Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioning Company

About

Founded 1962 • With Angi since June 2007

Call us (301) 587-1517. At Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioning Company, we offer heating, ventilating and air conditioning installation and maintenance to help you create and maintain a healthy indoor climate in your home or business. We've proudly been providing service to Maryland and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.6

(152) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

112

4

16

3

7

2

9

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (150)electrician (6)dryer vent cleaning (2)well & water pump repair (2)water heaters (2)air duct cleaning (1)
Showing 1-25 of 152 reviews
5.0

11/12/2019


Michael L.

They are very good and they did an outstanding service.

Description of Work
They did an AC and heating maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2019

5.0

07/20/2019


Chris J.

We got about a half dozen quotes for supplemental AC from different providers. Don from Rod Miller came a couple of times to assess the situation, and recommended the combination of a mini split and a traditional unit. This cost a bit more than other options, but is now working great, and I am convinced was the better solution for our house than what others had recommended. (The previous AC installers for our main AC gave us the WRONG solution), The installation team was professional and efficient. Professional shop, know their stuff. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Air conditioning - install supplemental systems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

5.0

06/19/2019


Lisa C.

Thy have done excellent work and are always prompt. Even their prices are reasonable and I would highly recommend them as well.

Description of Work
They have installed HVAC systems on 4 different homes and have serviced them as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2019

4.0

07/10/2018


CHARLES S.

The technician was prompt and courteous, and it turned out to be an easy fix. However, for a simple diagnosis and change of the fist-sized battery (approximately 10 minutes) the charge was $207: $117 for the parts and $90 for labor. Seems like a lot but of course tough to know for a non-expert.

Description of Work
One of our air conditioner handlers was not working. I knew it was the motor or battery/blower cap.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $207

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2018

5.0

01/03/2018


Arnold L.

Great, on time and quality service provided

Description of Work
Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2017

5.0

12/18/2017


Patricia A.

So totally professional, the guy knocked my socks off, so I was convinced to pony up for a new thermostat and annual service contract.

Description of Work
16-point furnace check, repair of small part, replace thermostat, bought a 1-yr service contract

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $492

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2017

5.0

11/09/2017


Stephanie B.

Just had two very nice technicians from Rod Miller come to my house today and clean the dryer vent in my basement. They were very knowledgeable, and knew how to handle the flex duct connection. When they were done, the connection to the outside looked better than ever. They were neat and polite, and I was very pleased they were chosen for my small job. Thanks!!

Description of Work
Cleaning the duct exhaust for my dryer in the basement.

Category dryer vent cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2017

2.0

09/11/2017


Kie K.

Air conditioning unit repair service was done two weeks ago. Performed work in 10 minutes and was charged $475. After researching the parts they used on Amazon, the two parts needed for the service was less than $15. Is the labor $460 for 10 minutes of service? Or they over charge parts 10-20 times? I emailed to get an explanation for this but no response for two weeks. I feel completely ripped off, and dissatisfied with their unresponsiveness. I purchased a $200 maintenance package through Angie's List, and that was a waste of money. I just hope that my neighbors don't waste their money and don't end up with this awful feeling.

Description of Work
HVAC repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $475

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

08/09/2017


Belle S.

I've been with them now for several years. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Maintenance Contract Visit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

07/03/2017


Arnold L.

The representative was prompt and efficient

Description of Work
Regular AC checkup and maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2017

2.0

05/09/2017


Michael M.

Rod Miller serviced my HVAC over the course of 2-3 years for yearly tune-ups. I attempted to schedule my spring tune-up over the course of 6 weeks with multiple attempted emails, and multiple voicemails. After 3-4 weeks of attempts, someone returned my phone call and left a short message. I followed up multiple times, and never received a call back. The work was performed during the 3 or 4 visits was fine. However, the terrible customer service (inability to return emails and VMs) has caused me to switch providers.

Description of Work
HVAC tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2017

3.0

04/28/2017


Mohammad K.

They were like way over on like on what I anticipated it would cost, for like the same exact thing, basically. I didn't feel like they were being honest. Based on like the other people I received for like pretty much the same work, they were charging, it was like double amount. I would give them an A for responsiveness, and they were on time. I was put off just by like the estimate that I had received, just based on some other proposals.

Description of Work
This was for a free estimate on installation of an AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/11/2017


Marianne K.

Good service and they fixed the problem. Overall it was a good experience.

Description of Work
They repaired my HVAC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2016

1.0

03/28/2017


Mark D.

It took Rod Miller Inc. 14 service calls over a period of eight months to determine that a leak existed in the vapor refrigerant line. During this time I had unreliable to nonexistent heat and air. Grossly incompetent and dishonest.

Description of Work
Installation of heating and air conditioning system(HVAC)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2017

5.0

02/13/2017


Joseph R S.

Initially submitted my date/time slot preferences during the purchase process but ultimately had to call to set up the appointment. Called on a Thursday and had an appointment scheduled for the following Monday 8-12 timeslot. Sack called when he was 20 minutes out at 830 and arrived as promised at 850. Performed the tune-up and bled the radiators on the top-level of the house and took the time to explain yearly maintenance activities and what I can do myself. Very professional and courteous. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Purchased the $105 Boiler/Furnace tune-up (Angie's List Deal).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $105

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2017

5.0

02/08/2017


CHARLES S.

Service provider was very personable and professional.

Description of Work
Boiler inspection Checked conditions and operations of all major heating components. Bad fill vavle or clog inlet pipe. Back feed boiler to increase pressure to top floor radiator.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2016

5.0

01/21/2017


jo C.

We have a regular maintenance contract with them. They were knowledgeable and professional. We have used them for years and we will continue to use them.

Description of Work
Rod Miller Heating and Air Conditioner gave us an estimate to replace a pump on a boiler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $900

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2017

5.0

12/29/2016


Kim L.

He's on time and he's pretty much 24/7. He doesn't even have like a weekend charge.

Description of Work
My heat went out.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2012

5.0

12/12/2016


Ryan N.

Great company; found this company after another company quoted $800 for this service. They replaced my electric gas value that was under warranty; took them about 30 mins to complete the task and my heater started working right away. Did this for a reasonable fee of $115. Would certainly recommend as all stages were very professional and for a great price.

Description of Work
Ac/heater gas value replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $115

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Nancy B.

It worked out extremely well. Excellent service and excellent work. The workers were very professional. What stuck out to me the most was just the fact that they repaired the thermostat and they didn?t charge me any extra.

Description of Work
They checked the heating system and repaired the thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2016

5.0

11/14/2016


Matthew H.

The tech was helpful and responsive, looked at everything thoroughly and told me what to look for. I wish scheduling could be a little more automated.

Description of Work
HVAC service contract for general maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2016

1.0

10/20/2016


Christina H.

Salesperson said they didn't have time to schedule an estimate. They are "too busy".

Description of Work
I needed to schedule an estimate for AC repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac