Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bennington Builders

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2007

4.8

(87) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

39 Cottonwood Court

Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Description

Our company, formally Jenny's Design Build, specializes in custom-built new homes and major remodeling. We also specialize in custom kitchen and bathroom design and construction. Our experienced staff will focus on creating the project of your dreams. We believe that home improvement is not a genre but a mission statement. We do all our project management, demolition, framing, custom carpentry, trim work and painting from beginning to end in-house. Every member of our team is detail-oriented. We make sure that all selections of every detail in the project before you sign your contract with us - from the design, demolition, excavation, foundation, masonry, carpentry, cabinetry, plumbing, electrical, mechanical, tile, counter tops, preservation of your personal property, security, right down to the last door knob or cabinet pull, and the final clean-up of your home. This is always done to ensure that there are no surprises during the project. Our in-house experienced team has over 40-years experience of hands-on knowledge of residential building. Even the sales staff has multiple years of actual construction experience. There is no guesswork - we know your home from inside and out and will be on-site everyday from beginning to end. You will notice on vehicles this catch phrase "Responsibility and Accountability", that is what our company is built on. This is not a tag line, this is what everyone of us works from daily....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/12/2021


m K.

Worst experience I've ever had with a contractor. Conversations were often fine, then later became combative, condescending, and ultimately profanely insulting, so unprofessional that it was shocking. Work was sometimes good, and later some of the mistakes and miscalculations they made they did not "own" as you would want a general contractor to do. Finally, when they ended the job we had to hire a second contractor to fix the structural mistakes they made.

Description of Work
Basement rennovation

Category contractors, drywall, plumbing, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

02/20/2017


Daniell K.

Excellent. Dave is a really knowledgeable, creative, "can do" contractor. He suggested many adjustments to the plans, which made the end product even better than we hoped. His communication and attentiveness was great. Couldn't be happier with the work.

Description of Work
Extension and remodel of family room, and addition of screened porch.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, gutter repair, insulation, lighting, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, fireplaces, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors, sunrooms

5.0

01/29/2017


Betty M.

Every thing was done well and the cost was the lowest of the three bids we received. We were very pleased with the quality of the work and the professionalism of the sub-contractors. We were especially pleased that the work was finished on time. Bennington builders was responsive when we asked to return to correct and do touch-up work.

Description of Work
Bennington built an addition in the back of our house, as well as a patio. The work included adding heating and cooling systems and a new roof.

Category decks, drywall, flooring contractor, gutter repair, lighting, roofing, siding, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

01/29/2017


Mary A.

This is my second kitchen with Dave Bennington and if I need a third, he will be my first choice. The crew always cleaned up every day before they left and little things were frequently fixed before we even had a chance to mention them. I especially want to give kudos to the electrician. His work was very neat, wires were run neat and cleanly. The tile guy was also amazing -- beautiful job arranging the backsplash tiles and cutting everything so neatly around the corners. The floor subcontractor could have been better; they didn't order enough floor tile and had to wait for the reorder to finish. The finishing crew was not as good as the original crew. I know these are not Dave's hand-picked crew, but I would use a different floor vendor the next time.

Description of Work
We had our kitchen entirely remodeled all the way down to the studs. We replaced our walk in pantry with a pantry cabinet which opened up the room a bit more.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/24/2016


B B.

The project went well and smoothly in general, and was completed close to the predicted time frame. The owner and contractor, Dave Bennington, supervises closely, does some of the work himself, is present frequently, and is always accessible. He employs two reliable and trustworthy assistants who work and also oversee sub-contractors. The standards are high for the work and subs, and when there is a glitch (as there inevitably is during construction), Dave is good at resolving the problems. In our case, one glitch involved sub-contractor employees with a bad attitude and technique -- Dave sent them packing, and had his assistants finish that particular task. Although Dave has definitive ideas about products and design, he will base the project on what YOU want, because in the end he wants the homeowner to be happy and pleased with the result. The work is collaborative. When you have strong feelings about a particular product or design, state them clearly. I would have preferred that a different type of paint be used, for example, but didn't specifically request it, and wish that I had. If we use Bennington Builders in the future -- and we would -- I'd be forthright up front about any particular non-negotiable requests.

Description of Work
Remodeled basement, adding full bath, installing floor and lighting; remodeling a shower; floor/door work on porch

Category remodeling

5.0

12/15/2015


DOUGLAS M.

