Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC

Founded 2000 • With Angi since December 2008

5.0

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4219 Howard Ave

Kensington, MD 20895

Description

Small family owned business with a strong reputation for quality and service in the area. Competitive pricing with no job being too big or small. We build all our furniture here in Kensington, MD. Proud to be Made in the USA furniture.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/12/2017


Stefan A.

Shlomo and his team did a fantastic job. The moment Shlomo entered our house we knew we had hired a reliable professional. He designed a cabinet that offered more space than those of others suppliers and make use of all space available. He had to remove the marble countertop to install the cabinets and reinstalled thereafter. The cabinets are of high quality and blend in perfectly with the rest of our kitchen. I highly recommend him. And the price was competitive too.

Description of Work
Cabinet underneath a bar

Category custom cabinets, cabinet refacing

5.0

11/26/2016


Andrew C.

I decided to have the shelves made with a dark cherry wood finish to complement the cherry flooring. It turned out great. Shlomo's team did a wonderful job installing the shelves and mantel. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
I needed to have some bookshelves built in my living room. As we discussed the project, Shlomo recommended building the shelves across the entire wall and replacing the existing fireplace mantel with one that would match the shelves. I thought about it, and agreed it was a good idea.

Category woodworking

5.0

10/20/2016


Patricia B.

They did beautiful work, it was fun working with them, and they really take pride in their creations. They were responsive and completed both jobs in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend As it Should Be to anyone who wants custom furniture and very good prices.

Description of Work
I hired As it Should Be to build a custom cabinet in my bathroom and a custom desk to match an existing desk in my office.

Category custom cabinets, custom furniture

5.0

08/12/2016


Judith M.

The work was completed yesterday and I am so excited about the result that I couldn't wait to write this review. What used to be seriously ugly closet space in the two large walk-ins in the MBR are now configured with shelves, drawers, double hanging space for short items and single hanging space for long dresses and even a mirror in the back of one. The quality of workmanship and attention to detail was impeccable. Because of a winding staircase to the second floor, the two men carried all the supplies upstairs and then built everything to fit up there. Because I haven't even moved in yet I was a bit concerned about this at first but they left it as clean as it was in the beginning with absolutely no sign that my bedroom was a construction area earlier. For the kitchen pantry they literally tripled my shelf space because of their unique design and utilized every inch of space. There is no doubt in my mind that when I need woodworking done again, As It Should Be Cabinetry will be the first company I call. They were professional, personal, responsive and very enjoyable to work with.

Description of Work
I bought a brand new condo but the builder cut corners by installing the white metal shelving in all the closets which I definitely do not like. I decided to have custom closets build for the two large walk-ins in the MBR and in the small pantry in the kitchen. Having just sold a large home I was spoiled by the spacious closet configurations, so I began my search for a company that could design and install exactly what I wanted. For months I kept seeing coupons and ads for the more well-known companies and even called a few, but they just didn't seem right for me. After checking Angie's List I found As It Should Be Cabinetry and gave them a call. They were very responsive and came to the condo to take measurements, discuss design and then quickly emailed me design drawings based on what I said I wanted along with an estimate for all the work to be done.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, closet systems, woodworking

5.0

11/04/2015


Diego D.

My kitchen cabinet door had a crack so they used the same frame and replaced the central part with glass, which made my kitchen look so much better. Service was impeccable and I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced two kitchen cabinet doors with glass

Category custom cabinets, glass repair, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/05/2015


John P.

Everything was done on time, was high quality, and was at estimated cost. They were very responsive to correcting a finish problem with the kickboard.

Description of Work
14 feet of cabinetry in a family room. Bookshelves above, and cabinet and desk surface below.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you so much for this review. We were happy that we could provide you with what you wanted and that you were satisfied with the product.
1.0

08/21/2015


Mary B.

I called this cabinet company to see about getting them to repaint the kitchen cabinets in our home. They made an appointment with me to come and give me a bid and never showed up. I called them a day or 2 later to see why they never showed up and to ask them to come at another time but I never even got a return phone call! (No one ever seems to answer the phone - you have to leave a message each time.)

Description of Work
Nothing!

Category woodworking, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

[Member name], i tried several times to reach to to reschedule and left numerous amount of messages with no response. We are sorry that you had this experience, but after a certain point we stop calling as we do not want to harass our customers.
5.0

05/08/2015


Cathy S.

Absolutely gorgeous. We downsized and needed all the storage we could squeeze. They installed a floor to ceiling entertainment center exactly as we wanted it, utilizing all the formerly wasted space. They removed the crown molding and put it on the front of the entertainment center to keep the flow. Looks fabulous!

