Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

O'Connor's Painting Service Inc

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(105) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

18943 Bonanza Way Ste 201

Gaithersburg, MD 20879

Description

For over twenty-five years, O’Connor’s Painting Service is owned and operated by Dave O’Connor, who learned the art and craft of home beautification from his father. Dave keeps abreast of the latest industry technologies through continuing education on new and improved paints and materials. We are a mid-sized company. All O'Connor's workers are our employees and we do not sub-contract out our painting services....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/03/2022


Jeff O.

From the get-go, this company supplied the experience that every customer wants to receive. The president Ryan O'Connor gave us a comprehensive estimate and adhered to that estimate. He scheduled an excellent crew who did a fantastic job. When we asked for different colors after two rooms were painted Ryan gave a quick estimate and the painters redid the rooms immediately. This is a pro outfit, from the pre-job paperwork providing tips and suggestions to help the job go smoothly and the actual painters who made sure at the end of each day make sure to clean up and clear a path way for us to walk through the house in order to access the places not being painted.

Description of Work
Exterior and Interior Painting

Category drywall,house painters,interior painters

5.0

03/13/2021


Paul C.

Manny and hid Dad, Eladio Hernandez, of O'Connor Painting Service, just completed a very difficult job on time, on budget, and very professionally to perfection. Our half-century old home had the foundation wall, exterior siding, chimney, and exterior doors and shutters painted with both primer and top coats of the best Sherwin Williams paint, in gloss, satin, and flat premium quality paints. This is the third time the O'Connors have painted our home over four decades. Each time everything was done to perfection. You can't find a better painter than O'Connor. Highly recommended!!!

Description of Work
Exterior painting and window work

Category pressure washing,house painters

5.0

03/03/2021


Joy M.

Eladio and Manny did an excellent paint job. They also did that extra bit that makes their work so valuable by being very neat and repairing some things to make the surfaces smooth. They were easy to interact with and genuinely interested in doing a good job.

Description of Work
We had our basement painted, both an unfinished section and finished section.

Category drywall,interior painters

5.0

02/27/2021


Susan B.

I love this company, we have used them often. Always excellent work. I had the pleasure of working with Eladio and Manny this past week. As always I got a professional paint job done quickly, but this team of father and son went beyond the usual. They did some extra touches and repairs that made a big difference. They stayed late also to help me out and came back early the next day to finish the job. They were a pleasure to talk to and they cleaned up the job site very nicely. I would definitely request them on my next paint job.

Description of Work
Painting walls and trim of bedroom and the exterior of front door.

Category house painters,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] Thank you very much for the great review. It was a pleasure working with you and we look forward to assisting with your future projects.
5.0

07/27/2020


Gerald M.

It went very well the painters were clean where every they painted

Description of Work
Powder room painted, and kitchen ceiling repaired and painted.q

Category plastering,deck cleaning,pressure washing,interior painters

5.0

06/17/2020


Cassie R.

O'Connor's Painting Service painted the interior of our house, and they went above and beyond our expectations. Everyone on O'Connor's team was very professional, punctual and efficient. Each day they left my house extremely clean and we never felt inconvenienced throughout the week long project. Without a doubt we would hire O'Connor's Painting Service to complete any of our painting needs. Their attention to detail and the quality of their work is outstanding! Thank you O'Connor's Paint Service for transforming our house. We are very pleased with the finished product.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category interior painters

5.0

02/04/2019


JONATHAN S A.

Their work is professional and high quality. They dealt effectively with several challenges-- mold on bathroom ceiling and one bedroom wall, and a poorly cut plumber's opening in the basement bathroom. This is the second job we've used them for, and we have been very satisfied both times.

Description of Work
Paint master bedroom and heavily used hall bathroom, and repair drywall in basement

Category drywall,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate it as reviews are what drives our business. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to helping with your painting needs in the future.
5.0

12/06/2018


Jennifer C.

Fantastic company. Will definitely use again. Very professional. Finished the work in a timely manner. Called to follow-up and make sure we were satisfied with their work.

Description of Work
Painting Exterior Trim/Pressure wash/Replace Wood Rot

Category pressure washing,house painters

5.0

10/24/2018


Ian J.

David and his team at O'Connor's Painting service are the best in Montgomery County! I highly recommend them to anyone looking for an honest, reliable and quality painting contractor. We had O'Connor's paint 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 2 great rooms. David took the time to clearly explain what type of paint would work best based on the room being painted and how long we would expect it to take his team. His painters arrived on time and were clean and professional throughout the project. Excellent work!

Description of Work
Interior painting of 5 bedroom home

Category interior painters

5.0

10/24/2018


Dan J.

We had O'Connor's Painting service paint the interior of our office. David is an expert on all things pertaining to painting. He knows what paints and application techniques work best on all different types of materials. He was able to educate us on what was needed for our situation and provide an accurate estimate during his site visit. His painters arrived on time and finished the project within the time frame David had told us to expect. The foreman was on site during the duration of the work and ensured that the painting did not interfere with our daily business operations. I highly recommend O'Connor's to any business owners looking for a professional painting contract for their commercial needs.

Description of Work
Interior painting of office building

Category interior painters

5.0

10/11/2018


Stephanie R.

I can't say enough good things about this company! John came out for an initial estimate and was very thoughtful about what needed to be included (things I didn't even think of!). He delivered the estimate as expected and was always in communication regarding the estimated start time of the project. Hymie was the painter and he did a very nice, clean, and neat job - even painted my house numbers and mailbox post :-) Basically, they took all the stress out of having this work completed. I have already recommended O'Connor's to others in the area. Well done and thanks!

Description of Work
repainting of exterior trim and railings

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the great review. I wish all our customers were as nice as you. I will pass on the kind words to the crew also as it is good to know that you are appreciated. Thanks again!
5.0

09/30/2018


Melissa H.

O’Connor’s Painting Service not only painted the entire interior, including intricate crown molding and high ceilings, but also transformed the property into a beautifully appointed home with the expert finishings and touches that few companies provide nowadays. We are extremely pleased with the outcome and professionalism and recommend this company with the highest level of enthusiasm.

Description of Work
We recently purchased and fully renovated a spacious condo in the Kentlands area that included all the interior painting and associated extensive prep work.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review and thank you for the praise and the high marks that you provided. We love to hear that our customers appreciate the level of effort we put into our job. It is customers like you that have kept us going over the last 27 years.
4.0

09/06/2018


stanley R.

The estimator was friendly and professional. We discussed painting the exterior house trim and the need for some wood repairs. The estimator then retreated to his vehicle for 10-15 minutes to come up with a quote. The quote provided was more than double the next highest quote. It was $2,400 higher. The quote was for 1-coat painting of the exterior trim. The front door and windows were excluded from the project. I feel that the estimator was trying to oversell, over represent the scope of the job and added services that other contractors found unnecessary and did not recommend. The estimate did not address the wood repairs, those would be extra and billed for time and material. No estimate of the wood repairs was provided.

Description of Work
Estimate to paint home exterior

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the high marks that you provided on responsiveness, punctuality and professionalism. At O'Connor's Painting Service, we strive to achieve the highest levels of professionalism which we believe includes responsiveness and punctuality. Regarding the rating you provided for price and the concerns that you mention, I would like to clarify a few items for you. You stated that the quote provided was for one coat of paint. The contract we provided was actually for two coats which included a full primer coat and a full topcoat of paint. The estimator did provide you a verbal quote for only one coat of paint but felt that this was not the best approach for your job. Since we were advised that your home had not been painted in approximately 12 years and required a fair amount of prep work, he felt that a primer coat and one topcoat was the best approach to provide a long-lasting paint job. You also stated that you felt we were adding services that other contractors found unnecessary. Our strategy at O'Connor's Painting Service (for the 27 years we have been in business) is always to ensure that the job is done thoroughly and correctly the first time. This includes scraping and sanding any loose and peeling paint plus power washing or cleaning by hand all surfaces to be painted. These are critical steps prior to any painting to ensure a long-lasting paint job. If you paint over old chalky paint, dirt, mildew or peeling paint, you risk the paint job failing much quicker than it should. On multiple occasions, we have painted homes where we were told that the previous painters had not cleaned the surfaces prior to painting and their jobs began peeling after only 1-2 years. I truly hope that this helps clarify the quote that we provided and addresses the concerns that you stated. Thank you very much for meeting with us and allowing us to provide a quote for your home.
5.0

09/03/2018


Kathleen F.

