Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC

Founded 2006 • With Angi since May 2008

4.8

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11841 MARMARY RD

Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Description

3 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR PLUMBING & ELECTRICAL. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. NO SERVICE FEES. EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER HOURS SERVICE. LICENSE MHIC #94340....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

11/15/2017


Robert M.

For the basic construction he and his crew did a good job. They used quality materials and put it together with good workmanship. I did ask that some material be upgraded and he did that without hesitation. We did have some issues that needed to be addressed. He promptly took care of them. He also had to make some changes but the fee he charged was very reasonable and he willingly made the changes. The only issue we had is the quality of the tiling job. In short is was fairly poor with tiles that too much "lippage" (i.e. not flat) and cracks in the grout due to either improperly mixed grout, improper curing of tile-setting material or not forcing gout into joints properly. In short, I would hire them again but NEVER for a tiling job. Hire certified tile setter (Ceramic Tile Education Foundation).

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling

Category contractors, ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

4.0

03/26/2015


Christy H.

Description of Work
He took no responsibility for mistakes he made that cost me over 2000.00

Category drywall, insulation, home remodeling

5.0

12/24/2014


LINDA ANN D.

Justin does very good work himself but also works with excellent others for cabinetry, countertops, flooring, and painting and each of those vendors were very responsive to our needs, offering excellent suggestions. I had received his name from another neighbor who has used his services on several occasions and she was very complimentary as well. All of the work was very good quality and we would not hesitate to call upon him again. We appreciated his honesty and professionalism.

Description of Work
We had three jobs completed during 2013 and 2014. The first involved converting a mud room into a wet bar with sink, granite countertops, cabinets and refrigerator. The next was interior painting. The most recent involved replacing a kitchen/bar floor and replacing a 40 year old back door.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/15/2014


Vinita A.

Justin and his crew are wonderful to work with. They are professional, efficient, clean, friendly and trustworthy. They turned an ugly basement into a modern, warm space. Justin is very easy to work with and adaptable. He will ask questions when he needs to and take care of everything so you don't have to stress over little details. He is clear in his communications and his invoices are easy to read. We have previously hired him to completely remodel our bathroom and will hire him again for our next project. We cannot recommend him highly enough.

Description of Work
Completely demo our finished basement floor to ceiling so we could waterproof, then reframe, insulate, drywall, paint, add lights and replace stairs. Also demo kitchen ceiling, re-insulate, drywall, paint, frame out beams, and change lights. Added exterior motion lights. Insulate under kitchen floor.

Category drywall, electrician, insulation, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/14/2014


Richard M.

Previously used Balchun for renovation of powder room and family room. Very satisfied with that work so asked for a quote on the basement renovation. Requested 3, received 2, and Balchun was the lower. The owner, Justin Balchin, is experienced and knows his craft. He makes recommendations, but he is very responsive to the desires of the customer. He supplied the quote in a timely manner, scheduled the work, and showed up on time. Keeps in good contact through phone and text messages. Justin works on the job as part of a crew of three. He examines the work of the entire crew to ensure quality and is responsive to customer requests to move a fixture, add an extra coat of paint, or redo a patch of compound that is not completely smooth. Justin and his crew do quality work and are personable. Great combination for a renovation job. .

Description of Work
Renovated finished basement. Demolition down to studs of ceiling walls, carpeting. Installation of recessed lights, electrical outlets, wiring for heater and wall-mounted flat screen T.V. Insulated exterior wall. Drywall for ceiling and walls of room. Exterior door and motion-sensor light. Interior door to utility room. Access panels for electrical panel and water main. Replacment of old water main valve with new shut-off and installation of additional shut-off in ceiling leading to outside faucet. Baseboard and trim. Handrail for stairs. Smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. Painting of walls and ceiling. Paint, exterior door, motion sensor light, detectors and door hardware provided by customer.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/14/2014


Richard M.

Hired Balchun Construction do two other jobs, a basement and powder room renovation, and a basement renovation. And, decided to use the company for the two bathroom renovations as well. The owner, Justin Balchun, is experienced and capable. He does reliable, qualtiy work. He keeps in touch by phone and text. You can easitly contact him when he is not present on the job site. But, he performs certain tasks himself and is on-site most of the time. He carefully examines the output of his two employees to assure the quality is excellent. And, he stands by his work, offering to come back after the job is completed if anything goes wrong. Justin and his crew are pleasant and easy to work with. We are very pleased with the results of the renovations. While you can chose your own suppliers, we used firms recommended by Justin for the cabinets, tile, countertops, and fixtures and were very satisfied with the recommendations.

