Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Founded 2006 • With Angi since October 2007

4.9

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9639 Doctor Perry Rd. Ste 101N

Ijamsville, MD 21754

Description

Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers comprehensive Air Conditioning and Heating Repair, Replacement, Installation, Maintenance, Humidifiers, Air Cleaners......etc....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

06/20/2020


Jairo M.

They did not fixed my problem fully, the tech did not know how to make my ac system blow air hard, the way it usually does. He wanted to do extra work for an extra fee to see if that would make the air blow air stronger, but I think he missed understood blowing air stronger from blowing colder air. I would not recommend this company

Description of Work
AC needed to be fix

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi, thank you for reaching out to us about this issue. Our main priority is to provide our customers with excellent service, so we profoundly apologize for your experience. Management has been advised and we are all making a team effort to prevent this from happening again. We hope you give us the opportunity to make this right for you. Please contact our manager directly at (301) 831-8288.
5.0

08/08/2018


John C.

Our Heat Pump on the main level of the house had stopped working and we knew we wanted to replace it with a Trane Heat Pump so I looked on the Trane website and selected three dealers in our area. The folks from Eric Smock were definitely the most responsive. They cam out the same day to discuss what was needed and gave me a quote on the spot. Since they were the most responsive and provided the best solution at a very competitive price we went with them. The installation of the new system was scheduled within a couple days and took place with absolutely no problems. I would definitely highly recommend Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning.

Description of Work
New Heat Pump

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/07/2018


Daniel S.

My heat pump decided to quit working on one of those days (May 3, 2018) were Maryland winter suddenly becomes summer bringing along 90-degree temperatures and humidity. I knew my day was coming, as the unit was aging and had been losing efficiency over the past couple of years. I wondered how many days it would take to get it fixed and how much of a hassle this would end up being. I did some cursory research on Angie’s list and Yelp and decided to contact the Eric Smock company. And I am glad I did! This is a top-notch outfit that provides end-to-end exceptional customer care, technical expertise, professionalism, and attention to detail. I think this reflects exceptional leadership at the top. I would not assume that all HVAC catastrophic failures could be resolved within 24 hours, but that’s exactly what happened in my case. I called the number on their website around 7AM Friday May 4 assuming I would get an answering machine (note - the phone number on Yelp is not correct). Instead I spoke with Jeffrey of their answering service, who took down the details of my problem (heat pump not working, circuit breakers tripping) and what I had done (reset breakers, replace filter in air handler) and he assured me that he would get the information right over to ES when they opened at 8AM. Around 7:45 AM Ashley contacted me from ES, reviewed my information, and explained that due to the heat things had really gotten busy but that they would do the best they could; very professional, very friendly, and I got the sense that she “owned” the problem and would do what she could. She had rearranged some work, and as it turns out Kevin was available to come over and diagnose the issue around 9AM. Detail: She sent me an email with Kevin’s picture on it in advance of his arrival so I would know who to look for. Kevin did a number of diagnostics on the heat pump and the air handler in the basement, and unfortunately, I had suffered what he called a “catastrophic failure” requiring complete replacement. He was very straight-forward and explained what had happened. I was reeling a bit, I suppose, and when he said that Scott (owner’s son) would be over at noon to provide an estimate, I said something like “Well it will be good to get it repaired,” and Kevin very politely but clearly said, “No, we are talking replacement.” Kept me on track, in other words. He did not commit to any ballpark for replacement, nor when it would occur -- expertly managing my expectations and my tendency to hope people will say what I want to hear 😊. Scott arrived ahead of schedule around 11AM (Ashley called to confirm if this would be acceptable) and we sat down and discussed the options. He first asked a few questions to gather information which might have a bearing on the equipment installed (e.g., does anyone have allergies or asthma?) took the time to walk me through a short presentation on the company, their training and skillsets, insurance status, and then the actual estimate. He provided several options for replacement. They also offer financing, which I did not require. He was not sure if they could get to it today, and if they could if they could finish it, but they would try, and in any event I would have AC that day, and if necessary he would help on the install! As it turns out, Scott and his initial crew arrived around 3PM with a truck load of equipment and started to work. They decided to complete the job that day, due to other work that was piling up, for which I was grateful. They finally wrapped things up at 9PM! I got a great briefing on how to operate the fancy-dancy high tech thermostat (can’t wait to show that off to my kids!) and how to connect it to a device (which I did the next day -- was quite easy). I think they left the place cleaner when they left then it was when they arrived! The entire crew -- and I apologize that I didn’t recall all their names -- was polite, respectful, hardworking, well-groomed, and wearing company-issued polo shirts for a neat, professional appearance. They took care to put on those bootie things on their shoes when in the main part of the house. They appeared to work well together, each going about their tasks. It was not their first rodeo, as they say. One of them mentioned that they rarely begin a complete replacement project that late in the day, but they wanted to finish it so they could help other customers. I don’t write a lot of reviews, and certainly not this detailed, but I wanted to document just what you get when you work with the Eric Smock Company.