Dave did a great job. He suggested additional details, but still kept in within our stated budget. Very prompt and did exactly the work as described. definitely detail oriented.

Description of Work
redid the interior of a shed so that we can use the space for indoor activities. added insulation and lighting and rafter storage

Category electrician, insulation, lighting, remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/23/2015


Rodger P.

Dave Bennington and his crew exceeded all of my expectations. In short, he and his crew were meticulous, efficient, highly skillful, prompt, patient, responsive, and polite. While renovating my condo, they kept dust and dirt to minimum. At the end of each work day, they neatly stored their tools and the construction materials. Dave did a lot of the work himself. He or his crew were on site at key moments, e.g., to supervise the flooring and granite counter installations. The granite, flooring, carpeting, and plumbing fixture vendors that Dave recommended provided excellent service and products. I was at home during most of the renovation; consequently, I was able to observe Dave, his crew, and the vendors? work first hand. Although it was a stressful two and a half weeks, I looked forward every morning to Dave and his crew?s arrival. Seventeen years ago, in July 1998, I moved into a then-new two bedroom, two bathroom condominium with living room, dining room, kitchen, foyer, and large loft. There is a 16-foot cathedral ceiling over the living room that meets the loft?s ceiling. Other than installing a ceiling fan in the living room, new lighting in the kitchen and dining room, and a new dishwasher, I had not renovated the living room, dining room, kitchen, and foyer. In March 2015, I hired Dave for three reasons to: 1. renovate my living room, stairway to the loft, dining room, kitchen except for the cabinets, and several components in the two bathrooms; 2. correct, to the degree possible, a prior contractor?s shockingly poor work in the master bathroom; and, 3. repair, to the degree possible, the builder?s construction mistakes. After agreeing on the work to be done and costs involved, Dave took me shopping. He has vendors with whom he has long-term, established relationships. We visited Rockville Granite, Carpet & Floor Express, Inc., Ferguson Enterprises, Inc. (plumbing fixtures), and River Glass Designs. All four vendors are in Rockville. Dave only charged me for time and materials. Instead of charging a contractor?s markup, Dave arranged for me to pay the vendors directly. All told, the renovations cost $35,000. Given the amount of work that Dave and his crew did and the quality of vendor?s work and materials, I think that $35,000 was very reasonable, especially for the Washington DC area. Dave has an excellent eye for design. With his guidance, I selected beautiful granite counters for the kitchen and bathrooms, high quality bathroom and kitchen plumbing fixtures, bathroom lighting fixtures, great looking laminate flooring for the foyer, living room, dining room, and kitchen, and fabulous carpeting for the two bedrooms. I especially love the laminate floors, carpet, and granite counters. Everyone who has seen my renovated condo has been very impressed with the outcome. His work in the master bathroom deserves special mention. The prior contractor had used porous cement, rather than epoxy, grouting for the bathroom floor, shower, and shower wall tile. The prior contractor did such a poor job of grouting the shower floor tile that I had the prior contractor remove the initial grout and install new grout. Even after two tries, the grout failed, i.e., fell out and turned yellow and black. When installing the second round of grout, the prior contractor chipped many shower floor tiles. The prior contractor?s crew misaligned the new frameless shower door and the two glass panels on either side of the door. They improperly installed new lighting fixtures in the bathrooms. Dave and his crew corrected the problems with the shower. His crew removed the poorly installed shower floor and replaced it with new underlying rubber sealant, shower tiles, and epoxy grout. He replaced the sloping Carrera marble threshold with a new, level threshold. He arranged to have River Glass Designs install a custom-built frameless shower door. River Glass Designs also installed new custom-cut mirrors over the vanities in both bathrooms. Dave and his crew installed new lighting fixtures in each bathroom. When mounting the new lighting fixtures over the mirrors, they discovered that the prior contractor had dangerously installed one of the fixtures. They corrected the prior contractor?s sloppily done detail work in the master bathroom. Finally, Dave and his crew did an excellent job of repainting the living room, stairway wall, foyer, dining room, kitchen, and bathrooms. They took the time to prepare the walls and ceilings properly for repainting, e.g., used sturdy joint tape where the ceilings met the walls and carefully spackled and sanded walls. They finished many, many small repair jobs and improvements that I meant to complete, but never did. For example, Dave installed new LED lights, which I had purchased years ago, in my three bedroom closets and my laundry room. He and his crew did a beautiful job of refinishing the top of my dining room table.

