Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

American Professional Chimney & Masonry

Founded 1979 • With Angi since September 2005

4.7

(2299) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4519 Buchanan St

Hyattsville, MD 20781

Description

Multiple Super Service Award winner. We clean, Inspect, repair, install & reline chimneys, wood & gas stoves, fireplaces, sidewalks, driveways & do historic tuck pointing. Owner, Dave Myers, is the area's most experienced chimney diagnostician (since 1973). We have an A-Plus BBB rating & emphasize customer service excellence in every aspect of our business. What differentiates us from other companies is that we provide a thorough analysis and estimate for any necessary repairs, without any pressure or emphasis on sales. We are happy to prioritize any repairs that may be needed so that customer's can budget accordingly. Additional phones - 301-699-6050, Catherine Wilson, manager: 202-468-5590, 202-483-0440, 202-483-2223, and Dave Myers: 202-468-5596. Also doing business as: Artful Dusters Chimney Sweeps. Evening hours available but dependent on demand, requirements and availability of personnel....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/03/2022


Dan M.

We had American Professional Chimney and Masonry perform repairs to the brickwork of our chimney and flue, inside and and out. We met with 3 chimney companies and selected APCM on the strength of their detailed analysis of our needs and full explanation of their proposed service. Their representative was very professional and offered no gimmicky "one day only" or "manager special" price quotes. He was knowledgeable on all aspects of chimney repair and walked us through the process and options of installing a gas fireplace. We also appreciated that APCM would do all necessary electrical, gas, and masonry work for a complete installation. All of their staff was friendly, professional, punctual and efficient. We were pleased with all aspects of our experience with APCM, from first visit to final installation.

Description of Work
Assess and repair chimney brickwork and mortar, inside and outside the house; convert existing fireplace to a gas insert fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

06/21/2021


Jean H.

They were excellent, prompt, courteous and i had a very good experience with the work of the company. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Rebuilt and Clean Chimney.

Category chimney repair

5.0

04/16/2021


Mesky B.

American Professional Chimney installed a gas fireplace that is both beautiful (looks like a real wood fireplace) and warm. They installed a gasline that was done a very professional way, burying the line underground. Stephen and his team did an impeccable job, clearly explaining the pros and cons of the many options. Super happy with the service.

Description of Work
Installed a gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/25/2021


Edmund H.

Charged $99 for initial estimate in December. Told a part was needed, and we agreed to order it. A month later second appointment was cancelled because they said they obtained the wrong part. Then a third appointment was cancelled because of "inclement" weather -- slight rain and snow. Attempts to connect subsequent ignored. Net result: out nearly $100 bucks! And no fireplace this winter. Insufficient explanations. No apologies. Subsequent to review, American Professional Chimney manager contacted us and personally took charge of ordering and installing the part — indeed with extraordinary evening effort. The company also adjusted its charges to compensate us for our trouble. Management's effort to rectify our situation has restored our confidence in this enterprise.

Description of Work
Repair of a gas log

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

3.0

02/05/2021


michael B.

I received a bid of $2100 and got it repaired by another place for $75. The problem was I suspected.

Description of Work
repair a damper

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I can see you weren’t entirely happy, but you were nice enough to give us a C. I’d like to offer an explanation for you and other people who might read this review. What our estimator was basing his proposal on was that you had a complaint regarding cold air coming down your chimney and ta bad smell. Throat dampers, like yours, typically leak cold air and odors. Yours was broken out of its track and apparently somebody was able to get it back up in there but I’m sure you’ll notice that you still have some cold air and odor. Throat dampers like yours come with two holes in them for different sorts of rotary control mechanisms and are not made airtight. We were offering you a throat damper with a 1 inch thick gasket that seals perfectly and stops all cold air and odor and saves quite a bit of energy. We tend not to like to do projects to leave the people feeling unhappy with the quality of our work. I’m glad you got the situation straightened out enough to partially prevent the heat loss and if you still want to get an airtight damper system I believe are the only company in the area that offers it. Some of the fireplace stores offer gasketed glass doors that they claim or air tight, but they’re not nearly as airtight as our dampers and cost considerably more. We also offer senior discounts and discounts to active military personnel. Dave Myers, owner
5.0

01/26/2021


Morgan T.

The project went really well! The team that came out for the estimate and inspection were very prompt and friendly. They walked us through the issues that needed resolving and even uncovered an issue with the roof and gutters. The team that came out to do the chimney repairs were very communicative and efficient in their work. The chimney looks great. I would definitely hire this company again.

Description of Work
Chimney repair due to water damage

Category masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your detailed explanation in the great review. , David Myers, owner
4.0

12/31/2020


kenya M.

Did not move forward with project, however the general manager came to deliver deposit personally.

Description of Work
lining for fireplace

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review. David Myers, owner
5.0

12/12/2020


Patricia F.

I contacted American Professional Chimney for repair of my gas fireplace. I found them to be professional, courteous and very quick to respond to my request for service.

Description of Work
Repair gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. I really appreciate it. I look forward to seeing you in the future. Steve Myers, owner
5.0

10/02/2020


Birgit N.

Crew was on time, very professional, performed the work efficiently and left our house as clean as they found it. I have worked with American Professionals Chimney & Masonry for years now and they always provide excellent service. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you some much for the review.
5.0

09/10/2020


Pam R.

They came when said and did what I requested at a great price. Thanks

Description of Work
Chimney caps were rusty

Category chimney caps

Service Provider Response

I’m very glad you were happy with our service and our price. We look for a time you need work. David Myers, owner
1.0

07/26/2020


Allan V.

Their bid was $4250 more than the next highest bidder - more than twice as much. It was $5700 more than the highly rated company I selected.

Description of Work
Concrete Pad

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. Since you had someone else do the work for you, I can’t really come by and see what the original conditions were. I can say that we get a lot of good reviews and many include that we had a lower price I suspect we aren’t really comparing apples to apples and oranges to oranges. If you’d like to contact me directly, or if anybody else would like to contact me directly before they get the work done, so it’s easy to see what’s there to begin with and what needs to be done, I’d be happy to come by myself. My name is David Myers and I’m the owner and my phone number is 202-468-5596. Thank you
5.0

07/25/2020


Susan B.

They did a great job and were very knowledgeable. I had a birds nest in the vent which was causing issues. Last company I called didn’t seem to care about helping me figure out what the problem was and told me the vent had nothing in it without even checking. I would hire them again,

Description of Work
Glue vent cleaning, repair to vent and cap.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. Dave Myers, owner
5.0

06/02/2020


Caroline W.

Frustrated that I wasn't getting a consistent assessment from a chimney service person, I ended up getting estimates from five chimney companies, plus an evaluation from a home inspector prior to finally choosing 301-Chimney. I chose Stefan and his company because he was really knowledgeable about flue replacements and did not advocate for excessive and unnecessary rebuild of my chimney, (House is 45 years old, and although builder grade, it did not require a chimney rebuild, as confirmed by house inspector/3rd party opinion.) Stefan did the evaluation and estimate. He is personable and knowledgeable, not pushy. His company uses quality products and hand parges the smoke chamber, and meticulous attention is paid to tuckpointing. Stefan loves his job and his industry and chooses people to work with him that are likewise engaged as shown by the team he sent for the job, lead by Chepe. Such a nice guy! Worksite was clean and protected every day.. Chepe knew that I was interested in the work product all the way up on the chimney, so he took pictures for me! I appreciated that! Great work by the company at a very reasonable price, and the work had the best and strongest warranty.

Description of Work
Tuckpointing; flue replacement

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We get a lot of work from people that are frustrated with the opinions they receive from other companies. We’re probably the oldest reputable company in the metropolitan area, having started In the late ‘70s. We take a lot of pride in our work and our diagnosticians some of the very best around. They have me as a resource and I got my first job in this industry 47 years ago. There’s pretty much nothing we can’t handle when it comes to Chimney’s or masonry repair work. Dave Myers, owner
4.0

05/27/2020


Linda F.

called back but never scheduled an appointment

Description of Work
did not get work done

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for stating that you would call us again. I’m sorry that we couldn’t do business this time. Maybe next time? David Myers, owner
5.0

05/07/2020


James B.

