Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA

Founded 1986 • With Angi since December 2004

4.9

(168) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14 EXECUTIVE PARK CT

Germantown, MD 20874

Description

Prime Property Inspectors – The Building Inspector of America is a full-service home inspection and environmental testing company. Our certified home inspectors are professionals in engineering, architecture or construction and are current with emerging issues facing the home inspection industry. Our attention to detail is reflected in our comprehensive digital home inspection reports. Environmental services include evaluation and testing for radon gas, mold, volatile organic compounds, allergens, odors, electromagnetic fields and combustion by-products....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/29/2021


Christina L.

I used this company to perform a home inspection before I bought my house. Due to its negligence and breach of contract, 9 months after I moved in, I had to replace the roof on the house. The company will do nothing to rectify the situation. They are cheats and liars that hide behind their contracts. Their inspectors take every shortcut, and they will not protect you during the home buying process. Just don’t use them.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

07/31/2019


Madeline S.

Wonderfully! Michael was knowledgable, professional, and courteous.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

07/29/2019


W Yvette H.

Buying a home in itself can be quite stressful, but when you have the expertise of Mr. Ron and his team, you can rest assured that they take the stress out of the home inspection process. The whole team were outstanding and I highly recommend them for your home inspection. They are all very courteous and professional and put me at ease with moving forward with the home purchase. Mr. Ron arrived well ahead of the scheduled appointment time and had already started the exterior inspection. He walked me through each floor, providing his input and even helped me understand some of the homes new technologies, being a 5 star energy efficient home. I received my report the very next morning and he even answered a question I had forgot to ask him the following day. My agent was so impressed with his service, that she will be adding them to their referrals for future clients. Thank you Mr. Ron and Ms. Carol for making this a great experience.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

05/28/2019


Colin Z.

Romano was very punctual and professional. He walked us through our home and explained everything to us very thoroughly, and all for a reasonable price. He emailed us our report within 24 hours and it was detailed, comprehensive, and easy to understand.

Description of Work
Home Inspection & Radon Test

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

05/18/2019


Michelle D.

Romano was very professional and spent a lot of time here answering my questions and showing me the issues he found During his inspection. He was very detailed and inspected everything down to the door hinges. I can’t say enough how grateful I am to this company and how pleased we were with their services. Romano Is the best! Thank you again.

Description of Work
Home inspection for new build

Category home inspection

5.0

05/08/2019


Daniel R.

It was great. The inspection was thorough and the report we received was both promptly submitted and very thorough. I would not hesitate to engage them again for a future home inspection. There were so many things that we wouldn't have checked or thought of without the inspection so we are so happy we did this.

Description of Work
Inspection for a new home purchase

Category home inspection

5.0

05/04/2019


Kristina B.

The house inspector arrived on time and ready to work. Not only did they take an incredible amount of pictures, but they brought measurement tools and provided an in depth assessment. They were even accommodating for us considering that we were only present digitally, where they used extra time to explain and show everything (the realtor brought their phone and used a video app to show us the inspection). They provided an in depth inspection also of the basement and potential structural problems. They then provided guidance on solutions that others have done in the past, but was also honest on their knowledge limitations and advised we hire a structural engineer. The report we received was exceptionally thorough with a lot of documentation to justify claims. We used the report to negotiate a fair price reduction. We believe that if we had not hired these housing inspectors that not all the issues would have been found, and we likely would have paid too much for the property. The price was more than fair. The report was received within 24 hours of the inspection, a very rapid turnaround considering the depth of the report.

Description of Work
Best House Inspectors you will find

Category home inspection

5.0

03/27/2019


Erin T.

I worked with Mr Kapoor twice when buying our, the first house turned out to have a large amount of mold in it and luckily the testing found this before we bought the house. It was in the living room and even a mold specialist said that he wasn’t sure it could be remediate. The next house Vimal carefully inspected, he does an excellent job and doesn’t leave any spot unturned. In the inspection he found foundation issues that the owners were trying to cover up with paint. We couldn’t see it at all until he flashed his light on it. This plus the 36 decficiencies he found helped us get the problem fixed and the sellers are going to pay for it. He saved us a ton of money and headaches. I would definitely use them again and couldn’t be happier. Thank you the building inspector of America

Description of Work
Home inspection, air borne mold testing, radon testing

Category home inspection,radon testing,mold removal

5.0

03/19/2019


Aaron K.

Perfectly. Vimal was punctual, professional, thorough, and explained everything very clearly.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

03/15/2019


Vasili K.

Vimal has now inspected 3 homes for us. He is top notch. Besides having the years of experience he has certifications and degrees in engineering and architecture. Vimal is always on time, professional, and patient. He explains everything he finds and whether or not it is something that should be fixed now or later and why. He has treated my husband and I like his children - truly caring about the homes "health" and ensuring we understood the good and bad that came with each property. Vimal looks EVERYWHERE in the home. I was so impressed at the recent property how much time he spent outside looking at the roof, grading, and structural components. He looked under decks and he even moved big plant pots inside the home to make sure nothing was being hidden on floors. He crawled into attics and crawl spaces and looked in every corner. He is very thorough. Further, we had an environmental specialist at the home the same time Vimal was in the house. Vimal was very courteous to him and respectful - sharing space and information. Vimal even offered to read this report when it was provided to provide a second opinion since he too does Air Quality evaluations. He helped me work through the next steps and options and never made me feel like a bother. I HIGHLY recommend him!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

02/20/2019


O C S.

Mr. Vimal Kapoor was great. We had hired him in 2013 and rehired him this year to redo the inspection. Not only is Mr. Kapoor knowledgeable, competent, thorough and professional. He was also incredibly helpful and a pleasure to have as a consultant. For example, we had one complicated issue that seemed difficult to address. Therefore, after Mr. Kapoor finished the inspection, he remained, listened to our concern, studied the problem and came up with a solution that was far less complex than what we were considering. Definitely A+

Description of Work
Inspection of our home in preparation for selling it next year

Category home inspection

5.0

10/26/2018


Robert F.

On time, very thorough, excellent recommendations and evaluation of the property.

Description of Work
Home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

10/09/2018


Rita H.

Romano was accommodating, gracious & methodical. I was very impressed with the outcome & his due diligence. So glad my realtor was able to witness this experience as well.

Description of Work
House inspection for closing.

Category home inspection

5.0

09/11/2018


Kim R.

This inspection was done brilliantly -- couldn't possibly have been better. Discussion during inspection gave valuable information/details/ideas/suggestions and comprehensive report gives easy-to-follow work plan. Inspector is broadly knowledgeable, experienced, accessible, engaging. A pleasure to deal with!

Description of Work
Company provided top-to-bottom house inspection with detailed follow-up report including narrative, photos, and recommended work.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/25/2018


Peter C.

Vimal showed up early to get the inspection done before the rain and sunset, and this was on a Sunday on 2 days notice. He was incredibly thorough, and spent the time to walk my wife, realtor and I through all the findings of his inspection. His report was professional, comprehensive, and timely. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Pre purchase home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/24/2018


Bea O.

Mr Kapoor is a highly-trained professional in his field (architecture and engineering) with decades of experience. When we decided between the quoted home inspections, his professional background prompted us to go with them. Although slightly more expensive than some others, we wouldn't hesitate to choose them again - after all, you are about to buy a property that could cost you dearly if not aware of existing issues! Mr. Kapoor was available within a few days from the initial phone call - another factor that many people may appreciate when time is of the essence. While carrying out our inspection, whenever Mr. Kapoor found something important, he explained these to us in detail. His findings were then available within 24 hours(!) in his pdf home inspection report. The report consisted of 34 pages, detailed with images, comments and definitions. Overall we would highly recommend this company - they are as good as it gets. Lastly, I feel obliged to mention that Carol (the lady who takes care of the administrative support and customer care) is one of the nicest persons I've ever had the fortune to liaise with. Thank you for taking good care of us:)

Description of Work
Home inspection (w/o radon testing) pre-purchase of a townhouse

Category home inspection

5.0

08/02/2018


Thomas S.

Mr. Kapoor is so knowledgeable and affable! My real estate agent had taken a class from him. It was great to spend a couple hours walking around the unit I am looking to buy, seeing it through his eyes. The report he provided had lots of good detail. It was easy to turn it into conditions to give to the seller.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

07/26/2018


Catherine S.

I have had some problems with the house, but the folks who come provide estimates all have different ideas about what needs to be done. So I decided to hire a home inspector who wouldn't have any interest in suggesting that expensive work needed to be done. Mr. Kapoor was extremely knowledgeable and conscientious. I feel very confident in all of the assessments he made. I am very happy that I decided to hire him to tell me everything I need to know about my aging home.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

06/19/2018


Ellen K.

Romano performed our inspection, and he could not have been more easy to work with. He detailed every issue, both in person and in his easy-to-comprehend report, and noted the priority level of items that need to be addressed. In addition, he gave us advice about how to maintain the condition of the house for years to come. As first-time homebuyers, we felt like Romano provided so much value and a level of comfort that we were making a sound purchase with this house.

Description of Work
A home inspection for a home purchase

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

06/10/2018


MISTY W.

My husband and I hired Vimal Kapoor for a home inspection and was not disappointed. He was very thorough (7hours), efficient and knowledgeable. We would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

05/11/2018


Samuel R.

Vimal was a consummate professional from beginning to end. He quickly responded to my request for a quote and walked me through the process. Carol, his administrator followed up with a more detailed package regarding what I could expect. On the actual inspection day, Vimal was exceptionally thorough and detailed in his work. I was amazed at the level of attention paid to even the most minor issues. He was very comfortable in showing me some of the defects he found and patiently provided explanation why it was in my best interests to get this fixed. All in all, the inspection took over 4 hours! Very, very in depth. Afterwards, the agent told Vimal that report needed to turned around in less than 48hrs....and that was on late Friday afternoon around 6pm! Even with this short notice, Vimal committed to providing the report...even if it took an "all-nighter" (as he was booked all day Saturday....a testament to the demand for his skills and service). True to his word, a detailed inspection report was waiting in my inbox Sunday morning. He even followed with an email and phone call to make sure I understood the report. More importantly, he "coached" me on how to best proceed with Seller to get the fixes I needed most. Very pragmatic and experienced advice. At the end of it all, Seller ended agreeing to make all corrections with exception of few minor ones. Bottomline: you will find other inspectors who might be cheaper, but you will not find anyone more capable and experienced as Vimal. He is truly "value for money". The ROI on his fees was well worth in when weighed with the savings from the concessions by the Seller. Given that your home is going to be one of your largest investments, I would pay what is necessary to get a real pro like Vimal. In addition, he is such a pleasure to work with! I fully recommend Vimal without any reservations whatsoever.

Description of Work
House Inspection - new home purchase

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

05/09/2018


Simona W.

We hired Mr. Kapoor to conduct the home inspection of our house in Great Falls, and we could not have been more pleased. This is our fourth property, but we never had such a professional and thorough home inspection as the one performed by Mr. Kapoor. He also performed our radon test which saved us several thousand dollars as the sellers had to pay for radon mitigation. I normally do not write reviews, but if you are in the market for a homes inspection, the Building Inspector of America should be your number one choice. It was worth every penny, and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Description of Work
Home inspection for purchase of home

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

04/29/2018


Diane K.

The Building Inspector of America provided an invaluable service for my husband and me. We were living in Arizona while our house was being built in Virginia. Vimal performed foundation, pre-drywall, and final inspections which provided detailed information regarding the status of our build. Clearly annotated photos accompanied the reports along with itemized recommendations. We were then able to ask the builder to address each recommendation, sending photos of the updated and/or corrected work.

Description of Work
Home inspection for new build home.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/21/2018


Sandy S.

Mr Kapoor performed a full home inspection. I was immediately impressed with his competence, his diligence, and his wide-ranging and expert knowledge. He spent a few hours with me, and performed a top-to-bottom assessment of the house. He discovered several problems, and documented them exhaustively. More than one of the contractors I hired to address those issues were impressed with the quality of his recommendations, and the breadth of his knowledge. I feel very fortunate to have found him, and am grateful for his help.

Description of Work
Full home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

03/18/2018


April F.

It went very well. Mr. Kapoor was punctual, very patient and extremely knowledgeable. I admit that I was concerned about the cost of his inspection. I only needed a minimal inspection for a concern regarding plaster damage in my home, I wasn't selling my home,nor was I refinancing, so a full inspection to me wasn't necessary, but I allowed him to give me one anyway. He gave me a peace of mind about concerns I had about my home that I needed to confirm. He was very through and he brought details about my home to my attention that I was unaware of and/or didn't focus on. He went above and beyond and I understood why he charges what he does. You get what you pay for. He spent many hours completing a full walk-thru of my home and appliances. His notes on the report included pictures and were very detailed. Overall he is a very pleasant individual and I would work with him again, recommend him and refer to him for any questions I may have about my home in the future. He has been available to assist as well.

Description of Work
I need my home thoroughly inspected.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Energy Saving Solutions

    As a Maryland certified Home Performance with Energy Star contractor, we focus on making homes efficient and comfortable. Our energy audits and energy efficiency improvements usually qualify for generous state incentives and rebates through Pepco, BGE, and Potomac Edison. Mo is the owner/operator at Home Energy Saving Solutions. He has a deep depth of knowledge and experience gained from well over 1000 energy audits. Participation in numerous industry groups and conferences further enhance the expertise brought to each home energy audit. We will inspect your entire home as a system and evaluate energy loss and comfort issues using advanced diagnostic equipment. At the conclusion of the audit you will be presented with a comprehensive report detailing all findings and solutions, along with a payback period for repair and retrofit options.  

    Offers by Home Energy Saving Solutions on Angi
    Maryland Flood Restoration

    During the COVID-19 outbreak, we are considered an essential service and are taking extra precautions with your health and safety in mind. Please call us today for more details. We would love to speak with you about home projects and scheduling options. **Call us today for a FREE ESTIMATE!** With over 25 years of combined experience, we're confident you'll be happy with the customer service we offer and the overall craftsmanship of our work. We provide cleanup/drying services for your smoke, water, and mold emergencies. Contact 24/7. We can work directly with your insurance company in order to expedite and simplify the claim process. Call us today, and you'll be glad you did!  

    Superior Damage Restoration

    Fire? Flood? Mold? Biohazard? Call Superior Damage Restoration. We're family-owned and locally-operated. Most importantly, we're ready to restore. Whether you need mold remediation, water mitigation, or reconstruction, we've got you covered. We offer a personal approach that emphasizes transparency and quality. Above all, we want to be at the top of your list for emergency home restoration in Maryland, Washington DC and Northern Virginia. Our services: - Mold remediation - Water mitigation - Restoration - Water proofing - Handyman services Find out more and check out great testimonials from our customers on our website: https://superiordamagerestoration.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Home Inspection Services – Comprehensive evaluation of the Structural, Mechanical, Plumbing, & Electrical Systems; New Construction Inspections – Four Phases: Foundation, Pre-Drywall, Final, and One Year Warranty Inspections; Commercial Inspections; Problem Diagnostics; Wet Basements & Foundation Cracks; Environmental Services – Radon Testing, Mold Assessments, Indoor Air Quality Evaluations, Air Sampling, Infrared Thermography, Water Quality Tests, Septic System Surveys.

    Services Not Offered

    Termite Inspections, Energy Efficiency Auditing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA

    How is THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA overall rated?

    THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA open?

    THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA provide

    THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA offer free estimates?

    No, THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA does not offer free project estimates.

    Does THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA offer a senior discount?

    No, THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA?

    No, THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA does not offer warranties.

    What services does THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA offer?

    THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA offers the following services: Home Inspection Services – Comprehensive evaluation of the Structural, Mechanical, Plumbing, & Electrical Systems; New Construction Inspections – Four Phases: Foundation, Pre-Drywall, Final, and One Year Warranty Inspections; Commercial Inspections; Problem Diagnostics; Wet Basements & Foundation Cracks; Environmental Services – Radon Testing, Mold Assessments, Indoor Air Quality Evaluations, Air Sampling, Infrared Thermography, Water Quality Tests, Septic System Surveys.

    Are there any services THE BUILDING INSPECTOR OF AMERICA does not offer?

    Termite Inspections, Energy Efficiency Auditing