Description of Work
See answer to "how'd it go" below.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/25/2014


LISA S.

GREAT!! On time, very professional and great job

Description of Work
Some upgrades to our HVAC system and updated our guest room

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/12/2013


Sara L.

They had competitive estimates. And were able to finish the work when they quoted. They did a very good job. They sent someone right out to fix any mistakes that were made.

Description of Work
Remodeled the kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/03/2013


LUANNE K.

When things went wrong, as they usually do on a project this size, Dave found a way to fix it with minimal delay and cost. He worked very hard to make all of our requirements happen. His carpenter is a miracle worker. We requested the work to be completed in as short a time frame as possible and he made that happen as well. He provided suggestions that improved the process and design.

Description of Work
Dave completely gutted our kitchen and rebuilt it into a functioning kitchen that is beautiful. We took out a peninsula with view blocking overhanging cabinets and created a much more open layout with an island.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/28/2012


Louis S.

This review is long overdue. Dave Bennington and his crew (especially project manager John) did a top notch job on our deck/enclosed sun porch project. Dave was extremely responsive, competitive on price and prompt. Even in the extreme heat of this past summer, he had his guys get as much done before the day got too hot to try to stay on schedule. I am happy to speak with anyone who is thinking about hiring Bennington Builders and would not hesitate to hire them on a future project. My wife and I are very particular and Dave expertly dealt with all our requests.

Description of Work
We added a combination screened in porch and surrounding composite deck on the back of the house. The project turned out to be much bigger in scope than what we originally thought but we are extremely pleased with the outcome.

Category contractors, remodeling, roofing, garage builders, home builders, home remodeling, sunrooms

1.0

12/19/2012


John S.

I called to investigate a dishwasher repair and Dave was so rude I had to hangup on him.

Description of Work
I called the owner and he made it perfectly clear that they did not want our business.

Category plumbing, appliance sales, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Before this gentleman hung up on me, he didn't give me a chance to tell him that I have an appliance company on my website that he could go to.

5.0

12/18/2012


LISA S.

.A+ Great! I look forward to our next project with Dave!

Description of Work
This is the second time I've had remodeling done by Bennington Builders and am thrilled by the outcome. The owner, Dave, was involved every step of the project. This time, I had a second story addition and complete remodeling of the first floor done by Dave. It turned out better than I could ever imagined. All the work was done in record time and I was able to move back in just 4 months. The care to detail was amazing. I live on the water so there were complex permit issues which had to be satisfied and Dave took care of all the paperwork. His workers were all very polite and a dream to work with. The master bedroom suite is outstanding. We receive compliments whenever people see the house and have highly recommended Dave to our friends

Category countertops, decks, drywall, lighting, masonry, remodeling, roofing, siding, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, sunrooms, basement remodeling

5.0

09/01/2012


Harvard M.

We had never done a remodel before, and called three firms chosen from Angie's. We initially were planning on saving up to pay for the work (we guessed a year), and were very up front with all of them about this. Two did a minimal estimate, but Dave and Linda (his cabinet person) came by, took measurements, made drawings, and sat down later with us to choose major items (mostly cabinetry). The initial drawings were detailed and gave us an excellent overview of what to expect. After this, we decided to set up a line of credit with the bank and get it done immediately, since the interest rates are very low. Dave and his crew did an excellent job remodeling our kitchen, which had not been touched since the '70's. His people were extremely professional, leaving no detail undone. For example, the tilework includes one piece, no more than 1/8" square, in a place that is almost invisible (back corner, under the cabinets, behind a light) that could have been left out without anyone noticing. It was only after I got on my hands and knees that I saw it. Well done. All the other work was of similar quality, whether they were using materials we supplied, or that they supplied. His workers were also very respectful of our needs; areas outside the kitchen were walled off with plastic sheeting, dust was kept to an absolute minimum, and they always cleaned up thoroughly at the end of each day. Vacuums were in evidence; I was able to walk through the work area barefoot every morning to make coffee. He asked us to chose most major materials (drop lights, counter top mat'l, cabinets, flooring, etc.), and has a stable of very competent vendors he recommends. All of them were very helpful in choosing the best materials for the project. Dave was also very helpful in his practical suggestions, warning us off of a couple of ideas that would not have worked, and suggesting lower cost alternatives (subway tile from Lowe's, instead of imported tile; both were white, glossy, and square, and in retrospect, virtually indistinguishable). Dave's business practices are also above reproach. His contract is detailed and straightforward. Where he has a dollar "allowance" for a specific item, and we chose a less expensive option (e.g. tile), he credited us the difference. The total was several thousand dollars under the contracted price. Any disputes (few and minor) were easily resolved, and he personally came back to finish a couple of very minor items that had been left undone. The work was initially estimated to take a month, and it was completed in that time, to the day. The only problem we had was with communication. Deadlines for choosing materials (flooring, tile, etc.) were not always communicated clearly. Occasionally a scheduled work day was missed, or the workers showed up later than anticipated. I work from home, so this was not a real issue, but would have been if I had needed to take off work. Overall, an excellent experience. I would hire him again without reservation, and recommend him highly to anyone.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel; Remove and replace all cabinetwork, remove one wall & replace w/ cabinets/coutertop, replace '70's era formica counters with granite. Remove ceiling fan, replace and improve all lighting (added under-cabinet lights). Replace flooring in kitchen and entry hall w/ laminate. Paint walls, put tile on backsplash over counter. Replace sink & faucet. Rewire/replumb as needed.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/31/2012


