Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Olympia Moving & Storage

Founded 1993 • With Angi since November 2005

4.7

(100) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4814 Frolich Ln

Hyattsville, MD 20781

Description

Olympia Moving & Storage provides professional residential and commercial moving services that exceed expectations. We have built a reputation as a premier Boston, Washington DC, and Philadelphia relocation company during our 20 years in business. We are 2-time winners of Wheaton World Wide's Mover of the Year award, maintain a 95% client satisfaction rating, and the preferred relocation partner of real estate companies, universities, and companies. Whether moving a 1-bedroom apartment in the city or a 5,000-square foot house in the suburbs, each residential move that we perform carries a unique set of challenges. Olympia's professional staff and crews tailor our services to your needs, are accountable, and ready to solve any challenge Olympia Moving is also your one-stop commercial relocation shop. Our professional moving crew can handle moves of any size. Our relocation processes and consultants work in tandem to reduce downtime and keep your business productive. We specialize in a variety of industry relocations, including: Office, Laboratory, Universities, Technology, and Hospitality....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/09/2022


Shannon M.

Cannot recommend Olympia Moving enough! This was my second time using Ryan and his team, both times were they not only professional but made such a stressful process so seem less. We used them for a local move in 2021 in Philly, and again this month for a relocation to D.C. unlike most of the moving companies I was recommended from my husbands job, they were able to deliver our belongings within 48 hours vs. the 10-12 day windows most interstate movers quoted. On top of how quick they were able to transport, both the load in and unload were done in under 3 hours. During the process leading up to pick up day I was also able to communicate with Candace who reassured and confirmed things around the time and day multiple times. The team also packed a lot of my antique family possessions and all arrived safe and sound. Thank you again to this amazing team who made the scariest part about my move the easiest. 11/10 recommend.

Description of Work
Relocation Move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're pleased to hear that the whole team went above and beyond to make your move a success! We will be sure to pass your praise on to Ryan and the rest of the team. We hope you enjoy your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

07/18/2022


Tricia A.

Excellent! From beginning to end, great communication prior to the move, crew was amazing, polite, pleasant and professional!!

Description of Work
Moving, pick up from storage

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased to hear that our team provided a pleasant and professional free move for you! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we will pass on to your team. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

07/05/2022


jay K.

Used for my mover from Maryland to Kansas movers were on time and professional. Took care with my personal items and communicated well about pickup and delivery. Would use again.

Description of Work
Moving/driving

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the feedback, we're so glad our team made your interstate move a success! We wish you all the best in your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

07/03/2022


Julie R.

We could not have had a better moving experience! From our coordinator, Dan, to our moving crew, lead by Rashad with the assistance of Aaron, Nate, Isipet, every single person went above and beyond. Movers worked tirelessly all day and cared for our belongings as if they were their own. We are so thankful we chose Olympia!

Description of Work
Moving from one house to another

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your high praise toward our team. We strive to provide as smooth a moving process as possible, and without our fantastic crews it simply could not happen. From Dan, Rashod, Aaron, Nate, Isipet and the rest of your Olympia team, we wish you all the best in your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

06/27/2022


Tim B.

We can't say enough good things about our team of movers (Rashod, Isnaet, Mark T, Marko S)! Rashod's Team (DC area) was fantastic. They showed up on time, and moved all of our items carefully and efficiently. Their efficiency saved us money since we were paying per hour. They treated our items well, as if they were their own. Rashod had great communication throughout the day and checked with us during each step of the process to ensure that we also felt things were going smoothly and to make sure everyone was on the same page. We highly recommend Olympia, and Rashod's team in particular, for your future moving needs!

Description of Work
Moving 4 bedroom home

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We're so glad to hear that our crew worked to your expectations. We passed your kind words on to Rashod, Isnaet, Mark T, Marko [Member Information Removed] and your team and we hope you enjoy your new home. Best, The Olympia Moving Team
5.0

05/16/2022


Chip P.

Excellent moving service! Rashod and Isnaet (sp? Sorry!) kept in regular contact leading up to their arrival. They were super kind and efficient, packing each item with care and ease! Move went super smoothly and I was able to focus on other important tasks. Thank you!

Description of Work
Moving and Storage

Category moving companies, storage units

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased to hear that our team provided a smooth moving experience for you! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we will pass on to Rashod,Isnaet & the rest of the team. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

04/01/2022


Nadia M.

Olympia did GREAT on my local move. They showed up on time, absolutely hustled, and got everything done 2 hours early. They were respectful, professional, and careful with all of my stuff. We’ll definitely hire them again!