Description of Work
Replace Heat Pump and Air Handler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/08/2018


linda B.

I called their number and they agreed to send someone the next day. They came on time, fixed the furnace (needed new igniter). I signed up for a maintenance contract to start in the spring. Very professional and friendly. No high pressure for additional services. Has been working fine since.

Description of Work
My furnace ceased to function on some of the coldest days in December. I called their number and they agreed to send someone the next day.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/21/2017


Brian M.

Everything went really well. I am very pleased with the work performed. Prompt and professional, would use again.

Description of Work
Replaced home HVAC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/09/2017


Cheryl B.

The team was punctual, professional, and we have been very satisfied with the performance of the units that were installed.

Description of Work
Heating and air conditioning unit was replaced. Location of air conditioner was moved to another location in back yard.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/27/2017


Jim S.

Eric Smock Heating & AC where very professional, courteous, and punctual. The technician that serviced our heat pump (Doug V) was very knowledgeable and took the time to explain various components of the system and what the recommended parameters were for each. Prior to the visit, I received several text messages confirming the visit and arrival time, a phone call 30 minutes prior to arrival, and even received an email with the name and photograph of the technician to guard against any security / misconduct concerns. Doug V is my new Heat Pump guy and will be requested on all future service and maintenance calls. Thank you all.

Description of Work
Heat Pump service and maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/14/2017


Robert T.

He ordered the part from the re-seller and installed asap.

Description of Work
Erick diagnosed an issue with my furnace and determined it needed a hard to find part.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/22/2017


Jarred N.

Dan arrived and was very professional and friendly. He immediately discovered that my filter was clean and asked if it was replaced before or after I noticed problems...good attention to detail. I had replaced it after I noticed problems because it was very dirty, but also after a family friend came to look at the unit to see if it had any electrical issues. After Dan checked the furnace inside and found nothing wrong, he checked the unit outside and immediately found that my disconnect breaker was pulled out and hidden inside of the unit. The family friend left it out, so the unit wasn't going to kick on. After he got the unit running, he checked the freon levels which were fine, and he said everything looks to be good. The system was producing cool air once again...turns out it was just the filter, only I hadn't replaced it until after the system was messed with, so I couldn't tell that it was an effective fix. Thanks Dan!

Description of Work
Heat pump was not producing cool air, I needed a diagnosis of the issue.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/07/2017


Todd D.

Found small leak in system. Recharged and suggested replacement if freon leaked out quicky. Received a estimate the following day.

Description of Work
Service HVAC. Added freon to system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/30/2017


Stephanie S.

They did a great job. We shopped around and they had the best price for the models we wanted. The owner actually came the first time to talk to us, so it was very personalized even from top down. He broke everything down for us, just did a good job explaining everything. They explained everything that was going to happen, when it was going to happen, what the process was and what they would do in the next year. Everything was just very clear and concise. Everything was detailed out for us, there was no wondering and guessing.

