Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lyons Plumbing Inc.

Founded 1959 • With Angi since March 2005

4.9

(99) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10635 Connecticut Ave

Kensington, MD 20895

Description

Family owned company serving the Washington DC metropolitan area since 1959. Lyons Plumbing Inc. is a family owned and operated company. The company’s slogan, Skilled Hands, Dependable Hearts, was recently created in honor of the owner’s daughter, Kendall, and all children and adults maintaining

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/16/2022


Irwin S.

My family has been using Lyons & Sons Plumbing since the 1970s. They have always been reliable, offered fair rates on their work, and friendly. Just this week, I had a number of plumbing repairs that needed to be done in my home, including diagnosing and repairing a leak in my master bath shower. I was surprised that they were able to schedule an appointment for the next day (most contractors are so busy these days). They arrived within the time frame given, and Mark was very thorough in the work he did. He needed to purchase a couple parts to finish the repairs, and was able to come out the following day, again, within the time frame given, and finish the repairs. I am 100% pleased with their work - even after 50+ years!

Description of Work
Multiple plumbing repairs in my home

Category plumbing

1.0

04/25/2022


David M.

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY THEY ARE UNPROFESSIONAL Company Owner was working house next door and gave me an estimate to do a job that was required before another trade could complete work already started but halted until Lyons could complete plumbing task. Owner and I agreed to price and scheduled time to do work in a week. I scheduled time off from my job to meet him. Owner was a no show without a call on the first scheduled event. After a few voicemail messages he finally got back to me a week later and said he would be there the next Saturday. Saturday arrived and he was a no show again a second time. I then left subsequent voicemail on owners phone and he never got back to me. This is an extremely unprofessional company so watch your time and money. In this case they over promissed and non delivered.

Description of Work
Gas Light hookup

Category excavators

Service Provider Response

Hi, my Name is Dan Lyons, I own Lyons Plumbing. I have never, ever talked to this gentleman or visited this home. Our response time to any phone Call is less than 10 minutes. I did not provide a quote to this gentleman and have never met him. I can be reached at 301 253 4090, and you can be assured that we pick up the phone. I don not make service calls myself, impossible for me to be working next door and to provide a quote myself. In addition, I do not work on external gas lines. The owner of this review has us mistaken with another company. Please read our reviews on Yelp, Google and other vendors and you will quickly determine that This is a mistake. Kind Regards, Dan Lyons
5.0

10/09/2021


Bruce L.

We have a clogged drainage shared by the kitchen sink and washing machine in the mudroom. Kevin and Arvin came. They are very friendly and clean. They covered the floor to make sure it didn't get soiled. It took them 15 minutes to snake it and waited patiently for the washing machine to fill up with water before dumping it to the drain. They fixed the problem and even helped me clean up afterwards. Just amazing. I will definitely ask them again next time.

Description of Work
Unclogged drainage.

Category excavators, drain cleaning

5.0

01/27/2021


ROBERTA G.

They were very helpful and generous. They were willing to do more than the original job. I was very pleased.

Description of Work
Replaced faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

03/13/2019


Bruce L.

Jason was able to fix the clogged drain in my kitchen sink and mud room tub the other plumber failed to resolve after two visits. He patiently wait for the washer to complete the drain cycle to ensure the problem is fixed before leaving. I am happy and satisfied with his work.

Description of Work
Clogged drain

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.
5.0

09/28/2018


Elsa G.

Smooth and timely. Mr. Steve Lyons has been our highly reliable plumber for almost two decades and he is a true expert at his profession. Steve is the most honest and fair service we know, Period. Plumbing is a complex process that not just anyone can do well. He does it all right and will tell you the straight truth about issues. He has the highest standards of service integrity and is a pleasure to call. We wish all home services were as great as Lyons and Sons Plumbing which is a family business that's always responsive and understanding of customer concerns. Would like to rate them A+!

Description of Work
Fixing both bathrooms pipe leaks, installing new bathroom fixtures and faucets, installing kitchen faucet, diagnosing various plumbing issues, snaking a drain, examining a water heater for a quote on a solution.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your glowing review of our services! We appreciate it more than you know and we are so happy to continue to provide you with the service you expect! Have a wonderful day! Steve
5.0

01/04/2018


Dorothy W.

Steve Lyons Plumbing has done plumbing work in my house for more than 20 years. They are absolutely excellent.

Description of Work
plumbing leak cause determined and fixed

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi, Mrs. [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review! I hope to continue providing service when you need it for many years to come!! Happy New Year! Steve
5.0

03/22/2016


Susan B.

Excellent!! Stephen is the best!! Magnolia Plumbing came out the day before with an estimate of $2000 to replace 3 valves. I called Stephen that afternoon & he came the next morning. Said the replacement was totally unnecessary. Leak was only in one valve, and that could be repaired - no replacement. Stephen successfully repaired the valve - took 10 minutes. He also diagnosed an issue with our leaking dishwasher. Until I can get an appliance repairman out, Stephen capped the garbage disposal so we can use the kitchen sink. And he diagnosed an issue with our shower faucets. Told me how to order warranty parts - and then he can fix. All this took less than 1 hour! Cost $175 - not $2000.