Description of Work
Local move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so glad to hear that you had a smooth move with our team. On behalf of Cole, Johnathan and everyone else at Olympia, we hope you enjoy your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

10/28/2021


Jennifer E.

The rep was friendly but said they could only give a window of time my belongings would be delivered, versus an exact date. Decided to go with a company that could give me an exact date.

Description of Work
Move from VA to MN

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience! It'[Member Information Removed] nice to hear that we have friendly sales rep. We're sorry that our services didn't meet your expectations. Best of luck with your move! Best, the Olympia Team
1.0

06/02/2021


Rebecca A.

I could not be more disappointed. They did a terrible job of keeping me informed of deliveries, they were non-responsive when I requested updates, they lost items and tried to blame me or claimed they were never delivered. I was able to prove the items were delivered (thank goodness I kept all of my emails). Then they were late in delivering my mattress because they couldn't find it. When they finally delivered it, it was damaged, but because they were late in delivering it to me, the manufacturer would not replace it because it was past their warranty period. I filed a claim with Olympia for the cost of the mattress and they denied it because it was a few days past their 90 day claim period. The only reason it was past the 90 day claim period was because I was giving them time to try to resolve the matter internally. Their refusal to take responsibility for their own actions, attempts to blame me or others for their errors, and their horrible customer service drove me to write this review.

Description of Work
They received delivery of furniture and stored it until home was ready. Then moved everything into the new place.

Category moving companies, storage units

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name removed], We are sorry to hear about the issues experienced during your move. We have spent considerable time researching internally and have found the following: - With regards to the issue of responsiveness, we were in regular communication with a third-party company who setup the move on your behalf. We would concur that when information is being filtered through another entity it leaves room for miscommunication. - With respect to the mattress, we received a sealed box from the manufacturer amongst a host of other items that were directly shipped to our warehouse. That same sealed box was delivered to your residence. While we appreciate that it is unfortunate that it does not hold air, this is clearly a manufacturer defect and not something we would be liable for regardless of the duration it was in storage. - We do not have a record of receiving your rug and Fedex doesn’t have a signature for the delivery. If an item was never received into our care and custody, we cannot be responsible for it. We would also like to note that our team went above and beyond the contractual service requirements in your residence by helping setup the items, and placing them as directed. We do apologize that this move did not go as smoothly as anticipated. We wish you the best in your new home - The Olympia Team
5.0

02/22/2021


Robert S.

Everything in our townhouse needed to be packed and put in storage until our new home construction is completed. The back-office team and the moving team from Olympia were great. Very professional, on time and efficient.

Description of Work
Packing and Moving into Storage

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're so happy to hear that Dan and the team did a great job for you. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

10/27/2020


Gerard W.

It was a flawless move. Olympia guided us thru the entire process from the early days of determining the weight of the shipment, to the delivery at the end of the move. We needed to have the household goods stored for several months which was very helpful. The entire team at Olympia from the sales representative, the customer service reps, the financial staff, the pick up and delivery teams, were professional, hard working and provided the absolute best service a moving company could provide. We have moved many times while we were in the military but this was one of the best moves we had due to the great team at Olympia!

Description of Work
We needed a moving company to move and store our household goods from Virginia to Texas.

Category moving companies, storage units

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback [Member Name Removed]! We're so happy that Jeremy and the team were able to make your interstate move a success. Will be sure to pass your feedback on to them. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

10/08/2020


Jeannette O.

It went very well--very impressed with this company and I would use them again in a heartbeat. Both crews used were professional, punctual and quick. The only down side was on the part of a neighbor who relocated some of my belongings, which required me to move things from another floor entirely and them to send someone to retrieve their property and put legs on my dining room table.

Description of Work
Complicated move--Move and store inherited items from house being sold, move that and my belongings to new home. They also dropped off furniture to Habitat for Humanity ReStore as well.

Category moving companies, storage units, piano moving

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience! We will certainly pass your kind comment on to our colleagues. We wish you the best of luck in your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

09/07/2020


Lawrence R.

We used the Virginia branch of Olympia Moving to move our residence. Our Moving team came on Monday to wrap and pack our home so that we would be ready to go on Tuesday. The move went great and actually came in under budget. The moving crew did a fantastic job. We were impressed by them - they worked hard and got the job done quickly and safely. We were especially impressed by the team leader, John. The work of the moving crew is why we would recommend Olympia and would use them again.

Description of Work
Moving residence

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so glad to hear that you had a smooth move with our team. On behalf of Johnathan and everyone else at Olympia, we hope you enjoy your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

07/11/2020


Kerri M.