Description of Work
Put in a beautiful built in entertainment center with book shelves.

Category custom furniture, woodworking

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), thank you so much for this great review. We were glad that we could help you get what you wanted out of the space and even more happy that we can add you to our long list of satisfied customers.
5.0

02/09/2015


Larry B.

Thank you Angie's List for listing "As You Like It Cabinetry" in Kensington, MD just north of Washington, DC. Shlomo and his crew were excellent! They took on a job that was not big enough for many others and did superb work on my bathroom vanity door project. This family owned business is a gem with the "Customer First" attitude and clear communication throughout the process. I highly recommend AISB Cabinetry for both big and small jobs...to them, we are important!

Description of Work
Constructed and painted new bathroom vanity doors, added new soft, self closing hardware and installed all drawers and doors.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

11/07/2014


Michele P.

Super, they are coming back to do more work.

Description of Work
Woodwork

Category contractors, remodeling

5.0

10/04/2014


Stephen L.

I initially contacted Shlomo based upon their outstanding reviews on Angie's List and I am so happy we did. We took quotes from three companies to design and build our home office. As it Should Be Cabinetry was the best price and the work was simply incredible. They started with a short "no pressure" meeting and measurements and produced professional drawings for us to look at. These were not fancy computer renderings, but they conveyed what we needed to know. The owner truly understood the work we wanted to do and invited us to come see his shop, which we did. No nonsense craftsmen with lots of experience and a very busy shop was what we found. We originally wanted to go with Cherry, but also had a tiger wood floor put in. Shlomo brought me samples of walnut which we fell in love with. The craftsmanship was truly solid. We saw several examples in the shop and what we got at home was even better. They came out to install and used all soft close drawers and cabinets. The equipment cabinets were all done with sliding shelves for printers, shredders, etc... He even added some very nice locks that are not visible but operate on a key code. Daniel led the installation and it was really fantastic. He and his partner spent a full day making everything perfect. We selected the positions of the grommets so there were no visible cords or other distractions from what was a fantastic set up. The bookcases went all the way to the ceiling and they did beautiful crown molding as detail. Overall the job was just seamless. Not only will I give them my highest recommendation, but we are looking for more projects to have them do for us. My wife who is more critical than I am was so thrilled with the work and craftsmanship. We simply could not be happier. If you really want work done right, go to the best and this is it! We simply love it. Steve

Description of Work
Custom built ins for our home office including desks, bookcases, and lots of drawers and cabinets.

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

09/04/2014


Alan V.

The work was done promptly, professionally, and with an eye on perfection. Every board was selected for the best grain and least knots. We are completely pleased with the work. This is the second time we have used this company. The first job was outstanding. We were not disappointed with the effort the second time. I would use this company again for sure.

Description of Work
The floor of our large deck was replaced.

Category decks, woodworking

1.0

08/25/2014


Teresa R.

They did not show up as scheduled in mid-August

Description of Work
Four weeks ago this contractor said it would provide a free estimate for wooden shelving for our kitchen pantry. They were supposed to send someone out for an estimate the week of Aug 12 which did not happen. When I inquired yesterday about whether they were still interested in doing this work they said absolutely but you will need to pay us $85 to come out. I've wasted 4 weeks with this company and don't appreciate them changing the ground rules.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

[Members Names] we are sorry that our company policy is to charge for estimates so far away. we have gone out and done so many estimates and wasted so much time and driven distances to not see those jobs come in. Like we stated the 85 comes off of your final estimate if you go with us. We are sorry for the mis understanding
5.0

07/11/2014


Nadine D.

He actually referred me to someone else to do a smaller job than what I had anticipated it would be.

Description of Work
He gave me an estimate on some cabinetry work

Category cabinet refacing

5.0

06/10/2014


Patrick Q.

Fantastic! I am very satisfied with my new shelf. It fits in with the design of this old condo quite seamlessly. The owner, Shlomi, was very professional and helpful during the entire process, from estimate to completion. The price was very reasonable, and I definitely feel that I got more than what I paid for in the quality of the materials, the installation and the added value to my home. I would highly recommend As It Should Be, and I am looking forward to hiring them in the future.

Description of Work
Hauled away and old shelf and replaced it with a custom, pre-fab, built-in shelf & cabinet and some electrical re-wiring.

Category custom cabinets, electrician, woodworking, cabinet refacing

5.0

04/07/2014


Camilla D.

Provider designed a custom cabinet for us and then built and finished it. He and the company members were extremely helpful and patient with our request and the final product was excellent.

Description of Work
Provider designed and built a wooden cabinet

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

03/29/2014


Tracy M.