Description of Work
Repaired 2 leaks - main water supply valve & garbage disposal connection to dishwasher. Diagnosed shower faucet issue - will return to fix that

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] We're so happy to have helped you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we appreciate that a great deal! Steve & Laurie
5.0

07/13/2015


Monte M.

They did everything I needed them to do. They were polite and professional.

Description of Work
They replaced facets and provided plumbing services.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. [Member name removed], Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company! We look forward to working with you again if you have a need for our services! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

04/13/2015


Lourell B.

Always good. Mr. Lyons is like a friend of the family.

Description of Work
Unclogged our toilet for the 3rd straight time. Fixed within 5 minutes

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for your kind words. This will mean so much to Steve and I know for sure, he feels the same way :)
5.0

04/10/2015


Gaby T.

They have repaired various plumbing, replaced a hot water heater, responded to a leak that came through the ceiling, and many more emergencies. Always super friendly, fast and top quality.

Description of Work
I've been using them for many years and Steve and his sons always deliver top quality!

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member name removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review. We appreciate that a great deal and look forward to working with you in the future if you have any plumbing issues :) Have a great day!
5.0

04/08/2015


Rich S.

He's awesome. He's very knowledgeable. He always gets the plumbing done right the first time. His availability is very good. His experience is the most important to me.

Description of Work
He replaced an old valve underneath the sink.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [removed member name]! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! Steve works hard to provide outstanding customer service so it's very rewarding to hear from a happy customer! Thank you again and have a great day!
5.0

02/05/2015


Chris S.

He's professional and I don't feel like he's over charging us. He's on time. He's son is pretty young and he's really really nice young person. He's reasonable.

Description of Work
They fixed two plumbing issues and one was the faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our company! We always appreciate the opportunity to work with you and hope to havethe opportunity again in the future, should you have a plumbing issue! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

01/05/2015


Terrie B.

Have been using Steve and his company fo ryears. He made an extra effort to schedule to the early morning to meet our timeframe. Did work in a clean and professional way. Uses top quality parts.

Description of Work
Replaced valve and inside elements of a toilet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed], Happy New Year! Thank you for the positive response to our service. We appreicate the opportunity to work with you!! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

12/23/2014


Elaine S.

Mr. Lyons had to go quite a distance to find the model I wanted since I wanted a high toilet and it was not readily available close by so it took him a long time and lots of gas to get what I asked for. He found one, however, and did a fine and careful job of installing it in my bathroom. Mr. Lyons has worked for me before and has always been conscientious, careful, and pleasant. He removed the old non-working toilet and carefully cleaned up the area and left no mess behind. Of course I would call him again if I needed plumbing help. I know he does careful work and gives good advice.

Description of Work
Provide and install Toto toilet. Remove old toilet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. {removed member name}! Thank you for sharing your experience with our company on Angie's List. We appreciate that a great deal and wish you and your loved ones a wonderful Holiday Season! Steve, Laurie, and Mike
5.0

10/27/2014


Wendy P.

The plumber showed up on time and did the work quickly and competently.

Description of Work
The plumber replaced our kitchen faucet and fixed a problem with our bathroom faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [member name removed]! Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate you're taking the time to share your experience and hope to be of help to you in the future, if you have a need! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

10/13/2014


Laura F.

He's great. I used him before I saw him on Angie's List and I was happy to see him on the list. He's knowledgeable and that's a big one. He's personable and his prices are good. I've used him several times because he's prompt and courteous. He actually has all top ratings on Angie's List and on my check book. He's definitely a good provider.

Description of Work
I've used him several times. I used him last for reseating a toilet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi (Member name removed)! We so appreciate your sharing your experience with our company! Thank you for taking the time and we hope you are having a fantastic fall season! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

06/30/2014


Warren M.

I couldn't have asked for more. Although only a small job, the work was done professionally and met all my expectations. Steve arrived right on time and was a pleasure to deal with. I will definitely be calling him for any future plumbing needs.

Description of Work
I needed a new trap installed on a bathroom sink. Steve provided two options. After discussing the options, we selected the option that best fit my needs.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [removed member name], Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to work with you and look forward to helping again in the future, should you have any plumbing issues. Have a wonderful Holiday weekend! Steve & Laurie
5.0

03/31/2014


teresa W.

Steve and his crew are awesome. He has been my plumber for years and always done a great job. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed]! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our company. We truly appreciate the opportunity to work with you and hope to have the chance again in the future! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

03/03/2014


Elizabeth H.

Our most recent experience with Steve Lyons plumbing was to replace an aging exterior faucet that we were no longer able to shut off completely. At Steve's request, we sent him photos of the where the faucet enters the house and where the connecting water pipe enters the house in the basement. Based on this information Steve gave us an accurate estimate of the repair cost. Work was completed as scheduled.

