WAS SATISFIED WITH THE JOB DONE.

Description of Work
THEY ADDED FLOWERS, TREES, GRASS, ETC. TO THE FRONT OF HOME.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    DEMCO Properties LLC

    We are a full service real estate firm, specializing in PROPERTY MANAGEMENT of residential single family homes, townhouses and condo's. We provide Full Property Management service or a Rental Bookkeeping service, if you prefer to handle our tenants and repairs yourself. We have a support staff to better service you. There is a physical office location for tenants, owners and agents to see us and drop things to us. Sherri Russell is the owner of DEMCO Properties LLC, a licensed Real Estate Broker and a Property Manager. She is licensed with the State of Maryland and can handle any of your real Esate needs She has owned rental properties of her own for many years. We will treat your properties like they are our properties. Sherri has been managing properties since 1985.  

    Metro Drainage Pros LLP

    Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Landlord Gopher

    Landlord Gopher is you premier company for any and all Real Estate Services. We provide 24/7 care of your property for a flat rate of $89.00 monthly (no long-term contracts, month-to-month agreement). With almost 20 years in business compare us to Property Managers who charge 10% for like services. Contact us for additional information and promotions.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Gutter cleaning, landscaping, hardscaping, fertilization, yard work & leaf removal, mowing, stamped concrete

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Artistic Landscaping Inc

    How is Artistic Landscaping Inc overall rated?

    Artistic Landscaping Inc is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Artistic Landscaping Inc open?

    Artistic Landscaping Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Artistic Landscaping Inc provide

    Artistic Landscaping Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Artistic Landscaping Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Artistic Landscaping Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Artistic Landscaping Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Artistic Landscaping Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Artistic Landscaping Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Artistic Landscaping Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Artistic Landscaping Inc?

    Yes, Artistic Landscaping Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Artistic Landscaping Inc offer?

    Artistic Landscaping Inc offers the following services: Gutter cleaning, landscaping, hardscaping, fertilization, yard work & leaf removal, mowing, stamped concrete