Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are able to do interior virtual estimates by Facetime, Zoom, Whatsapp or pictures. Exterior estimate can be done while you are inside and speaking to us on the phone.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC

Founded 1995 • With Angi since April 2005

4.7

(431) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10555 Metropolitan Ave

Kensington, MD 20895

Description

With over to 400 “A" reviews, the winner of the prestigious Angie's List Super Service Award for ten years in a row, Washingtonian Magazine's Best Contractor List and 25 years in business, you can rest assured that our experience and excellent reputation will result in an experience that no other contractor can give you. We pride ourselves on being the standard by which other contractors are measured, hence the name Benchmark. Give us a call. You won't be disappointed!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/13/2021


Janet R.

I've used them on and off for the last 10yrs. But every year for the last 3years. They are amazing! They are a little bit pricy but they're work is impeccable. For me getting it right is more important than getting it cheap.

Description of Work
interior painting

Category interior painters

5.0

04/26/2021


Richard S.

The work was done exceptionally well. The estimator was great at working with us to produce a scope of work, lining up most of the same painting crew that had done a previous job for me, and coordinating the start date. The painting crew was quite simply terrific; very professional, always pleasant, incredibly hard working, very exacting and meticulous in their work, and flexible with changes. A top notch job.

Description of Work
Painting and minor carpentry work which included exterior window trim and door trim painting; interior painting including over wallpaper, and wallboard patchwork in numerous rooms. Our home is a restored Victorian so it involved a somewhat complicated and exacting paint job.

Category wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters

5.0

08/05/2020


Robert B.

The estimate process was excellent. They were on-time professional and responsive.

Description of Work
Would like upper section of house painted which includes 5 rooms, 2 bathrooms and hallway. 2 rooms have wallpaper that needs to be removed. Most rooms are lightly furnished. Schedule is flexible.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to provide it and look forward to working with you in the future.

1.0

07/31/2020


Peter V.

We had a contract with Benchmark Painting after we got a decent quote. We paid them 1/3 of the cost of the project up front. When they were close to start the work they let us know that the contractor who had given us the quote was 'not with the company anymore'. Another contractor came out to take a look and said they would start the next week. We then received a call from a supervisor stating that they needed 125% more on the job (but were willing to do it for 'only' 100% more). That seemed unacceptable and they pulled out of the contract. I wonder why we sign contracts but okay. They didn't want to do the work so we'll find someone else. We did get the down payment back. Names are interesting aren't they. One wonders why they have 'benchmark' in the name of their company. They certainly didn't need my benchmark of reasonable pricing. They didn't need my benchmark of competence. They didn't need my benchmark of reliability. I look forward never to work with this company again.

Description of Work
Painting, tiling, and some hardware installation in a small half bath

Category ceramic tile, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to have disappointed you. We were transparent, honest and professional with all of our communication. NO work was performed.

1.0

07/20/2020


katherine S.

After submitting an inquiry for a quote, they responded that they don't do deck painting, even though it's advertised on their website: "After picking out your choice paint and or stain from a wide range of colors, sit back and let our expert painters do the hard work."

Description of Work
Repainting deck

Category decks, deck cleaning, house painters

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for the confusion. We did not perform any work. We hope you can find someone for your project.

5.0

07/08/2020


Bill G.

Andres, the manager, lined me up with Eric, one of his long-time subcontractors who gave me the original bid on the job. Eric's young workers were extremely efficient and professional, despite temperatures that on a couple of days surpassed the 90 degree mark. And although the job turned out to be more labor intensive and ran a good deal beyond the few days anticipated, the Benchmark professionals stuck to their original price for the job. I highly recommend this group of reliable professionals.

Description of Work
Painting my house

Category house painters, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to provide it and look forward to working with you in the future.

1.0

06/26/2020


Nancy C.

I responded quickly to the requests from the company including pictures of the shutters and front door. There was an inexcusable delay under the aegis that someone tried to reach me, but couldn’t. Considering the amount of emails that were received I find that hard to believe. And then the answer that they couldn’t do the job. No reason why a painting company could not do an outside job of painting window shutters. Too small a job? If so then why not tell me at the beginning rather than require pictures? And unless I wrote an email assuming they did not Want to submit an estimate i doubt I ever would have heard from them. Their actions do not live up to the standards of members of Angie’s List.

Description of Work
18 window shutters needed to be painted as well as front door

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry you feel we did not accommodate your needs. Our estimator personally contacted you about the estimate request. Based upon the conversation with him, you understood why we were unable to quote the job. We did not perform any service for Ms. [Member Name Removed]. This was for an estimate.

5.0

09/13/2019


Taylor S.

They did a wonderful job repairing and painting. Very helpful, on time, and professional

Description of Work
N/A

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the A rating. We appreciate the time you took to post the review and your referrals.

5.0

09/13/2019


David N.

Great - they were conscientious about the paint getting on our furniture and floors, did a great job throughout despite several different colors to be used in different rooms.

Description of Work
Painting the ceilings & walls throughout the 1st floor of our home.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working with you, look forward to future projects with you and appreciate your referrals ~ The Benchmark Team

5.0

09/13/2019


Max B.

Great Job good pricing and workmanship for my Paint Job Kitchern Foyer Bath and Dining room

Description of Work
N/A

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing an "A" rating. We enjoyed working with you again and look forward to working with you in the future.

5.0

09/13/2019


Mr. A.

Painters were clean and thorough. Andre was very helpful in suggesting what needed to be painted and not.

Description of Work
N/A

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A rating. We will pass on your compliments to Andres and the crew!

5.0

09/13/2019


Leon H.

Erick and his crew were amazing. I have hired many paint crews; they were hands down, the most meticulous painters I have hired yet. They painted behind every nook, wire, crevice, while avoiding spilling paint on any unwanted surfaces. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
N/A

Category woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting a review. We will pass on your compliments to the crew and project foreman. We appreciate your referrals.

5.0

09/13/2019


Jeff R.

Work was done promptly in two days, back to back, which was appropriate for a job this size. Great results and friendly staff. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Interior painting of multiple rooms and ceiling

Category interior painters, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating. We appreciate the time you took to provide it and look forward to working with you in the future.

3.0

09/13/2019


Paula H.

Good-they showed up on time. Bad-they dragged furniture on my new hardwood floors. They did pay to have it replaced. You would think that they would know not to drag furniture. Also, a manager didn't come at the end of the job to check on it.

Description of Work
painted interior of condo

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

We hope that reimbursing you for the floor damage satisfied you and you are happy with the end project.

5.0

09/13/2019


Robert L.

Benchmark consistently does very good work for a reasonable price.

Description of Work
N/A

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We always enjoy working with you and appreciate the A rating ~ The Benchmark Team

5.0

09/13/2019


Lia G.

Great work, professional, efficient.

Description of Work
N/A

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to provide it and look forward to working with you in the future.

5.0

09/13/2019


Roger C.

Benchmark did a great job on the exterior painting of our large three story stucco house, painting both stucco and trim. They also did a significant amount of carpentry repair on an old garage that is used as a shop. Most of the work was done when we were out of town and not here to supervise the job. We left Benchmark a key so that they could open and shut windows so that they would not be painted shut. We were very pleased with the work and this 103 year old house looks great.

Description of Work
N/A

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing a review. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you on future projects,

5.0

09/13/2019


Craig S.

Very professional. They repaired a deck and painted the exterior of my home. Great work!

Description of Work
N/A

Category decks, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to provide it and look forward to working with you in the future.

5.0

09/13/2019


Elaine R.

Very professional and fulfilled all expectations.

Description of Work
Painting, interior and exterior

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working with you. Please let us know if we can assist you with future project and we appreciate your review and referrals.

1.0

09/10/2019


dafna G.

Estimator came, spent time, then wrote me they aren't interested.

Description of Work
paint front and back masonry and fence

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

On occasion we do have to decline to complete a project due to a customers expectations and what is really possible. We hope you were able to find a contractor that met your project needs.

5.0

07/18/2019


Richard S.

Benchmark Painting did a superb job with painting exterior parts of my home, as well as interior painting work including walls, ceilings, over existing wallpaper and radiators. Also completed some "light" carpentry prior to the painting work. The entire experience with the company was first rate, from the initial estimate and planning the work with the company’s estimator, to the actual on-site work. The work was started on time as planned and completed in a very timely manner. The on-site painting crew of six was led by Jose, who was superb at leading and coordinating all the work throughout my home. Jose and his team of painters were very professional, efficient, dedicated to doing an excellent job, personable, and hard working. I was very impressed with this team of six painters. I strongly recommend this company.

Description of Work
exterior and interior painting and some carpentry

Category woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the outstanding review. We will most certainly pass on your compliments to your project coordinator, Blake, and the crew. We appreciate the time you took to post such a complimentary review and appreciate your referrals! ~ The Benchmark Team!

5.0

06/04/2019


Chip J.

Benchmark did an excellent job at providing everything that was necessary to complete the interior painting of our basement renovation. Because of their excellent service, we have used them repeatedly over the last several years and will continue to do so for all our project, small and large, going forward.

Description of Work
Interior painting of basement renovation

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing an "A" rating on our performance. We always enjoy working with you and look forward to future projects and a long professional relationship ~ The Benchmark Team

1.0

06/03/2019


Marsha T.

Our building hired Benchmark a few years ago to paint the exterior first floor of the four story condo building. At that time they did a good job. We hired them again to do the rest of the outside of the building. We also hired them to power wash and seal a small deck on the top of the building. The problem I believe was the quality of the young man who estimated both jobs -- as it turns out he never either understood the jobs or he is just an inept communicator. In fact, the people who came to do the deck had no idea what deck they had come to seal -- Thanks goodness I was home or my neighbor's deck would have been done instead of mine. The second time they came to do the deck, they had the wrong equipment. The job entailed utilizing a fire escape to get to the deck -- one our roofer regularly uses to access and paint the roof -- not a big deal. The young estimator saw it and said no problem. Turns out it was a problem.It took three site visits -- not including the original estimator's -- before they finally got the job done. For the outside painting, we had to postpone once because they had the wrong ladder. They finally showed up today and had badly misunderstood the job. (The estimator again.) The owner finally called us and proceeded to blame us for our fire escape access and our request to redo parts of the deck that were missed-- he was totally unprofessional. We will never use them or recommend them. We can only figure that there is new ownership or the management has slipped badly.

Description of Work
Deck Seal and Exterior Painting

Category decks, pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

We're sorry your experience did not match your expectations, however, Benchmark encourages our customers to read the contract they sign to ensure all aspects of the project are clear - and, in this case, they were very precise. We have a long history of outstanding performance as reflected by the exceptional ratings we receive from our customers - both previous and new. The decision to return your deposit - in full - was likely beneficial to both parties. We hope your project is successful with another vendor.

5.0

05/22/2019


Celeste S.

Benchmark did a great job from start to finish. All of the people I interacted with were very knowledgeable and honest and reasonable. The crew did a very nice job.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing us with an A rating. We enjoyed working with you ~ The Benchmark Team

5.0

05/22/2019


Michael G.

Outstanding. Worked 12-hour days with top quality and good clean up. Ask for Adolpho’s crew. Well worth the cost.

Description of Work
Entire first floor painting including two-story sun room with recessed ceiling.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our crew - We enjoyed working with you -~ The Benchmark team

    Other local Pros in your area

    C.S. Painting & Home Improvement

    C.S. Painting & home improvement , Providing Quality Service in Interior and Exterior Painting, Drywall, Carpentry and General Remodeling, We’re your Best Choice Contact us now  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Jamb contractor

     

    RestoreUnow

    WATER, FIRE & MOLD Damage Restoration & Clean-up Services! When disaster strikes your home or business, you need an experienced professional company to restore your property back to pre-loss condition. We offer immediate disaster response and can work with your insurance company. Having a disaster happen can be a traumatic time in your life and we understand every aspect of this. Our goal is to not only restore your home or business properly but to also ease your mind. From the initial phone call until after we've completed the work, we promise you'll be completely satisfied. We urge you to take a few moments to read our reviews, learn about our services, and contact us with any questions you may have.  

    Business Highlights

    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    50770
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior and exterior painting, pressure cleaning, rough & finish carpentry, wood replacement, and molding installations.

    Services Not Offered

    Custom cabinets, Roofing/skylights, window replacement, hard wood flooring installation.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC

    How is Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC overall rated?

    Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC open?

    Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC provide

    Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC?

    Yes, Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offer?

    Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC offers the following services: Interior and exterior painting, pressure cleaning, rough & finish carpentry, wood replacement, and molding installations.

    Are there any services Benchmark Painting & Carpentry of Kensington, LLC does not offer?

    Custom cabinets, Roofing/skylights, window replacement, hard wood flooring installation.