Description of Work
They installed the HVAC system, air conditioner, and thermostat as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/08/2016


Lisa D.

We would highly recommend Eric Smock & Air Conditioning and were very happy with their professional work and fantastic customer service.

Description of Work
Repaired our air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/25/2016


Linda C.

Very courteous young man- called to let me know when he would arrive. Uses covers over shoes to avoid tracking in dirt, efficient and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Furnace preventative maintenance, igniter about to fail , identified and replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/02/2016


Lisa S.

I needed service and called our builder’s recommended company – they didn’t respond so it went searching for someone new! What a find! Very happy with Eric Smock.

Description of Work
2 heater / blowers – vacuumed, changed fitter, flushed drains – overall check–up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/09/2015


Jeremy B.

Every August we have the same issue our capacitor goes up. For the last 3 years we have had the same company come out and service the heat pump and change the capacitor when it stopped working. This year it happened on a Sunday afternoon. When I called the normal company and explained that this happens every year and even sent them a pic of the part itself I was told that he did have one on his truck but because I didn't have a contract with them so " they were not obligated to come out". I was told to call back on Monday and he was sure they could get out to see me sometime Monday. So I called Eric Smock Heating and Air, they took my number and other info and said they would have someone give me a call. Ten minutes later I got a call from Doug told him that this happens every year and ON THE PHONE was able to quote me a price (as long as the capacitor was the issue). Thirty minutes later Doug was here ten minutes after that he confirmed it was indeed the capacitor and twenty minuets after that the AC was up and running. I couldn't be happier with the services rendered to me and at the same price the other company has been charging me for years. I will be loosing the other company's number

Description of Work
changed capacitor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/15/2015


Kathy & Bo P.

It took Scott 5 minutes to figure out the problem. He had the correct replacement part in his van. He installed it and the AC was working again. He then did additional checking and cleaning before wrapping up. He kept me apprised of what he found and what the cost would be to fix it. We've used Smock HVAC before and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
After another AC company said we'd need a new compressor (for $5000) and would have to swelter until the order came in, Scott from Eric Smock HVAC showed up within an hour and fixed our AV on the spot! Honest, personable, no high pressure sales pitch. Just fast, professional service at a reasonable price.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/09/2015


Maa Shepsu Menab N.

He was very professional and punctual and organized. He explained my options and was on time. He did everything I could ask for and was reasonably priced and would use him again.

Description of Work
I had a freon leak. It was the copper tubing.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/05/2015


Danielli D.

Woke up with a strange noise coming from the basement. The heating system was the culprit, then stopped working and had a burnt smell through the house. Called Erick Smock, they answered quickly and fixed it. Very respectful of owner's needs, very professional and neat.

Description of Work
Checked heater system and found locked up induced motor. Picked up new motor, returned, installed, assembled and tested within good time.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/26/2015


Susan P.

Called to let know when would arrive. Arrived on time, explained everything done clearly, efficient and comfortable to work with. Have had to call in emergency in past and responded very quickly, at midnight, telling me what to do until could get out next morning at 7:30AM (water leak). Trustworthy and I am grateful they are such a good company. Would not use anyone else. They are the best.

Description of Work
Yearly maintenance (twice a year visits included in fee) for gas furnace and AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/10/2015


STEPHANIE F.

Timely, courteous, made recommendations but not pushy. Respectful of home and property.

Description of Work
Repair furnace – burnt out fan motor and run cap. Repair heat pump (2 nd system) by replacing broken disconnect box.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/04/2015


John M.

Technician arrived at early end of the hour window, performing all tasks in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
HVAC technician performed winter heating maintenance on our system, including inspection and cleaning of heat pump, air handler and humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/18/2014


Donald B.