ABIGAIL G.

The estimate was much more reasonable than two others that we talked to and there were no real surprises/extra costs. Dave was helpful in offering suggestions that allowed us to squeeze in the desired bigger tub, and understood our "vision" for the bathroom design in a way that the other folks we talked to didn't. While we were a small project for them to do, they did it well and completed the job a week earlier than expected. Dave was a pleasure to work with and the entire crew was excellent, their attention to detail is impressive and they left the job site clean each day. We are particularly pleased with the tile job. Beautiful! We love the new space and are very happy with their work. Bonus: they were very patient with our two dogs!

Description of Work
Jenny's remodeled our 5x8 bathroom in our 1920s house, gutting it and replacing almost everything (a cabinet remained and was reworked by their carpenter to look much better).

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Our goal is to make sure there are no surprises when during your project. Our attention to detail is one of the things that we pride ourselves on and we love seeing the happiness that our customers experience once their project has been completed. Thank you again!!

1.0

12/04/2011


teresa M.

don't call them unless you plan to spend large sums of money on larger projects. They do not seem interested in smaller jobs.

Description of Work
I called to make an appointment for a bathroom remodel estimate. I was told over the phone that the cost would be $17,000. I probably should not have set up an appointment with him. It is a small (5x8) bathroom and I had already received other estimates which are $5000 less, so I knew that the verbal estimate was too high. Dave came out, looked around, spent about 10 minutes at my house. He said that he would get an estimate to me in a week. I asked when he might be able to start the work and he said February. I knew right then and there that he did not want the job. I have not received his estimate yet, but I will not use them. He is very arrogant and I felt like a second class citizen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/06/2011


Christopher B.

We had two companies provide estimates (including Jenny's Design Build). Both had high ratings on Angie's List. The two price quotes were very close so we were comfortable that the prices were where they should be. We decided to go with Jenny's because the other company's offering felt like a cookie cutter implementation whereas Dave at Jenny's had some very creative ideas on what could be done with the space we had. The entire design was customized to our tastes and desires. Dave seemed genuinely interested in doing some creative things in the bathroom. Once we selected Jenny's we met with each of the preferred vendors. This process was a little ponderous as we had to make appointments and find time to get there and make our choices. The people we met with work with Dave on many projects. They were very helpful, especially the tile consultant we met with. Of course, we went slightly over budget on materials but we got exactly what we wanted. When we were not able to find fixtures that we liked in our price range with the recommended vendor, we told Dave that we wanted to get those things on our own. He had no problem with that approach and simply removed it from the estimate. The work began on time. The same crew worked the demolition and initial build out of the floor and drywall. The team arrived every day around 7:00 AM and was cleaning up by around 3:00 PM. The site was left in good condition every day. The installation went very smoothly for about 4 weeks (which is exactly the time frame we were quoted). After the final installation was completed, we provided a punch list of things we wanted fixed before we made final payment. Dave and the team worked it off but ran into a few problems with materials at the end. A part needed to be ordered on main shower handle and some tile touch up had to be done around the custom niche in the shower itself. These delayed the final use of the bathroom by another week or so...as the contract stipulated, final payment wasn't made until all that work was finished. Throughout the process, Dave was very responsive. Although he didn't make it to the site every day, he was always available by phone or email. We would exchange several emails a week during the installation. Whenever I had a question, Dave responded before the day was out, usually within a few hours. We were extremely happy with the work that was performed and have already begun thinking about the next project we want to do next year. Jenny's Design Build will be at the top of our list when we execute.

Description of Work
We had the original master bath in our home remodeled. The bathroom is an "L" shaped room and the original layout was a very poor use of the space. We wanted to have the room gutted down to the frame and built back up. We needed design ideas on how to best utilize the space.

Category home remodeling

1.0

10/19/2011


Mark W.

Dan called me back the day of my web submission to Angie's List. We scheduled a estimate/consultation 3 days out. On the evening prior to our appointment which was early the next morning I was asked to move the appointment time out about an hour. I had taken just enough time off work to be able meet with the company and although it was cutting things short I agreed. Shortly after I communicated my acknowledgement back, I was sent a reply asking that I yet again change the appointment time yet another hour out, which I could not do. I was told that this was the companies busy time along with personal issues. It certainly does not bode well should I contract with this firm and have them do a large project(s) that they don't keep their deadlines and cannot commit to my project. If the company is too busy they should have never made an appointment and certainly not asked me to change an appointment at 7PM the night following an 8AM appointment and then ask me not once but twice to move the time. I want to make it clear that this company did not do work in my home so I cannot give an account of their craftsmanship or product. This complaint has solely to do with the administrative functions of the company and its scheduling.

Description of Work
This was for estimating and consultation services for remodeling our master bathroom, installing hardwood floor throughout our second floor, painting, installing an egress window in our basement, remodeling our basement bedroom, building an entertainment center and painting the basement.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/26/2011


MARISSA H.

Our house is over 90 years old and, as near as we can tell, for a good portion of its history it has been renovated and maintained by monkeys so we were expecting any bathroom remodel to be challenging and fraught with problems. We were very impressed by Dave because he planned so well for most contingencies that things went very smoothly. His design was excellent (and now that the baby is here we're very grateful for some of the suggestions he made to make the bathroom more family-friendly - definitely useful design recommendations for clueless new parents!). I think overall he's a throwback to an earlier age of contractors and workmanship where you made deals on a handshake - he's definitely a man of his word (we of course executed a contract, but there are lots of little things that aren't necessarily in a contract like how many days a 7-months pregnant woman is going to be without a bathroom on the second floor, and he went above and beyond to keep those promises too, to the point that when the manufacturer shipped two toilet tanks instead of a tank and a bowl Dave went out and picked up the bowl personally so he could still install it on the day promised). There were of course some issues along the way, and we were pleasantly surprised by Dave's attitude towards them - he always listened to us, took things seriously, and never tried to imply that something wasn't really an issue or couldn't have been caused by his work. Even more impressive was the fact that we had an issue develop as a result of the work two months afterwards (long after the last check had cleared), and he still showed up within a day of our calling him and immediately scheduled the needed repairs. He stands by his work, he's easy to get along with, and he's the only contractor I've met who is more fussy than I am about detail work. We highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Gutted two small upstairs bathrooms down to the studs and renovated into one large bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/09/2011


Melissa V.

This spring a leak in our roof forced us to consider bumping out and finishing our attic as well as remodeling our very outdated and small eat-in kitchen. I called some well rated local contractors, including Jenny's Design Build, and Dave was one of the few who would actually come out to look at the house and talk to us. We talked about what was possible with our house, what to expect, and budget considerations. He promptly gave us an estimate for the kitchen remodel, since we didn't have plans drawn up for the attic yet, but we decided to get the plans done before proceeding further. When the plans were finally done we found that Dave was the most responsive contractor to the budget, time, and design considerations for our project. He also had great ideas about how to handle various challenges, and could provide high quality products at a good value. He clearly knew how to build things and that was the most important factor for us since we were expanding and finishing the attic, the new kitchen was the icing on the cake. Once we signed the contract, the process was laid out clearly and a calendar was made for the whole project, about 8 weeks. Getting the permits was not very fun but Dave kept at it and got it done, meanwhile we were busy picking out cabinets, granite etc. When construction started his crew ripped off the back roof and had it framed and closed in within a week, with tarp for good measure, really impressive. Dave's crew, led by Sal, were on time, polite, and cleaned up after themselves but most importantly they are really great workers and builders. We did vacate (to the beach and the in-laws) for a few weeks during the demo of the kitchen since we have young kids, to avoid dust etc. Everyday something was happening and the project was well staged. Any hiccups along the way were addressed quickly and didn't contribute any undue delay or cost. Dave checked in routinely, provided updates, and was receptive to any questions or changes. Dave and his crew have high standards for their work and they hold their subs and vendors to the same. They stuck with the project till it was done to our satisfaction, and beyond, not just until final inspection. Thanks to Jenny's Design Build, the kitchen and 2nd story (no longer just an attic) of our older home are the best they can possibly be, better than I ever imagined. It was definitely worth the money and time we invested and then some!