OConnors oainting is an outstanding organization that does top quality work. Starting with Dave, a thorough and detailed estimate is prepared. He provides. great consultation and input about the work. The business processes are flawless. The painters are his employees... we see some of the same guys over the years. They are skilled, neat, timely, and do a fabulous job on prep... which is why an OVoonora paint job really lasts!!

Description of Work
exterior painting... touch ups on wonderful job done 10 years ago! Also power wash and stain two decks.

Category pressure washing,house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this review. We appreciate it very much.
5.0

07/08/2018


Rita M.

I had an excellent experience with O'Conner Painting. Mr. O'Conner came to my home to give me an estimate and was able to give me the estimate before he left after spending some time outside. I had actually gotten a much lower estimate from another company but did not have the confidence that the work would be done correctly and in a reasonable start time. Mr. O'Conner started the next week. The foreman Jaime was excellent and did the majority of the repair/replacement of the siding. All my multiple questions were answered and explaination and choices were given to how the repair could be done. The repairs and painting look great! Jaime and the painters worked hard the whole time they were here. Very professional! The work took about 6-7 days. My home looks great!

Description of Work
The exterior portion of my house was painted. Extensive wood repair and replacement.

Category pressure washing,house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and I hope that we can be of assistance to you in the future.
5.0

07/04/2018


Julie M.

O'Connor's Painting did a fantastic job painting our finished basement and daughter's bedroom. They responded promptly to my first inquiry, performed a thorough estimate, and offered guidance on types of paint to select. They arrived punctually each day, carefully protected furniture and floors, and did an exacting job painting the walls, trim, and ceilings. I was impressed with the quality of the work, and will definitely hire them again for additional painting projects.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the glowing review. It really helps us to have good customers like yourself who take the time to provide reviews for us.
5.0

06/01/2018


Bernie T.

Dealing with O'Connor was very easy - they were super responsive in quoting and setting up the work. And their workers worked quickly and their clean up was very good. Cost wise, i don't know how they compare to others in the Gburg/Rockville area but if you want hi quality work done efficiently, go with O'Connor!

Description of Work
Painting of an outside door, and additional inside work

Category drywall,plastering,house painters,interior painters

5.0

11/03/2017


Claire C.

Excellent. Arrived on time, finished on time and did a quality job! Their team is always pleasant and neat. They put everything back in the room just as they found it.

Description of Work
Recently I used O'Connor to paint my foyer, stairwell and master bedroom and bath. I've used their services for 10+ years both interior and exterior work (power washing, deck staining) and have always been more than pleased with their work.

Category deck cleaning,pressure washing,interior painters

5.0

10/20/2017


Susan J.

They were prompt and professional. They covered all my furniture with plastic tarps as well the hardware floors and kept the dust out of the remainder of the house. I am very happy with service they provided and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I hired O'Connor's Painting Services to paint the interior and exterior of my home.

Category wallpaper removal,house painters,interior painters

5.0

09/28/2017


Anthony C.

Well. Done within expected time. Neat and professional

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category drywall,plastering,house painters,interior painters

5.0

07/18/2017


Stewart L.

Very well. David and his crew were professional.

Description of Work
The exterior wood trim on my house was last painted over 20 years ago. David came out and went over everything that needed to be done. I had faded paint, peeling paint, some dry rotted wood and some new unpainted wood. I accepted his estimate and his crew came out a week later and first pressure washed all the wood and previously painted concrete foundation. A week later his crew came and they scrapped peeling paint, replaced sections of rotted wood, removed old caulk and replaced with color matching exterior silicon caulk, primed where it was needed and did a complete paint job. It took the crew two days to do all the work. My house looks new and I'm very satisfied with them.

