Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Home Energy Saving Solutions

5.0

(87) Verified Reviews

Founded 2010 • With Angi since August 2012

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

5268G Nicholson Ln Ste 176

Kensington, MD 20895

http://www.MarylandEnergyAudit.net

Description

As a Maryland certified Home Performance with Energy Star contractor, we focus on making homes efficient and comfortable. Our energy audits and energy efficiency improvements usually qualify for generous state incentives and rebates through Pepco, BGE, and Potomac Edison. Mo is the owner/operator at Home Energy Saving Solutions. He has a deep depth of knowledge and experience gained from well over 1000 energy audits. Participation in numerous industry groups and conferences further enhance the expertise brought to each home energy audit. We will inspect your entire home as a system and evaluate energy loss and comfort issues using advanced diagnostic equipment. At the conclusion of the audit you will be presented with a comprehensive report detailing all findings and solutions, along with a payback period for repair and retrofit options....

Verified Reviews

5.0

(87) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

84

4

3

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

home energy audit (85)insulation (39)home inspection (8)basement waterproofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews
5.0

08/31/2020


Ann W.

Great. The energy audit identified the source of the humidity infiltration. And the audit report identified adjustments needed to the exhaust fan.

Description of Work
Home energy audit to determine where humidity was entering my house

Category energy audit

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

09/21/2019


Rose R.

We found HESS through Pepco's Home Performance energy savings program. Mohammed was responsive, arrived on time for the audit, and made sure to ask about any comfort issues we were having. After the audit, he took us through everything he found and made recommendations based on both energy savings and the comfort issues we discussed. He answered all my questions (and I had a lot), and explained in detail exactly what work he was suggested. When it came time for the actual work, it turned out to be a little more involved than expected, but they still managed to get it done in a day. Again Mohammed walked me through all the work that was done and answered all my questions. We haven't had a chance to test out the new insulation in the winter, but so far our upstairs is maintaining a much more uniform temperature and the A/C has definitely not been working as hard. Prior to the insulation we had a room that was 4-5 degrees hotter or colder than the rest of the upstairs depending on the season. Mohammed has also made the Pepco rebate process easy to manage so far, and his estimate was within 3% of the final rebate we will receive. I've been incredibly impressed with his communication throughout the whole process and would recommend HESS for any energy saving or comfort issues with your home.

Description of Work
Energy Audit and Insulation

Category insulation,energy audit

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2019

5.0

04/10/2019


Mary W.

The representative we worked with, Mohammed El-Ghoul, was very knowledgeable, professional and patient. The audit identified areas that could be addressed to make our house more energy efficient. Mohammed helped us find the right combination of options to fit our issues and budget. The crew that came to do the work was very prompt, neat and thorough.

Description of Work
Home energy audit and follow up insulation and weatherization work.

Category home inspection,insulation,energy audit

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2019

5.0

11/26/2018


Stephen L.

Individual arrived on time and went to work. At the conclusion, he emailed me the findings and recommendations. At that time, I was planning on replacing windows but during assessment, there was minimal heat loss through windows. Saved me several thousand dollars by not buying the windows. I have followed through on the recommendations and am impressed. Will use them again and recommend this company.

Description of Work
Energy Assessment

Category energy audit

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2018

5.0

10/24/2018


firooz G.

Timely professional service. Same day report. Responsive feedback on questions regarding report, new lighting, future services, etc.

Description of Work
Home energy audit

Category energy audit

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the great review. I look forward to working with you! Thanks, Mo H.E.S.S.
5.0

08/12/2018


Thomas F.

Exceptional! The difference is night-and-day. We have experienced high humidity in our upstairs living area ever since moving into our home. We were also accustomed to our HVAC not keeping up with the hot summers. Days with outside temperatures in the 90s would equate our upstairs heat pump creeping up usually 6 to 7 degrees higher than what we had it set to. We would set the thermostat to 69-70 degrees and the upstairs temperature would increase to at least 75-76 in the afternoons and the humidity would stay in the 70-80% range. This is even after replacing the HVAC and all windows in the house! Home Energy Saving Solutions came in and after a home energy audit, knew exactly what the problems were. They found incredible air leaks into the attic, and areas of low or missing insulation in the attics. We hired them to fix the issues and the difference is incredible. It was 90 degrees and sunny yesterday and our thermostat stayed on 70 degrees all day! It didn’t budge at all, and the humidity stayed at 50%. Our upstairs is finally comfortable again. We are beyond happy with the work they performed and would recommend Home Energy Saving Solutions to anyone experiencing similar conditions in their home.