Description of Work
Bump-out dormer expansion of previously unfinished attic with large room, heat pump, new stairway, and awesome bathroom. Completely remodeled kitchen with quality cabinets, granite counter tops, and hardwood floors and lots of amazing detail work.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

06/26/2011


Briony Q.

I can't even described how pleased I am with the work of Jenny's Design Build! From our initial meeting, when I wasnt sure of my exact plan, I knew that Dave and Mike would be great to work with. I read some earlier comments about Dave being difficult - but I found him to be quite the opposite. His honesty and straightfowardness are exactly what someone should be looking for in a contractor (not just someone who is going to"yes" you on everything and you end up with something you didn't expect or want). Mike at MKB came up with a great plan/layout for the kitchen and was very patient with me when I changed my mind a few times! Once construction started, Dave an his team did an excellent job! Most imortantly, Dave gave me a schedule of the project and stuck to it (even when the cabinets were delayed through no fault of his!). His team did great work (especially Sal with the cabinet installation and the tilers who did beautiful work!). They also were very careful to clean up the construction area each day when they were done (for the whole 5 weeks!) which I greatly appreciated. Overall, I am so pleased with my new kitchen and the work that Jenny's Design Build did!

Description of Work
Jenny's Design Build completely renovated my kitchen - raising the ceiling, removing a wall and closing off an unused side door. Also, they installed a pocket door and a gas fireplace with a granite hearth.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/24/2011


Deborah M.

We choose to work with Dave Bennington and Montgomery Kitchen and Bath based on reputation. Dave (and Keith, the kitchen designer from MKB) came to our townhouse for an initial meeting and estimate. It was a small space with challenging dimensions. Keith and Dave could immediately visualize a design that would maximize our space and add a pass-through to the dining room, creating a more open plan for our 40 year old townhouse. It took a while for our family's schedule to accommodate the start of the project. Dave stayed in touch during that time, answering the myriad of questions a perfectionist homeowner can come up with. We worked through Dave and his contractors for almost everything: cabinets, countertop, appliances, sink, and tile. The project changed the look of the entire first floor of our townhome. The outcome exceeded our expectations. Did everything go perfectly? No, but Dave hung in with us through the whole project, always responsive to calls and emails. That was what we were most looking for in a contractor: someone we could trust and who wouldn't become scarce and unresponsive during challenges, or leave the job unfinished at the 90% point. One need have none of those concerns with Dave. His immediate crew is great. His standards and skill level are high. He is honest and tells it like it is. He will hang in until the job is 100% completed to your satisfaction. His team was amazingly tidy throughout the process. As a bonus, we also got extra design finish features that make our kitchen look truly custom as well as contemporary. Any snags along the way were quickly forgotten as we continue to enjoy using our beautiful and transforming new kitchen. We would highly recommend Jenny's DesignBuild and wouldn't hesitate to work with Dave again.

Description of Work
Performed complete kitchen remodel including gutting kitchen and creating pass-through to dining room and enlarging kitchen entry from foyer. Installed new sliding door in kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/26/2011


Virginia R.

Everything went well. Dave was right on with the time estimate. All the subcontractors did great jobs and were very professional. The whole crew took great care not leave any mess or damage anything during the job.

Description of Work
Tore out existing master bath. Created a master bath with soaking tub, walk in shower , vanity and a master bedroom sitting room.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/05/2011


Walter M.

See above. Not much more advice since they didn't actually do any work.

Description of Work
We were calling various vendors to discuss installation of an island in our oddly shaped kitchen. Dave called us after we left a message. He said he could come out and analyze the kitchen and give us an estimate the next day. He showed up on time and got right to work. After discussing the island, we mentioned that we eventually want to rebuild an adjacent sun room and make it part of the kitchen as a great room. Right then, Dave essentially said, don't build the island. Wait, and in the meantime go out and get a bar/counter height table for the kitchen. We never thought of that. Since we didn't want the island for added sinks or cabinet space--only for a place for people to sit for breakfast and snacks--we thought it was an awesome idea. The next day, we went out and got it. Thanks for the great tip!