Description of Work
Replaced exterior faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of your experience with us! We apprciate the opportunity to work with you and hope to have a chance to work with you again in the future, not that we wish any plumbing problems on you! Steve, Laurie, and Mike
5.0

11/04/2013


Teresa C.

Very positive experience with Steve Lyons. He does excellent work at a fair and reasonable price. Will certainly hire him again

Description of Work
Reliable and honest plumber

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Have a terrific day! Steve
5.0

10/01/2013


K B.

Steve arrived on time, answered ALL of my questions and started the work. He is cheerful and very honest. I was expecting to have two other things repaired/serviced and he let me know it wasn't necessary, so he saved me money too.

Description of Work
Steve repaired a pin hole leak for me and snaked my bathroom sink.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review our services and share your experience. We greatly appreciate that! Have a terrific day! Steve, Mike, and Laurie
5.0

09/04/2013


Arthur N.

He was very good and very prompt. He installed a faucet for the master bathroom as well.

Description of Work
7833636

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], Thank you so much for your amazing review of our service! We appreciate the opportunity to work with you and hope that we can help you in the future should any need arise. Have a wonderful day. Steve
5.0

02/22/2013


Terrie B.

I have been using Mr Lyons for my plumbing work for about 20 years and he and his firm have done good jobs for us over that time. On the most recent washtub installation, he was very astute in that he recognized that some of the parts we had purchased were inadequate and he replaced them with higher quality parts as needed. He also returned later the same day when another cheap part developed a crack. This was again the fault of the Lowes-purchased part. No work he has done has ever needed any rework in the time I have used his services.

Description of Work
Installed laundry washtub and cabinet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hello and thank you for the wonderful response! We truly appreciate your sharing your positive experiences with our firm and more importantly, that we've been able to work with you for so many years :) Steve
5.0

02/09/2013


William H.

Mr. Lyons was prompt, personable, and highly competent. He took the time to explain our problem clearly, along with his proposed fix. His work was reliable and reasonably priced. We have called on him in the past for plumbing work, and our experiences have been consistently positive. What more could you ask?

Description of Work
Water leaks in connections to tub through ceiling below.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi Customer! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your comments! We truly appreciate that and look forward to working with you again, should you need us! Steve, Mike, and Laurie

    Other local Pros in your area

    Drainage and Erosion Solutions

    Drainage & Erosion Solutions (DES) is an award-winning company that provides assessment and repair of all drainage and erosion problems for residential and commercial properties. We are a design-build firm, with both engineering and contracting divisions; offering aesthetically pleasing and professionally engineered solutions to drainage and erosion problems. Our team members are year-round, full-time employees with a strong reputation for technical knowledge, attention to detail, great customer service and general excellence. All DES consultations, assessments, and installations are performed by a licensed professional soils engineer, or landscape and drainage systems designer. These professionals have several decades of combined design and contracting experience. Clients like working with us - much of our business comes from referrals and from our top rankings among the most popular contractor ratings services.  

    Angi Certified

    East Coast Landscape Design

    BEAUTIFUL OUTDOOR LIVING. East Coast creates inspiring landscapes, hardscapes, water features and drainage solutions that bring beauty, new outdoor experiences and exceptional value to your life and home. SPECIALIZING IN: Patios, walkways, driveways, landscaping, fire pits, outdoor kitchens, retaining walls, outdoor lighting, drainage and erosion control (including eco-friendly permeable pavers, dry riverbeds and rain gardens through RainScapes and RiverSmart rebate programs). TRUSTED: Employees drug tested and background checked. License #42490. Insurance #Q89-0102236-M. ADDITIONAL EMAIL: mark@eclandscapedesign.com  

    Angi Certified

    Metro Drainage Pros LLP

    Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation and Repair on Faucets, Toilets, Sinks, Water Heaters, Disposals, Water and Waste Sewage Lines, Sump Pumps, Sewage Pumps, Remodeling, Repiping, Leak Detection, Gas Lines and Drain and Sewer Cleaning

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lyons Plumbing Inc.

    How is Lyons Plumbing Inc. overall rated?

    Lyons Plumbing Inc. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lyons Plumbing Inc. open?

    Lyons Plumbing Inc. is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Lyons Plumbing Inc. provide

    Lyons Plumbing Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Lyons Plumbing Inc. offer free estimates?

    No, Lyons Plumbing Inc. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Lyons Plumbing Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Lyons Plumbing Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Lyons Plumbing Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Lyons Plumbing Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Lyons Plumbing Inc.?

    Yes, Lyons Plumbing Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Lyons Plumbing Inc. offer?

    Lyons Plumbing Inc. offers the following services: Installation and Repair on Faucets, Toilets, Sinks, Water Heaters, Disposals, Water and Waste Sewage Lines, Sump Pumps, Sewage Pumps, Remodeling, Repiping, Leak Detection, Gas Lines and Drain and Sewer Cleaning