JW Home Improvement

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since July 2008

JWHI provides world-class customer service with consistent and superior workmanship and strives to be the trusted market leader in the home improvement industry. Super Service Award Winner TEN years in a row and running. Contact us today to discuss your next home project. We look forward to working with you!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

CARPENTRY SERVICE

+7 more images

Verified Reviews

4.6

(5431) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

3843

4

684

3

351

2

231

1

319

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

handyman (4538)woodworking (812)drywall (549)door installation (493)electrician (389)interior painting (374)general contractors (359)plumbers (356)house painting (285)lighting (273)decks & porches (213)home remodeling (186)
Showing 1-25 of 5431 reviews
2.0

09/20/2022


alexis A.

Cancelled the estimate due to scheduling issues on their end. We set an estimate appointment @ 10 days out from initial call. They were no call / no show. I called them, was told they could get an estimator out in another 12 days. We had communicated the timeframe we wanted and had already been charged $50 for the estimate. They did agree to refund the estimate amount, fingers crossed it's easy to get it.

Description of Work
Cabinet installation

Category appliance repair, handyman service

Work Completed On 09/20/2022

Service Provider Response

We're sorry your estimate was not done due to a no call/no show. We are currently switching systems to better help the customers experience with us and your estimate was scheduled incorrectly during the transition. We are working diligently to see no other problems occur like this. We hope you are able to give us another chance to complete your handyman projects. Thank you, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

09/17/2022


U H.

I strongly recommend JW Home Improvement. Alejandro and Miguel were friendly, prompt, knowledgeable, respectful, highly skilled and worked extremely efficiently to complete several interior and exterior home projects. They were particularly exceptional in going above and beyond to produce truly beautiful work. The craftsmanship and precision displayed was extraordinary and they were an absolute pleasure to have at my home.

Description of Work
Drywall repair, lock and weather stripping installation, roof repair

Category appliance repair, drywall, locksmith, plastering, roofing, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. We really appreciate your business. Alejandro and Miguel are such a valued part of our team, we are so glad you had a positive experience with them. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future. Thank you! The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

08/21/2022


Joanne J.

Tomas and Antonio were punctual, professional, and skilled. They arrived on time, verified what I was looking to have done. Thoughtfully, when they could not get edging that matched what I had already, Tomas checked if I wanted to match both sides or have a difference. He anticipated I wanted matching. While Tomas went to get supplies, Antonio helped me with a small project (20 mins for him) I could not do myself. They cleaned up very well after their work. I will use JW again, for sure.

Description of Work
replacement and repair of siding after wind damage and gutter cleaning

Category gutter repair, handyman service, siding

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2022

Service Provider Response

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thank you for sharing your review with us and the community. Tomas and Antonio are a valued part of our team and we are glad you got the chance to experience their excellent work. Please, feel free to reach out to us again for your next handyman project so we can send Tomas, Antonio or one of our other many great technicians out to help! Thank you! The JW Home Improvement Team
4.0

08/07/2022


Kathy K.

Very well. Creative in their solutions

Description of Work
window frame repair

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2022

Service Provider Response

We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at JW Home Improvement! We value your input and encourage you to let us know more details about your experience with us. Please give us a call for your next handyman project. JW Home Improvement Team
1.0

06/10/2022


Gelila B.

Paid inspection fee for an estimate. First appointment was rescheduled and pushed a week out due to an estimator no longer being available at scheduled time. When an estimator finally did come out, inspection felt rushed and was not as thorough as other inspectors I had come out. Did not feel comfortable moving forward with service. Waste of time and inspection fee.

Description of Work
Bay Window Repair Replacement

Category woodworking

Cost $50

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience with our team. I know it's frustrating to have to reschedule and we're actively working to expand our team so we have more coverage. We have reviewed the details of your estimate and addressed it with our estimator team. We don't want anyone to feel like we're rushing or not giving their project the time it deserves. Once again I'm sorry that it didn't work out and thank you for sharing your feedback. JW Home Improvement Team
4.0

05/19/2022


Yvonne G.