From inception to finish, Olympia did a phenomenal job with our inter-state move. Dan or rep, Candace, and Christian (plus the rest of the moving crew) - were all fantastic. They were professional, responsive, attentive to detail, quick to answer questions and made us feel as if we were valued customers. They were competitively priced and conscientious about our budget/needs. I would hire them again in a heartbeat, will refer them to friends, and reinforced the excellent referral from our realtor!

Description of Work
Inter-state move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback [Member Name Removed]! We're so happy that Dan, Candy, Cristian and the team were able to make your interstate move a success. Will be sure to pass your feedback on to them. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

06/19/2020


Teresa H.

We used Olympia for our move from Virginia to Pennsylvania. We’ve moved several times over many years and by far, Olympia was the best. Our foreman, Pete Somerville was over the top and his crew were unbelievable pros! They easily overcame some delivery challenges with our narrow driveway and everything was delivered on time as promised!

Description of Work
Move from VA to PA

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased to hear that our team provided a smooth and careful move for you! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we will pass on to Dan, Pete & the rest of the team. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

04/09/2020


Victoria L.

This company and all of their employees are wonderful! Moving can be so stressful and they went above and beyond to move things carefully and quickly, while being incredibly helpful. The whole team, from the front office to the movers communicated very well and were always quick to respond to the many questions we had. The team was professional and friendly both times we used them. They moved our family from our condo to our house and more recently my mother in law out of her condo. I can’t say enough positive things about our whole experience working with them.

Description of Work
Moving furniture and personal belongings

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your team! We are lucky to have them and will be sure to pass your feedback on to them. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

01/23/2020


Maury P.

This is the third time we have used Olympia, twice for interstate moves. The folks at Olympia took all of the stress out of moving and did a fabulous job. Everyone from the office moving coordinators to the driver and moving crew were a pleasure to work with. Their pricing is more than fair and best of all, not a single thing was damaged! I will definitely use Olympia again and recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Interstate move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate your loyalty to Olympia and the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We wish you all the best in your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

12/31/2019


Theresa H.

The whole crew from the beginning were respectful and helpful. They arrived on time. They helped to reassure us that they could move everything that we needed moved and all the while, they protected all of the furniture, pictures, valuables and lamps from damage. We were also amazed how quickly the team was able to move our items both into and out of the vans. They worked willingly into the night to unload everything and put the furniture where it needed to go as well as setting up the china cabinet and beds where they were to be placed. From the Foreman Brian Lane, and his crew, Carlos Marshall, Remus Craciun, Karolis Ivanouas and Dexter Kelly were all friendly and helpful as well as entertaining as they worked well together and interacted with my husband and actually seemed to enjoy his jokes. They made a truly hard day for us move along and provided both of us with all the help we needed to get through a tough day. They even helped with some extra packing of some fragile glasses and dishes that we were not able to get packed on time. I can’t imagine how this day would have gone with another group. They are the best!! Thank you Olympia Moving Company

Description of Work
Moving from old home to new home.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience with Olympia! It makes us so happy to hear that Brian and your crew went above and beyond for your family. On behalf of Dan and the rest of the team, we wish you all the best in your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

12/21/2019


Jocklyn F.

It was amazing. Crew was very punctual and professional. Very efficient movers that wasted no time and showed a great deal of knowledge and experience in the moving industry

Description of Work
Moving from origin to destination

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so glad to hear that you had a smooth move with our team. On behalf of Johnathan and everyone else at Olympia, we hope you enjoy your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

10/14/2019


Monique D.

I just wanted to take this moment to say thank you to Candace Longo, move coordinator, Brett Ernenwein, sales rep and Jeremy Weideman, driver. Everyone was very professional and helpful. My move could not have gone any smoother. I appreciate how everything was handled from start to finish. This is my second time using Wheaton Van Lines and first time with Olympia Moving & Storage as the local agent for Wheaton and I am very happy that I chose your business. Please pass on my thanks to Brett, Jeremy and Candace. I will definitely be using Wheaton/Olympia Moving & Storage again for my next move. Monique D

Description of Work
Relocation from Maryland To Florida

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We will be sure to pass your appreciation on to your team. We are grateful to your loyalty to Wheaton/Olympia and hope we have the opportunity to work with you again. Best, The Olympia Team
3.0

09/13/2019


ALAN L.

Good moving experience and the crew was professional. Noticed a billing discrepancy after they left and it took multiple phone calls to only partially resolve the error, unfortunately. Customer service needs improvement. Will look elsewhere for the next move.