They were excellent, professional and did excellent work. They had enormous ladders that reached over my hip roof. Two guys would run up and down the ladders with the bricks and they worked very hard. I would highly recommend them and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
They fixed my chimneys and completely rebuilt one of them.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We do have huge ladders. We even have ladders longer than the ones we used at your house! The tallest Chimney I’ve ever worked on was 300 feet tall! Luckily we had elevators to get close to the top there :-) Thank you so much for your review, Dave Myers, owner
5.0

05/05/2020


Jennifer M.

Stefan was the first to come out and he was efficient and friendly. He didn't sugarcoat or appear "sale"-sy. We discussed various options and he provided quotes. He's a keeper for that organization. Those that came out to replace the chimney (approx 3 day repair) were respectful of my privacy and property.

Description of Work
Complete chimney replace, fix of gas fireplace, chimney insert replace

Category gutter cleaning, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Our estimators are specifically trained not to be sales and pushy. We like to give options would like to give a thorough information, the good the bad and the ugly. But, we want you to make the decision for your house based on our educating you. Your approach to a chimney repair may depend on various factors such as, are you going to use your fireplace? How long are you going to live in the Hon? What would best suit your budget? Is it a decorative issue or a safety issue? If the chimney service is a furnace or water heater, how old are they? If they’re old would you get a different type of appliance? Factors like these are important to consider before you make a final decision. Some companies want to sell you was fast easy and profitable for them. if that would best suit your individual circumstances, then so be it. But if there’s something else that best suits your needs, that’s what you should do and you need to be informed of that. Thanks for reading my rambles :) David Myers, owner
5.0

03/23/2020


William M.

Montgomery County requires a metal liner in chimneys used for gas water heaters and furnace exhaust. I needed a liner to replace my water heater and American Professional Chimney finished the job in one day.

Description of Work
Metal liner for chimney

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. Furnace and water heater relining with stainless steel liner‘s can almost always be done in one day if you use our lighting system. It carries a lifetime warranty. We put them in the vice president’s house and we put them in my house and everything in between. David Myers, owner
5.0

03/04/2020


Edward D M.

Came on time and did the work as requested.

Description of Work
Chimney repair and cap

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your short but sweet review. We are always working on improving our services and with the COVD 19 pandemic going around we’re obviously working on sanitation practices. But it’s also giving us an opportunity to re-look at our communications and our scheduling and all aspects of our business. We have a little more time on our hands and we’re trying to make the best possible use of it. Thank you and thanks to our first responders and Every other person trying to keep themselves and each other safe. David Myers, owner
5.0

03/02/2020


Javed H.

Very Well. Good after sales service

Description of Work
Chimney Replacement

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We have some of the best trained diagnosticians in estimators in the business. I myself might be the most experience chimney person in the country given I started not long after I graduated from high school. Our technicians and bricklayers are also some of the best in the business. I haven’t actually calculated how long our average employee has been at this company, but I can tell you offhand our crew leaders have been here an average of 10 or 15 years. They all know that we expect the highest levels of quality and care when working at someone else’s house. We stress Safety and quality over all else. Thanks again for the great review, Dave Myers, owner
5.0

02/27/2020


Barb S.

They showed up the same day I requested the service for the estimate and will be completing the work next week. While their representative was lovely, they are very aggressive in getting you to the sign the contract but do feel they will do a good job. Just feel they would have offered the same discount had I waited a day or two/slept on it.

Description of Work
Need two flues relined with stainless steel.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the A review. I’ll mention not being so aggressive to the guys. David Myers, Owner
5.0

02/25/2020


Kathryn G.

Very professional workers. They made sure my furniture was protected and cleaned up well after the work was completed. The workers were congenial and punctual each day.

Description of Work
I had my fireplace chimney and my furnace chimney repaired.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review and thanks for you business! We put great emphasis i’m doing a good job and paying attention to detail including protecting peoples homes. David Myers, Owner
2.0

02/10/2020


Scott S.

Disappointed after seeing all the positive review. I’m sure the repair was needed; however, it did not fix my problem. Poor communication, received an additional invoice for work not preformed. Had to provide the employee, making the repair, a ladder standoff, otherwise he would have put the ladder against newly installed gutters. Never mentioned an Angie’s List coupon which appears I was eligible, would have made the repair more reasonably priced....Tread lightly

Description of Work
leak in basement at the base of chimney. they installed a new cap, which i sure was needed.

Category chimney repair

5.0

01/25/2020


HARRIET E.

It went very well. The bricks are posing a hazard because some of them would actually fall out when stepped on. Mr, Rodgers did an excellent job of repairing and securing them.

Description of Work
I had several bricks on the front steps, that were loose, repaired with new mortar.

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Steve Rodgers is a great guy! I’m glad you are pleased with his great work and thanks for leaving a review!! Dave Myers, owner
5.0

12/31/2019


William M.

The 2 Brians did a great job. Very professional. They explained exactly what they would do and exactly what was needed to bring the chimney up to code. Their cleaning was thorough and did not dirty our house. We highly recommend them. They even showed up a little early which was to our advantage.

Description of Work
sweep chimney and perform an inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thanks! I’ll let them know how please you are! The Brian’s are a great team. We’re fortunate to have a high retention rate and consequently, an excellent staff. Most of our crew leaders have been with us for 10 - 25 years. Dave Myers, owner
5.0

11/26/2019


A William S.

Excellent work. Very friendly and cleaned up well. I will hire them again for chimney cleaning and inspection. Next Summer we will have them put in a new insert.

Description of Work
Clean Chimney and safety inspection

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We look forward to the opportunity to install a gas or wood insert for you. Many of our clients are choosing to have an insert in one or more of their fireplaces. I have a wood burning insert in mine and my son installed a gas In his living room. The added heat is a real bonus and they even work in a power outage. Thanks for your Review and the anticipated continued patronage! Dave Myers, owner

    Other local Pros in your area

    EAD Contractors LLC

    EAD CONTRACTORS LLC is a locally owned and operated company which values honesty, integrity, and treats your home or business as if it were our own. We are experts in all aspects of masonry and our services are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in both installations and replacements. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by EAD Contractors LLC on Angi
    Brother's Waterproofing, LLC

    Here at Brothers Waterproofing, we provide foundation services such as waterproofing, structural repair, crawlspace encapsulation, piers, sump pump replacement, sub floor drain system, concrete work, and air ventilation systems. Founder John Enciu, has been in the industry for over 15 years. He has put together a team with over 50+ years of combined experience, that can strategically and effectively protect your BIGGEST investment, YOUR HOME. We offer FREE ESTIMATES, FHA/VA Certifications, and a NO PRESSURE approach! A TRANSFERABLE OWNERSHIP WARRANTY and a NO QUESTIONS ASKED service policy. We are committed to EXCELLENCE and HONESTY! CALL US NOW and see how we can help you. (888)362-4884  

    Business Highlights

    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Locale
    DC
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney Sweep, Cleaning, Relining, Chimney Covers, Air Tight Dampers, Patio, Sidewalk And Driveway Installation, Brick Block, Stone Walls, Walks, Paver Installation, Masonry Repairs, Tuck Pointing, Historic Restoration & Basement Water Proofing Systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Professional Chimney & Masonry

    How is American Professional Chimney & Masonry overall rated?

    American Professional Chimney & Masonry is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Professional Chimney & Masonry open?

    American Professional Chimney & Masonry is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

    What payment options does American Professional Chimney & Masonry provide

    American Professional Chimney & Masonry accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does American Professional Chimney & Masonry offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers free project estimates.

    Does American Professional Chimney & Masonry offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Professional Chimney & Masonry offer a senior discount?

    Yes, American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does American Professional Chimney & Masonry offer emergency services?

    Yes, American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by American Professional Chimney & Masonry?

    Yes, American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers warranties.

    What services does American Professional Chimney & Masonry offer?

    American Professional Chimney & Masonry offers the following services: Chimney Sweep, Cleaning, Relining, Chimney Covers, Air Tight Dampers, Patio, Sidewalk And Driveway Installation, Brick Block, Stone Walls, Walks, Paver Installation, Masonry Repairs, Tuck Pointing, Historic Restoration & Basement Water Proofing Systems.