Category pressure washing,house painters

5.0

05/11/2017


Sharon R.

Fantastic work. We hired them 13 years before to do interior and exterior painting and it all still looked good, but thought it was time for a refresher. Dave came out, looked over the work and gave us a estimate. Within two weeks his crew (Eladio, Jessie and Jeremiah) arrived at the scheduled time and started work. All were professional and worked very hard. They did a great job of covering our furniture and hardwood floors, and cleaned up each day. Highly recommend them and will definitely call them again for any painting work we need done.

Description of Work
Stripped wallpaper and border paper from four rooms, and painted those and two others. Also power washed and painted the outside of the house. Also replaced some rotted wood two places outside.

Category handyman service,wallpaper removal,pressure washing,house painters,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. We really appreciate your business and you taking the time to provide this review. We also look forward to assisting with your future painting projects.
5.0

04/27/2017


STEPHANIE S.

Dave was friendly, professional, and helpful from the get go. His crew was timely, detail-oriented, helpful, and professional. It was a top notch experience!

Description of Work
We needed our living room, dining room, entryway, and two small hallways painted including walls, ceiling, and trim. We also needed a couple of spots of drywall damage to be fixed.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the kind words. Our business is built on our good customers like yourself and we appreciate you providing us with this feedback.
5.0

04/11/2017


David W.

Estimator arrived on time and estimate was delivered a few hours later on the same day. I was concerned about getting work done as soon as possible and the company did its best to accommodate me. The crew were onsite on time and were very professional, answering all my questions patiently. They worked quickly and efficiently. The work was neat and thorough, and workspace cleaned up completely.

Description of Work
Painting and clear-coat of newly built-in bookshelves, cabinets, drawers and desktop.

Category interior painters

5.0

03/24/2017


Lindsey B.

Our project involved walls in a stairwell that are too high for DIY's. O'Connor's painter arrived at the time agreed on, did an excellent job and cleaned up after himself. We would definitely hire O'Connor's Painting for future projects.

Description of Work
Paint walls in a three story high stairwell and hallways

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Mr. & Mrs. [Member Name Removed], Thanks a lot for the review, we appreciate the feedback and your business and look forward to helping with any future projects you may have.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cook & Sons LLC

    No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Additional e-mail -cookandsonsllc@hotmail.com.  

    C&Painting LLC

    C& painting llc. Are a painting company operated by the owner and with more than 20 years of experience in Exterior and Interior Paint works. We also do lead paint encapsulation. The satisfaction of our clients and our high quality is our best reference. You can also write to us at cpainting16@gmail.com or visit us at our website WWW.C-PAINTINGLLC.NET It will be a pleasure to help in your next project. Full licenses and insurance MD. MHIC #05-133056 Dc Gc Lic #4105166000208 C& PAINTING LLC:  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by C&Painting LLC on Angi
    Martinez Custom Painting LLC

    Transform Your Space with our Quality Interior& Exterior Painting Services.& Home maintenance Contractor in the Area. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    MHIC 36229
    Trade License Locale
    Maryland
    Trade License Authority
    Maryland Home Improvement Commission
    Trade License Expiration
    10/04/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    2%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial - interior & exterior painting, wallpaper removal, power washing, deck cleaning, plaster, & drywall repair

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about O'Connor's Painting Service Inc

    How is O'Connor's Painting Service Inc overall rated?

    O'Connor's Painting Service Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are O'Connor's Painting Service Inc open?

    O'Connor's Painting Service Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does O'Connor's Painting Service Inc provide

    O'Connor's Painting Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offers a 2% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by O'Connor's Painting Service Inc?

    Yes, O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offers warranties.

    What services does O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offer?

    O'Connor's Painting Service Inc offers the following services: Residential & commercial - interior & exterior painting, wallpaper removal, power washing, deck cleaning, plaster, & drywall repair