Scheduled an appointment with the owner, Shlomo, to come to my house for an estimate. The price came in a little higher then I was expecting but since I was getting two separate pieces delivered at the same time I received a $200 discount on the installation and delivery. Even though they were an hour away, they were always on time. I was very happy with the cabinets, especially the wine cabinet that came out beautifully and by far is some of the best craftmanship I have ever seen. You can tell they take great pride in their work and you will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
Fabricated wine cabinet to accommodate space for 24 wine bottles, two drawers for storage and adjustable shelving for glassware as well as a built in entertainement unit with frosted glass and adjustable shelving.

Category custom cabinets, glass repair, woodworking

5.0

03/28/2014


angela F.

The contractor is both reasonable price, provides quality work, and address the customer needs after hearing what is needed. Because of my wheelchair, I needed to have a countertop created to be at the right height for me. I also wanted to be able t wheel under the countertop. Finally, the countetop had to be specially cut properly to be installed in a corner of my kitch and parrell to my wall oven. I have been trying to find a contractor who likes a challenge, can provide what I needed and not what is easiest for the contractor, and believes that asking for something different does not mean you can inflate the price because it is "customized." I finally found a contractor one!

Description of Work
Created and installed a butcher block countertop with shelves, which required customization to meet my wheelchair needsl

Category countertops, woodworking

5.0

02/23/2014


Lynn C.

Mr. Assaraf provided excellent design ideas and skillful woodwork. He and coworkers were a delight to work with. Bath cabinet drawers have gentle close feature and good fit to a small corner of the room. Kitchen unit stain has a reasonable match to the much older knotty pine on walls. There was a reasonable time interval for construction and installation and good price for cabinets where only custom work will do. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Created 1 master bath vanity cabinet and mirror surrounded by shelves (no sink), and a kitchen wall shelf and cabinet unit

Category custom cabinets, glass repair, woodworking

5.0

02/21/2014


Blaise D.

They did excellent work and were very professional. They took extra care and were willing to come back to fix a mistake.

Description of Work
Installed new custom cabinetry in my home.

Category custom cabinets

5.0

01/05/2014


Barbara S.

Shlomo, the owner came immediately to provide quotation. He then rearranged other work he had previously scheduled so he could adjust and fix our kitchen cabinets that had started to fall off the wall, earlier than he quoted. He had car problems that made him late, but he called to say he was coming and would arrive 45 minutes late-which he did. He and his assistant were able to jack up the cabinets and reinstall them correctly and securely, thereby not having to take them down and chance breaking them, as other quotations were going to do. Shlomo explained what he was doing to me as it was being down and described the method of securing the cabinets so they would never fall again. The work was done professionally and fixed the problems from previous poor installation work and I am very confident the cabinets are now securely in place. The cost was as quoted and was very much less than I originally anticipated. His quotation was also the lowest provided. The time it took was also on the low end of his quotation. It was so nice to find a true professional, who went out of his way to solve an urgent problem and did so pleasantly and professionally. I would highly recommend As It Should Be Cabinetry. If I would installing new cabinets, this is a company I would definitely consider using.

Description of Work
readjusted cabinets that were falling of the wall, ie screws had come out and cabinets had slipped down

Category woodworking, cabinet refacing

5.0

12/01/2013


Dale B.

This was a job which sounds simple, but wasn't simple. I got a restoration hardware vanity that was poorly designed with multidensity fiberboard wood and a top that did not overhang. As a consequence 2 vanities had water damage and this was the third. To restoration hardware's credit, they exchanged vanities twice. The contractor that had put in the first two said he would not do it again, because it would obviously fail. Two contractors told me to just return it and to not try to do it again. Three contractors, including Shlomo, were willing to try, but they all cautioned me to be careful about not allowing water to go over the side and said that there might be trouble in the future. I selected Shlomo because he seemed the most eager to make the effort and gave me the impression (correctly) that he cared about his craft and that he would do it right- the the best it could be done. Two months later, there is no water damage. He weathered the craziness that went with this job and today (Dec 1, 2013, there is no water damage). He is also honest- I accidentally gave him some money which he corrected. He found some mildew -in my pipes and we found some chorox and cleaned it up. I was impressed with this, because several people had worked the vanity and just left the mildew there. I had been going crazy looking for the mildew smell before he came- and he found it, told me about it, and fixed it. I would have never known if he just put the cabinet over the mildew. His daughter does most of the coordination - and she was charming. I found it possible to reach him within 24 hours of my request. And he was clearly expert in this- (by the time I got to him, I had been through a lot of discussion about the matter!!) Anyway, if you work with him, ask him to put drop cloths down on your floor if you want them. He just put his tools, the old vanity and other stuff right on my carpet. Look at the job before he leaves and ask him to do any clean up that needs to be done. Some of the grout was in a crooked line and had been wet- but when I called it to his attention, he came back to my house at no charge and fixed it with no hesitation. I recommend him as a contractor and encourage you to show a little more attention to detail than I did. He is an excellent craftsman but like many good craftsman, he pays more attention to the job than he does to caring for the surrounding home. He is really good.