Description of Work
Renovated hall, master bath, and "make-up" area of bedroom. Demolition of flooring, shower tile, tub, toilets and sinks. Replaced sub-floor and installed Durock on floor and walls. Tiled bathroom floors and walls. Installed shower pan and sliding glass door in master bath and tub in hall bath. Installed toilets, sinks, shower valves, faucets and grab bars, mirrors and custom cabinets, Installed light fixtures, electrical outlets, door, door hardware and trim, and baseboarad trim. The cabinets, counters, and plumbing were done by subs used by Balchna all of which had previously participated in our powder room renovation. Painted ceiling and walls.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/25/2014


Daniel P.

Overall it went very well. Justin and crew were tremendously dedicated and hardworking. I was happy with the quality of the work. After Justin ripped out the floors and walls of the bathrooms, he pointed out plumbing that wasn't up to code and could have caused problems later. I was able to get a plumber in to make the necessary fixes. Justin could have just finished the bathroom work and moved on with his next project. His attention to quality and serving his client (me) though, allowed me to fix the problem even though it meant delays for Justin. I really appreciated that. Justin was very responsive and was flexible in accommodating changes to the original plan I requested. I'd be happy to use Justin again.

Description of Work
Justin and crew completely gutted and remodeled all three of my bathrooms, this included adding a shower to a bathroom that had previously just been a half-bath.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/20/2013


William H.

Justin was very professional and did exactly what we asked of him. The work was a little delayed in getting started, but I think the delay allowed the workers to focus on this project and complete it more quickly. The quality of the work was good, although perhaps not flawless. I think it would have been possible to find someone to do the work more cheaply. However, Justin is well prepared, reliable, and I get the sense that he really thought through the process. There were really no surprises. The only caveat that I have is that Justin is not a designer. He will complete the work as you specify, but any ideas or elaborations really have to come from the homeowner.

Description of Work
Balchun fully renovated our bathroom. The work included all new plumbing and installation of a clawfoot tub, mirrors, lighting, drywall, tiling, and toilet. (Note: the plumbing work was all handled by a separate plumbing company. The total price includes the materials and plumbing work.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/15/2012


Karen G.

In discussing the project, Justin Balchun gave us a time-line and he was true to his word. From removing the old floor to the last coat of polyurethane he was right on schedule. I always knew what stage of the flooring would be expected next. His crew did a great job. The water-based poly and the dustless sanding is the only way to go. There was minimal disruption as well, decreasing the environmental impact. I was sure there would be a difference between the new kitchen hardwoods and the original hardwoods but there was none! The shade of the stain was exactly as I requested. No one can believe that one room is new and the rest of the house is 30years old. The floors are just beautiful!

Description of Work
While renovating our kitchen and entire main floor, Balchun Construction removed the entire kitchen floor (a glued down acrylic hardwood from the 1980's) then replaced new hardwood in the kitchen; seamlessly meshing with the hallway to the rest of the house, then sanded and refinished the original hardwood on entire main floor - hall, family room, living room, dining room and library.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/07/2012


Karen G.

I interviewed 3 contractors, liked 2 of them and chose Balchun Consturction. From the start when I met Justin Balchun, I felt I had made a great choice. He understood and discussed my various projects. He communicated well especially via email and text; his estimates were specific and updated as we went along. I kept on my budget and if I added a few little things along the way, he kept me aware of costs. When he told me a time estimate for a stage of the job, (demo, new floors, etc) his time estimates were precise and very helpful so I could plan my schedule. When he and his crew said they would be at our home at 8:00 am - they were there at 8:00am. And his crew - they were fabulous. One needs to feel comfortable with workmen in your home and there was no problem. His workers were friendly, courteous, and each day the project was tidied up. Plus of course, they were very skilled and experience. The floors are GORGEOUS and a work of art! They pulled up some of the original flooring to make sure the new kitchen wood would mesh with the original flooring. Just perfect. My white maple wood cabinets are just beautiful - we had the soffits torn out so that the cabinets could go close to the ceiling. Balchun Construction then built the crown molding to close the gap between the ceiling and the top of the cabinets. Looks great - makes the ceiling feel higher - again updating the look. The bulk of the work was completed in 2 weeks. Then 2 weeks more for the refinishing of the hardwood flooring and the of the usual wait for the countertops to be measured, fabricated and installed by countertop contractor. After that, Balcun Consturction, quickly completed the plumbing and finishing touches and in exactly 4 weeks total we had a beautiful 'new' house. My husband and I are extremely pleased with the projects , the workmanship and the whole experienced. We highly recommend Balchun Construction.