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/31/2010


Kai C.

After I left a message, Dave returned my call promptly and showed up for an appointment on time. He was professional and very straight forward. I have to say that he isn?t necessarily a great salesman (he tells it like it is), but I actually find it refreshing, as in my experience, many contractors focus on being 'smooth' and don't tell you things that aren't beneficial for them. Dave first didn?t seem very supportive of my ideas, however, when I further explained why I wanted certain things and my risk tolerance, he was willing to work with me. I had a clear vision of what I wanted, and wanted something unique without a large budget. (A tall order for most of the contractors!) I?d talked to several contractors, but I wasn't sure about some of them and others weren?t interested in the job (too complicated and not profitable??) I really needed a contractor who is skillful and has a sense of style. I felt Dave was the best choice, as he was knowledgeable, confident and willing to listen to my ideas. Luckily for me, he had some free time before starting other large jobs a few weeks later. So, he was able to start my job right away. I know I?m not the easiest client to work with (I can be very particular with things) but Dave and crew accommodated my wishes whenever they could and communicated upfront when they couldn?t. Dave and Sal are truly master carpenters. I was amazed how quickly the job got completed. Now usable space in my kitchen is expanded to the maximum degree, and I?m extremely happy and grateful of their service.

Description of Work
Custom built-in countertop (from maple butcher block), build-in book shelf, expansion of an existing pantry. I have to say this project wasn’t an easy one - not large but fairly complicated (the house has had many issues).

Category woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    EAD Contractors LLC

    EAD CONTRACTORS LLC is a locally owned and operated company which values honesty, integrity, and treats your home or business as if it were our own. We are experts in all aspects of masonry and our services are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in both installations and replacements. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Offers by EAD Contractors LLC on Angi
    Drainage and Erosion Solutions

    Drainage & Erosion Solutions (DES) is an award-winning company that provides assessment and repair of all drainage and erosion problems for residential and commercial properties. We are a design-build firm, with both engineering and contracting divisions; offering aesthetically pleasing and professionally engineered solutions to drainage and erosion problems. Our team members are year-round, full-time employees with a strong reputation for technical knowledge, attention to detail, great customer service and general excellence. All DES consultations, assessments, and installations are performed by a licensed professional soils engineer, or landscape and drainage systems designer. These professionals have several decades of combined design and contracting experience. Clients like working with us - much of our business comes from referrals and from our top rankings among the most popular contractor ratings services .  

    Budget Waterproofing Inc

    Budget Waterproofing has more than 55 years of experience in servicing commercial and residential customers throughout Maryland. Our Maryland waterproofing services range from foundation crack repair to sump pump installation and crawlspace encapsulation. If you have moisture, humidity or mold problems in your basement, Budget Waterproofing is your solution. We have proven over the years that our waterproofing methods not only look good and do the job, but also last. Our technicians are well-trained and instructed to respect your home and make sure you are happy with their job. As one of the leading basement waterproofing companies in Maryland, we are confident that you will will be satisfied with our level of quality. Enjoy competitive pricing and state-of-the-art waterproofing – hundreds of satisfied homeowners already are!  

    Offers by Budget Waterproofing Inc on Angi
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CUSTOM BUILT-IN CABINETRY, KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING, PORCHES & DECKS, BUILDERS-GARAGES/SHEDS/BARNS/HOMES, REMODELING GENERAL.

    Services Not Offered

    Service work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bennington Builders

    How is Bennington Builders overall rated?

    Bennington Builders is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bennington Builders open?

    Bennington Builders is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Bennington Builders provide

    Bennington Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bennington Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bennington Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Bennington Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bennington Builders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bennington Builders offer a senior discount?

    No, Bennington Builders does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bennington Builders offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bennington Builders offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bennington Builders?

    Yes, Bennington Builders offers warranties.

    What services does Bennington Builders offer?

    Bennington Builders offers the following services: CUSTOM BUILT-IN CABINETRY, KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING, PORCHES & DECKS, BUILDERS-GARAGES/SHEDS/BARNS/HOMES, REMODELING GENERAL.

    Are there any services Bennington Builders does not offer?

    Service work.