Description of Work
Local move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to update your review. We are sorry about the inconvenience caused by our errors in communication. The back-end customer service for your move was not up to our standard. We are taking steps internally to prevent these kinds of communications gaps going forward. Our team wishes you all the best in your new home. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

08/15/2019


Stan H.

Amazing from start to finish. The four man crew had an incredible attitude, approach and thoroughness. This is a class organization from top to bottom that changes what you think the moving experience can be like.

Description of Work
Household moving

Category moving companies, storage units

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the high praise! We're really touched by this feedback and will be sure to pass it on to the team. Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

08/02/2019


Wade M.

Crew was very professional, efficient and respectful. They did a great job!

Description of Work
Moved household items, clothing in wardrobes and furniture from central Maryland to southern Delware.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your review! We will be sure to pass the feedback on to Rashod and the team. We wish you all the best in DE! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

07/04/2019


Kelly E.

Brett and Victor made it stress free, could not have been better!

Description of Work
Packing and moving

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

They are a great team, and we're glad they were able to assist! Thank you for taking the time to review us, and thank you for choosing Olympia! Best, The Olympia Team
5.0

05/20/2019


Monica D.

The whole task went on very efficiently and smoothly. The neighbors didn’t even realize there was a move going on. The crew Cameron gave me a call in the morning telling me about arrival time . The crew Cameron, Dameon and Mihail were efficient swift and courteous. John Preloh (operations Manager) came onsite.

Description of Work
Pack large furniture and move packages and furniture to my condominium.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

We're so happy to hear that our team worked together to do a great job for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you enjoy your new home! Best, The Olympia Team

    Other local Pros in your area

    District Relocators

    Here at District Relocators, if it’s not the smoothest move of your life we haven’t done our job right. Established to serve the Metropolitan DC area, our company offers affordably priced packages that get you where you need to go. Great customer service is our number one priority. That’s why we work so hard to ensure our movers are not only courteous and reliable, but also licensed and insured for your peace of mind. Contact us today with any questions and get your move on a whole lot faster.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Affix Movers

    We Are Expert Movers And Assemblers When it comes to moving your home or office, we’re your experts. Our moving and furniture assembling technicians are highly trained and experienced. This combination in moving and assembly means your valued possessions can be moved safely and efficiently. As assemblers, we skillfully disassemble your furniture on-site for pickup and re-assemble at your destination. This allows for the furniture to better negotiate tight spaces, and to maximize the available truck space when transporting – all with the peace of mind of knowing your furniture will make it to its destination, just as it left.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Affix Movers  on Angi
    495 Movers Inc

    495movers incorporate founded in 2009 in Rockville Maryland. The company has set itself to high standards improving the image of the moving companies in Rockville Maryland. The reputation damaged due to the use of leads companies, brokers and subcontractors. With us it will never happened, our goal of 495movers is to satisfy 100% of our customers, it is a major challenge for moving company in Rockville Maryland. Go online, look for reviews and give our movers a chance to prove they can move your home or business with ease and fun. We believe that direct and sincerity are the key to success. Check our testimonial: 495movers provides residential moving services in Rockville Maryland and we can move you from Rockville Maryland anywhere in the USA. We also provide warehousing services as legit moving company in Rockville Maryland the warehouse fenced and security cameras operating 24 hours a day. The company provides commercial movers for business, Embassies, military, hospitals, schools etc. We pride on our resume transports large organizations enter to our site and see for yourselves: www.495movers.com  

    Offers by 495 Movers Inc on Angi
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    RESIDENTIAL MOVING: Local, Interstate, & International Moving | Full-Service Storage | Packing | Piano & Specialty Moving | Concierge Services COMMERCIAL MOVING: Moving | Storage & Inventory Management | Furniture Installation | Recycling & Disposal | Packing & Unpacking

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Olympia Moving & Storage

    How is Olympia Moving & Storage overall rated?

    Olympia Moving & Storage is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Olympia Moving & Storage open?

    Olympia Moving & Storage is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Olympia Moving & Storage provide

    Olympia Moving & Storage accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Olympia Moving & Storage offer free estimates?

    Yes, Olympia Moving & Storage offers free project estimates.

    Does Olympia Moving & Storage offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Olympia Moving & Storage offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Olympia Moving & Storage?

    Yes, Olympia Moving & Storage offers warranties.

    What services does Olympia Moving & Storage offer?

    Olympia Moving & Storage offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL MOVING: Local, Interstate, & International Moving | Full-Service Storage | Packing | Piano & Specialty Moving | Concierge Services COMMERCIAL MOVING: Moving | Storage & Inventory Management | Furniture Installation | Recycling & Disposal | Packing & Unpacking