Description of Work
Home Energy Audit, Insulation, Attic Sealing, Vent Sealing

Category insulation,energy audit

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the awesome review! I'm glad to hear of the dramatic improvement! Thanks, Mo
5.0

08/05/2018


Roman K.

Hess did excellent work in our house in Bethesda! The results of your test-out were impressive. Previously, our home needed 6582 cubic feet of air per minute (CFM50) blown out to keep the house at a -50Pascal pressure difference (according to the audit report), versus 3620 CFM50 with the test-out. This equates to your Natural Air Exchange Rate improving from .61 to .33, almost 50% improvement! That means that our HVAC system has to cool/heat that much less air that is being lost to the outside. This test does not measure the impact of all the additional insulation in reducing heat loss that was done, only the air leakage portion of the work! It's 104F outside today, and we already feel the difference! All work was done in one day, they left house clean as it was before they came. Mohammed was very responsive, provided detailed explanation during the whole process, and replied promptly to my requests. Pepco rebate is supposed to cover 40+% of total cost. Mohammed submitted all paperwork himself. Updated as of 12/21 Mohammed did a great job to follow up with PEPCO on my rebate. For whatever reason, I haven't received the check. I wrote the email to Mohammed asking to follow up with PEPCO. Within 10 days I receive the check. Mohammed did not only great job on weatherization, but was also quick and responsive to follow up with PEPCO.

Description of Work
Home weatherization

Category insulation,energy audit

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review!
5.0

08/01/2018


Graham J.

Our insulation damage problem turned out to be a bigger job than expected. Throughout, Mohammed and his team/s were a pleasure to work with. They kept us informed so we knew what to expect - and they delivered this and more. A snag we hit was attended to quickly at no extra cost to us. We were told to expect a cooler house - we definitely got this! I'm delighted to recommend Mohammed and his team as competent, value for money service professionals. And they are real gentlemen as well - all of them.

Description of Work
Re-insulating two attics

Category insulation,energy audit

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review!
5.0

07/11/2018


David A.

Very impressed with their technician's knowledge and professionalism. He walked throughout the house with me explaining energy-loss issues and pointing out a number of energy-saving suggestions. Also very pleased that the survey included leak-testing our entire home. His thermal imaging equipment provided visual evidence of heat loss issues. Written report I received several days later was very thorough. While the firm did provide estimates for correcting problems found during the survey, there was no pressure to use their services. While I appreciate the special price offered through Angie's list, I would have gladly paid full price for HESS services.

Description of Work
Home energy audit

Category home inspection,insulation,energy audit

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2018

5.0

05/06/2018


Ryan G.

Absolutely wonderful experience from beginning to end. Mohammed is a true professional. He walked me through the entire energy audit process and answered emails and questions quickly. His team arrived on time, completed the work quickly, and left my house spotless.

Description of Work
Energy Audit and Addition of Insulation

Category insulation,energy audit

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2018

Services Offered

Home Energy Efficiency Audit.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
5%
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Energy Saving Solutions

How is Home Energy Saving Solutions overall rated?

Home Energy Saving Solutions is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

What days are Home Energy Saving Solutions open?

Home Energy Saving Solutions is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

What payment options does Home Energy Saving Solutions provide

Home Energy Saving Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does Home Energy Saving Solutions offer free estimates?

No, Home Energy Saving Solutions does not offer free project estimates.

Does Home Energy Saving Solutions offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Home Energy Saving Solutions offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Home Energy Saving Solutions offer a senior discount?

Yes, Home Energy Saving Solutions offers a 5% senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Home Energy Saving Solutions?

Yes, Home Energy Saving Solutions offers warranties.

What services does Home Energy Saving Solutions offer?

Home Energy Saving Solutions offers the following services: Home Energy Efficiency Audit.