He went into the attic and inspected the AC unit, and ducting, and determined that while it could use a cleaning, there was no functional issue there. He then proceeded to inspect the compressor unit on side of house. It was there that he determined a lack of refrigerant was the cause. He gave me an estimate and options in case there was some sort of massive leak. I agreed with his recommended plan and allowed him to recharge the unit. He also replaced two valve caps on the unit. The AC has been consistently cold since that time and if/when the need arises, I will have a leak test done - something I could not afford during his first visit! He was very polite and professional. He never treated me like an idiot and was sensitive to my price range. Great service!! Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Technician investigated a lack of cold air production from the upstairs AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! It was a pleasure working with you! -Ashlee
5.0

08/01/2014


Michael C.

I had a bad coil that needed to be replaced. Dan came out and did an excellent job. Very professional and courteous. I was so impressed with Eric and Dan, I signed up for a maintenance contract. It's nice to know there is an honest Heating and AC Company that does quality work at reasonable prices.

Description of Work
Coil Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business :) -Ashlee
5.0

07/29/2014


Steven R.

Quality service and an excellent team.

Description of Work
Replaced AC and coil

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words :) -Ashlee
5.0

07/11/2014


Michael H.

Awesome. The company came highly recommended by a co-worker and the service man, Matt, was prompt, thorough, clean, honest and fast. I received an HVAC education while he performed the service.

Description of Work
AC examination & freon refill

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    MCP Chimney & Masonry Inc

    MCP Chimney & Masonry Services Inc. is the premier chimney and fireplace service provider in the greater Baltimore-Washington metropolitan area and the sole source provider of building, installation and repair services for numerous builders, property managers and several leading area fireplace and woodstove retailers. We are currently in our 16th year of operation and we are very proud of our company and take great pride in our professional standards and quality of work. We have earned a solid reputation in the community for being a quality service provider proven by our roster of over 20,000 satisfied customers. MCP employs teams of knowledgeable certified technicians and has implemented a service deployment plan incorporating an experienced management staff along with an enterprise software solution to deliver a cost-effective way to design, renovate or repair your fireplace, woodstove or chimney while delivering high quality service.  

    Mason Dixon Heating and air

    We are a licensed and insured company dedicated to providing quality work on residential and light commercial Hvac systems  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioning Company

    Call us (301) 587-1517. At Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioning Company, we offer heating, ventilating and air conditioning installation and maintenance to help you create and maintain a healthy indoor climate in your home or business. We've proudly been providing service to Maryland and Washington, DC since 1962. Whether you own a home or a business, whether you need installation or service, our goal is to provide you with key environmental systems expertise. You should be at ease and in control - a feeling of confidence and comfort that we are happy to help you establish and maintain. Additional DBAs - Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioning Company, Rod Miller Heating & Air Conditioning. Additional contacts - Ron Tolbert, Don Colville, Brandon Tolbert, Dave Oristian, Maya Brock, Roz Waldman, Tonya Anderla. Additional emails - info@rodmillerhvac.com, dcolville@rodmillerhvac.com, btolbert@rodmillerhvac.com, doristian@rodmillerhvac.com, mbrock@rodmillerhvac.com, rwaldman@rodmillerhvac.com, tanderla@rodmillerhvac.com. Award winning.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    MD-3180
    Trade License Expiration
    03/13/2019
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning and Heating Repair, Replacement, Installation, Maintenance, Humidifiers, Air Cleaners, Gas Fireplace Repairs, Hot Water Heater Installations......etc.

    Services Not Offered

    Oil heating

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

    How is Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. overall rated?

    Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. open?

    Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. provide

    Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.?

    Yes, Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offer?

    Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers the following services: Air Conditioning and Heating Repair, Replacement, Installation, Maintenance, Humidifiers, Air Cleaners, Gas Fireplace Repairs, Hot Water Heater Installations......etc.

    Are there any services Eric Smock Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. does not offer?

    Oil heating