Description of Work
To update our 30 year old house we gave ourselves a budget and made our decisions based on upgrading, updating and possible resale in the future. OLD: We had the kitchen gutted. Old dry wall removed (it had 2 layers of wall-paper) - the room was down to the studs. Old laminate flooring removed. In the family room, we had the old 1980s style paneling removed, dry wall ceiling removed. NEW: New dry wall replaced, new kitchen cabinets installed and new wall unit of cabinets with glass doors , new lighting including under cabinet lights, all painting and trim done, new kitchen hardwood flooring, entire main floor of the original hardwoods sanded, sealed, stained and finished. New plumbing fixtures installed, new trim and molding in family room and kitchen. New crown molding in master bedroom. Replaced some drywall holes that had taken a beating over the years.

Category hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

01/22/2011


Daniel B.

Justin and his crew did a great job. I had a shed that was 14x8 with a covered patio. I asked Justin to extend the shed to cover the roofed patio portion (IE turn the outdoor patio into part of the shed) They were prompt, efficient, did everything exactly as you would expect good builders to do it (including actually using levels to make sure studs were straight, etc), and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Extend outdoor wood shed over covered patio, level new part of floor with old part of floor, insulate walls, put electrical on new walls, reside walls.

Category garage builders, home remodeling

5.0

11/19/2010


Susan D.

They are very responsive and do a great job. They do very timely work and work very hard. The workers are very hard working and clean up well.

Description of Work
We hired them to remodel our bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/26/2009


Caroline L.

We decided to have the two bathrooms in our 90 year old house completely renovated. Justin Balchun (the company owner) came out promptly with Joe Maier from Master Plumbing and Mechanical to talk over the project. We had an estimate within days, and quickly scheduled a date for them to start. Justin, Joe, and their employees did a beatiful job. They were creative in their approach, responsive when there were questions, trust worthy beyond belief, and extremely skilled and professional. I have and will continue to recommend them highly and without reservation, and I will most certainly engage them again when we are ready to tackle other projects in our home.

Description of Work
Two bathrooms were completely demolished and rebuilt with a great deal of tile work and plumbing.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/24/2009


Brian L.

This was a complicated project that involved moving a bearing wall and providing a separate support beam for the family room ceiling joists. Balchun construction arrived when they said they would, did an excellent job and finished on time. Being without a kitchen for a couple of weeks is tough, but they were so neat and professional that we were able to use the room every day while it was under construction. I am a construction estimator for a major hospitality company and their pricing was right where I thought it should be, and below several other bidders quotes. Although we had some minor changes (adds), they did not "nickle and dime" us on the changes. I would highly recommend them to anyone who has a renovation or addition project. I am hoping to add a second car garage on my house and will definately use Balchun Construction for that project.

Description of Work
Description of Work: Kitchen & Family Room remodel (complete gut of the kitchen). This project included the addition of 2 support beams.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/15/2009


Nancy C.

It was a positive experience. The work went smoothly. He was very easy to communicate with. He was responsive to calls and e-mails. He was patient with while working with the details of the contract. He was able to give a very accurate price list. The job was done in the time it was supposed to be done. He had a two man crew along with himself. They cleaned up at the end of each day. The quality of work was good. If we felt there was something we weren't satisfied with, he would fix it right away. I would recommend him to anyone. His prices were very fair. He was very courteous.

Description of Work
They remodeled two bathrooms in our home for us.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/23/2008


Maureen O.