My job started about 8:30AM and ended about 6:00pm. Kevin and Marcos worked very well with each other and got the job done. They were also neet

Description of Work
1 ceiling fan installed repair holes in drywall repair 2 electrical outlets repaired crall space outside of house near roof. Paint celing in master bed room

Category drywall, electrician, gutter repair, handyman service, ceiling fans, interior painters

Cost $2,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2022

Service Provider Response

We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at JWHI! We value your input and encourage you to let us know more details about your experience with us. Please let us know about your next home project and one of our awesome team members will come help you out! JW Home Improvement
5.0

05/07/2022


Ian G.

We were very happy with the work from Pablo and Mario and JWHI — they were professional, punctual, and did great work on a variety of handyman chores, from painting, to caulking to fixing doors and patching up a leaky roof. When new issues arose, they proposed and executed creative solutions. Really happy with the work.

Description of Work
Assorted handyman chores around the house

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2022

Service Provider Response

We are delighted to hear Pablo and Mario represented JW Home Improvement in a way that made you happy in your home. We take pride in Pablo and Mario's problem solving skills along with their hard work and punctuality. Please call us again for your next handyman project! JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/30/2022


William G.

The workers did an excellent job. Attentive and responsive to our questions. Excellent work.

Description of Work
Deck Refurbishment

Category appliance repair, deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Your comments have been shared with our entire team at JW Home Improvement. When we hear from happy customers like you, we spread the positivity around! Hope to serve you again soon! JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/23/2022


Bryan C.

This is the fifth or sixth time we have used JW for home improvement projects, and we have never been disappointed. We started with 'simply' trying to find the source of water damage in our lower-level, and ended up renovating our laundry/storage room and installing new vinyl floors throughout the bulk of the downstairs. From Josh making multiple trips out to ensure the estimate and scope was solid, to Marcos and Israel completing the project from start-to-finish, we are thrilled with the results!

Description of Work
Laundry Room Remodel and Floor Installation

Category appliance repair, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, interior painters, mold removal

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2022

Images

Review for JW Home Improvement - 849 Quince Orchard Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD - 39708118

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our service. We're glad to hear thar our team's performance exceeded your expectations, and we'll make sure that Marcos, Israel and Josh receive the recognition they deserve. Thanks again! JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/19/2022


Judy F.

All work done is excellent as were technicians Pablo and Mario.

Description of Work
Painting inside and outside, refinishing butcher block and surrounding area

Category appliance repair, deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2022

Service Provider Response

We're so happy to hear you had a great experience with JW Home Improvement. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed Pablo and Mario'[Member Information Removed] hard work. Please keep us in mind for the next home project you find yourself wanting to complete. JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/15/2022


Mitch E.

On-time, courteous, and professional. Thomas and Antonio did a great job. I would hire them again in a second.

Description of Work
Attic ladder install

Category appliance repair, handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2022

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind review to let us know how we are doing. We are looking forward to helping you with your next project! JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/14/2022


Amy C.

Excellent technicians, hard working, professional and friendly.

Description of Work
Power washing deck, painting, weather stripping front door.

Category decks, handyman service, pressure washing, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2022

Service Provider Response

The JW Home Improvement Team values your business, and would like to thank you for your feedback. Thank You, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/08/2022


Bridget B.

I found JW Home Improvement on Angi's List. I had two other estimates, but they came in the lowest and gave excellent service. Side note: I didn't know the owner (Jessie) of the company came out to give me the estimate. He was very nice and worked with me on what I needed done and fit my budget. Chris Brown, the contractor, was on time and was very professional. He was able to do everything I needed done in the time allotted and one extra. I will be putting their number in my phone for future work. Thank you for being a professional company and caring about your customers!

Description of Work
Shelf Reinforced, two ceiling fans replaced....

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2022

Service Provider Response

Jesse enjoys seeing customers and likes to be out in the field to make sure JW Home Improvement is giving the most we can to our valued customers, like you! We are delighted to hear Chris made your handyman projects a breeze. We look forward to hear from you with your next handyman project! JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/08/2022


Linda G.