Description of Work
He installed a vanity in my bathroom

Category furniture repair, woodworking, cabinet refacing

5.0

10/31/2013


Pamela B.

Everything went smoothly and was completed on time, and I am very pleased with the results! I am a designer, so I also have frequent opportunities to bring components of my projects to As It Should Be Cabinetry. I have always been very impressed with their quality of craftsmanship and design sense. My clients have always been extremely happy with the custom products created by As It Should Be Cabinetry, LLC. I will continue to rely on them for all of my custom cabinetry / furniture needs.

Description of Work
Built and installed custom cabinet in my new bathroom.

Category custom cabinets, custom furniture, woodworking

5.0

10/31/2013


Johanna W.

It went rapidly and smoothly. I inspected the piece before the finish was put on and worked with the company to select appropriate knobs. The proportions were worked out with the company and turned out to be perfect. For my library this company also build a sensational 14-foot bookcase wall with cupboards on the bottom. They ended up doing more than I contracted for (a two-tone paint finish) without adding to the price.

Description of Work
Custom designed, built and painted an 84" buffet with 2 double cupboard doors and 4 drawers.

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

10/30/2013


Marcia S.

Everything was done beautifully and as promised. This experience was so outstanding that Mr. Asparaf was here this week to start another project. The item will be in my entry way and I know it will be as beautiful as all his other work. Anytime friends come to visit and they see the furniture they compliment the quality of the work. I feel the work and workmanship was a great value for the price I paid.

Description of Work
Custom bedroom suite, custom mirror and custom TV cabinet. Mr. Asparaf made all the furniture to fit perfectly in my bedroom. Also, the stain on the wood was exactly what I wanted. The mirror was created from a design concept which was produced flawlessly. Mr. Assaraf also custom designed and built the cabinets in my bathrooms when they were remodeled.

Category glass repair, custom furniture, woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    A&S Chimney Services

    Our team at A&S Chimney Services LLC is made up of lead masons, chimney experts, and exterior remodeling specialists dedicated to serving our customers safeguard their property through a full scope of chimney cleaning, installation, rebuild, and repair solutions, along with gutter and dryer vent cleaning services. We work to ensure our valued customers can safely and fully enjoy their fireplaces by providing spot on cleaning and sweeping solutions, comprehensive chimney inspections, and repairs that stand the test of time. Lead by Gricelda and Antonio Coreas, who holds over 15+ years of experience in chimney construction, maintenance and restoration services. A&S Chimney Services LLC is one of few woman owned construction firms specializing in chimney services. We work with utmost care and regard for your home and project, to fulfill, and even go beyond, the quality of service and craftsmanship our customers expect. Licensed by the MHIC, insured, and bonded, A&S Chimney Services LLC has been serving residential communities all across Maryland, including in around Columbia, Gaithersburg, Germantown, and Rockville, for 18+ years. Maryland Home Improvement License MHIC No. 05- 145258  

    Angi Certified

    JJ&B General Contractors LLC

    We are a family-owned business with several years of experience in the home improvement field. Our company is founded by three main principles honesty, integrity, and consistency. Your home is the place where you will create many memories, love will reside, and friends will belong. JJ&B wants to instill these values when transforming your dreams into reality. With our team of experts, we can give you the confidence that the transformation of your home will be fast, reliable, and trustworthy. By treating your home like our very own we can provide 100% customer satisfaction by using high quality materials and customer service.  

    Angi Certified

    Stucchi's, Inc.

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime once you see our quality work. We're passionate about delivering an exceptional experience. When you hire us, you're hiring a team of professionals who are trained and skilled to deliver lasting value to your home. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New construction, renovations to custom furniture, displays & fixtures, laminates, custom carpentry & blueprints to the design.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC

    How is As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC overall rated?

    As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC open?

    As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC provide

    As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offer free estimates?

    Ask As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC for details on free project estimates.

    Does As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC?

    Yes, As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offers warranties.

    What services does As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offer?

    As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC offers the following services: New construction, renovations to custom furniture, displays & fixtures, laminates, custom carpentry & blueprints to the design.

    Are there any services As It should Be Cabinetry & Builders LLC does not offer?

    Ask for details.