I was incredibly impressed by Justin Balchun and Balchun Construction LLC. It was a remarkably positive experience. I think I called him for the first time on a Friday afternoon, no one answered and I left a message. Truly, I would have been happy had someone called me back sometime during the following week. Justin called me from VACATION on Sunday and apologized that he didn't get back to me sooner. We met days later and I knew before I ever saw a contract that I wanted to hire this company. He emailed a contract to me within 24 hours of our meeting. After a few minor revisions, we came up with a final contract within days (delivery again was very prompt) and I signed on March 12, 2008. He uses a very customer friendly contract that is easy to read and very clearly written. He was amenable to using the plumbing company that we wanted to use, in fact Justin had worked with them before and had a good rapport with them. He referred me to a tile store company (I worked with Nick who was fabulous) to find tile for the bathroom. Justin provided me a very specific tile list to bring to Nick and it made the entire ordering process much simpler. When the job was scheduled to start, it started. Despite record rainfall that disrupted the schedule on the job that preceded our job, Justin managed to stay on schedule with our job. When I signed the contract, Justin told me that he thought he would be able to start our job in early to mid-May. He started our job on May 12 and he finished on May 22. Best of all, our bathroom looks fabulous! He did a great job building a corner bench for our shower and the tiling is perfect. When I realized that a special "pencil" trim had not been delivered with the tile order, Justin sprang into action. He called the tile store company, asked them to check on the missing pieces, and went immediately to pick them up. Justin is nice guy. He has an easy going manner with an incredible eye for details. He communicates well too. He answers emails and returns calls promptly. His employees were nice too. He had two guys with on this job and they were very nice. My only moment of terror was when I saw the three of them carrying our old steel tub down the steps from the upstairs to the truck. I was afraid someone was going to end up with a tub on their toe, or worse. Alas, the tub and the guys all survived, well, maybe not the tub so much!

Description of Work
Balchun Construction LLC renovated a 50-year old bathroom in my home. Balchun coordinated job w/ another plumbing & electrical company, demolished bathroom, construction new shower, tiled, and painted bathroom.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    ARCH Exteriors llc

    ARCH Exteriors LLC provides a wide variety of Roofing, Window, Door and Siding services in Maryland and Virginia. We are family owned and operated and dedicated to providing the highest quality products and services to ensure your complete satisfaction. We are certified with all major roofing and siding manufactures. We offer excellent warranties on both material and workmanship. Give us a call to speak with one of our experts to discuss your next exterior project. Financing available.  

    ABL Professional Painting

    FOR A FREE ESTIMATE PLEASE CALL (703) 585-1932 TODAY. ABL Painting has the ability to transform your residence with the stroke of our paint brushes. We always use quality paint products in order to never put our clients through fading, peeling, and the falling of their paint job. Remodeling is not necessary for the transformation of the look of your estate, a simple paint job from ABL Painting will do. Family owned business with 12 years of experience. Customer service is our number one priority. Check out our commercial at https://youtu.be/lfEB1nZvFfg  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by ABL Professional Painting  on Angi
    C&Painting LLC

    C& painting llc. Are a painting company operated by the owner and with more than 20 years of experience in Exterior and Interior Paint works. We also do lead paint encapsulation. The satisfaction of our clients and our high quality is our best reference. You can also write to us at cpainting16@gmail.com or visit us at our website WWW.C-PAINTINGLLC.NET It will be a pleasure to help in your next project. Full licenses and insurance MD. MHIC #05-133056 Dc Gc Lic #4105166000208 C& PAINTING LLC:  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by C&Painting LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    YES
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    ADDITIONS, BASEMENTS, BATHROOMS, ALL TILE WORK, CABINETRY, NEW & REFURBISHED DECKS, DRYWALL, ELECTRICAL WORK, EXTERIOR CONCRETE WORK, EXTERIOR PAINTING, FENCING, FLOORING ALL TYPES, GUTTERS, INSULATION, INTERIOR PAINTING, KITCHENS, PLUMBING WORK, ROOFING, SHEDS, SIDING, TILE WORK, TRIMWORK, WALKWAYS & WINDOWS, EXTERIOR & INTERIOR HOME RENOVATIONS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC

    How is BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC overall rated?

    BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC open?

    BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC provide

    BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC?

    Yes, BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offers warranties.

    What services does BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offer?

    BALCHUN CONSTRUCTION LLC offers the following services: ADDITIONS, BASEMENTS, BATHROOMS, ALL TILE WORK, CABINETRY, NEW & REFURBISHED DECKS, DRYWALL, ELECTRICAL WORK, EXTERIOR CONCRETE WORK, EXTERIOR PAINTING, FENCING, FLOORING ALL TYPES, GUTTERS, INSULATION, INTERIOR PAINTING, KITCHENS, PLUMBING WORK, ROOFING, SHEDS, SIDING, TILE WORK, TRIMWORK, WALKWAYS & WINDOWS, EXTERIOR & INTERIOR HOME RENOVATIONS.