JWHI, specifically Alberto and Javier, just completed a remodel of our downstairs kitchen, living/dining room, and powder room, along with an upstairs bath. Alberto and Javier are truly master craftsmen. From removing load-bearing walls to installing cabinets to gorgeous tile work to painting and much more, they seemingly are able to do any task with perfection. They are also a delight to work with - friendly, knowledgeable, problem-solving, prompt, unintrusive while they work, answering all our questions. I can't say enough about how pleased we are with their work and with all the others at JWHI we worked with along the way. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Downstairs remodel and upstairs hall bath renovation

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, countertops, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2022

Service Provider Response

JW Home Improvement is beaming upon hearing just how happy we have made you in your home! Our mission is to build a better home improvement experience that leaves the customer happier in their home. So to know you, the customer, have been left happier from the work and knowledge Alberto and Javier has displayed gives us delight! Don't hesitate to call us back so our team can impress you even more with your next handyman project. The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

04/01/2022


U H.

“I strongly recommend JW Home Improvement for all home repair and renovation needs. Over the past few weeks we have had various projects completed, including, exhaust fan installation, stairwell repair, dry wall repair, exterior dormer and trim replacement and gutter/downspout painting. All of the technicians were friendly, prompt, knowledgeable, respectful, highly skilled and operated efficiently to finish ahead of scheduled time. Pedro, Kevin and Antonio in particular were exceptional in going above and beyond to produce truly beautiful work. The craftsmanship and precision displayed by these technicians was extraordinary and they were an absolute pleasure to have in my home.”

Description of Work
We had an exhaust fan installed in a vaulted bathroom ceiling, stairwell caulking, drywall repair, dormer replacement, trim and door painting and gutter/downspout painting.

Category appliance repair, drywall, gutter repair, handyman service, roofing, woodworking, ceiling fans, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2022

Service Provider Response

We are overjoyed to hear you had such a wonderful experience with JW Home Improvement. Even better that our team impressed you with our skills and efficiency along with other attributes. It is great to be able to have your vision come true with your home, the JW Home Improvement Team will certainly be available for the next vision for your home! We appreciate you reach out to us. The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/31/2022


Todd C.

Co. responded promptly to my inquiry on Angi.com. Very cordial, professional. Cost quoted was outside of my desired budget but the rep. was nice, offered alternatives and thanked me for my time and consideration . Very professional.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding repair

Category siding

Cost $500

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2022

Service Provider Response

We would like to thank you for giving JW Home Improvement a respectable review even when you decided not to proceed with us for your handyman project. We are happy to hear our estimator offered alternatives, please keep us in mind if you come up with another project we can help with. We appreciate your business. The JW Home Improvement Team
2.0

03/31/2022


Brian K.

Disappointed that we can't hire JW to just do some quick handyman jobs around the house for 4 hours. They require an estimate first, then 6 weeks to schedule. The work doesn't need an estimate, we just need a handyman to work for 4 hours and get done what they can during that time. Will have to use another provider.

Description of Work
Misc handyman work

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2022

Service Provider Response

I am sorry we were not able to accommodate your request. We try to ensure the work will fit into four hours. I will share your review with my team in hopes to get a call back from you to try again. We would love to gain your business and make your home the best it can be. We appreciate you reaching out in a respectful manner to let us know how we can provide the best for our customers. The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/28/2022


Saundra H.

Great. Oscar and Fernandez were prompt, considerate and very competent. The wall and the cabinet surrounding the water shut off match perfectly with the remaining wall. They covered all furnishing, designed appropriate shelving and cleaned up all remaining depre.

Description of Work
A section of the paneling in the basement was damaged from termite infestation. I wanted the section of the wall removed and replaced to match the remaining paneling.

Category appliance repair, furniture repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2022

Service Provider Response

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing JW Home Improvement to provide you with our service. We are proud to have satisfied your home improvement needs and look forward to working with you again. If you have any questions, give us a call and we will be happy to assist you. Once again, thank you for your business. Thank you, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/22/2022


Bobby T.

Alberto & Javir did a wonderful job at my home very experience in the task that each had to perform and very professional guys. And we did a walk throw at the end of the jobs to make sure that my Wife and I were Happy with there work. Great Job Bobby & Sandra

Description of Work
Removal and replace Master Bed Room new ceiling tiles, Removed old light and installed four new reseted lights, installed new light switch with dimmer. Sealed brick wall in Living Room. repaired the all cracks in walls in the Sitting Room sanded and painted the whole room. Removed old kitchen fauet and replaced with new. Removed old therhole floor panel and replaced with new. Clean-up job site at the end of each day, provided door barrier when working in each area of the home.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, interior painters, home improvement stores

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response and your praise of our teammate will not go unnoticed. We value each of our customers' feedback, and we hope to continue to do business with you in the future. Thank you, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/13/2022


Michael H.

We bought our townhouse knowing it was going to need a few projects done in the short term. One of those was the creaky, squeaky staircase connecting the main level to the upper floor. Several of the steps were obviously insecure, bouncing and flexing whenever we stepped on them. However, carpet covered the stairs so we could not see the full extent of the problem or the cause. We contacted three home improvement companies for estimates. Josh from JW was the only one who seemed to have some idea of what was happening and what it would take to fix it. One of the other companies sent an estimator who shuffled around and took some perfunctory measurements, very clearly uninterested. The third company provided an estimate after looking at a photo on the phone, and that estimate was to rip out the carpet and see what the problem was—actually fixing it would be more. On our starting day, Alejandro and Pedro examined the stairs closely, taking off some of the drywall underneath to see if the stringers needed bracing, and taking the carpet off to examine the topside. It became clear that the stairs were in truly bad condition, with warped treads, risers that were not connected to treads anymore (if ever) and the wood used for the treads was too thin. Over the course of that first morning, our project plan evolved into a tear-out and rebuild of the entire staircase. One of them went to get materials and the other began the preparations. For the next four days our house was full of sawing and pounding and sanding, and when they finished on the afternoon of the fourth day we had a beautiful, solid and secure staircase, for a final cost that was less than I had expected. I’ve seen some reviews that say the workers are slow; in our case, they were meticulous, careful to do every step of the work correctly. Slow? I’m sure they could have done it faster, but it would have been at the expense of quality work. Alejandro and Pedro were friendly, hard-working and highly skilled. I recommend JW without reservation and will certainly bring them back when I have another project that demands their level of skill.

Description of Work
Staircase rebuilt

Category appliance repair, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2022

Images

Review for JW Home Improvement - 849 Quince Orchard Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD - 39658400

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing JW Home Improvement for your home improvement project. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the work that was done at your home. It is our goal to provide top service to our customers, thank you for your honest feedback. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Thanks again, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/06/2022


Bill P.

I cannot say enough positive things about Oscar and the team at JW Home Improvement. Oscar's abilities as a finish carpenter are the best we've seen in any home improvement project in our time in DC. He went above and beyond and demonstrated considerable personal pride in his work. He was an absolute joy to work with and we're grateful for the quality of the work he did to our home. We needed a 100 year old staircase reinforced and refreshed and Oscar painstakingly matched stain colors, repaired the area the staircase, and worked to correct bad work that was done in the past. Unbelievable value and workmanship in a marketplace that is filled with contractors that promise one thing and deliver something much less. We will absolutely contact JW Home Improvement again in the future and as specifically to work with Oscar because of the quality of his work and the positivity of his personality. Thanks again Oscar!

Description of Work
Staircase replacement

Category remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your kind review. We appreciate your compliments. We take pride in providing quality work and customer service. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thank You, The JW Home Improvement Team
5.0

03/02/2022


Marty M.

I originally hired JW last year to install a new subfloor in one of my bathrooms. The crew was punctual and very professional. Once they began demo for the floor, they noticed significant rot under the tub and were able to add that repair to the scope of work for a reasonable price. I was very satisfied with the quality of their work. On the strength of the bathroom work, I hired them again early this year to do some framing and install sheetrock in my basement. As before, the crew was great -- very professional, kept me informed on what they were doing, and delivered very high quality work. Couldn't be happier. On a more general note, it turned out that I had the opportunity to speak with the owner (Jesse) a little bit after the work was complete. I was impressed by his professionalism, accessibility, and commitment to JW's customers -- values that seem to be consistent throughout the organization. Would recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Hall Bathroom | Basement framing and sheetrock

Category contractors, flooring contractor, picture framing, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2022